$454 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal 387 KM 234, Km 234, Tulum, 77780

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ana Osorio
Houston, TX
Sep 4, 2012

Our Gateaway

After so long working non stop, my husband and I decided to get a few days away from our crazy schedules. I booked Dreams Tulum based on reviews, and I am so happy that they were true. It was simply amazing, the staff, the beach, the room. Everything was as I expected, they really do cater to you no matter what time of day or night. I am so happy I went. Most def going back to Dreams Tulum again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gsorcez
Business
Palermo, Italy
May 3, 2010

Luxury and cleaning

The hotel is truly magnificent. It is conveniently located on the beach. The pools are beautiful and never too crowded. The food is excellent. The only discordant note on Italian Restaurant: We are Italian and we have really struggled to recognize the food we served. Spacious and clean. In short, I recommend to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple from Michigan
Business
Michigan
Apr 27, 2010

Great resort

Beautiful resorts, fantastic food, didn't have to use a special pass to go to the nicer restaurants. Super drinks and good house wine. Transfers from airport were not included and trip was an hour and a half and cost 100.00 dollars. Internet was extra. The fitness area had three tread mills, one didn't work, had good machines but needed more cardio equipment. We arrived in the morning and check-in time was at three, they gave us a room at 2:00pm. But overall, we liked it and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest, USA
Apr 24, 2010

Dreams Tulum (5th Return)

Dreams Tulum was always my first choice when traveling to the Yucatan. I've been going to Dreams since it was the called the Sunscape. However, it has dropped a few notches in service and food quality. By and large, Dreams is a good value for the price for the average American tourist; it is just that they are cutting corners to save money and are catering to a different demographic of customer. 1. Rooms - Fantastic and clean2. Service - Dependent on the person. Most of the staff was great. ([...] in the lobby bar) However, I had a few instances where it was obvious that the staff was more interested in ending their shift than seeing that I was cared for. (i.e. [...] in the lobby bar) The front desk and concierge was thorough and professional. The head Bell-Boy [...] is one of the reasons I looked forward to return to Dreams. (Sort of like seeing an old friend)3. Food Quality - The restaurant food was very nicely prepared. The buffet preparation and presentation was sloppy. All potato dishes were not cooked. (This is amazing since I know that the management staff eat there) Also, no one knows how to properly cook an omelet. The chef should be ashamed of serving the dried out, jerky like, sausages for breakfast. 4. Ambiance - I have been coming to the Yucatan for over 20 years to escape crowds. When Cancun became wild I went to Playa Del Carmen. When Playa became crowded I went further south to Tulum. Now Dreams has lost it's quiet charm with all of the weddings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Time Mexico Visitor
Business
Denver, Colorado
Apr 21, 2010

Awesome Mexico Vacation Resort!

We stayed at Tulum to attend a wedding, which was awesome. The food was good with the French restaurant being our favorite. Can't beat the ice cream either! The hotel and grounds were immaculate. The beach did have some broken glass in spots that were beyond the resort boundary, so recommend wearing flip flops. Rather than taking a shuttle that stops at other resorts along the way, our group rented a limo and it was very cost effective as well as more time efficient. There were always plenty of beach lounges and the 2 hour snorkeling trip off the shore was great. We saw some beautiful parts of the reef, lots of fish and even spotted a sea turtle. The fire dancing show was really entertaining - the performers were amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a private car (limo type service) vs. taking a shuttle that stops at the many resorts along the way. Our friends who got stuck doing that said it made the trip to the hotel and back to the airport very long. The limo we rented was no more expensive than taking a shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Needed Peace
Business
Washington, D.C.
Apr 19, 2010

Surprisingly not Dream-like

Two friends and I just spent a week at the resort, and were generally disappointed in the experience. Overall, it's an upscale resort: the room was nice (flat screen TV, DVD player, IPod speakers, big granite bathroom, clean), the staff was very friendly, the food was excellent, comfy beach chairs, etc. We had hoped for a quiet, restful vacation, where we could spend most of our time on the beach with a few activities -- and were willing to travel a little further off the beaten path and pay extra for it. But the resort attracts a big drinking, party crowd. One of two pools is packed with 20-somethings standing around drinking, playing music (and it's immediately adjacent to the other pool so you cannot avoid it). For example, one of the activities during the day is pool volleyball, where people who miss have to take a shot of tequila. And this is in addition to the music being played by the resort itself starting at 7 a.m. every day, including in all the dining rooms. The beach and resort is just not big enough to escape the music and activities, so it was hard to find a peaceful, relaxing spot. Oh, and be sure to keep all of your valuables in the room safe -- someone from housekeeping stole my friend's diamond studs, which she had set on the bedside table for an afternoon (and the hotel's response was to do nothing). If you are going with family or with a big group of friends and just want to drink, this is your place (although you could get this atmosphere in Cancun or Playa for cheaper). You will get a great room and great food, but if you are trying to escape it all, I'd try some of the other resorts in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tot mom
Business
Salinas, California
Apr 12, 2010

Awesome Accomodations!

We really enjoyed the location of the beach and the accessible pool. The food was great! I value the idea of not having to make reservations for my dinner every night. The only thing I disliked were all the weddings. At times I was hanging out by the beach while the hotel staff was setting up for a wedding. That was not very relaxing. I really had no choice but to leave the area when a wedding was taking place in that same location. Other than that the area is absolutely beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
good vacation
Business
portales, nm
Mar 29, 2010

Great couples and family scene

Awesome staff and great entertainment. Would definitely go again. 7 restaurants which all had great food. Many activities on the beach and at night. Great yet small nightlife scene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Mexican Traveler
Business
New York, NY
Mar 29, 2010

Looooooooove the Dreams Tulum!!!

What an amazing resort! Love the Dreams all-inclusive service: no reservations at many a la carte restaurants, no towel cards, mid & some top shelf liquor, unlimited champagne.... need I go on? Beautiful grounds with lots of wildlife and a fantastic spa too. If we did it over again we'd definitely hire a taxi to and from the airport. Will cost roughly $1,000 pesos or $100 (the taxi $ conversion is $10 to $1 - much higher than the resort exchange). Very safe and the same price as a shuttle that will make stops 2-3 times which turns the 1.5 hour trip to the resort into 3 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A $7 cab ride will bring you to the Tulum ruins where the admission is $5 per person. No need to pay a tour company $40USD per person to bring you there. Also for a few dollars more you can get to the town of Tulum. Not very notable and a little overpriced in the shops but far less expensive then on the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 28, 2010

Amazing all inclusive

This resort is amazing. There is no way anyone could write a bad review about this place. The food in the restaurants was excellent, the buffet had something for everyone, and the resort staff was extremely polite and courteous. The only flaw, which didn't bother me, but might bother some people, was that you could not make reservations at any of the restaurants, so you had a little wait if the restaurant was full. I would definately go back to this resort, we had an amazing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get to the restaurant 5-10 minutes before they open in order to avoid a 45 minute wait while the first customers are served. Otherwise, grab a drink from the bar and wait patiently.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno CA
Mar 26, 2010

Great vacation but too short!

Great experience. Wish that they would serve tea/coffee all day in their restaurants but that was a difficulty. Also not all were open all day so it was a bit limited but everything else was lovely. The rooms are not insulated so you can hear your neighbors upstairs. The hotel was not a party spot so quieted down by 11pm. That was nice for sleep, however housekeeping is up early and will come in at the crack of dawn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel-hua and X-caret are both an awesome experience and all day experience. Also go see some ruins... worth it! Don't need to exchange anything into paseos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top