$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
321 reviews
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
Great experience! Would definitely go back!

We upgraded our room to the swim up pool room and it couldn't get any better. Room was big, clean... See full review

  • Regi jersey girl
  • Oct 3, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (321)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 321
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, KS
Jun 24, 2011

Mixed feelings

Let me start by saying that I always take these types of reviews with a grain of salt. My husband and I are pretty simple people - we don't demand high class accommodations or service. With that being said, I'd like to share my opinions. The good: Our first impressions were fantastic! The rooms were very modern. Our bed was great as well as the shower in the bathroom. There were always plenty of seats at the pool and beach, even in the shade, at any time of the day. I've stayed at other resorts and open seats in the shade are not always available unless you go out at 6:00am to save chairs. The food was so-so. We ate the buffet mostly but tried out the Steakhouse and Mexican restaurants. The Steakhouse was our favorite! We upgraded our room to receive free room service and enjoyed that a few times as well. While the menu is limited, it only took 25 minutes to get our food. The bad: I was very disappointed in bar service. I am used to going to all-inclusive resorts and receiving exceptional service when it comes to bars and this was my worst experience yet. No one seemed interested in serving us whatsoever. The pool service was slow as well and it was often easier and quicker to get out of the pool and walk to the bar and get our own drinks. Our final tipping point came at check out. Our building was the furthest away from the lobby so when we checked out with our buiding concierge, they called the bus boy and we waited outside in the heat with our luggage for 15 minutes. When he finally showed up, he only had a luggage cart and there were no seats for us to ride back. We were told we had to walk back because the shuttles don't come to our building. We know this not to be true because when we arrived, they shuttled us to our room with our luggage. So we took our 5-10 minute walk back to the lobby in the 90+ degree heat. We were both drenched in sweat by the time we made it to the lobby. Of course, there was no option to take a shower so we were sent to the airport in sweaty clothes with no chance to clean-up until we got home around 1:00am. I can't explain how frustrated we were. Prior to that last experience, I would've recommended this resort to others. However, that just does not send a good lasting impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JohnyLaw
Business
Milwaukee Wi.
Apr 20, 2011

NIGHTMARE!!!!!!!

"Buyer Beware" is all I can say. Where do I start? Room check in was 4 hours late, requested a king bed vs 2 twin beds(who spends anniversary in seperate beds?), my wife and I along with about a dozen others got food poisoning, we had 3 scheduled apts. with our [...]rep and he never showed up for the entire trip(looked for him every day!), 95% of staff was not bi-lingual and spoke about as much english as I do spanish(not good), [...]offered a free upgrade for ammenities that the resort did not honor(gift upon arrival-comp. room service-spa credit-etc.-didn't happen), food was average at best, staff lost all my paperwork for the trip(dinner vouchers for cancun and site seeing along with original flight and hotel info)they were unable to help me at all when I tried to get copies, if you don't tip big they ignore you the entire trip, can't forget the screaming kids. The best part of this entire trip was the maid service and the kid that stocked my mini bar(still not worth a couple of grand though!), had trouble checking out, charged me for room service(which was comp'd) and told me good luck getting a cab that this was Mexico and I would not be able to leave without paying! Honestly who the [*] do these people think they are? By far the worst all-inclusive trip we have ever taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Cancel reservations now and spend your good hard earned money elsewhere! First time ever that I feel cheated out of my money on a trip and received nothing in return for it but headaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 11, 2011

Be aware

Hotel not a 5 stars, badly need renovation. I can't describe this hotel as really bad or good I have really mixed feelings about it. Food in both buffets very simple and bland, but if you can't cook, or you don't care what you eat, you might like it. Italian, Mexican, French and Asian restaurants did very nice food presentation. Steak house was disappointment because it was part of day time buffet building, nothing special, you don't feel that you in restaurant when you sit in worn off low wicker chare and your chin resting on table top. Bartender next to Snack café was very rude, didn't even try to hide his disrespect to vacationers. Sport bar will give you nice service for 24 hours and you will fill special. For me swimming in the ocean or sea and long walk on the beach are main reason for the travel to the Mexico, but beach wasn't there, it wasn't recover since hurricane 2 years ago, Caribbean sea was knee deep, but if you like fish touching you, you might like it, it is a lot of fish there and it is not my idea of fun. Huge problem you might have if you will be unlucky to end up there in rain season. Rain caught us once and in 3 minutes we were soaking wet. And this can be huge problem because large distances between lodgings, restaurants and I don't know what possible to do there in the rain other than sit in Sport bar. Another great service that impresses me it is work of concierge. We leaved in building #8; furthest building in resort and every concierge for our building were polite, patient and responsive. Only GREAT 5 STAR attraction there it is Spa. This is place you must visit if you risked to spend your vacation in this resort. In every resort that I visited and it is usually twice a year, I have at least one spa treatment in every resort. So trust me it is best Spa ever. But bottom line, I wouldn't recommend my friends to visit this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Spa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vlad from Michigan
Business
Michigan
Jan 10, 2014

Serious health issue

Everything would be great with this place if they would not consider to use their mosquito repellent chemicals one day without warning their guests. The compound is notorious for having a strong odor, an oily feel — and an ability to melt plastic! The pipe was under our porch (it was the first floor corner room) so it went straight into the room and looked and smell like after fire at the gas station! We were not able to open the door because it was first floor room and the smoke was still coming from under the foundation. We called several times to the guest service but all we got was that they sprayed our room (again!) with other chemicals to eliminate an odor. The weather wasn't great - rainy and cold - so we just spent our last two days (!) in the lobby or in the restaurant and slept with the outside door open (as we were recommended...) My wife cried - because we felt helpless and because the odor was so strong that tears were coming anyways...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CassieOne
Business
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Mar 30, 2012

Would not recommend

This resort was very disappointing. The beach was very small, the ocean was filled with kelp and you could not swim in the ocean. The hotel rooms were run down and the place in general was poorly taken care of. We changed hotels and refused to stay even a night at this resort. There are so many beautiful hotels in this area but this is not one of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WesCh
Business
NewJersey
Feb 10, 2013

Not for family

never come back again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jan 5, 2010

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

The hotel accomodations were terrible. They don't clean your room until 4 5 pm. They don't allow you more than 1 towel for the beach. And most of all the food is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hazard ky
Jan 26, 2011

not much !!!!

this place is a joke !!! they wouldnt even give us a straw. they also wanted to charge us 12.00 for roomservice. never again.!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Menomonie, WI
Mar 26, 2010

Great Price, Mediocre Resort

The resort is nothing special. Beware that the location is in Playa Del Carmen and not in Cancun like the website says it is. The food is ok, the pool is nice, but the beach is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr. Pink
Business
Ft. lauderdale FL
Nov 3, 2009

Be prepared to be disapointed!

The room was filthy and smelled. Room 2 clean but smelled musty. Spoke to manager, very unhelpful said that there was nothing he could do [...] Upsold us on room with Ocean view. Room had little to no view of ocean, had a great view of mangrove. They say they have 5 resturants. Its only 2 per night. And you can't get a reservation. After we were about to leave the manager made reservations for us. Resturants were good but hardly full. Food was good but servers acted like we were bothering them. Great service in buffet. Poor in Dining room. Entertainment was low budget. If you like spanish TV...it was alot like that. The pool and grounds are beautiful just like pictures. Bartenders very friendly. Over all I give it 2 stars out of 5. Or rate it a 6 out of 10 over all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

book ahead of arival.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top