$388 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal 387 KM 234, Km 234, Tulum, 77780
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
276 reviews
Great Property

Really enjoyed. It is a bit overpriced though. At the price point they want you can find a better... See full review

  • Wasted My Money
  • Apr 4, 2014
4.5 Stars!

Dreams Tulum was a wonderful friendly experience. The grounds are large, airy,... See full review

  • The Occasional Traveler
  • Jan 28, 2014
Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa transports guests to a utopia of flourishing gardens, soft sand beaches and high-caliber accommodations. Marble flooring is soothing underfoot as you step out of the Tulum heat, while the modern Mexican hotel decor and ocean- or garden-facing rooms allow for meditative nature-watching. Rejuvenate your skin with treatments at the spa - from facials to exfoliations and massages - before sampling local Mexican dishes at El Patio, one of the hotel's exquisite restaurants. Romantic and indulgent, this resort is great for honeymooners, though the Explorer's Club ensures that little ones also have plenty to do (restrictions apply).
Key facts
  • 432 guestrooms and suites
  • Some adults-only rooms
  • Restaurants: Bordeaux, El Patio, Gohan Restaurant, Himitsu, Portofino Restaurant, Seaside Grill, World Cafe, Barefoot Grill, Coco Cafe
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Ballroom: seats up to 600 people
  • Full-service business center
  • 3 meeting rooms: each seats up to 60 people
  • Fully supervised children's club
  • Spa
Neighborhood
Forgo the crowded popularity of Cancun in favor of the quaint town of Tulum to the south. Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa has its own private, palm-lined beach nestled in acres of lush coastal forest that make for great exploration and hiking. Travel a few brief miles to soak in the sights at historical, walled Tulum, one of the last Mayan cities to survive Spanish colonization. Visit the natural lagoon at Xel-Ha to swim a few laps alongside a friendly dolphin, and observe endangered sea turtles in their natural environment.
Hints and tips
Higher-numbered rooms are closer to the beach at the Dreams Resort, while some of the accommodations offer swim-out entry.

Be sure to inquire about these if you're interested in taking a super-convenient dip.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Garden or Ocean View Room: 450.9 sq ft.
Standard room hacienda-style with colonial decoration. In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king size bed or two double beds, bathroom with shower and bidet, garden view, private balcony or terrace with hammock.
Junior Suite Garden or Ocean View Room: 513.3 sq ft
This hacienda-style room with colonial decoration. In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king bed and a separate area with two sofas, bathroom with bath tub and bidet, double sink, garden view and private balcony or terrace with hammock.
Premium Junior Suite Garden View Room: 546.8 sq ft or 564.02 sq ft
In addition to the all of the above amenities, this room offers contemporary decor, king bed or two double beds, separate living area with a sofa, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub, telephone extension in the bathroom, double sink and a garden or Ocean View.
Preferred Club Hacienda Suite: 622 sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Hacienda Suite, wood floors and authentic colonial decoration, a king bed, bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bathtub, private concierge service and partial ocean view. These suites are located in the 14th building* of rooms, ideally above the Coco Caf and the preferred club, next to the main plaza and restaurant area.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean Front: 546.8.sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Junior Suite offers contemporary decor, king bed, separate living area with sofa, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub, double sink, secrets box for private room service, and telephone extension in the bathroom, private concierge service, ocean front views, private balcony or terrace. These rooms are located on the third floor in the 15th a and f building* of rooms facing the pool and beach. This section is next to the main plaza and restaurant area.
Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite: 627.23 sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite offers contemporary dcor, king size bed and separate living area with a sofa, in either ocean view and garden view, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub and telephone extension in the bathroom walking closet, double sink, private concierge service, private balcony or terrace and Secrets box for private room service. Located on the third floor in the 15th a and f building* of rooms facing the pool and beach this section is next to the main plaza and the restaurant area.
Connecting Rooms and Family Suites
Dreams Tulum now offers two great options for families and groups. We have increased our number of connecting rooms in the Deluxe and Junior Suite categories. As a result, we have the ability to confirm connecting rooms in advance. With the largest number of connecting rooms totaling over 200 (100 units), Dreams Tulum is now the best option for families in the destination. In the Premium and Preferred Club sections, all rooms and suites are grouped in clusters. Our new Family Suites provide us with the opportunity to host large families, weddings and small groups in very private settings. Our new Family Suites come in segments of 4, 5, 6, 7, 10 or even 12 rooms. These room segments are accessed through one master door and together they share one large living room area. All external hallways surrounding these Family Suites have been closed to provide privacy and isolation. These Family Suites are available for an additional daily charge.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Garden Swimout
In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king bed and a separate area with two sofas, bathroom with bath tub, double sink, garden view and private balcony or terrace with terrace and a beautiful direct swim-out access to one of the 4 swimming pools that flows to each private patio. Located in the 10th building* of rooms and built in the shape of the old haciendas centering the garden and plaza with a fountain and benches creating a sense of old Mexico.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Dreams Tulum provides a beautiful new convention center with 6 meeting rooms for up to 600 people. Av equipment available for rent as well as top of the art facilities for banquets, meetings and show performances. with 4 breakouts, a magnificent foyer and a gourmet cuisine. The Chichen Itza Ballroom hosts 400 people in Banquet style and up to 600 for cocktail.

Dining

Portofino
(Italian Cuisine) - la carte -Exploring the flavors of the Mediterranean and Italian cuisine. -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 102 -Dinner only, la Carte from 6:00 p.m. -10:30 p.m.
Seaside Grill
- la carte -Casual attire -Located directly on the beach, offering a light snack to a full meal during the day and an la carte steak house menu in the evening. -Approximate seating capacity - 80 Daily breakfast la carte 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. (seasonally) Daily lunch 12:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m Dinner la carte 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Desires Music Lounge
-Located in the main lobby, enjoy the night in a sports bar lounge ambience, serving international and national beverages. Adults only, 18 years of age and older. -Casual attire -Hours: 10:00 p.m. - 12:30 a.m.
Coco Cafe
-Premium coffee and deli snacks in a casual and relaxed atmosphere. -Open daily from 7 am to 9 pm -Dress code: Casual
Manatee Bar
(Swim-up bar at the main pool) -Located in the main pool, our swim-up bar offers tropical drinks and wait service in the pool area. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. -Beach attire
World Caf
-Continental and Mexican cuisine with a variety of international specialty items and classics. -Approximate seating capacity - 340 -Special kids corner in the buffet section. -Casual attire Continental breakfast - 6:30 a.m - 7:00 a.m Breakfast - buffet style - 7:00 a.m -11:00 a.m. Lunch - buffet style - 12:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Dinner - buffet style - 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Barracuda Bar
-Located between Himitsu and Bordeaux, guests will enjoy a variety of drinks. A perfect place to enjoy a drink or cocktail before or after dinner. -Hours: 6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Himitsu & Gohan Restaurant
HIMITSU RESTAURANT - la carte -Specializing in Asian cuisine (Chinese - Thai) -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 98 -Dinner only, la Carte from 6:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m. GOHAN RESTAURANT (Sushi Bar) - la carte -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 24 -Dinner only, la carte from 6:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Rendezvous
-Located in the main lobby offers international and national drinks including tropical drinks and wait service. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Sugar Reef Bar & Revive Bar
SUGAR REEF BAR -Guests can relax in the sun or shade at the main bar while enjoying cool cocktails including international and national brands, juices and soft drinks. Wait service is provided at the pool deck. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m. REVIVE BAR -Guests can enjoy cool and natural drinks while relaxing at the spa after a wonderful treatment -Hours: 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (276)

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
276 out of 276
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not happy with [...] or hotel
Business
Texas
Nov 30, 2009

Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Either [...] or Hotel. I booked ad asked for adjoining rooms. Purchased 2 JR suites and got 1 JR suite and 1 Deluxe. Hotel did nothing to change or refund difference. Food was below par in all locations at this resort...sure free, doesn't mean good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte NC
Nov 11, 2009

Mostly nice

The hotel visually was very nice. The location is far from the airport and didn't offer much outside of the resort, which we knew prior. It was quiet, not overly crowded and very pretty. The bar and wait staff were great. The front desk staff was very cold and rude and room service was kind of slow...asking us to call back when they were busy. Food often arrived cold. Be careful with the trips they offer. Better off doing them on your own with a cab. This will save you a lot of money. It rained a few days while we were there and the resort becomes like a ghost town. The disco they have on sight smells like stinky feet. But we still had a good time. Probably will try something a bit closer to civilization next time. The ruins at Ek Balam were amazing. You can actually walk on them. Be careful of the cenotes. They are all over and some are better than others. Bat cave was the nicest we swam in. Also, buy your own snorkeling gear. I didn't think about it and had to use the ones there. NOT CLEAN! Told me to wash it off in the cenote...hmmmm Also swam with the turtles. That was cool, but some resorts have it on site. Mostly a great trip, but was a little disappointed with Dreams. The best spa treatment I have ever had though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't buy a trip package. If you want to do or see something, just have the hotel call you a private cab to get you there. Then you are not on anyone else's time and you will save a bit of money. If you want nightlife or shopping stay closer to Cancun. Tulum was very quiet which was nice, but was very boring if you didn't know your way around and very poor area outside of the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 11, 2009

Tulum

The staff was EXCELLENT - everyone (EVERYONE) was polite and courteous. I liked being able to book everything through a single company ([...]) as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't book your tours until you get to the location and talk to locals if you can help it. We wanted to go to Coba - and the pyramid that you can climb was closed for the first half of our trip. We would have missed out had we booked ahead of time. Instead, we found this out when we got there, booked our tour for after it was opened, and had a great time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Nov 8, 2009

Honeymoon

We chose the hotel because of its distance from Cancun and Playa Del Carmen (we wanted something away from the hassle and "Spring Break" atmosphere). We weren't prepared for the length of the drive from the airport. Upon arrival, we were told it would be a half hour until our room was ready. After a half hour, we were then told it would be another 45 minutes until the room was ready. It wasn't until my suggestion that we get another room that they searched for other alternatives. The room was very clean, and very nice but the location wasn't ideal. We chose an upgrade to "ocean front" thinking it would be right on the ocean, but that was not correct. There was a pool between us and the ocean. The pool had bars on both sides meaning it wasn't quiet in our room until late at night. When trying to rest during the day with the windows and doors closed, we could still clearly hear the music and activities going on. The food and service were mostly great. At times we waited very long for food/drink. I assume this is typical at most resorts. They advertise several restaurants but not all restaurants are open. On Friday night, only two were open for dinner and that resulted in a very long wait for a table and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Overland Park, KS
Nov 1, 2009

Dreams Tulum

no comment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, dc
Oct 28, 2009

beautiful!

The resort was absolutely gorgeous! And the staff was always friendly, genuine and helpful. I found it easy to plan trips from the hotel, with the help of the staff, and to engage in the many on-site activities, including snorkeling, soccer on the beach, pool volleyball, a fire-spinning show and capoeira. The food was also amazing. I recommend this resort to honey-mooners, families and almost anyone else. I would not recommend it to someone who is looking for a party town, as the location is kind of discreet and secluded from areas with lots of night-life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fdgfdg
Business
canada
Oct 27, 2009

amazing!!!

the dreams tulum was amazing from start to finish. the only downfall to this resort was the long car ride which i didnt think i would mind but its horrible! either then that it was so much fun, amazing food, amazing and hilarious staff, great nightly shows, great pools, had such a good time. already planning when to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evergreen, Colorado
Oct 26, 2009

Beautiful, Peaceful

If you need a trip to untangle the nerves this is it. beaches were so beautiful, soft sand, warm water and the beautiful hues of green water made us wonder if it was real. Just beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got a bit tired of the food after 7 days. We took a day trip to Tulum and the ruins that was fun. We felt very safe on the grounds. They had one loud active pool with activites to do, stretching classes, games with nice spa prizes, swim up bar, lovely good drinks, good rum not the cheap stuff. A drink of the day really nice drinks. Service on the beach was great. Every day had a cook out on beach in addition to the other restaurants so you never had to leave the beach to eat. We had full use of the kyak boats, sail boats, snorkel equipment at no charge. The guided snorkel was awesome well worth the $35 usd. Was very beautiful. The rooms a bit small, beds a bit firm, but they accomodated everything you asked for. The spa was beautiful. Best message we have ever had and the green coffee mud wrap was great and it really worked. If you are looking for away from the crowd this is it. If you want more city and night life go north. Tulum a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We rented a car for the day to see Tulum. Later we found out the taxi was only $8. each way. We paid $70 USD for a jeep and it was fun but we could have saved by going taxi with another couple.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Streetsboro, Ohio
Oct 26, 2009

"Beautiful Getaway For Price"

The hotel is beautiful and so are the rooms. I have been to Mexico many times and this is by far my favorite place. The rooms are spacious, clean and very nice. The bed could be more comfortable, felt like sleeping on concrete. The advertising in the on-line brochure indicated top-shelf International Liquor which is not the case. You need to be very pushy to get American liquor or beer (and only Bud Light at that). This is typical at Mexican resorts. They want you to drink the Mexican liquor - it is cheaper for them. I also did not like that there were children in the adult pool. We did not travel with children and wanted to be in an adult pool. The location in Tulum makes it very difficult to do a lot of the excursions. If you just want to relax and unwind, this is the place to go. The food was excellent and the staff was first class. They also had a few beach weddings while we were there and they were beautiful. I would recommend this to friends who don't want to do much but enjoy the beauty and each other. There also was not much of a nite life. The latest bar is only open until 12:30 a.m. - but the Fire Show that is put on by the Hotel is a "DO NOT MISS" show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurants are good but the ones that stand out are: El Patio, the Portifino and the Bordeux. These were our favorites. The Hotel is too far away from everything to go any where else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keri, business professional and Mom
Business
Castle Rock, CO
Oct 23, 2009

Fantastic trip and resort

Our trip to Tulum was fantastic. The resort staff were extremely friendly and provided outstanding service. We traveled with our kids and there was a kids' program that seemed awesome -- we wanted to spend time as a family so opted to only take part in some of their activities, but they were open from 9 am until 10 pm to allow for some adult time. The bars were fast, friendly, and the service was exceptional. Food was okay...we stayed at Secrets Capri last December and felt the food was a downgrade from that 'sister' resort. The pools were clean and in a great location. Beach was fantastic and there were lots of lounge chairs available which was nice. Tulum is about an hour and fifteen minutes from Cancun so plan on a long day to get there; but well worth it. We visited the ruins and that was neat. Overall, great trip and would recommend another Dreams resort to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Lots of entertainment in the hotel. One night was a fiesta and then a magic show and other events. It was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top