$367 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal 387 KM 234, Km 234, Tulum, 77780
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
276 reviews
Great Getaway.

Beautiful resort. Ocean is beautiful but rocky. Also, a lot of wildlife can be seen from the shore.... See full review

  • zelno
  • Jun 3, 2013
Dreams Tulum

First time to a resort. Very good choice. The grounds/gardens are kept very well. The room was... See full review

  • First Timer from Illinois
  • Jun 3, 2013
Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa transports guests to a utopia of flourishing gardens, soft sand beaches and high-caliber accommodations. Marble flooring is soothing underfoot as you step out of the Tulum heat, while the modern Mexican hotel decor and ocean- or garden-facing rooms allow for meditative nature-watching. Rejuvenate your skin with treatments at the spa - from facials to exfoliations and massages - before sampling local Mexican dishes at El Patio, one of the hotel's exquisite restaurants. Romantic and indulgent, this resort is great for honeymooners, though the Explorer's Club ensures that little ones also have plenty to do (restrictions apply).
Key facts
  • 432 guestrooms and suites
  • Some adults-only rooms
  • Restaurants: Bordeaux, El Patio, Gohan Restaurant, Himitsu, Portofino Restaurant, Seaside Grill, World Cafe, Barefoot Grill, Coco Cafe
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Ballroom: seats up to 600 people
  • Full-service business center
  • 3 meeting rooms: each seats up to 60 people
  • Fully supervised children's club
  • Spa
Neighborhood
Forgo the crowded popularity of Cancun in favor of the quaint town of Tulum to the south. Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa has its own private, palm-lined beach nestled in acres of lush coastal forest that make for great exploration and hiking. Travel a few brief miles to soak in the sights at historical, walled Tulum, one of the last Mayan cities to survive Spanish colonization. Visit the natural lagoon at Xel-Ha to swim a few laps alongside a friendly dolphin, and observe endangered sea turtles in their natural environment.
Hints and tips
Higher-numbered rooms are closer to the beach at the Dreams Resort, while some of the accommodations offer swim-out entry.

Be sure to inquire about these if you're interested in taking a super-convenient dip.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Garden or Ocean View Room: 450.9 sq ft.
Standard room hacienda-style with colonial decoration. In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king size bed or two double beds, bathroom with shower and bidet, garden view, private balcony or terrace with hammock.
Junior Suite Garden or Ocean View Room: 513.3 sq ft
This hacienda-style room with colonial decoration. In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king bed and a separate area with two sofas, bathroom with bath tub and bidet, double sink, garden view and private balcony or terrace with hammock.
Premium Junior Suite Garden View Room: 546.8 sq ft or 564.02 sq ft
In addition to the all of the above amenities, this room offers contemporary decor, king bed or two double beds, separate living area with a sofa, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub, telephone extension in the bathroom, double sink and a garden or Ocean View.
Preferred Club Hacienda Suite: 622 sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Hacienda Suite, wood floors and authentic colonial decoration, a king bed, bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bathtub, private concierge service and partial ocean view. These suites are located in the 14th building* of rooms, ideally above the Coco Caf and the preferred club, next to the main plaza and restaurant area.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean Front: 546.8.sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Junior Suite offers contemporary decor, king bed, separate living area with sofa, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub, double sink, secrets box for private room service, and telephone extension in the bathroom, private concierge service, ocean front views, private balcony or terrace. These rooms are located on the third floor in the 15th a and f building* of rooms facing the pool and beach. This section is next to the main plaza and restaurant area.
Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite: 627.23 sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite offers contemporary dcor, king size bed and separate living area with a sofa, in either ocean view and garden view, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub and telephone extension in the bathroom walking closet, double sink, private concierge service, private balcony or terrace and Secrets box for private room service. Located on the third floor in the 15th a and f building* of rooms facing the pool and beach this section is next to the main plaza and the restaurant area.
Connecting Rooms and Family Suites
Dreams Tulum now offers two great options for families and groups. We have increased our number of connecting rooms in the Deluxe and Junior Suite categories. As a result, we have the ability to confirm connecting rooms in advance. With the largest number of connecting rooms totaling over 200 (100 units), Dreams Tulum is now the best option for families in the destination. In the Premium and Preferred Club sections, all rooms and suites are grouped in clusters. Our new Family Suites provide us with the opportunity to host large families, weddings and small groups in very private settings. Our new Family Suites come in segments of 4, 5, 6, 7, 10 or even 12 rooms. These room segments are accessed through one master door and together they share one large living room area. All external hallways surrounding these Family Suites have been closed to provide privacy and isolation. These Family Suites are available for an additional daily charge.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Garden Swimout
In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king bed and a separate area with two sofas, bathroom with bath tub, double sink, garden view and private balcony or terrace with terrace and a beautiful direct swim-out access to one of the 4 swimming pools that flows to each private patio. Located in the 10th building* of rooms and built in the shape of the old haciendas centering the garden and plaza with a fountain and benches creating a sense of old Mexico.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Dreams Tulum provides a beautiful new convention center with 6 meeting rooms for up to 600 people. Av equipment available for rent as well as top of the art facilities for banquets, meetings and show performances. with 4 breakouts, a magnificent foyer and a gourmet cuisine. The Chichen Itza Ballroom hosts 400 people in Banquet style and up to 600 for cocktail.

Dining

Portofino
(Italian Cuisine) - la carte -Exploring the flavors of the Mediterranean and Italian cuisine. -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 102 -Dinner only, la Carte from 6:00 p.m. -10:30 p.m.
Seaside Grill
- la carte -Casual attire -Located directly on the beach, offering a light snack to a full meal during the day and an la carte steak house menu in the evening. -Approximate seating capacity - 80 Daily breakfast la carte 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. (seasonally) Daily lunch 12:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m Dinner la carte 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Desires Music Lounge
-Located in the main lobby, enjoy the night in a sports bar lounge ambience, serving international and national beverages. Adults only, 18 years of age and older. -Casual attire -Hours: 10:00 p.m. - 12:30 a.m.
Coco Cafe
-Premium coffee and deli snacks in a casual and relaxed atmosphere. -Open daily from 7 am to 9 pm -Dress code: Casual
Manatee Bar
(Swim-up bar at the main pool) -Located in the main pool, our swim-up bar offers tropical drinks and wait service in the pool area. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. -Beach attire
World Caf
-Continental and Mexican cuisine with a variety of international specialty items and classics. -Approximate seating capacity - 340 -Special kids corner in the buffet section. -Casual attire Continental breakfast - 6:30 a.m - 7:00 a.m Breakfast - buffet style - 7:00 a.m -11:00 a.m. Lunch - buffet style - 12:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Dinner - buffet style - 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Barracuda Bar
-Located between Himitsu and Bordeaux, guests will enjoy a variety of drinks. A perfect place to enjoy a drink or cocktail before or after dinner. -Hours: 6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Himitsu & Gohan Restaurant
HIMITSU RESTAURANT - la carte -Specializing in Asian cuisine (Chinese - Thai) -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 98 -Dinner only, la Carte from 6:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m. GOHAN RESTAURANT (Sushi Bar) - la carte -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 24 -Dinner only, la carte from 6:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Rendezvous
-Located in the main lobby offers international and national drinks including tropical drinks and wait service. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Sugar Reef Bar & Revive Bar
SUGAR REEF BAR -Guests can relax in the sun or shade at the main bar while enjoying cool cocktails including international and national brands, juices and soft drinks. Wait service is provided at the pool deck. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m. REVIVE BAR -Guests can enjoy cool and natural drinks while relaxing at the spa after a wonderful treatment -Hours: 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (276)

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
276 out of 276
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Sep 20, 2009

Heaven on Earth

The Dreams Tulum Resort delivers everything you could want from a resort: Beautiful beach with clear clean water, incredible pools (with swim-up bar), wonderfully maintained grounds, staff that is beyond nice and accommodating, great entertainment, good food. It's like a tropical postcard come to life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 14, 2009

Awesome!

Went there for a wedding and it couldn't be more perfect. We will definitly return and soon! The staff at the Explorer's Club is exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Berg
Business
Early, IA
Sep 11, 2009

Wonderful Stay at Dreams

We had a wonderful honeymoon at Dreams Tulum Resort and Spas. The room was beautiful, and was kept very clean my our maids. There was 24 hour room service, which was great. They also had a variety of restaurants to choose from. All restaurants were very nice and very good. Just remember, there are dress codes that they enforce (slacks, nice shirt, some didn't allow sandals). We usually didn't have to wait for a seat, but there were a couple times we did. The bars treated us like we were kings, and the entertainment staff was awesome! There was a planned out day of activities everyday, and we receivecd the list of activities the night beforehand when they turned down our sheet. The ocean was wonderful, nice and warm (visited from 8/31-9/7. The pool was very nice, especially the poolside service. There were lots of kids there, but you didn't notice them much because there's an explorers club that does activites with them all day. It seemed like the kids were having a really fun time. To end my review, we ended up taking the Grayline shuttle service (this is an extra ammenity offered through orbitz when you check out). I was very hesitant because it was pretty spendy to get to Tulum, but I wanted to be safe. However, they were great as well. The gentleman that we talked to when we got to Mexico was very nice and wanted to make sure we had the best trip. We got there and back safely, and I thought it was worth the money. We also tipped when we left because the fee you pay with orbitz doesn't include tips. Overall, it was a great stay!! I couldn't have been happier with the service we got there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bordaux was the best restaurant there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 7, 2009

Mexico Vacation

While we were there we visited the ruins at Tulum and Coba...at Coba I would definitely rent a bike or a bike taxi. Otherwise, it will take you all day and be very hot. At the end of the Coba trails, there is a huge temple you can climb, not for the faint of heart. The hotel offered many activities, kayaking, water sports, entertainment at the pool, and the shows at night were good. Usually entertainment at hotels is not that great. It was good here. The food was the only thing that was not stellar...but the Italian and Asian restaurants were best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. The transfer to and from the airport is $60 a person. We rented a car at $120 for the whole week, plus $10 a day for liability insurance. This way, you also don't have to pay to go out and explore, just get in the car and go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sif1968[@]
Business
detroit ,MI
Aug 31, 2009

Dreams

great resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 24, 2009

Dreams

This is my second time at this resort and its even better than the first time. First time I went was shortly after Hurricane Wilma hit and they were rebuilding the resort. I wanted to see how much better it got after the renovations. I enjoyed it a lot when I visited a couple years ago. I went with 4 other friends and we stayed at the newer Dreams suites which was definitely worth the upgrade. Beds are comfortable depending what type of mattress you prefer. We're very used to sleeping on firm mattresses so we felt absolutely comfortable in that. It's actually better for your back. Staff gave top notch service and were very detailed oriented. Restaurants were awesome. We loved the Sea Side Grill (steak house) and Italian restaurant the best. Bordeux (french) was only good for some of us. We tried the sushi bar and it was ok... We definitely had much better sushi in NYC. Wait time is longer than you would expect in NYC. I think its more of a cultural thing. We asked one time if we could order as the waiter was getting our drinks and he said that he will come back to it. I guess that we're on vacation that they want to make it feel slower paced that we're normally accustomed to. It can also be that they're very short-staffed. They got hit really badly from the media on H1N1. And there's nothing to worry about it over here. It was meticulously clean everywhere. From our rooms to the grounds to the restaurants. There was no one that we saw or encountered that got sick. We did not go to many of the nightly entertainment since we were either busy eating our 2nd dinner of the night or we were dead asleep. We did 3 excursions- ATV with ATV jungle explorer, Hidden Worlds, and visited the Mayan ruins at Tulum. All of which we visited on our own since we rented a car. It was much cheaper to do all the excursions that way. Tulum ruins was about a 5- 10 min drive. Make sure u convert some of your money to pesos, you pay less that way. You can hire guides at the front if you want. It's much cheaper if you go on your own and hire a guide instead of booking tours with your resort or anywhere else. We ordered our Hidden Worlds tickets online- also cheaper that way. We ordered using cancun-discounts for the ATV, great experience with them and cheap! There were several negative reviews that I read prior to returning to Dreams and I was worried that everything changed and got worse. But everything was perfect. Maybe our group are not picky people or we just got lucky. We found everything to be perfect up to the smallest detail. And remember to tip, tip, tip! The staff really works hard to make everyone happy there. They were always smiling, always polite, and says "it's a pleasure" for everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
In da house
Business
Wichita, KS
Aug 17, 2009

Great place to relax and soak up the sun

Resort was wonderful with exceptional service and excellent food and beverage! The restaurants like the Italian and Asian give 5 star service. The campus was beautifully landscaped and well maintained. A lot of activities at the resort and the staff worked very hard to meet our every desire and fulfilled every request if we needed anything!!! There were some minor problems with the sink and A/C but they made it right by us immediately. The ocean was crystal clear and you can snorkel on sight. Also, the Tulum ruins are a couple of miles away which you can use the hotels bikes to ride there! I would highly recommend this resort!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Would like fellow travelers to know that the resort is great and secluded but is 1 hour and 45 minutes from airport. Also, don't use Grayline for transportation if you stay at Dream's Tulum because the representative was rude and never called us to help with arrival for outside activities. To top it all off Grayline's driver on the return to airport could not stay awake and kept running of the road. I had to keep him awake by continually tapping on his shoulder and by even grabbing the steering wheel. One time when he fell asleep we almost drove into a barricade (and into a road which was not the direction to the hotel) which I had to take control of the vehicle. Another example was we nearly rear ended somebody when fell asleep. He could no stay awake and refused to pull over. I offered to buy him coffee. He must have been drunk or hungover. We had a very very stressful drive to the airport needless to say and spent a lot of money for poor transportation service!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 27, 2009

Dreams Tulum lives up to its name

My girlfriend and I had an amazing time at Dreams Tulum. For those looking for a true all-inclusive experience, Dreams will give you what you are looking for... The hotel property is perfectly maintained by a very friendly staff that works around the clock. Unlike other all inclusives, the food is quite good, I would say that the restaurants were comparable to dining at some nicer places in the United States. The buffets were average but we didn't eat there very often as it was easy to be seated at any of the other places with little waiting time. Drinks are flowing all day/night but make sure to ask for brand name alcohol or you will get served the local offering in most mixed drinks. The lobby bar is the best place for a drink, find Domingo and he will hook you up! We did have a few issues with our room which kept it from a 5 star rating. The first night we discovered ants in our room which wasn't a big deal because you are basically in the middle of the jungle. We were moved to a higher floor but our room's air conditioning was not working very well and it was quite hot in there at night. The staff kind of blew us off with getting someone to come fix it so we slept in a semi-airconditioned room for the rest of the trip. They did offer to move us again but they said we wouldnt have to wait 4 hours without a room, this was after the daily check out time!! One other incident that happened which I don't beleive is a result of the resort, is that one of the employees tried to rip me off at the front desk when i exchanged money. I had been changing over US$ all week and they always give you a slip to sign. I went early in the morning and there was only one person at the front desk (Hernan) and he tried changing over $50US for $450pesos without giving me a slip. I obviously noticed this and asked for a receipt, at which point he reached in the register and gave me an additional $170 pesos. This made me feal a bit uneasy but I don't think the other staff at Dreams would do this, they were all very friendly the entire time... Last thing to remember is to TIP!!! What is $50 extra dollars for tips?? Just a few dollars went along way to always getting served premium alcohol and getting fast seating and service and flowers in our room. The staff works very hard and they deserve it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

RENT A CAR!! ONly $35US per Day at executive rentals which is only 2km away from dreams. The cabs are $10 to go anywhere in Tulum so you will have freedom to explore the beautiful area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TDmER
Business
Reno, Nevada
Jul 27, 2009

Wonderful Resort for Family

Our room was perfect with a great view and location. Recreational options were unlimited with sailing, kyaks, snorkeling and daily activities by the staff. 5 minutes from the Ruins which was a great excursion. Food variety and quality was excellent with different locations and themes. We loved the resort and will definately go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

A visit to the Ruins is a 4 hour max with a $7 cab ride the most convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jul 19, 2009

Great time... a few minor problems

We were with a large group and had a great time here. I loved that we didnt have to fight for lounge chairs or towels. Our room was spotless and cold. In fact, the whole place was very clean, even the public restrooms. Everyone enjoyed the nightly movies on the beach. The nightly entertainment was good, the fire show was fabulous, and the best I've ever seen. The event staff was friendly and there was a variety of events. There were a few wait staff that really stood out, but some that were sub-par. The food in the restaurants was very good and of a pretty good variety. The food in the sushi and Asian bar was fabulous, as was the Italian restaurant. The only down side to this hotel is that about 75% of my family came down with major stomach upset while staying here. As I said, we had a large group (40+) so that is a large percentage, and as often as we come to Mexico this is unusal since it's never happened to us before. So for a lot of us to catch Montezuma's revenge while staying in a 5 star hotel is unfortunate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top