$276 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal 387 KM 234, Km 234, Tulum, 77780

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Toronto, Canada
Mar 4, 2009

Loved the resort.

The resort was great. The room had a good view of the ocean and the pool. The service was very good. The people were friendly. I liked that we did not have to make a reservation for the restaurants. The food was very good. The only complaint is that the only beer I could get was Corona. I was hoping to be able to sample more of the local beers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The shopping on the resort was limited and expensive. I found the best deals while on a tour at Tulum a Chitchenia.

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Asheville, NC
Mar 3, 2009

LOVELY PLACE & PEOPLE!

Dreams Tulum was gorgeous, the people & the whole resort were just BEAUTIFUL! We came here for our honeymoon & were so delighted by the welcome in Champagne, the room upgrade to a Junior Suite & more wine & fresh fruits to our room. The staff was the BEST part--everyone from housekeeping to the entertainment staff were Uber-Nice and extremely helpful. They did a superb JOB! We really enjoyed the beach (even though there's only a small area that you can walk out into clear sand)- the rest are tidal pool areas. But the pools were a good size & activities galore. We almost needed to plan in our relaxation time. The Spa is Divine--[...] is a fantastic massage therapist. I'm a world traveler who likes amenities but enjoys feeling the local culture. So if you want to taste the more authentic food of Mexico--it's best to go to the town of Tulum (7 min taxi ride=$7 US). We heard Taquequeto in downtown is really good. Btw, you can not walk to the Tulum ruins from the beach, you'll need to take the colectivo or taxi there (5 min=$6 US). Natural explorations outside the resort are Sian Ka'an Nature Preserve & the cenotes that surround the area--Cristalino Cenote is beautiful. Once you're in the resort it's hard to leave because there's so much to do there, but there's a whole adventure awaiting in the surrounding areas. We LOVED that they had a SuperBowl party on the beach with BBQ, snacks, and lounge chairs--so super!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tulum Ruins are NOT walkable by the beach. You'll need to take a colectivo (shuttle $2) or a taxi ($6 US=5min) there & to the Downtown area of Tulum.

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tulsa, OK
Mar 3, 2009

January getaway

We rented a car. The insurance coverage cost more than the car rental. Driving around was no problem other than the entrance to the hotel was not marked due to the road construction. We drove to Coba, Tulum, and Playa del Carmen. We bought spa privileges during our stay. We enjoyed the spa, the steam room, the sauna and the hot tub. We did not get a massage. (We have an excellent massage therapist at home.) The restaurants were very good. I enjoyed the World Cafe (even in the evening), the Mexican restaurant, and the Seaside grill. But you need to try each restaurant. We went cenote snorkeling through the hotel with the outfit on the beach. It was great. Definitely worth doing. Most of the time was spent relaxing. Great place to do that. Wish the temperatures had been warmer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the ruins at Tulum are a must see.

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Dec 21, 2008

Affordable luxury

The rooms are amazing (we stayed at Dreams Jr. Suite) The food and drinks are superb (especially Italian restaurant) I highly recommend to take yoga. He also does a great Thai massage. The only bad thing is that most of The long

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tulum

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Dec 20, 2008

Great place to stay!

The Hotel was awesome. The room was clean and the staff was amazing; extremely nice and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Litchfield Park
Dec 3, 2008

Very friendly staff!!

We went to Dreams Tulum for our wedding and we can't say enough about how wonderful it was. The wedding was amazing! Sandra Casillas and Landy Cahum were wonderful wedding planners. They took care of everything... and they were great planning through e-mail. We would recommend Dreams to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The ruins are close too.

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Long Beach
Oct 15, 2008

Excellent location and a friendly staff

This hotel as a gorgeous beach! It is very close to the Tulum Ruins right on the beach---you just kayak down the beach for a mile or so and you are right there. Food was gretat. Families with children will love this place because you can drop your kids off at thge kid's care center free of charge and the parents can have a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Sep 26, 2008

Dreams was really a Sweet Dream

Absolutely Dreamy. Deciding to celebrate our wedding anniversary was a challenge but when we came upon the Dreams Resort we gave ourselves the benefit of the doubt. We enjoyed every moment from the day of arrival to the day of departure. The staff goes above and beyond to leave you very satisfied. The rooms are beautiful and anywhere you stay you have a spectacular view. The food was delicious, you have to try out every restaurant if you get a chance. The resort provides great activities and entertainment, perfect for families. We can't wait to go back to the Dreams Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A rental car is the best way to go. We rented our car from the airport. Driving through the Maya Riviera is a breeze. From the Dreams Resort many of what the main attractions are are a short drive away, and plus you save tons on having to pay for the tours.

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
El Cajon
Sep 22, 2008

Beautiful surronding

My fiance and I were very impressed with Dreams Tulum. Theview from the room was spectacular. There are a lot of dining options which were all very good. We really liked all the different activities they had during the day like water volleyball and water polo. We both got massages and it was very relaxing. We did the dinner on the beach which was very romantic. the two complaints that I have are the bed was not comfortable at all and the pool needs to be redone. We stayed ten days and we will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Roselle
Sep 21, 2008

Great Beach and Excellent Dining

The Dreams Tulum is about as far south on the Riviera Maya as you can get. It is about 5 minutes north of Tulum on a beautiful and private beach. There is fine mix of sandy waters and rock/coral which means that for about half the beach front you can swim and really enjoy the waters and the other half has some of the best snorkeling you can find without taking a boat out to the reef. The food is excellent and with the option for the sit down restaurants we found that we only had dinner in the buffet one evening. Our personal favorites were the sushi bar and the Mexican restuarant, but all had something solid to offer. Daytime dining was mainly the buffet and either the Mexican of the seafood grill. If you have stayed at some of the huge resorts, this will be a refreshing change. All of the restaurants are within close proximity to the pool, the beach and the shops. Perhaps with the exception of the work out facility and tennis courts, no part of the hotel is further than a 5 minute walk. We stayed in the Beachfront Dreams Suite. Check-in was good but they initially placed us in a Poolside, beachview suite. We complained and the next day were moved to the correct suites. If you are looking for quite and rest during the day (especially 10am-5pm), I would suggest an alternate to the poolside rooms to any of the other suites on the property. Also, stay on the new side of the property - there is a clear distinction between the buildings and rooms and you will regret the choice of the older side. The grounds are impeccably kept. The entertainment was far better than I expected. There were plenty of options for all ages and if you have little ones they will be kept busy day and night with the various clubs. For the adults, we watched a fire and dance show that was unbelivable and really enjoyed the beachfront music. There were a couple of nice, subtle touches. The free 24 hour room service, the free DVD rentals, the wi-fi (for a fee) and the general attention to detail. From our balcony we watched several people get married. We could understand the choice of venue - it is beautiful. Apart from the initial mishap with the rooms, the only complaint we had was with the main pool. It is a nice size, has a great swim up bar, a nice kids area, a great area for the games, nice spots to relax, etc. However, the pool is in serious need of repainting. In the evenings, the staff would set up candles around the edge of the pool. This was a nice touch, but mainly done to conceal the patchwork of paint on the pool floor that would show if the lights were on at night. For this star-level of hotel, that is simply not acceptable. We are very experienced travelers. Typically we have one beach, one European and one other trip per year. With this in mind, we knew what we were looking for from this trip and hotel. I have to say that overall, this was one of the best hotels that we stayed at in our visits to the Riviera Maya. We would give serious consideration to returning to. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel-Ha and Xcaret and only 15-20 minutes or so away; Playa del Carmen is about 25-30 minutes; Coba is only about 30 minutes away; there are dozens of cenotes, 4-wheeling, horse riding, zip lining and other entertainment options within 15-25 minutes.

Back to menu Return to top