$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
330 out of 330
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wrstanton
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 17, 2013

Would have been 4 stars if...

For the most part, the trip was really enjoyable. I had 3 other couples come with myself and my girlfriend. The first day there, I had 4 different phone calls to my room that ended up being solicitation phone calls from the sales dept. 4 IN A ROW OVER 1.5 HOURS. So, that was annoying. We also hassled several times at the pool for "water sport activities". I understand those guys have a job to do, and I'm accustomed to being approached about time shares and what have you, but this was really excessive. I would have unplugged my phone in the room but I'm there with friends so I didn't since we needed to call each other to communicate from time to time. The restaurants were fairly good, not great, but good. The first night there, the restaurant for the Seafood theme was so hot, no AC, and the manager was frankly uninviting. So that wasn't a great experience. I upgraded and paid $25 for a ribeye at the Steakhouse theme, that turned out to be smaller than the one that was free (all inclusive). That was frustrating of course. I'd say the resort itself is pretty nice, the location is good, but with the place being built on a lagoon/swamp area, the beach is not really the experience you may be looking for. Most of the staff members seemed to be attentive, but there were certainly ones who didn't seem like they cared to be there. Overall, not a bad vacation, but I'd probably stay somewhere else next time. I would call it a 3 star not quite a 4 star despite the fact that the place looks like it could be a 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Make reservations for the "Themed" restaurants 24 hours in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shauneresa
Business
Montreal, QC
May 23, 2013

Excellent Vacation

We went as a family for 9 days and had a blast. The resort is beautiful, the staff friendly, the food is AMAZING. The only major downfall of this resort is the beach, It's not great and on some days it's downright awful. A small walk down the beach and that problem is solved. You can walk to the Laguna ( not part of the resort and about a 10minute walk) where the water is amazing. However, if you don't mind, the pool is HUGE and finding lounge chairs was super easy, sun or shade, there was almost always enough chairs for us. Overall we all had a blast! I would definitely recommend this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk 10-15 minutes to the laguna and enjoy the amazing water!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShirlyGirl98
Business
Brooklyn, New York
May 23, 2013

Viva Mexico

Great experience, although I will say the paper thin walls left a lot t to be desired. Security knocked on our door because our neighbor complained that our tv was too loud, although security said they could not hear it from the outside. With that said, the room was clean and was cleaned daily. If you are looking for night life, you will need to venture in to Cancun, 25 mins away via taxi. The resort is child friendly and attentive. A great resort for the money, friendly staff although the timeshare and vacation hawks did get in the way a little. Overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If your looking to buy booze, on the trip to Playa Del Carmen stop by Wal-Mart, yes Wal-Mart...the booze was significantly cheaper there than at the Playa Del Carmen strip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJHappyFamily
Business
New York
May 23, 2013

Needs improvement

The first day was horrible as our room (3107) was not clean, AC unit was broken, bathtub drain did not work, and mosquitos lived in it. We could not stay in the room the first night and stayed in our friend's room as my 11 month old was getting attacked by mosquitos. After giving us a hard time, the front desk finally changed our room to building 7 and it was better. The restaurants were good and food was delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pools are nice but the beach is filled with seaweed and the water is rough. Overall, the resort needs a facelift and can improve. The y should not give out room 3107 to any guests!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The French restaurant was the best out of all the other restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patti and Ted
Business
Michigan
May 19, 2013

Amazing get away

Husband and I totally enjoyed our stay . The swim up suite was completely worth it. The food was great. The whole resort was very well maintained . Met wonderfully friendly staff and other guests . Everything is no problem. Didn't get a bath robe when I requested one they said those are for resort members only . So if you usually wear one you should bring yours from home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Ok playa del Carmen is fun the resort has a shuttle that goes there every couple of hours use it for this destination it's $5 pp each way we paid 20 dollars round trip. Cab is 40. Round trip. Also the gifts at resort store are a good going rate with no bartering and relaxed atmosphere FYI I'd ask for the 10% discount when u spend 50 dollars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shashasha travel
Business
mexico
May 12, 2013

great hotel, but the staff not

great location, the room was clean and full confort, the food was enought good but the staff is not friendly and in a bad mood, but in general the hotel is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shashasha travel
Business
mexico
May 12, 2013

great location

great hotel whit a good location, nice rooms and very clean but the staff is not friendly, even the hotel was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RVR TRAVELERS
Business
MIAMI, FL
Apr 24, 2013

family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
villewolf
Business
Orange County,CA
Apr 24, 2013

Great location!

Loved everything about this hotel, that's as good as it gets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucy and Eddy
Business
Montreal, QC, Canada
Apr 9, 2013

it's fantastic

just come back on monday. it is a great hotel. i went to ocean maya last year(just beside blue bay). i like more blue bay than ocean maya. food is good, room is comfortable, and kids activiy is really fun. I will go back again defnitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top