$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
322 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (322)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 322
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mi amor loco
Business
NJ
Jul 20, 2012

Rivera Maya

As my second time in the same place, the service in general was really poor. Two of the shows at night such as Grace and international countries were show not for kids. I did not like it. The Mexico and the Circus was really good. It was really difficult to find a simple spoon for the soup and coffee. I do not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AngLve
Business
NJ
Feb 21, 2013

Worst Vacation I have ever been on!

I have to say this was the worst vacation I have ever been on and after visiting Mexico three times in the last five years we are very disappointed with the service this hotel had to offer. The rooms that my parents and brother booked smelled like raw sewage and stagnant water. So my boyfriend and I decided to upgrade. We paid to upgraded so we could have a front ocean view witch gave us a fresh breeze. The view was beautiful I have to say but the room was horrible. The balcony had only one chair and the handle to close and open the door was missing. I then called and requested another chair they said it would be their within 30min which it took them to the next day to bring. The rooms need much updating. Our phone in our room was broken again I had to call and have someone bring us a working phone. Our room did not have an alarm clock I called 3 different times to get an alarm clock and did not even receive one at all after being promised one. The second day into our stay we dropped a beer bottle by mistake in the room witch eventually ended up ruining our vacation. Security was called and instead of asking what happened they assumed we were trashing the already poor maintained room. Five random strange men one with a camera taking pictures of the room came in while I only had a towel. Where are my rights!!! Oh that’s right we have none while in their country so says the hotel management they can do as they please looking at me while they went into the bathroom looking for I don't know what since it was obvious what happened. The next day we went to make reservations they advised us we needed to go up to the front desk to speak with a manger about possible damages to our room that we need to take care of. I was so upset that on our vacation because a bottle dropped we needed to deal with this. Long story short we needed to pay for damages that we never caused or the hotel manager Alfonso advised us that if we didn’t he would have to call the police. The manager was very rude and unhelpful I asked for an explanation of the damages he advised me he did not need to give me an explanation and that we needed to pay for the damages to the door. I them told him that the bottle never hit the door it hit the floor and I wanted him to come up to our room and explain to us how they came up with the charges. Alfonso said he had pictures proving the damage. I told him I would love to see the before and after picture. As soon as I said that he then got really loud with me telling me again that he does not need to explain anything to me .I felt helpless and taking advantage of. I wish I read all of the reviews before booking this trip. I advised against this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Painiac
Business
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2011

Worst Resort Service in Mexico

The facilities here are nice enough, and the food is passable. I would have been happy with this except for the horribly bad service. We were told it was policy we could only have ONE key car per room, so my wife an I could never go out separately the entire week. I even offered to pay for one, but they refused. One day we booked a scuba diving trip with a great shop in Playa del Carmen, but when they arrived at the hotel they were not allowed to enter the gate, despite us verifying who they were. Instead the hotel manager made us TAKE A TAXI FROM THE LOBBY TO THE FRONT GATE to transport our gear - a 45 second ride that cost $5! The hotel claimed liability issues, but the dive shop confirmed that no other resort does this. It was clearly a 'screw you' tax on us for booking ahead of time with someone we know rather than through their aggressive on-site agencies. We generally tip all staff while on vacation - when we asked the front desk for change so we could tip waiters, bellboys, housekeeping, etc... the front desk literally said "No. Do you think we're a bank? We're not a bank." We wanted change in order to give their employees more money, and they refused! One day they gave us white pool towels that looked similar to the room towels. When the housekeepers mistakenly took them, rather than apologize they treated us like criminals and made us waste over 30 minutes to hunt down the maid and confirm that she had them and we were not thieves (this great way to get return customers - accuse a group of 8 doctors and lawyers spending thousands of dollar of stealing a $2 towel and wasting part of their vacation!) And forget the "free" water activities - the two catamarans are broken down and barely safe to sail. I am an experienced sailor, sailed the catamaran one morning, then and wanted to take my brother in law out on one of the boats. They said he had to pass a catamaran sailing proficiency test or of course he could buy some lessons... even though he was just going to be a PASSENGER. Also, I left a new $100 scuba mask at the shop for less than 5 minutes and it promptly disappeared. These are just a few of the examples of terrible service that accumulated to ruin the vacation for the whole family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring everything you could possibly need, and do not count on the hotel for anything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zouky
Business
montreal, canada
Dec 21, 2010

Very nice hotel,

Very nice hotel, clean, but NOISY![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ONeill
Business
Wash DC
Nov 26, 2012

Great Value

Arrival: Had to wait 20 minutes until our luggage was delivered to the room. We did not want to wait so we walked. We were not offered a ride, etc. Room: Good, expect for the bathroom-Shower had mold, cracked tile. Mirror- was worn from all the moisture. Pool: Probably the best part apart from the sports bar Beach: Looks bad with the sand bags. Walked along the beach it was all the same at other hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Viturally everyone from the time you arrive to the airport has their hand out and wants a tip. "Amigo, Amiga"..they gently lead you to where they want. Don't fall for it keep your money only a few deserve a tip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jarry.S
Business
Michigan
May 1, 2014

There should be a lot improved

Rooms on the first floor had ants and spiders. The employees were very polite and handworker , except the front desk that was the worst unit. Receptionists had no more right to solve problems that tourists have. For everything they need to ask someone else in a room adjacent to the reception. They only give absurd answers like their job was to lie customer. The food was very good, and all the restaurants were clean. I think the rooms need update. Only restaurants are for 4 stars. The rest of the service is for 2 star. The location is good but just for people that need to use poll. This is not for people that going to use ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Diamond Bar
Jul 12, 2011

Great Food, Horrible Service

We stayed at the resort for 10 days. In addition to the buffet, there are six restaurants that are a part of the all-inclusive (Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian, French, Oriental, and Mexican). Although the food at the buffet was ok, the food and service at the other restaurants were exceptional. Unfortunately, the problem in eating at the restaurants was the fact that you have to make reservations a day in advance and the number of people they serve are very limited. Food service and the food were the only good things about this resort.As for Hotel and Guest Services, we got locked out of our room on three separate occasions (faulty doorlock). Each time we waited an average of one hour for maintainance/security. They offered no compenstion for the time we wasted and only offered to change our room after I demanded it. [...].The rooms were very plain and only fairly clean. The mini bar was an absolute joke and the extras (internet and spa packages) are ridicules. I spoke to many other guest during my stay and they all complained about the level of service. As I said before, NEVER AGAIN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Plan ahead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fredstein frank's brother
Business
NY
Jul 7, 2014

happy to now be home

The concept is nice of all inclusive but it did not cut it. On checkin I was told to return the next day to get my second room key for apparently there was a shortage. The shortage was noted at all restaurants where the staff was lovely but stretched to the limit so waiting for water took forever. The shortage was also noted with insufficient room towels. The worst was in my family of 4, 3 had severe diarrhea as well as many friends who traveled with us. Take immodium with you if you visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MMFF
Business
Ohio
Aug 7, 2014

Not good

Room was poor and front desk not helpful. Pool and beach crowded. Walk is 5-10 min to beach from non VIP buildings. Food is good but most areas not air conditioned. Staff in restaurants very nice. Evening shows not great and space is very hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

French restaurant is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
cypress, ca
Jul 12, 2011

Good Time

This hotel needs to improve security because i have lost my ipod touch in my room. People need to put your valuable stuff in your safety box. Hard time to reserve restaurant. My build 5 was smelly and have a lot mosquito. Be repair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top