$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
330 out of 330
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
8 kids is enough
Business
Lakeview, Oregon
Apr 28, 2014

Great Getaway

The resort was nice, and clean. The reef off the beach was big and shallow, great for snorkeling. The food was good and there was a great selection at the buffets. Night life was fun at the sport bar and swing bar at the beach. The pools were very nice and clean with fun activities. The location wasn't bad for outside activities, with many options available. Explor was a short, 1 hour trip. Playa De Carmen was a Quick taxi ride from the resort. The drinks were a little weak, but tastey. If I were to do it again, I would take pesos for the taxi rides. Exchange rate was 13 per dollar, But taxi's are 10 per dollar? All-in-all, a great resort. I would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Explor is a must do if you like adventure. Zip lines, utvs, tunnel swimming. A great day trip! We went to the Mayan ruils at Cobo. Kind of a long shuttle ride, but beautiful and Quite interesting. Take the bike taxi's out to the temple, or you won't have time to see it all (2 people per taxi for $14.) Well worth it! Be sure to tip your driver. Some of the nicest people I have met.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheHolden's
Business
Fleetwood, NC
Apr 25, 2014

Great Resort but....

Great resort, but some of the staff are not too friendly. The front desk was busy when we arrived and one gentleman was very rude to myself and my wife. Very long wait to get to the room, but the room was wonderful. The assistant manager was not very helpful but the resort itself is amazing. Food is good depending on the restaurant you choose, we enjoyed the French and the Italian. Overall great place, everyone has their bad days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must see Cozumel. When you take the ferry across, rent scooters and see the entire island. Make sure you go to Coconuts on the leeward side of the island. Great adventure, visit the fertility Mayan ruin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winston22
Business
Texas
Mar 28, 2014

Just OK

Sandy beach was nice but not the nice clear water we were hoping for. Shows were not great. We stopped going after the third night. No nice lobby bar! Although we really enjoyed our suite, my husband cut his foot almost immediately after stepping in our swim up pool on a broken tile. We tried to see the Dr. but she was busy and suggested the staff may have bandages. They were kind but did not have anything that would hold the large cut tightly closed. A kind gentleman on the beach had just the right strong tape for us. We only swam in our swim up pool a few more times after that with our sandals on....:(. The Mosquitos were terrible and the food, although edible, just nothing really great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travis Anderson
Business
St Paul, Minnesota
Mar 26, 2014

We love vacation

Nothing bad to say; great pool, tons of food options, top shelf liqueur, what more could we have asked for? The beach was nice too, we walked south each day we'll over a mile along the shoreline - lived that. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Toronto dad
Business
Toronto, Canada
Mar 18, 2014

Great value for the price

Nice hotel with good pools and good food. The staff were very friendly and we didn't care that the activities were minimal. The beach is just fine with white sand but the water is not the crystal blue of other resorts. Been to many resorts and for the money, this one ranks high. Our teenagers met many people and love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the time to drive into Playa del Carmen. Its worthy of at least one visit - especially in the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erin and George
Business
Manchester, NH
Mar 6, 2014

fantastic getaway!

Only complain is that there should be an adults only pool and the drinks were very weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny Mexico
Business
Green Bay, WI
Mar 2, 2014

Fantastic getaway vacation

I would recommend Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda as a great value. The resort was clean and the staff was friendly, curtious and helpful. The food was excellent in the buffet and specialty restaurants. The pools were clean and the water was warm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The specialty restaurants have great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrsmulls
Business
Michigan
Feb 20, 2014

Could have been better could have been worse

I rate this hotel average. Had many problems with the room ants and water leaking notified the front desk and nothing was ever done to resolve issues. Food was good in buffets we were pleasantly surprised. Servers were extremely friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Explor park was amazing extremely fun day!! Gray value for your money and endless adventures through out the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weegee
Business
Santa Fe
Jan 10, 2014

Average resort, pathetic beach, good food

First, the good: the cooking is above par for this level of resort; the buffets are well above average, the restaurants are pretty good, but with the expected limited menu. The pool is gorgeous, the rooms are clean and the service is good. The bad: the beach sucks. The resort is built on a mangrove swamp, with trucked-in sand that currently is mostly washed away with sandbags shoring up the edge. The "swim area" is roped off, knee-to-thigh deep and floored with irregular loose rock. If you swim outside it the salvavidas will blow their whistles till you come back to be chastised. Although they advertise "free internet" you are limited to a single device per room of slower-than-3g connection, though you can pay extra for "high-speed internet". While we were there, the week of new year's, the reservation-only restaurants were booked so quickly that there was little choice. For a Eurocentric resort it was amazing there is no dance club... Bonus: cute packs of coatis roam around. Fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vlad from Michigan
Business
Michigan
Jan 10, 2014

Serious health issue

Everything would be great with this place if they would not consider to use their mosquito repellent chemicals one day without warning their guests. The compound is notorious for having a strong odor, an oily feel — and an ability to melt plastic! The pipe was under our porch (it was the first floor corner room) so it went straight into the room and looked and smell like after fire at the gas station! We were not able to open the door because it was first floor room and the smoke was still coming from under the foundation. We called several times to the guest service but all we got was that they sprayed our room (again!) with other chemicals to eliminate an odor. The weather wasn't great - rainy and cold - so we just spent our last two days (!) in the lobby or in the restaurant and slept with the outside door open (as we were recommended...) My wife cried - because we felt helpless and because the odor was so strong that tears were coming anyways...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top