$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
288 reviews
Easter Vacation

We had a great time, it was our 5th time at Bluebay! They are very accomodating (we asked for a... See full review

  • Max
  • Jun 19, 2015
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Location
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Highlights
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Policies
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$156
3.9 / 5 243 reviews
★★★★
$161
4.1 / 5 222 reviews
★★★★
$222
3.8 / 5 227 reviews
★★★
$161
4.0 / 5 209 reviews
★★★★
$263
4.2 / 5 1,091 reviews
★★★★
$215
4.2 / 5 162 reviews

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Gold Deluxe Garden View Room
1 king bed or 2 double beds.32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe. Private and personalized check in, personalized welcome letter from the General Manager, 1 bottle of red wine upon arrival, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar, complimentary WiFi access for the entire stay, 15% discount on all SPA treatments only (no products and not combinable), 1 complimentary access to the water circuit of the SPA (per person per stay, not combinable) and farewell courtesy from the Management.
Gold Deluxe Partial Ocean View Room
1 king bed or 2 double beds.32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe. Private and personalized check in, personalized welcome letter from the General Manager, 1 bottle of red wine upon arrival, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar, complimentary WiFi access for the entire stay, 15% discount on all SPA treatments only (no products and not combinable), 1 complimentary access to the water circuit of the SPA (per person per stay, not combinable) and farewell courtesy from the Management.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pamela 2094
Couples
Indialantic, FL, USA
Nov 18, 2012

It was Great as usual!

My husband and I have gone to Blue Bay twice and always at the same time . We have enjoyed it immensely from the staff to our room and of course the food. The moment we enter the lobby we our welcomed by concierge, Yadina, from the VIP check-in. We had arranged to secure the same suite as last year. Which was no problem with the head of the concierges, Jose Luis. Who is not only very professional but friendly and could not do enough for us. Wagner, who is the pool-bar service waiter knew exactly what we drank and always made sure we had a full glass while we were at the pool or beach. Karla, our waitress for breakfast and lunch always greeted us with a smile. I can not say enough for the staff. Please remember even though everything is included, the staff does appreciate tips which is well deserved. Our suite was an ocean view on the third floor of the Coba building. With a separate living room and bedroom plus two bathrooms it was very convenient for us. It was cleaned every day before 10:A.M. per our request . Every night after dinner we would come back to our room to find a snack at the bar and a bottle of wine , champagne or premium liquor. By the end of our stay we had accumulated 10 full bottles as neither of us drink liquor. We have been to secrets and Capri,which is right next door to Blue Bay resort and a few other resorts but none compare to Blue Bay Esmeralda. We will be returning next year for the third time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Catamaran to isla of the Mujeres Staff on the boat were great!!!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UNHAPPY TRAVELLER
Family
Sherman Oaks
Jul 2, 2015

BITTERLY DISAPPOINTED

ROOM HAD ROACHES AND WHEN BROUGHT TO THEIR ATTENTION, WAS TOLD WHAT DO YOU EXPECT, YOU'RE IN A JUNGLE. ASKED FOR EXTRA TOWELS TO COVER THE DAMP/SLIPPERY FLOOR AND WAS TOLD WE THERE WAS A LIMIT OF (2) MORE BECAUSE OTHER ROOMS NEEDED TOWELS AS WELL. DIRTY BREAKFAST DISH REMAINED ON THE DRESSER AFTER HOUSEKEEPING SERVICED ROOM. HAD TO PAY WI-FI COST FOR EACH ADD'L DEVICE ABOVE (1). LUNCH AND DINNER WAS BARELY EDIBLE. HAD EARLY CHECK-OUT @ 4:30AM AND GOLF CART/SHUTTLE WAS 30 MIN LATE EVEN THOUGH WE REQUESTED CART NIGHT BEFORE THEN DRIVER COULD NOT BE BOTHERED TO RETRIEVE OUR LUGGAGE FROM ROOM, HAD TO BRING TO HIM INSTEAD. VERY DISAPPOINTED ESPECIALLY CONSIDERING THE AVG PRICE PER NIGHT OF $400+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EZEQUIEL S.
Family
N/A
Jun 23, 2015

Family Vacation

The hotel not meet my expectations , beach not good, service not good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Max
Couples
N/A
Jun 19, 2015

Easter Vacation

We had a great time, it was our 5th time at Bluebay! They are very accomodating (we asked for a room change closer to the main pool-they changed it the next morning like they had promised). The food was outstanding!! We got to Riviera Maya twice a year, and it is the hotel with the best food. The rooms were very clean. Overall, it was a fantastic hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weegee
Couples
Santa Fe
Jun 2, 2015

Pretty good

The beach is dredged in and a little sketchy, but the hotel is beautiful, the food is plentiful, and it's very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul E.
Friends
New York
May 1, 2015

Great place

The grounds are nice and large but they have a cart shuttle if you don't feel like walking. Not far away is a cenote river that dumps into the sea. It is highly recommended. To get there go down to the beach and facing the ocean make a left and walk about about half a kilometer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rodrigo A.
Family
Palatine
Apr 27, 2015

Great stay, we love this resort

Overall Blue Bay is a great resort and service in general is great. Unfortunately a couple incidents happened when we arrived such as the front desk personnel treating in a not so politely manner. Then we had to walk carrying our luggage and kids for about a mile to our room. the rest of our stay was pleasant and had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juan M.
Couples
north las vegas
Mar 10, 2015

Amazing

Great experience! Great staff and the food was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathleen P.
Single
Bourbonnais
Mar 3, 2015

Just an okay resort

Resort was very scenic and rooms were clean, however the food, drink and service was just ok! Our air conditioner didn't work all that great but we were able to get cooled down from the ceiling fan. When we called for roomservice 3 different times for different things it took forever for them to respond. Once it wasn't until the next day. The restaurant's you had to make reservations at had bad service and food wasn't all that good. Buffet food was much better. Don't think we would return to this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anna P.
Friends
Scarborough
Jan 24, 2015

Just Ok girls trip

The resort is huge so expect a lot of walking. Switched rooms about 3 times due to a/c not working and such but would stay again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Erica O.
Family
Columbus
Jan 5, 2015

Terrible hotel

The service was terrible, the food was not good and the entertainment is a joke. The only thing that was good was the pool. Everything is very far, they don't have enough waitresses, they do a lot of noise with carts that they push to clean the rooms, you never can take a nap. Before going to the hotel I read the bad reviews and though that it could not be so bad, but it is. Just don't go. The beach is terrible and I never had the courage to leave my kid on the kids club. Worst experience in hotel in my whole life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top