$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal 387 KM 234, Km 234, Tulum, 77780
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
480 reviews
Dreams Tulum

First time to a resort. Very good choice. The grounds/gardens are kept very well. The room was... See full review

  • First Timer from Illinois
  • Jun 3, 2013
Great Getaway.

Beautiful resort. Ocean is beautiful but rocky. Also, a lot of wildlife can be seen from the shore.... See full review

  • zelno
  • Jun 3, 2013
Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa transports guests to a utopia of flourishing gardens, soft sand beaches and high-caliber accommodations. Marble flooring is soothing underfoot as you step out of the Tulum heat, while the modern Mexican hotel decor and ocean- or garden-facing rooms allow for meditative nature-watching. Rejuvenate your skin with treatments at the spa - from facials to exfoliations and massages - before sampling local Mexican dishes at El Patio, one of the hotel's exquisite restaurants. Romantic and indulgent, this resort is great for honeymooners, though the Explorer's Club ensures that little ones also have plenty to do (restrictions apply).
Key facts
  • 432 guestrooms and suites
  • Some adults-only rooms
  • Restaurants: Bordeaux, El Patio, Gohan Restaurant, Himitsu, Portofino Restaurant, Seaside Grill, World Cafe, Barefoot Grill, Coco Cafe
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Ballroom: seats up to 600 people
  • Full-service business center
  • 3 meeting rooms: each seats up to 60 people
  • Fully supervised children's club
  • Spa
Neighborhood
Forgo the crowded popularity of Cancun in favor of the quaint town of Tulum to the south. Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa has its own private, palm-lined beach nestled in acres of lush coastal forest that make for great exploration and hiking. Travel a few brief miles to soak in the sights at historical, walled Tulum, one of the last Mayan cities to survive Spanish colonization. Visit the natural lagoon at Xel-Ha to swim a few laps alongside a friendly dolphin, and observe endangered sea turtles in their natural environment.
Hints and tips
Higher-numbered rooms are closer to the beach at the Dreams Resort, while some of the accommodations offer swim-out entry.

Be sure to inquire about these if you're interested in taking a super-convenient dip.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Garden or Ocean View Room: 450.9 sq ft.
Standard room hacienda-style with colonial decoration. In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king size bed or two double beds, bathroom with shower and bidet, garden view, private balcony or terrace with hammock.
Junior Suite Garden or Ocean View Room: 513.3 sq ft
This hacienda-style room with colonial decoration. In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king bed and a separate area with two sofas, bathroom with bath tub and bidet, double sink, garden view and private balcony or terrace with hammock.
Premium Junior Suite Garden View Room: 546.8 sq ft or 564.02 sq ft
In addition to the all of the above amenities, this room offers contemporary decor, king bed or two double beds, separate living area with a sofa, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub, telephone extension in the bathroom, double sink and a garden or Ocean View.
Preferred Club Hacienda Suite: 622 sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Hacienda Suite, wood floors and authentic colonial decoration, a king bed, bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bathtub, private concierge service and partial ocean view. These suites are located in the 14th building* of rooms, ideally above the Coco Caf and the preferred club, next to the main plaza and restaurant area.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean Front: 546.8.sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Junior Suite offers contemporary decor, king bed, separate living area with sofa, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub, double sink, secrets box for private room service, and telephone extension in the bathroom, private concierge service, ocean front views, private balcony or terrace. These rooms are located on the third floor in the 15th a and f building* of rooms facing the pool and beach. This section is next to the main plaza and restaurant area.
Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite: 627.23 sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite offers contemporary dcor, king size bed and separate living area with a sofa, in either ocean view and garden view, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub and telephone extension in the bathroom walking closet, double sink, private concierge service, private balcony or terrace and Secrets box for private room service. Located on the third floor in the 15th a and f building* of rooms facing the pool and beach this section is next to the main plaza and the restaurant area.
Connecting Rooms and Family Suites
Dreams Tulum now offers two great options for families and groups. We have increased our number of connecting rooms in the Deluxe and Junior Suite categories. As a result, we have the ability to confirm connecting rooms in advance. With the largest number of connecting rooms totaling over 200 (100 units), Dreams Tulum is now the best option for families in the destination. In the Premium and Preferred Club sections, all rooms and suites are grouped in clusters. Our new Family Suites provide us with the opportunity to host large families, weddings and small groups in very private settings. Our new Family Suites come in segments of 4, 5, 6, 7, 10 or even 12 rooms. These room segments are accessed through one master door and together they share one large living room area. All external hallways surrounding these Family Suites have been closed to provide privacy and isolation. These Family Suites are available for an additional daily charge.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Garden Swimout
In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king bed and a separate area with two sofas, bathroom with bath tub, double sink, garden view and private balcony or terrace with terrace and a beautiful direct swim-out access to one of the 4 swimming pools that flows to each private patio. Located in the 10th building* of rooms and built in the shape of the old haciendas centering the garden and plaza with a fountain and benches creating a sense of old Mexico.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.2527 -87.4023
Area served
World's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore; Nearby underground rivers, caves and jungles;Attractions at Xel-H; Mayan ruins of Tulum, Coba, Chichen-Itza and Kohunlich; Xcaret Park; Cozumel - ferry from Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 75 minutes and distance is 106 km (66 miles).
Area description
Ideally located between Playa del Carmen and Tulum and just a 75-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, Dreams Tulum is situated along a stretch of magnificent white sandy beach in the Riviera Maya.

Dining

Portofino
(Italian Cuisine) - la carte -Exploring the flavors of the Mediterranean and Italian cuisine. -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 102 -Dinner only, la Carte from 6:00 p.m. -10:30 p.m.
Seaside Grill
- la carte -Casual attire -Located directly on the beach, offering a light snack to a full meal during the day and an la carte steak house menu in the evening. -Approximate seating capacity - 80 Daily breakfast la carte 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. (seasonally) Daily lunch 12:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m Dinner la carte 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Desires Music Lounge
-Located in the main lobby, enjoy the night in a sports bar lounge ambience, serving international and national beverages. Adults only, 18 years of age and older. -Casual attire -Hours: 10:00 p.m. - 12:30 a.m.
Coco Cafe
-Premium coffee and deli snacks in a casual and relaxed atmosphere. -Open daily from 7 am to 9 pm -Dress code: Casual
Manatee Bar
(Swim-up bar at the main pool) -Located in the main pool, our swim-up bar offers tropical drinks and wait service in the pool area. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. -Beach attire
World Caf
-Continental and Mexican cuisine with a variety of international specialty items and classics. -Approximate seating capacity - 340 -Special kids corner in the buffet section. -Casual attire Continental breakfast - 6:30 a.m - 7:00 a.m Breakfast - buffet style - 7:00 a.m -11:00 a.m. Lunch - buffet style - 12:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Dinner - buffet style - 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Barracuda Bar
-Located between Himitsu and Bordeaux, guests will enjoy a variety of drinks. A perfect place to enjoy a drink or cocktail before or after dinner. -Hours: 6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Himitsu & Gohan Restaurant
HIMITSU RESTAURANT - la carte -Specializing in Asian cuisine (Chinese - Thai) -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 98 -Dinner only, la Carte from 6:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m. GOHAN RESTAURANT (Sushi Bar) - la carte -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 24 -Dinner only, la carte from 6:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Rendezvous
-Located in the main lobby offers international and national drinks including tropical drinks and wait service. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Sugar Reef Bar & Revive Bar
SUGAR REEF BAR -Guests can relax in the sun or shade at the main bar while enjoying cool cocktails including international and national brands, juices and soft drinks. Wait service is provided at the pool deck. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m. REVIVE BAR -Guests can enjoy cool and natural drinks while relaxing at the spa after a wonderful treatment -Hours: 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Dreams Tulum provides a beautiful new convention center with 6 meeting rooms for up to 600 people. Av equipment available for rent as well as top of the art facilities for banquets, meetings and show performances. with 4 breakouts, a magnificent foyer and a gourmet cuisine. The Chichen Itza Ballroom hosts 400 people in Banquet style and up to 600 for cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (480)

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
480 out of 480
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lisamdh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvaia
Aug 2, 2010

Beautiful Location, so-so food

We chose Dreams Tulum for it's location away from Cancun. We rented a car (which I would highly recommend doing)and the drive was about an hour and a half. The drive really is not that bad and the location is worth the drive! Dreams Tulum is really beautiful. It's very large compared to other places in the Caribbean that we've stayed at, but Riviera Maya resorts tend to be on the large side. It seemed huge to us, though. There are two sections; the "garden" section and the Dreams section. We stayed in the garden section and the grounds are definitely not as nice, but the rooms are still beautiful for being their cheapest room option. The garden rooms are pretty far from the beach, restaurants, etc. If you can afford it though, go for the upgraded room. The beach was beautiful and there were always enough lounge chairs on the beach. Usually the chairs by the two pools filled up more quickly. If you like the swim in the ocean, this may not be the place for you - the ocean is very rocky except in on small section. However the beach is great for long walks, you can walk for miles in either direction without much trouble. I would recommend heading south - the beach there is much cleaning and nicer. We spent a lot of time at the "quiet" pool, although it's not much quieter. Both pools are fun and there are waitresses that bring drinks from the bar. Food was only so-so - definitely our least favorite of all of the all-inclusives we've been to. My husband also always got sick whenever he ate, but I didn't get sick, so I'm not sure why. The meats were always tough or chewy or both. Mexican Fiesta night food was great, and the Fire Show is one you should plan to see. Other people raved about the food, so this is definitely our personal opinion. Since we had a rental car, we drove to the Tulum ruins, and to two cenotes in Tulum. They were all worth it and are highly recommended. Don't waste your money doing an "excursion" to the ruins - drive or take a cab and save a TON of money. The excursion is a ripoff. Make sure to bring lots of $1 bills for tips. Tips to the housekeeping staff get you towel animals! Also, the bartenders work hard and do a great job. Lots of people didn't tip, but we enjoy tipping for good service and I think the staff appreciated it. All in all, Dreams Tulum is a great resort, with beautiful beaches and ok food. Be sure to get away from the resort though and enjoy all that the town of Tulum has to offer! All in all, Dreams Tulum is a great resort for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to the Tulum ruins instead of the excursion. The cab ride is only about $7 each way and it's $5 per person to get into the ruins. Much more affordable than the $100 they charge for the excursion!

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lisamdh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvaia
Aug 2, 2010

Beautiful Location, so-so food

We chose Dreams Tulum for it's location away from Cancun. We rented a car (which I would highly recommend doing)and the drive was about an hour and a half. The drive really is not that bad and the location is worth the drive! Dreams Tulum is really beautiful. It's very large compared to other places in the Caribbean that we've stayed at, but Riviera Maya resorts tend to be on the large side. It seemed huge to us, though. There are two sections; the "garden" section and the Dreams section. We stayed in the garden section and the grounds are definitely not as nice, but the rooms are still beautiful for being their cheapest room option. The garden rooms are pretty far from the beach, restaurants, etc. If you can afford it though, go for the upgraded room. The beach was beautiful and there were always enough lounge chairs on the beach. Usually the chairs by the two pools filled up more quickly. If you like the swim in the ocean, this may not be the place for you - the ocean is very rocky except in on small section. However the beach is great for long walks, you can walk for miles in either direction without much trouble. I would recommend heading south - the beach there is much cleaning and nicer. We spent a lot of time at the "quiet" pool, although it's not much quieter. Both pools are fun and there are waitresses that bring drinks from the bar. Food was only so-so - definitely our least favorite of all of the all-inclusives we've been to. My husband also always got sick whenever he ate, but I didn't get sick, so I'm not sure why. The meats were always tough or chewy or both. Mexican Fiesta night food was great, and the Fire Show is one you should plan to see. Other people raved about the food, so this is definitely our personal opinion. Since we had a rental car, we drove to the Tulum ruins, and to two cenotes in Tulum. They were all worth it and are highly recommended. Don't waste your money doing an "excursion" to the ruins - drive or take a cab and save a TON of money. The excursion is a ripoff. Make sure to bring lots of $1 bills for tips. Tips to the housekeeping staff get you towel animals! Also, the bartenders work hard and do a great job. Lots of people didn't tip, but we enjoy tipping for good service and I think the staff appreciated it. All in all, Dreams Tulum is a great resort, with beautiful beaches and ok food. Be sure to get away from the resort though and enjoy all that the town of Tulum has to offer! All in all, Dreams Tulum is a great resort for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to the Tulum ruins instead of the excursion. The cab ride is only about $7 each way and it's $5 per person to get into the ruins. Much more affordable than the $100 they charge for the excursion!

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Quebec Canada
Aug 1, 2010

perfect !! except the beach

really everything is perfect except the rocky beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Quebec Canada
Aug 1, 2010

perfect !! except the beach

really everything is perfect except the rocky beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S W P S worker
San Antonio TEXAS
Jul 30, 2010

GREAT PLACE TO VISIT

We stayed at Dreams Tulum resort and it was GREAT everything you need is on the resort and you dont need to leave . Its great for couples and familys they cater to everyone . We did go on the Tulum adventure tour and that was about $100 a person but we went ziplining,repeling,swimming in a fresh water cave,food,and then they took us to the Ruins in tulum bout 15mins away and if your worried about security its good they write down lisence plates take names with a huge iron gate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S W P S worker
San Antonio TEXAS
Jul 30, 2010

GREAT PLACE TO VISIT

We stayed at Dreams Tulum resort and it was GREAT everything you need is on the resort and you dont need to leave . Its great for couples and familys they cater to everyone . We did go on the Tulum adventure tour and that was about $100 a person but we went ziplining,repeling,swimming in a fresh water cave,food,and then they took us to the Ruins in tulum bout 15mins away and if your worried about security its good they write down lisence plates take names with a huge iron gate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Watts
NWA
Jul 26, 2010

Heaven

Everything about the Dreams Tulum was perfect. The staff was super friendly, helpful, and waiting to give great service. The food was amazing. The drinks were perfect. The room was 10x better then I expected. If you are going to Mexico, this is the place to stay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

use the city bus when traveling everywhere except to and from the airport.

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco
Jul 13, 2010

Good location for relaxation

I was mostly there for relaxation, so I spent a lot of time on the beach and the pool area. They had a lot of activities to choose from, the beach was gorgeous. The food could have been a little better and more authentic, however the service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joe 'Sucker'
Michigan
Jul 13, 2010

Dreams/Nightmare!

Hurricane Alex passed through during our four night stay. Constant rain/clouds wind...8'+ surf...sand blowing in food at open restaurants. At least two of the four restaurants were closed each day. Wedding on beach was disaster...wind blowing sand everywhere. To add to our problems...my wife and I were ROBBED on the way back to the Cancun airport. We were forcefully stopped on the highway in our rental car by a "Bogus" Police Officer who demanded 2000 pesos to recover my drivers license. This occurred on 30 June, at 11:00am between Xcaret and Playa del Carmen. This was reported to Mexican border authorities but they basically said I was lucky to only have $200.00 taken from us and not everything in my wallet confiscated or something worse! Never had an experience like this in over 30 years of traveling throughout the Carribean. I'll NEVER return to Mexico after that experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Find out restrictions and availability before walking 500 yards from room to open restaurants. Walking in rain on slippery tile walkways was extremely dangerous.

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco
Jul 13, 2010

Good location for relaxation

I was mostly there for relaxation, so I spent a lot of time on the beach and the pool area. They had a lot of activities to choose from, the beach was gorgeous. The food could have been a little better and more authentic, however the service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top