$388 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal 387 KM 234, Km 234, Tulum, 77780
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
276 reviews
Great Property

Really enjoyed. It is a bit overpriced though. At the price point they want you can find a better... See full review

  • Wasted My Money
  • Apr 4, 2014
4.5 Stars!

Dreams Tulum was a wonderful friendly experience. The grounds are large, airy,... See full review

  • The Occasional Traveler
  • Jan 28, 2014
Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa transports guests to a utopia of flourishing gardens, soft sand beaches and high-caliber accommodations. Marble flooring is soothing underfoot as you step out of the Tulum heat, while the modern Mexican hotel decor and ocean- or garden-facing rooms allow for meditative nature-watching. Rejuvenate your skin with treatments at the spa - from facials to exfoliations and massages - before sampling local Mexican dishes at El Patio, one of the hotel's exquisite restaurants. Romantic and indulgent, this resort is great for honeymooners, though the Explorer's Club ensures that little ones also have plenty to do (restrictions apply).
Key facts
  • 432 guestrooms and suites
  • Some adults-only rooms
  • Restaurants: Bordeaux, El Patio, Gohan Restaurant, Himitsu, Portofino Restaurant, Seaside Grill, World Cafe, Barefoot Grill, Coco Cafe
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Ballroom: seats up to 600 people
  • Full-service business center
  • 3 meeting rooms: each seats up to 60 people
  • Fully supervised children's club
  • Spa
Neighborhood
Forgo the crowded popularity of Cancun in favor of the quaint town of Tulum to the south. Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa has its own private, palm-lined beach nestled in acres of lush coastal forest that make for great exploration and hiking. Travel a few brief miles to soak in the sights at historical, walled Tulum, one of the last Mayan cities to survive Spanish colonization. Visit the natural lagoon at Xel-Ha to swim a few laps alongside a friendly dolphin, and observe endangered sea turtles in their natural environment.
Hints and tips
Higher-numbered rooms are closer to the beach at the Dreams Resort, while some of the accommodations offer swim-out entry.

Be sure to inquire about these if you're interested in taking a super-convenient dip.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Garden or Ocean View Room: 450.9 sq ft.
Standard room hacienda-style with colonial decoration. In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king size bed or two double beds, bathroom with shower and bidet, garden view, private balcony or terrace with hammock.
Junior Suite Garden or Ocean View Room: 513.3 sq ft
This hacienda-style room with colonial decoration. In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king bed and a separate area with two sofas, bathroom with bath tub and bidet, double sink, garden view and private balcony or terrace with hammock.
Premium Junior Suite Garden View Room: 546.8 sq ft or 564.02 sq ft
In addition to the all of the above amenities, this room offers contemporary decor, king bed or two double beds, separate living area with a sofa, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub, telephone extension in the bathroom, double sink and a garden or Ocean View.
Preferred Club Hacienda Suite: 622 sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Hacienda Suite, wood floors and authentic colonial decoration, a king bed, bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bathtub, private concierge service and partial ocean view. These suites are located in the 14th building* of rooms, ideally above the Coco Caf and the preferred club, next to the main plaza and restaurant area.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean Front: 546.8.sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Junior Suite offers contemporary decor, king bed, separate living area with sofa, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub, double sink, secrets box for private room service, and telephone extension in the bathroom, private concierge service, ocean front views, private balcony or terrace. These rooms are located on the third floor in the 15th a and f building* of rooms facing the pool and beach. This section is next to the main plaza and restaurant area.
Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite: 627.23 sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite offers contemporary dcor, king size bed and separate living area with a sofa, in either ocean view and garden view, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub and telephone extension in the bathroom walking closet, double sink, private concierge service, private balcony or terrace and Secrets box for private room service. Located on the third floor in the 15th a and f building* of rooms facing the pool and beach this section is next to the main plaza and the restaurant area.
Connecting Rooms and Family Suites
Dreams Tulum now offers two great options for families and groups. We have increased our number of connecting rooms in the Deluxe and Junior Suite categories. As a result, we have the ability to confirm connecting rooms in advance. With the largest number of connecting rooms totaling over 200 (100 units), Dreams Tulum is now the best option for families in the destination. In the Premium and Preferred Club sections, all rooms and suites are grouped in clusters. Our new Family Suites provide us with the opportunity to host large families, weddings and small groups in very private settings. Our new Family Suites come in segments of 4, 5, 6, 7, 10 or even 12 rooms. These room segments are accessed through one master door and together they share one large living room area. All external hallways surrounding these Family Suites have been closed to provide privacy and isolation. These Family Suites are available for an additional daily charge.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Garden Swimout
In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king bed and a separate area with two sofas, bathroom with bath tub, double sink, garden view and private balcony or terrace with terrace and a beautiful direct swim-out access to one of the 4 swimming pools that flows to each private patio. Located in the 10th building* of rooms and built in the shape of the old haciendas centering the garden and plaza with a fountain and benches creating a sense of old Mexico.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Portofino
(Italian Cuisine) - la carte -Exploring the flavors of the Mediterranean and Italian cuisine. -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 102 -Dinner only, la Carte from 6:00 p.m. -10:30 p.m.
Seaside Grill
- la carte -Casual attire -Located directly on the beach, offering a light snack to a full meal during the day and an la carte steak house menu in the evening. -Approximate seating capacity - 80 Daily breakfast la carte 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. (seasonally) Daily lunch 12:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m Dinner la carte 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Desires Music Lounge
-Located in the main lobby, enjoy the night in a sports bar lounge ambience, serving international and national beverages. Adults only, 18 years of age and older. -Casual attire -Hours: 10:00 p.m. - 12:30 a.m.
Coco Cafe
-Premium coffee and deli snacks in a casual and relaxed atmosphere. -Open daily from 7 am to 9 pm -Dress code: Casual
Manatee Bar
(Swim-up bar at the main pool) -Located in the main pool, our swim-up bar offers tropical drinks and wait service in the pool area. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. -Beach attire
World Caf
-Continental and Mexican cuisine with a variety of international specialty items and classics. -Approximate seating capacity - 340 -Special kids corner in the buffet section. -Casual attire Continental breakfast - 6:30 a.m - 7:00 a.m Breakfast - buffet style - 7:00 a.m -11:00 a.m. Lunch - buffet style - 12:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Dinner - buffet style - 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Barracuda Bar
-Located between Himitsu and Bordeaux, guests will enjoy a variety of drinks. A perfect place to enjoy a drink or cocktail before or after dinner. -Hours: 6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Himitsu & Gohan Restaurant
HIMITSU RESTAURANT - la carte -Specializing in Asian cuisine (Chinese - Thai) -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 98 -Dinner only, la Carte from 6:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m. GOHAN RESTAURANT (Sushi Bar) - la carte -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 24 -Dinner only, la carte from 6:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Rendezvous
-Located in the main lobby offers international and national drinks including tropical drinks and wait service. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Sugar Reef Bar & Revive Bar
SUGAR REEF BAR -Guests can relax in the sun or shade at the main bar while enjoying cool cocktails including international and national brands, juices and soft drinks. Wait service is provided at the pool deck. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m. REVIVE BAR -Guests can enjoy cool and natural drinks while relaxing at the spa after a wonderful treatment -Hours: 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Dreams Tulum provides a beautiful new convention center with 6 meeting rooms for up to 600 people. Av equipment available for rent as well as top of the art facilities for banquets, meetings and show performances. with 4 breakouts, a magnificent foyer and a gourmet cuisine. The Chichen Itza Ballroom hosts 400 people in Banquet style and up to 600 for cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (276)

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
276 out of 276
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 1, 2009

Swine flu is really scaring the tourist

Dreams Tulum is about 2 hour cab ride or about a 7 hour shuttle ride from the airport. After you get there it was great though. The hotel's exchange rate is terrible. You could really tell they've scaled back on amenities due to low tourism as a result of the economy and the swine flu. Most of the restaurants on site never opened the whole time I was there. But we had everything pretty much to ourselves which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't go to the world cafe...it's bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bailey, CO
May 30, 2009

A "Dream" Vacation!

We arrived and was given a glass of champagne and the it just got better from there. The rooms were spotless! But the best part was the STAFF. I just can't even begin to tell you how wonderful they were. We were entertained all day/night! The property was gorgeous, the sand, the sun, the pool! Everyone was friendly. I was inpressed hoe clean everything was. I would go back in a heart beat!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We were told by other patrons about taking a taxi to the city of Tulum to see the Mayan Ruins instead of arranging for a tour. We paid $7.00 to take a taxi tp the ruins. $2.00 to take a train to the ruins (so you don't have to walk) and then $5.00 to get in. They offer guided tours at the ruins for about $60.00 but we saw the ruins ourselves and looked up the history on Google.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
May 26, 2009

Fantastic Location & Amenities

Minutes from the Tulum ruins and Tulum town, the amenitites including spa, pools, ocean and onsite activities were highly recommended. Service was always excellent and rooms/resort always kept immaculate. Restaurant options were diverse and food was always fresh, yet not all restaurants were open during the stay and unfortunately the restaurants didn't seem to have any stand-out items. Would highly recommend the resort for those looking to visit the Rivieria Maya without the congestion of Cancun. The ride from airport to resort is 1-1/2 to 2 hours. Personally would recommend private transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Tulum ruins. They are a short Taxi ride (5 min.) and the admission is cheap (~$5). Be sure to bring a bathing suit, towel and water as the best beach is in the ruins. Spend some time seeing the ruins and spend several hours on the beautiful beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
-A-
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 24, 2009

Great Service, good value!

This was my first all-inclusive resort trip to Mexico. The experience was pretty good. This resort was mostly great with only a few small things that prevented a perfect rating.A little background on myself-I'm a 32-yr old guy who went on this trip with my girlfriend for my birthday. We didn't bring any kids, nor do we have any.We flew in on Delta airlines from LAX to Cancun airport. We used the Grey Lines taxi service provided through Orbitz. The service packed us into a car with another couple for the 120km ride to Tulum. Normally not a problem, but the car was awfully small and cramped, yet air conditioned. They made up for it on the way back--they contacted us in our room the day before to tell us when we would be picked up for the airport and delivered us in a large van this time. I would recommend the Grey Line to get to your hotel.When we arrived-we were quickly checked in, offered champagne and given our room key. The room was not bad-we had a suite--it was clean, smelled fine, and the A/c worked very well. Everyday our room was cleaned and every evening there was turn down service.We spent most of our time relaxing on the beach, hitting the bar, and eating. The service was great (it got better as the week went on-we were tipping 50 pesos a meal--although not required, we felt better leaving some money for the service we received). The bars were good--we were never without a drink when we wanted one, but the only beer offered was corona, bud light, and budweiser. The restaurants that were open were good ( occupancy was at about 30% throughout the Cancun region due to the economy and flu outbreak-the hotel wanted to adjust to the occupancy rates I suppose). I recommend the scuba diving (On site with two Kiwis named [...] and [...])--I have never been before--but the class was good enough for me to learn and enjoy diving on my first trip out. There was entertainment every evening--from a bands to an audience participation American Idol event. Also there was a movie shown on the beach every night. Lots to do for sure.A few notes:-Always negotiate everything when off the resort grounds--the cabs leaving the resort can often be negotaited down at least 25%- The beds are rock hard-my back was killing me at the end of the week- Room service could be slow, but picked up. Also, don't hesitate to call room service if they don't stock your fridge often.- The beach is great-very private, no vendors bugging you-worth a walk down the beach for a few miles in each direction- There is decent internet service- about $10/day- a lot of couples and weddings, very few kids or singles. If I was single, I wouldn't go by myself.- The bars usually closed around midnightI would recommend this location for someone who wants to relax on the beach, good service, and enjoy some privacy. It is far from Playa del Carmen and Cancun, but very close to the ruins at Tulum (a good morning or afternoon trip). If the beds were softer (not really a big deal until the 7th day you wake up with back pain), and there were more types of beer available, I would give this resort 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bobby the mojito
Business
Racine,Wi
May 22, 2009

this was my best vacation.

Was there for a wedding. the activites were fun,Missing yes not everything was open that we paid for and wanted to stay another day but orbitz couldnt accomidate this and other travel agents could have.Comare to other trips at the top of the list.If everything was open and was able to extend our stay would of been perfect.The $200 in vouchers were a joke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

it was all great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Akron, OH
May 21, 2009

Nice resort, probably nicer at capacity

Dreams Tulum was a very nice resort - pretty much what we expected since we stayed at Dreams Puerto Vallarta last year. The rooms are spacious - very peaceful and clean. I loved having a hammock on the patio! The pools were great. This was a great location because of the proximity of Chichen Itza and the Ruins of Tulum. My only complaints are that the beach was not the greatest. Don't get me wrong, the water was beautiful - clear blue, but because of the coral reef nearby, all of the coral washes up on shore and makes the beach quite rocky and sharp. There was also a ton of seaweed washed up so the beach wasn't very clean at all (and it was kind of small). Other than that, the food wasn't fantastic (as far as restaurant choice compared to Puerto Vallarta) and there were long waits for dinner every night; however, that is most likely because the hotel was only at 20% capacity and therefore understaffed so only two restaurants were open each night. All in all, I would recommend this if you are interested in seeing any of the Mayan ruins on the peninsula, but if you are just looking for a nice beach vacation, I would recommend Dreams Puerto Vallarta over this. In May it isn't very crowded, but there are enough people to keep more restaurants open - and the food there was much fresher and better. Also, all of the rooms there are ocean view and the beach is big and secluded. There is a small town nearby where you can walk around and shop, plus a big board walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You can take a taxi to the ruins of Tulum for $7. Don't bother paying for a tour. If you want a guide, there are a ton of them you can pay right at the site for about $40-50. The tour we did of Chichen Itza (about an hour and a half away) was this one http://www.cancun-discounts.com/tours/cancun/chichen-itza-tour.htm We of course were stupid and paid full-price through the hotel because we didn't book it until we got there, but this is much cheaper. The tour guide was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
knoxville, Tn
May 15, 2009

beautiful beach and ocean

We had a very peaceful and relaxing time. Occupancy was down, so only half of the restaurants were open, thats my only complaint. Staff and servers very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

save money and take taxis instead of shuttle tours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego ca
May 12, 2009

REGULAR EXPERIENCE

they were under taff so at the time of meals lomg delais, and quality regular, most of the meals in the evenig were not hot, and we spot comple of cacarouches in the main restaurantes. OVER ALL NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jesslukow
Business
Akron, OH
May 10, 2009

Not Exactly A Dream

My husband and I just came back from a week's trip to Tulum and the Dreams resort located there. We had previously honeymooned at the Dreams resort in Cabo San Lucas and had a great experience. The trip from the airport to the hotel is quite long (about 2 hours.) We arrived at the hotel around lunch time and were greeted with very friendly staff members. The room's weren't ready until around 3-4 o'clock so I suggest packing your bathing suits on the so you can hang out at the pool/beach while you wait. The rooms are small, but clean. The bed is hard as a rock. We had a junior suite with garden view. I'm not really sure how much larger the junior suite is than a regular room. (You have a small, extra sitting are near your balcony.) The honeymoon suite in Cabo was fabulous so if you can upgrade it's probably worth the extra money. Like everyone else has mentioned, folks do come out early to get their seats so you will have to do the same. The beach is beautiful in front of the hotel and there are plenty of activities to keep you entertained if you so wish. You can really only walk one direction on the beach. To the left of the hotel, the beach is extremely rocky and requires shoes. (not worth it) To the right of the hotel you can definately walk a couple of miles without difficulty. You do have to navigate through the seaweed and trash on the beach though. There are very few residencies and hotels near the resort, and almost all of them seem to be vacant. We had two major disappointments on this trip. The food is terrible and the service is subpar. Our best meals by far were breakfast at the World's cafe. It's a buffett so you serve yourself. My husband and I each spent a night vomiting with food poisioning. (two separate occasions). Honestly, you could easily make better food from a can. If you're a burger and fries kind of person this may be OK for you. But...if you enjoy getting a nice dinner then I would totally bypass this resort. Our other major complaint was the gym. There were only two working treadmills. The ellipitical machine is a joke, as is the staristepper. There was always a wait for the treadmill. A resort this large needs more cardio equipment! My husband and I visited Cancun a few weeks prior to coming to Tulum. The beach here is definately better, but otherwise there is no comparison. The service, the gym, and especially the food at this resort will definatley keep us from returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
minalo55
Business
Dallas TX
May 8, 2009

Wonder experience

We were at the resort 4/30 - 5/3. Our room ocean view #8336 was wonderful as we could see the ocean sitting on the patio. We had no concerns about the swine flu and no one at the resort was sick. However because of the swine flu scare the resort was almost empty. So we enjoyed the peace and quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top