$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
367 out of 367
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shashasha travel
Business
mexico
May 12, 2013

great hotel, but the staff not

great location, the room was clean and full confort, the food was enought good but the staff is not friendly and in a bad mood, but in general the hotel is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shashasha travel
Business
mexico
May 12, 2013

great location

great hotel whit a good location, nice rooms and very clean but the staff is not friendly, even the hotel was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RVR TRAVELERS
Business
MIAMI, FL
Apr 24, 2013

family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
villewolf
Business
Orange County,CA
Apr 24, 2013

Great location!

Loved everything about this hotel, that's as good as it gets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucy and Eddy
Business
Montreal, QC, Canada
Apr 9, 2013

it's fantastic

just come back on monday. it is a great hotel. i went to ocean maya last year(just beside blue bay). i like more blue bay than ocean maya. food is good, room is comfortable, and kids activiy is really fun. I will go back again defnitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meg Drew
Business
New Jersey
Apr 9, 2013

In the middle of everything

This hotel is great if you rent a car. You are in the middle of Cancun and Tulum. There are activities to participate in at the main pool if you want to stay at the resort, but we went to explore the area. We wanted to get to ruins and dive at Cancun so the location was perfect. The food was pretty good, but my husband was upset with the fact that at some of the restaurants you needed to wear closed toe shoes if you are a man and long pants in 90 degree weather. He had to wear sneakers with dress pants which looked ridiculous! You also can not walk through the buffet and grab food if you are not dressed which was a little annoying at times since you are out by the pool relaxing and can't grab a quick bite to eat. The hotel was really big and a very long walk from the parking lot to the beach (almost a mile). They do have golf carts to drive you, but you have to wait for them and it wasn't really worth the wait. Luckily, since we were diving most days, we were closer to the parking lot than the beach, which was still a hike with all of our dive gear. My husband was sick from the food or water after the second day, but I was good until the last day of our 10 day vacation. We ate almost the same thing every night, so I guess it is just how sensitive your stomach is, and that will happen anywhere in Mexico. There were cute animals all over the park, so that was really enjoyable to see everyday. There is so much to do in Mexico in that area that the trip was great and well worth it. Overall the hotel was pretty good. There were very few things that were a little disappointing, but that would happen anywhere. I would recommend the hotel for people wanting to explore what Cancun, Riviera Maya, Playa Del Carmen, and South of that has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Many cenotes are very close and very cheap if you have a car and your own snorkle gear. It is well worth renting a car and doing a little research as to where you want to visit.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mark from buffalo
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 3, 2013

Solid 4*

Just got back yesterday. Liked this resort a lot. Food is excellent and of high quality. Room very comfortable and quiet. Only problem is the beach, water is black and too many rocks for comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

lagoon to the left or north of resort, bring snorkeling gear.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jcbibi
Business
Ontario
Apr 1, 2013

very nice vacation

Good hotel, staff were attentive and prompt in response. Beach has not been the greatest however it was OK. Very good place for a family vacation. Easy access for restaurants booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spring Break 604
Business
Vancouver, BC
Mar 31, 2013

Great Spring Break Trip

We stayed at this resort during the last week of March. This resort was the best 4-star I have stayed at in Mexico. It was clean, comfortable, and the food was great! The location was also nice because it was a short trip to Cancun and a short trip to Playa del Carmen. I would recommend this resort to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at the MANY a la carte restaurants... the food is delicious!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kimberly from Willis
Business
Riviera Maya Mexico
Mar 25, 2013

Burnt to a crisp

The room was comfy, except for the mosquitos. The food was good. The opening show was cheesy, but food was good. Be prepared to sit with people who don't speak English. The resort was too spread out, requiring a lot of walking. The shuttles were always going the opposite way we were. Would recommend it for the price we paid. We got a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The snorkeling excursion by catamaran was fun, but not exactly as described.

Back to menu Return to top