$264 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kent & Andi
Business
Van Alstyne, TX
Jun 21, 2010

Exceeded Our Expectations!

Everything was better than we expected (having stayed at other all-inclusives in the past). The food, drinks, entertainment, room, view, staff (including concierges), and service were wonderful. The only frustrations occurred with transportation and excursions that were pre-paid and booked online--not through the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wait until you check into the resort to book your excursions; don't do it online. Otherwise, by the time you (and the hotel staff) get the details sorted out, you may miss your excursion like we did.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drewcash7
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 17, 2010

Great value and fun place for couples

The staff was great, very fun and good service. The dinner restaurants are great, worth waking up early for reservations. We had 7 total couples there, which made it really fun. Very good resort at a really great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
muma
Business
mexico
Jun 14, 2010

incredible!!!!

i had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis
Jun 13, 2010

Mexico Trip

We went in early June, which is apparently is a slow time in Mexico. We were a group of 14 people, 7 couples. It was great, we did not have to fight with people to get chairs on the beach or by the pool or to get dinner reservations. The grounds were great, very well manicured. The room was nice, but needed some work. There were some holes in the ceiling with some water damage, the shower needed updating and our safe broke constantly. However, the bed was comfortable and the A/C kept it nice and cold during the hot weather. The food was great at night, wish there was more to choose from than buffets for breakfast and lunch. I would recommend this place, mainly because it is good for the price. If I wanted a really fancy place, I would look elsewhere, but it was perfect for a group of 14 people looking to have fun in Mexico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Went to Dolphin Discovery to swim with the dolphins. Would recommend this place highly, it was a very nice facility. Also, if someone comes to watch you they can easily take pictures of you here and you wont have to pay $20 per picture or $50 for the DVD.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dabag
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 7, 2010

Darn close to paradise

I felt the hotel was as I expected. Being a family friendly resort the pool was loud with children crying and screaming. While I can handle the playful sounds of children, the crying around lunch was a bit annoying. We upgraded our room to an ocean view balcony and for that we are grateful, it made a great difference. We were exceptionally close to the beach and the pool. During our stay we were wrangled into the "membership" presentation and while it lasted longer than the 90 minutes quoted, we did receive gifts for our time. We upgraded to the VIP beach service and it made a world of good. The beach was private and quite and while there wasn't a pool to cool off in, there was a personal bartender and it was close to the bathroom. The staff was very helpful when we needed assistance and they were always sure to make sure we understood everything. I feel as though Americans complain a lot when we travel internationally and I think the staff was very sure to make sure we were satisfied. While everything was not perfect, it was a wonderful time with my husband and we are planning to return to a Blue Bay hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at the themed dining areas every night. While it is annoying to have to make a reservation every day, it is worse when you have to choose from the same meal selections every meal. The dinners were very very good and the service was exceptional within the restaurants.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DVMandMD
Business
East Brunswick, NJ
May 30, 2010

Amazing week getaway!

We loved our hotel. The beach was gorgeous! WE were out in the ocean everyday and there were plenty of places to choose from by the pool or ocean. Great food selection, never had any problem getting a dinner reservation. The staff were AMAZING! So friendly and helpful! It was a week of frozen drinks, food, and beach and it was the perfect relaxing getaway my boyfriend and I needed!! Mexican and Steakhouse were our favorite restaurants with Oriential being our least favorite, but like I said, we were always happy. We had made to order omelets every morning for breakfast and it was perfect! Our room was very clean and always restocked. We were in building 3 which is down by the beach but it is only a 5 minute walk mAXIMUM up to the restaruants, sports bars, and lobby if you are relatively healthy and mobile. There were always carts running people back and forth too so if walking is difficult for you, I dont see why transportation around the complex would be a problem. WONDERFUL STAY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nepatriot
Business
Dexter, ME
May 24, 2010

Vacation Getaway

The hotel was very nice. Where it is so big, and there were many complexes, they had shuttles to bring you to and from wherever you needed to go. However, they were not always available. When it rained, it was hard to find any shuttle to take you to and fro. Also, where entertainment is concerned, it would have been nice to have either a band or DJ play music so people can dance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You either have to walk a distance or take a shuttle, depending on where you stayed. Bring an umbrella, which the hotel provides, because it can rain in a minutes notice.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
May 14, 2010

Great place overall

We found some aspects to be 5 stars, some 4 and others 3. The food was good at all the restaurants. Except for a couple nights at the buffet, we made restaurant reservations a day in advance with little difficulty. The room was nice, a good view and the maid, [...], was the best we've ever seen. Every day of our 8 night stay included a different "decoration" in our room.The nine buildings of rooms are a little spread out. I enjoy walking but my wife's knees mean we relied on the shuttle to take us to the lobby or some of the restaurants. It is about 500 yards from the furthest building to the lobby. Most of the time the shuttle worked well but at busy times there could be a significant wait.Other comments about the beach at this hotel are accurate. It is adequate but not the perfect sand and blue/green water of other resorts. When we were there, the wind was so strong most people stayed around the pool. It was our 25th anniversary. The trip had some wonderful memories, in large measure to the good attributes of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We shopped at Playa and later at Isla Mujeres with a boat trip. Isla offered the better bargains by far.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riviera Maya, Mexico
May 12, 2010

Ok

We mostly hung out by the swing bar (which had actual swings) and by the pool, the pool was nice, would of liked to have had a lazy river somewhere on the resort, the beach was kinda icky, too mushy when you walked in the water, the room was cleaned at all different times during the day and the carts the rolled around the hotel were so noisy, they woke me up every morning...all in all I guess you get what you pay for, since we didn't pay much for the trip...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Apriltraveler
Business
Midwest, USA
May 3, 2010

Blue bay esmeralda review

Beautiful location, good service. Occasional foul odor from swamp land. Food was just OK, tons of walking with few shuttles available. If you want sugar-sand beaches and a fun nightlife, stay closer to Playa del carmen. This is a 2.5-3.0 star resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to spend time in Playa- it is a 15-20 dollar cab ride each way from this resort. As with any all-inclusive, the food gets old after awhile. Be ready to deal with families, and kids.

Back to menu Return to top