$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 11, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
329 out of 329
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AngLve
Business
NJ
Feb 21, 2013

Worst Vacation I have ever been on!

I have to say this was the worst vacation I have ever been on and after visiting Mexico three times in the last five years we are very disappointed with the service this hotel had to offer. The rooms that my parents and brother booked smelled like raw sewage and stagnant water. So my boyfriend and I decided to upgrade. We paid to upgraded so we could have a front ocean view witch gave us a fresh breeze. The view was beautiful I have to say but the room was horrible. The balcony had only one chair and the handle to close and open the door was missing. I then called and requested another chair they said it would be their within 30min which it took them to the next day to bring. The rooms need much updating. Our phone in our room was broken again I had to call and have someone bring us a working phone. Our room did not have an alarm clock I called 3 different times to get an alarm clock and did not even receive one at all after being promised one. The second day into our stay we dropped a beer bottle by mistake in the room witch eventually ended up ruining our vacation. Security was called and instead of asking what happened they assumed we were trashing the already poor maintained room. Five random strange men one with a camera taking pictures of the room came in while I only had a towel. Where are my rights!!! Oh that’s right we have none while in their country so says the hotel management they can do as they please looking at me while they went into the bathroom looking for I don't know what since it was obvious what happened. The next day we went to make reservations they advised us we needed to go up to the front desk to speak with a manger about possible damages to our room that we need to take care of. I was so upset that on our vacation because a bottle dropped we needed to deal with this. Long story short we needed to pay for damages that we never caused or the hotel manager Alfonso advised us that if we didn’t he would have to call the police. The manager was very rude and unhelpful I asked for an explanation of the damages he advised me he did not need to give me an explanation and that we needed to pay for the damages to the door. I them told him that the bottle never hit the door it hit the floor and I wanted him to come up to our room and explain to us how they came up with the charges. Alfonso said he had pictures proving the damage. I told him I would love to see the before and after picture. As soon as I said that he then got really loud with me telling me again that he does not need to explain anything to me .I felt helpless and taking advantage of. I wish I read all of the reviews before booking this trip. I advised against this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
8th trip to the Riviera
Business
Moncton New Brunswick
Feb 17, 2013

great service great price

We truly enjoyed our visit to Bluebay. The resort is gorgeous. The staff go out of their way to be helpful. The food is good and plentiful. This is a strong 4 star resort at a 3 star price. I have visited 8 different resorts in the Riviera and the staff friendliness exceeds all the others.. The swim-up room was heaven.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
last try at nickname
Business
ohio
Feb 15, 2013

Nice hotel

The hotel was fine. traveling rep was never on time and I wasted alot of time wating for O- traveling rep. to confirm trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carib Vacationier
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 14, 2013

Nice Resort

Just returned from a great week! Found some of the previous reviews complaints to be valid only in certain parts of the resort. We stayed in building 8 and had no problems. The beach is as described, but the lagoon is wonderful. The market area is very easy to get to via the shuttle, approximately 20 mins away from the resort......All in all, thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took the shuttle to Playa Del Carmen to the public beach and ferry to Cozumel, spent time in the markets and malls. Also took a Tevo from the main gate to Cancun, approx. 30 mins and enjoyed the malls, markets and beaches there. Explore attraction was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cooliegirl
Business
Brampton, Ontario
Feb 14, 2013

Fabulous relaxing time

My friend and I spend eight days at the Blue Bay grand Esmeralda and what a fantastic time we had! The staff were very friendly and helpful and they certainly made our stay most enjoyable. The food was also very good....I gained seven pounds!!! This was one of our most relaxing vacation. A sincere thank you to Alberto, who was always attentive to us at breakfast. Thank you Gina and Genny at Circe One. And to Francisco Miranda for giving me my first taste of Bailey's. Much apologies for not remembering the other staff member's names, who also contributed to making our trip memorable. We really enjoyed our vacation and we want to say 'thank you, Blue Bay". We look forward to seeing you again. Lorraine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You must go to 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen. Good shopping and very safe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WesCh
Business
NewJersey
Feb 10, 2013

Not for family

never come back again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Like to travel Mom
Business
Quebec City, Canada
Feb 9, 2013

This is a must!

The hotel was beautiful, clean and comfortable. transportation from buildings to the beach if further - wow! The food was so good, no need to stress booking for a specialized À La Carte restaurant, the buffet offered various types of meals from different countries - it was the best we had in years! The best part was the people: each employee of the resort was not only nice but sincerely dedicated to ensure we had a wonderful experience and we sure did! The only little cloud over a sunny sky was the beach. The portion of the beach right in front of the resort is not the best place to take a swin in the ocean but it is easy to forget when All the rest is so Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julia babe
Business
Riveria Maya
Feb 7, 2013

Great resort!

This was a nice friendly, fun resort. The food was great!! We recommend the steak and seafood restaurants! The margaritas at the Mexican restaurant were not that bad either! The room accommodations were nice, clean, and updated. No chairs available to sit in room, only the bed. Pool area was very nice, relaxing with many chair options! Bathrooms around pool need much work! Only one functioning with the rest out of order with long lines-opted to walk back to room instead!!! Beach front nice enough with lagoon near by. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rimode
Business
Chicago IL
Feb 4, 2013

Very good getaway...

Very clean and quiet hotel but don't relay from hotel stuff wakeup call if you have to leave hotel early in the morning ,you must relay on your self.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthday Parties
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jan 21, 2013

Value for price ( Travel dates Jan 15 thru Jan 20)

My wife and I paid $1750 total for 5 days with flight from Minneapolis, Minnesota. We booked last minute with another couple, and had a blast. Airport/Travel - Recomend buying the round trip to and from hotel for $67 each. You won't find better deals and this is very easy. Arrival at Resort - Our bags were taken from the shuttle and we were given a ticket while we checked in. Check in went smooth and they let us in early which was nice. They also have carts for transportation around the resort which comes in handy. Room - The room is very typical to most resorts I have stayed at. Refrigerator with beer, soda and water. Safe large enough to hold a large laptop along wih many other items. Bathroom appeared as though it could have used a deep clean in the grout areas but not bad at all. Pools - nice that we were always able to get a beach chair for the four of us together anytime. Pool was a bit chilly but why would they heat a pool in Mexico? It was a little chilly when we travelled which was unusual. Beach - Nothing special here, water was a little dirty looking but it was still nice to be able to sit next to the ocean. You can also walk the beach for miles and see the outsides of other resorts which was fun. Food - Buffets were decent, really the same food each day with a couple changes here and there. Always have the ability to get lots of Mexican food as well as a burger and fries each day if you don't care for international cuisine. We made reservations each night for the private restaurants which is part of your prepaid price. Would highly recommend each morning getting up going to the concierge and making reservations or try a night out on 5 th avenue in downtown Playa. Bars - always willing to make drinks and never to busy. Always use the brand name of the liquor you want or you will end up with cheap rail. Beer was cold and refreshing, my wife enjoyed the ice beers which had a little blended margarita on top. The sports bar at night had shows for entertainment, Michael Jackson show was very entertaining! Excursions - we didn't do any so I can't comment. We did a couple trips into Playa, during the day we did a little shopping but the stores are really all the same junk stores in my opinion. At night we walked until we found a restaurant we liked and sat down. Food was good and service was awesome. Two of us were celebrating Birthdays and each place we stopped gave us a couple shots of tequila for free which was awesome, but we dd also sit down and have a few beers at each spot as well. Overall - I think the value equals the price paid. Don't expect a four or five star resort because this is not it but still nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Always make reservations for dinner at night. This helps changing up your meals during the week from just buffets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top