$393 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2015 Check-out: Jul 14, 2015

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal 387 KM 234, Km 234, Tulum, 77780

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
305 out of 305
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Mar 11, 2010

A great getaway for everyone

After the hour ride from the airport, they greeted us with open arms into the hotel, the room was nice and clean. We were located in the main building just above the night club that played from 10pm to 12pm. The grounds are well kept. They have a life size checker board and chess board. We played chess multiple times. The restruants were great in serving verious palets from all over the world. The entertainment staff offered various activities to join in through out the day just check the entertainment board! No one bothers you on the beach, they are clean and kept up! To walk up and down the beach was nice and relaxing. It was windy during March, so watch the weather first. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel offers excursions to the mayan ruins Tulum is 5-7 miles to the south of the hotel and chenzenitza is a 2 hour drive north central which is an all day tour. Tulum is half the day. The shopping is good at both places. There is on excursion that include underground cave system swimming, dolphins, and other tours that really is worth the money. They offer pictures of you during your adventure, which is worth purchasing.

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 10, 2010

Best Hotel I have ever seen

When we arrived we were greeted with champagne. The room was beautiful and had a great garden view. The atmosphere was fantastic, incredibly romantic and tasteful. The stuff was super. The location is amazing. Finally we tried all the different restaurants, and the food was always exceptional. We are definitely going back and I am going to recommend it to everyone I know. This was by far my best experience in an Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Diving in the Cenote

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Mexico
Mar 10, 2010

Thrilled

The food and service were excellent. The staff was ALWAYS helpful and friendly. There were a lot of activities throughout the day (spanish lessons, salsa lessons, kayaking, water aerobics, etc.). This was our first experience with all-inclusive, and it was fantastic. Room-service was quick and tasty. The grounds were beautiful and lush. We paid for the upgrade to an ocean view room and it was worth every penny. The bed was comfortable and so was the hammock on the balcony (fell asleep in it several times). During our stay we traveled by taxi ($7/person round-tip) to the Mayan ruins of Tulum and tried kayaking from the beach at the resort. We traveled by taxi($30/person round-tip) to Yal-Ku near Akumel to snorkel, we probably could have saved money and snorkeled at the resort instead. The resort is a ways away if you want to get out and explore, but we didn't have a problem with it since we had a fairly short trip and felt there was more than enough to do at the resort. The only things I could call close to cons were the thin walls (only a problem once), and the distance from other things. Food portions were on the small side, but since it's all-inclusive we just ordered more food. We only had to wait for a table at a restaurant once, but we just got some drinks and hung out for the short wait. With 6 restaurants open for dinner, we could have just gone to a different restaurant. We noticed bigger groups had longer waits for table and for their food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the road outside the resort to get a cab and pay less! We heard this tip, but didn't try it. The cab rides for short distances didn't matter, but it might have been nice for the longer ones.

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mariya
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2010

Burger King for Morton's price

If you want Burger King for Morton's price-this is a hotel for you. While claiming the 'unlimited Luxury", the place does not provide you with any choice of eatable food or consumable drinks. It is impossible to get to any of the restaurants for dinner as they make you wait for hours to be seated while half of the restaurant is empty. The staff is unfriendly and talks back to you. The entertainment team is obnoxious and makes it unbearable to stay by the pool. There is a loud pounding music all day long around the resort which makes it impossible to relax. The rooms are run down (in the "upgraded Dreams" section) and the furnishings are cheap. While the location is decent and the grounds are nice-the hotel should be on "must avoid" list. If you do not want to drink $3/bottle Cabernet with no other choice where you do not have to pay for-stay away from this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anna's not Bananas
Business
Michigan
Mar 1, 2010

Bad Dreams

The exterior of the resort is impressive as you drive up and walk to your building so you think this is going to be a four star vacation ------ Not! It took two days to figure out how to get hot water in the shower and jacuzzi tub. And then it took two more days to fill the tub. And each day, hot water came from a different direction on the shower handle. After the first night, we attributed our stiff backs to the previous days travels and 2 1/2 hours in Cancun Immigrations lines. By night two we realized it was the bed which was just a slab of foam over a plywood base. Hampton Inns beds win by a mile! It wasn't just us Grandparents who had problems. Our 30-something kids had the same complaints. The rooms were spacious and clean with marble everywhere. Next on to food: The World Cafe serves a really nice breakfast buffet. Sure, some of the fare is bland and not warm enough but the fresh fruit, pastries, Mexican specialties and service made up for it. They had some awesome chocolate filled croissants. Not so at dinner time though. Then it was typical buffet like the old cheap Las Vegas style. The other restaurants had reasonably good food but lines were long and reservations were not accepted. Really tough when you have small children. Room service was great though it did not offer a lot of choices and sometimes, the language barrier caused surprise deliveries. Best was the CoCo Cafe that had awesome coffee and espresso drinks as well as cookies, pastries and sandwiches. It was a quiet place to hang out day or night. The pools and beach were awesome. Towels galore. Lots of chaise lounges and many cabanas. The entertainment team was a hoot and there were lots of activities to choose from: Any where from Spanish lessons to towel folding, yoga, stretching, belly flop tournaments, etc. It was nice to have a quiet pool and beach area that took you away from the activities and little children. Last but not least are safety concerns. After a strong rain, water was pouring from the ceiling in a storage room across the hall from our room. It flowed into the hallway. Wasn't too concerned about it until we lost power in our room. They fixed it but later that evening when we tried to turn down the air conditioning (another tricky system), our power went out again. A maintenance person came quickly but didn't understand why the switch broke the circuit. Not a good feeling. The next day, we couldn't get into our rooms. After getting new keys that didn't work, a technician was sent to fix that situation. Just a couple of hours lost there. Also, all that marble tile looks great. Nice and shiny. But watch out when it is wet. We had a few slips and falls and watched more out in the walk ways. Finally, we needed to use the elevator for strollers. The bottom floor button didn't work 95% of the time. Maddening. I'd like to say that the good out out-weighed that bad but it didn't. Not in light of the cost and especially when it is billed as a four star resort. The only saving grace was sunshine, warm breezes and time with the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Citymama
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 28, 2010

Less luxurious than advertised

We stayed here for a week, and while the weather was fantastic and we really enjoyed the pool and beach, we were disappointed in the value for money of this "luxury" hotel. Overall, I can't recommend it because I feel like it was missing some pretty serious basics -- decent beds and consistent hot water. I am not a picky when it comes to beds, and can honestly say that the comfort of the beds was absolutely terrible. Every morning my husband and I woke up with neck/back aches. Another thing that would have made our stay more enjoyable would have been consistently having hot water. We practically had to do magic to get the water to be hot -- it was a 20 minute process each time and required turning all faucets on in the bathroom (shower, both sinks, bathtub, etc.) for 15-20 minutes just to get hot shower water. My parents had similar problems - only worse, their electricity and air went out for almost a day as well. I was disappointed because this was a "splurge" for us and our family financially and I wanted to feel like we were really treating ourselves to something really special, which was not the case once we got there. Despite the lack of comfort in the room, the grounds of the resort were very nice, clean and the pool and beaches were awesome for us and our small children. The kids club was amazing too -- we did not send our daughter there, but we checked it out and it seemed fantastic -- the program had activities for kids over 3 years old every day from 9am-11pm. The food was completely average -- I have only been to one other all-inclusive and am starting to think that's just how it is at every all-inclusive. Our favorite was the "Oaxacan chicken" from room service -- awesome chicken with cheese and vegetables. Portofino's (The Italian place) food was average -- though the time in between courses was terribly long. The coffee is fantastic and breakfast was probably our favorite meal of the day. The World Cafe has a great "kids station" all set up for small kids at their height so they can easily get their own food, my daughter loved it and the food they provided there. When they mention that they have "premium" liquor -- it does not mean they have premium brands that we would be used to here in the States -- the liquor was all standard Mexican-brand liquors that seemed to taste a bit different. We did learn, however, that they do have some brands you and I would consider "premium" under the cabinet (behind close doors) -- so ask if you want a specific brand, they may have it. Service was hit-or-miss... for the most part is was pretty good. There are some great staff, ie [...] (waiter at the pool) and [...] (waiter at Seaside Grill) and the entire breakfast staff was awesome at World Cafe. Compared to other trips we've taken at luxury hotels, service was far from up to parr.The spa was one of the highlights of our trip - the facilities are very nice, clean and the service was fantastic - particularly the guy (can't remember his name) who helped out in the hydrotherapy room/waiting area prior to getting our service. The massage was so-so but the overall relaxing and peaceful environment made for a memorable afternoon. One last thing - when we booked the hotel, the hotel website indicated that golf was "free" and I had assumed it was on-site, but neither are the case. The course, Playa Paraiso, that they have an arrangement with is an hour away -- and the transportation costs quite a bit to get there. Plus, while the actual golf is free, you have to pay a per person cart fee -- anyway, email the concierge in advance to get the full scoop prior to booking so you are aware of all fees involved. If you are planning to golf more than once (like we were), time and expense might be a consideration for you. The course, however, was absolutely beautiful and included all drinks. All in all, we still had a great time getting away from Winter weather and slowing down the pace -- so it's hard to say I regret going. Despite lack...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
phantoms
Business
Kalispell, Montana
Feb 21, 2010

Relaxing amazing vacation

Our whole objective of the trip was to relax and enjoy the sun. We did that and a whole lot more. This hotel has the best service I have ever experienced. The rooms we cleaned a couple times daily, mini bar was always fully stocked, and there were extra special things like nightly turn down service that went above and beyond. We did lots of snokeling off the beach right outside the hotel. It was awesome. The service and food were impecable. We are already planning our next trip back and we have never stayed in the same hotel twice. If we travel elsewhere we will always check to see if there is a Dreams Hotel in the area. They really know how to do things right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleveland, OH
Jan 17, 2010

more like a bad dream

We were with a big group of about 40 people, and we called before arriving, but the hotel refused to help us with any rooming or dinning arrangements. Checking in was a problem for some members of the group. One couple were placed in lesser accommodations than they payed for. Another couple found that their reservation was canceled, and they had to waste several hours at the front desk trying to fix the problem, with very little help from the staff. As for the food in the main dining room,it was a major disgrace. Very limited selection, very poor quality, too few vegetables and fruits. The other restaurants, although they provided a relatively better menu, were made difficult to use as you could not make reservations and they accommodated few people. The service was far from satisfactory, although I think this was because they were overworked and understaffed. The beach was very nice and wide. Getting beach towels was easy and very convenient. The ocean though is rocky and had a lot of weeds. We have been traveling to Cancun in Dec. of every year for the past 6 years, and we have stayed in different resorts. I don't think we will be staying at a dreams resort again. What surprised me was that we chose this resort based on the ratings and raving reviews but it turned out to be a big disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jan 14, 2010

Good time

We went while there were record lows, therefore I think we could have had more fun had it not been too cold to swim in ocean or pool. the view is nice the beach is Beautiful. It is remote and far from airport. Staff was nice, bugs were really bad, maybe because it was cooler. Had to wait a little bit at restaurants for food. Overall good time, could have been better due to weather/bugs. The people above us were noisy and depending on where your room is and where the party is, babies may or may not be able to sleep. We kayaked out to the reef, just off shore for free at hotel and it was beautiful. We also went to the ruins which has very neat to see. All of staff outgoing and friendly. Variety of food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jan 14, 2010

Good time

We went while there were record lows, therefore I think we could have had more fun had it not been too cold to swim in ocean or pool. the view is nice the beach is Beautiful. It is remote and far from airport. Staff was nice, bugs were really bad, maybe because it was cooler. Had to wait a little bit at restaurants for food. Overall good time, could have been better due to weather/bugs. The people above us were noisy and depending on where your room is and where the party is, babies may or may not be able to sleep. We kayaked out to the reef, just off shore for free at hotel and it was beautiful. We also went to the ruins which has very neat to see. All of staff outgoing and friendly. Variety of food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top