Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
322 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (322)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
322 out of 322
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Nov 11, 2010

Perfect Family Vacation

This was a great hotel to take the family. The staff were second to none. The food was great. The rooms were very clean. The Hotel was really comfortable with great free entertainment. If you are looking for snorkeling adventures, you won't find it at the shoreline at this hotel or at 98% of other hotels in the Maya Riviera. You really need to go on tours for that. No joke. Overall, would recommend Blue Bay Grand Esmerelda Hotel to families. If you are a party person, go to Cancun, that's where all the action is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tabernacle, NJ
Nov 11, 2010

Unbelievable Price - Thank U [...]

Service and people that work there are great. For those people that come from Europe, thats another story. Food and drink were plentiful. Weather was great even thought they predicted rain every day, which it did not. Excursions and trip into town was a great experience. Price from [...], unbelievable. Thank U

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't get talked into doing time share tour. They say it takes 90 minutes. Four hours later I got up and left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Nov 11, 2010

Good Value

Beautiful beach. Wait staff was extraordinary - fast, helpful, friendly and courteous. The rooms were comfy and cleaned daily. Entertainment was so-so as was most of the food. I did not like to wake-up at 7a.m. to make sure we had dinner reservations for the next day (don't wait until 9 a.m., it's too late). Even though the restaurants were not full they would not take reservations for new arrivals and we could not get into them. For 2 of our 4 nights we had to eat at the buffet restaurant, which was nice and the staff wonderful, until we learned the system. We took a day trip into Playa del Carmen that was very close and fun. $15 cab ride. This hotel does not have a "swim up bar".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 6, 2010

Nice Hotel

The hotel was nice and kept up. The staff was friendly and helpful. The dining options were buffets for breakfast and lunch and also for dinner, if you did not make dinner reservations, which my husband and I would have rather ate at restaurants. Only one the pools was open while we were there, but it didn't make that much of a difference since we were there in the off season. The beach is beautiful. The nightly entertainment was fun each night. When I compare this hotel to the Sandals resort (All-Inclusive) that my husband and I went to for our honeymoon, this hotel did not come close to the amenities we received there. I would say this hotel was a pretty good value, but I probably would not recommend this hotel because it did not stand out from just an oridinary hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel provides a show each night, which all were very well done and entertaining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Long weekender looking to relax.
Business
New Hampshire
Nov 3, 2010

Would I go back???

The resort was very clean but could use some TLC. I was happy with the food, drinks, service and room. What I didn't like was the constant pressure to sit down with them for 90 mins to hear their speil about joining their club. The pressure never seemed to stop. While i was there to visit Cozumel for other reasons, it was nice to be close to the ferry for a cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Just say NO to the sales pressure! Save your time for you, that's why you are there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lorie D
Business
Miami, FL
Oct 31, 2010

Wonderful !!!

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda was really fantastic. I usually dont write any comments only when its really great or when its really bad. In this case it was Fantastic ! It was my first time in Mexico with my Mom and it couldn't be better. The staff were extremely nice and extremely helpful. The hotel has everything you would expect from a 5 star resort. The food was great, the rooms were a great size pool area was beutiful and they are fairly eco friend has they have tried to preverse some of the mangroves around the area so you might see so native wildlife. The only down side was that the beaches aren't that nice as they are around a mangrove area even if you see the staff constanly cleaning the beach. For breath taking beach go to Tulum! As for advise, try to get reservation for their restaurant just to give you a another experience than the buffet which also great but a nice sit down dinner is better. Cant wait for my next vacation in which I will be returning to BBGE :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

As for advise, I would recommend to rent a car since it a bit far from the airport and its great to visit Playa del Carmen, Cenotes and other Mayan ruins around the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 27, 2010

Great Experience

Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BB3
Business
Blane, WA
Oct 27, 2010

Nice place

Nice hotel with extremely friendly and efficient staff. I Like it more than couple other 5 and 5+ stars hotels - Blue Bay has less frills as only 3 kinds of fish, it is 4,5 star, but worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Prices in the hotel stores are very reasonable and jewelry store is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Oct 24, 2010

Great place for couples

The hotel was perfect,plenty of places to eat and ton's of wild life to see. Two big pool's. the beach is not the best but it's ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are interested on any excursion, do not pay for it at the hotel, take a day trip to Playa Del Carmen to find better deals.Half of price........

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, Ca
Oct 19, 2010

This place was great.

The rooms were very clean, and everyone was extremely helpful. The service was great. The food was average, they had a big selection, but not the best taste. The entertainment staff by the pool was lots of fun. We had a wonderful time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is away from the city and any other attractions. Great for getting away from it all, but if you want to go in the small city or to any attraction you need to take shuttles and they do not run too often. We rented a car and had no problems getting around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top