$324 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal 387 KM 234, Km 234, Tulum, 77780

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
knoxville, Tn
May 15, 2009

beautiful beach and ocean

We had a very peaceful and relaxing time. Occupancy was down, so only half of the restaurants were open, thats my only complaint. Staff and servers very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

save money and take taxis instead of shuttle tours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego ca
May 12, 2009

REGULAR EXPERIENCE

they were under taff so at the time of meals lomg delais, and quality regular, most of the meals in the evenig were not hot, and we spot comple of cacarouches in the main restaurantes. OVER ALL NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jesslukow
Business
Akron, OH
May 10, 2009

Not Exactly A Dream

My husband and I just came back from a week's trip to Tulum and the Dreams resort located there. We had previously honeymooned at the Dreams resort in Cabo San Lucas and had a great experience. The trip from the airport to the hotel is quite long (about 2 hours.) We arrived at the hotel around lunch time and were greeted with very friendly staff members. The room's weren't ready until around 3-4 o'clock so I suggest packing your bathing suits on the so you can hang out at the pool/beach while you wait. The rooms are small, but clean. The bed is hard as a rock. We had a junior suite with garden view. I'm not really sure how much larger the junior suite is than a regular room. (You have a small, extra sitting are near your balcony.) The honeymoon suite in Cabo was fabulous so if you can upgrade it's probably worth the extra money. Like everyone else has mentioned, folks do come out early to get their seats so you will have to do the same. The beach is beautiful in front of the hotel and there are plenty of activities to keep you entertained if you so wish. You can really only walk one direction on the beach. To the left of the hotel, the beach is extremely rocky and requires shoes. (not worth it) To the right of the hotel you can definately walk a couple of miles without difficulty. You do have to navigate through the seaweed and trash on the beach though. There are very few residencies and hotels near the resort, and almost all of them seem to be vacant. We had two major disappointments on this trip. The food is terrible and the service is subpar. Our best meals by far were breakfast at the World's cafe. It's a buffett so you serve yourself. My husband and I each spent a night vomiting with food poisioning. (two separate occasions). Honestly, you could easily make better food from a can. If you're a burger and fries kind of person this may be OK for you. But...if you enjoy getting a nice dinner then I would totally bypass this resort. Our other major complaint was the gym. There were only two working treadmills. The ellipitical machine is a joke, as is the staristepper. There was always a wait for the treadmill. A resort this large needs more cardio equipment! My husband and I visited Cancun a few weeks prior to coming to Tulum. The beach here is definately better, but otherwise there is no comparison. The service, the gym, and especially the food at this resort will definatley keep us from returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
minalo55
Business
Dallas TX
May 8, 2009

Wonder experience

We were at the resort 4/30 - 5/3. Our room ocean view #8336 was wonderful as we could see the ocean sitting on the patio. We had no concerns about the swine flu and no one at the resort was sick. However because of the swine flu scare the resort was almost empty. So we enjoyed the peace and quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chilliwack, BC
May 7, 2009

Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

I would highly recommend Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa All Inclusive to everyone. It was fabulous! The whole staff was very friendly and helpful with anything you needed. The room maid was very good, always kept it nice and clean. We really enjoyed the Entertainment Team, they were alot of fun! All the restaurants were fabulous, great food. Our favorite was the Seaside Grill because we loved the view of the Ocean. All the waiters and waitresses were very very good at all the restaurants, super friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go to Play del Carmen for shopping, it is only 45 min. car ride from the resort, I recommend to take a cab there and back. It is alot more expensive but we felt so much safer than on public transit, at least you know you get picked up and dropped off in front foyer of the hotel. With the public transit van they make you walk from who knows where?? and when you are not from there getting lost is a big possibility. Something we did not want to experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Are we there yet?
Business
Springfield, IL
May 2, 2009

Dreams Tulum

Dreams Tulum was great. The staff were friendly and always willing to do whatever it took to make you happy. The beach was amazing. Right in front of the resort was a little rocky but a short walk led us to blue water and white sand. The resort was beautiful. I would ask for a Hacienda room. The new rooms were nice but the Haciendas felt like an upscale resort and not a hotel room. I would recomend this resort to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Went to Xel-Ha, the snorkeling was mediocre. I would stay on the resort. They offer a snokeling trip out to the reef in front of the hotel that would be much better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MO CRUZ
Business
SAN DIEGO, CA
Apr 29, 2009

DREAM TULUM

WE HAVE PICTURES OF OUTSIDE OUR ROOM WHERE THEY LEAVE THE GARBAGE FOR THE WHOLE DAY. ON THEIR MEXICAN RESTAURANT, THEY HAD FISH AND SHRIMP TACOS. I AM ALLERGIC TO SHRIMP SO WE HAD ASKED TO REMOVE THE SHRIMP AND THEY TOLD ME NO. THEY CANNOT SERVE FISH TACOS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

DO THE XTREME MAYAN RUINS VISIT WITH REPEL, ZIP, AND SNORKELING

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
patchogue new york
Apr 23, 2009

great hotel

let me start by saying that when we first arrived the manager came out and told us we had to switch rooms on the next day because of some work they had to get done but with a little bickering they gave us two free nights any time we wanted so we caved, the girl behind the desk had a little attitude problem but other then that the rest of the staff was extemely nice.FOOD..the food was great i liked the el patio [these guys got hammered], italian and the french restaurnts the best, my wife liked the italian and the asian, all the food was cooked to order and came out excellent,there are 7 restaurants in all,and all of them are greatbooze..all top shelf jim bean, johnny walker;black label when you order be specific,they have bud/bud light and corona beersentertainment.. every night shows,moviesexcursions..you have the tulum ruins 5min away, coba ruins 45min, town of tulum 10min,hidden worlds 10 min, you can take a cab or ride on a colectivo[bus] i recommend renting a car right from the airport which is about 1 1/2 hours away you'll save time and money i was a sceptical about driving down there but after a while it felt find, the only thing is to many topes[speed bumps] and there are a few check points [cops and military] but i never had problem they just waved us threw and i drove every whererooms..id recommend the ocean front suite [id stayed there one night then got moved to the ocean view room] which was also nice,stay away from the old part of the hotel the rooms are small damp and moldysummise...i stayed at dreams in cancun and in puerto vallarta loved them both and this is no different my wife and my friends had a great time [we are all 40yrs old] there are kids in the hotel but hardly here them or see them the hotel staff keeps them busy all daywe stayed at dreams from 3/20-3/28 it rained a little and was very windy still got sunburn we met a lot people who work there and got close with [benito,oscar,gabrella,and especially isabella and the guys who work at el patio]we booked a trip in december cant wait to go back....or yeah one more thing if you get the chance get the suedish massage its fantasticif you have any questions feel free to contact me at [@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Junction, CO
Apr 22, 2009

Phenomenal surroundings

You will not meet anyone as hard to please as myself. Thats why you need to take this review as the gospel. haha We've been to several places in Mexico and this is one of the absolute best resorts we've ever stayed at. Beautiful resort, exceptional service and the food is the best we've experienced in Mexico. Several restaurants to choose from we never had a bad meal. They go beyond to give you the absolute best in service. Living in the states we do not experience this when we eat out. The beach is beautiful and walking south you can find even better areas to swim, snorkel and just enjoy walking in solitude. If quiet is not your thing do not stay here in Tulum. Also if you are into photography you will love the sunrises and sunsets. We did not take our children(they are teenagers) but this is an amazing resort for families with small children to enjoy time together. so much focus on family activities again you will love it. Watching the kids on the big trampoline in the water was fun and taking the kayaks out was also enjoyable. I read almost every review written before choosing this resort, and with some hesitation I booked it anyway because we wanted to go to Tulum. please try not to let the reviews sway you and go to dreams tulum you will not regret it for a moment. We are a couple in our late 40's from Colorado visited here the first part of March 2009

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

They have everything you could want at the shops by the ruins. Don't drive all the way to Playa Del Carmen they all have the same things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 9, 2009

Dreams is just that

This was the first time we had stayed in an all-inclusive resort and it was truly all-inclusive.The only disappiontment occurred when we arrived and the room we got did not have the promised ocean view. However, a woman at the front desk quickly found us a room that had a lovely view. From then on, we were thrilled by the friendliness of the entire staff and how they all went out of their way to make our stay more comfortable and enjoyable. One caveat: the resort has an old and a new section. We were in the new and can't really speak for the old--except that the rooms there have hammocks on their balconies, so they can't be too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dreams has seven restaurants to choose from. We liked the the Italian and Mexican best for dinner and the Seaside for breakfast and lunch. You can also get service (food and drinks) on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top