$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
321 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (321)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 321
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MaryfromCleveland
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 17, 2013

Don't Go!

Bugs on the walls. Bugs on the curtains. Bugs in our bed. We are-thankfully-all home safely after a horrible girls week at Blue Bay. The buildings were not air conditioned cool enough to be comfortable (sweat dripping down our faces during dinners). The beach was a bit dirty. When we arrived exhausted after a long trip our room was not ready. Our first room was adjacent to a major construction project, and we asked to move immediately. Our second room was not cleaned so we moved to a third location in another building. When I complained about the disorganized, unpleasant arrival experience, no one showed concern. We were told that the resort reserves a block of rooms for online travel sites in the far back corner of the grounds (far from food, far from the beach, far from the main pool, and extremely easy to get lost!). When we were asked to change rooms for a fourth time on the second day of our trip, the room was filled with bugs. Even though we bought a $25 can of bug spray spraying our bodies along with every inch of the hotel room, we are home in Cleveland with itchy purple welts from the swarms of bugs throughout the resort, in our hotel room, and on our pillows. If you decide to go to Blue Bay, sleep with your mouth closed. I recommend staying out of this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find another hotel, please!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Batzmaru
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2011

Thieves In Hotel

We were staying at the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Hotel in Cancun for a relative's wedding. One of the guests (staying at Bldg 8) discovered someone entered their hotel room while she was at the event and stole her wedding ring and other jewelry from her purse (they took their time digging through her stuff). Although she was immediately blamed by hotel staff that it was her own fault, because she didn't put her valuables in the hotel safe, she still wanted to advise the hotel security of the thief. The hotel staff was not helpful, but immediately put blame on her regardless that someone was able to enter her room. On my last night at the hotel, at 2 am while I was in the shower, someone entered our room (we were in Bldg 5) and stole my roommate's small bag containing her passport, identification, credit cards and money from our hotel room safe. Beware, make sure you're with someone at all times and double bolt the doors. Someone was able to have access to a master key card and able to enter our room. The thieves were bold enough to enter the room regardless if the guest were in the room or not. They're going into your rooms while you're sound asleep. The front desk told us later that missing bag was discovered by a cleaning woman two floors above us, everything was in there except the money. I'm pretty sure we are not the only one to report things missing from this hotel room other than the wedding guests and us. This hotel is lacking in security and it's your fault if your things are stolen. The security staff and front desk will not help you, because their employees are the thieves. They will give you the run around so that you're frustrated and give up. The hotel staffs are the only ones with the master key card, besides the cleaning person. These thieves are hoping you're asleep while they sneak into your room (while your safe is opened when you're in the room) and steal your valuables. Read other blogs (travelpost,google other website) about this hotel, you will notice others have complained about stolen properties and best part is... their security staff are the thieves. Be very careful of your valuables. I would not recommend this hotel, you could be the next victim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
volleyball
Business
Montana, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Bluebay 2012

We had a decent experience here although it would have been helpful to know long pants are required for most resteraunts except the buffets. Rooms were good but the ocean view was from a long ways away and we had all booked king beds and ended up with double beds in each room. The staff is very nice, the food is average buffet and the beach was horrible with everything covered in seaweed for most of the day until it was cleaned up usually around 4pm when the sun was going down. The water was warm but very rocky and again alot of seaweed. If your looking for a great experience this is not the spot to go. All restaraunts require reservations and the earliest we could get in was 9:30pm every night we tried to book

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MattJ
Business
Chicago IL
Jun 25, 2012

Blue Bay Esmeralda

The hotel is fine, good condition buildings, amenities etc. The only really bad thing about this resort is the beach. The beach compared to other resorts is terrible! Trust me this is coming from a guy that doesn't care much about the beach, I spend most of my time in the water. But in this case, the beach was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing fresh/salt water lagoon short work north of the resort! A must See!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Good Time Charlies
Business
San Antonio
Dec 20, 2012

Good for the money

Weather was great!! Hotel was ok but the beach was not great! Had to walk down a bit to find clear water :( Getting a reservation at the a la carte was not easy and the restaurants were not full?? The Asian restaurant was not very good but we had a blast at the Italian restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Coco Bongo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Avid Traveler from Dallas
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 13, 2011

Good not Great Hotel

The resort is average compared to other all-inclusive resorts I have been to. The food is good, but a warning for a la carte restaurants, it takes about 2 hours or more for your food to come out. The beach in front of the hotel was absolutely horrible. Would recommend you go downtown playa to the beach there. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The spa was my favorite out of all the amenities of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is pretty far away from the resort. Have to take a shuttle/taxi everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago il
Feb 5, 2011

good for a budget traveler

The hotel was fine, nice grounds and decent sized rooms in good repair. The rooms were noisy; you could hear everything happening in the hall and rooms next door (I had an adjoining room, dividing door was closed and it was like they were in the room with me).The pools and oceanfront were very nice, a little crowded but great place to spend time with friends. The buffets and restaurants were fine (enjoyed the steak and Italian restaurants). Nightlife was a little slow for a group of singles but Playa Del Carmen is a quick fifteen-dollar cab ride away.My complaints were that my friends were in rooms near the beech and I was in a room at the back of the resort, it was a good ten-minuet walk. The hotel would not do anything to accommodate me. Also the [...] airport shuttle picked me up four and a half hours before my flight- I was in the airport waiting fro three and a half hours before my flight.Our [...] Representative was difficult to get in touch with, he was not in the resort at the times we were told he would be. When we did get to speak to him he was helpful and recommended a good excursion, cave diving and swimming with sea turtles.Overall this is a good place to go if you are traveling with a group of friends, service and hotel was O.K. I would go back if I got a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Nov 11, 2010

Good Value

Beautiful beach. Wait staff was extraordinary - fast, helpful, friendly and courteous. The rooms were comfy and cleaned daily. Entertainment was so-so as was most of the food. I did not like to wake-up at 7a.m. to make sure we had dinner reservations for the next day (don't wait until 9 a.m., it's too late). Even though the restaurants were not full they would not take reservations for new arrivals and we could not get into them. For 2 of our 4 nights we had to eat at the buffet restaurant, which was nice and the staff wonderful, until we learned the system. We took a day trip into Playa del Carmen that was very close and fun. $15 cab ride. This hotel does not have a "swim up bar".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moe nY
Business
New york
Jun 25, 2014

Decent for a quick getaway

I felt this resort was decent although I have some dislikes. I felt that the staff was not so nice, no all but some. The cleaning staff was very good, my room was always clean. The food selection was so so. My main concern was the bathroom tub, the step to get in was very high. I actually slipped and now have a large bruise on my leg. There is nothing to hold on too and tile was very slippery. Some of the staff was not so nice, no one ever knew who or what to do when questions were asked. The beach was not so nice, water was very dirty looking. Overall my experience was fair, it was a nice little getaway for a fair price minus the few complaints I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Too expensive, do not buy at hotel and front desk will give you 'coupons' for promotions or free gift whitch is not true.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stuko
Business
mesa, az
Aug 13, 2014

good fun

Okay but after the shower drain and bathroom drain wouldn't drain for two days, you think they would have fixed it or moved us to another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy your booze off the resort. All drinks are watered down

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top