$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
316 reviews
almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two... See full review

  • gabopani
  • Jun 3, 2014
family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best See full review

  • RVR TRAVELERS
  • Apr 24, 2013
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (316)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
316 out of 316
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Apr 17, 2010

Good Vacation

We liked the hotel. The food was good, the pool was beautiful and we had an awesome ocean view room. Unfortunately, it rained the majority of the time we were there so we were not able to enjoy everything as much as we could have. One major disappointment was the quality of the alcohol served throughout the hotel. It was barely drinkable. The only drink we liked was the Coco Loco and the beer was alright. Because of the rain we tried to do a lot of indoor things, like drink and watch the shows. The entertainment staff is very good. They put on a different show every night at 9:30pm. If you have kids, they do fun things for the kids on stage at around 8:30pm. The concierge staff throughout the hotel is not the friendliest. I would suggest researching activities you want to do online before hand and not use them for anything. Also, I heard from another couple at the resort that once you meet with them they practically force you to go to a time share presentation. Luckily, we were able to avoid this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We visited the Mayan ruins at Tulum and had a wonderful time. Luckily, it didn't rain while we were there! The ruins are amazing and the beach there is stunning. We chose Tulum over Chichen-Itza due to time constraints. Tulum is about an hour away from this hotel while Chichen-Itza is about 3 hours away. The Chichen-Itza ruins however, are larger than the Tulum ruins. A taxi driver outside of the resort gave us a better deal than the hotel was giving us and he even waited for us while we toured the ruins. I would suggest researching using shuttles or "collectivos" which is their public transportation system. It's way cheaper.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OLE OLE
New York New York
Aug 23, 2010

OLE OLE

Relaxed by pool, ate, drink, and enjoyed the corny but entertaining shows The hotel shuttles could have been more frequent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mexico, D.F.
Sep 17, 2009

Nice, but could be better....

Nice, but could be better....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aramos714
Miami, FL
Jul 1, 2010

Ok for the price

Great time with the animation team... great food A la CARTE restaurants. The Transportation company GREY LINE took 45 minuts to pick up from the airport. Tehy supposed to refund us..but I wil not used that company any more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Avid Traveler from Dallas
Dallas, TX
Jun 13, 2011

Good not Great Hotel

The resort is average compared to other all-inclusive resorts I have been to. The food is good, but a warning for a la carte restaurants, it takes about 2 hours or more for your food to come out. The beach in front of the hotel was absolutely horrible. Would recommend you go downtown playa to the beach there. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The spa was my favorite out of all the amenities of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is pretty far away from the resort. Have to take a shuttle/taxi everywhere.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
usa
Apr 24, 2010

The good

Beach is not good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moe nY
New york
Jun 25, 2014

Decent for a quick getaway

I felt this resort was decent although I have some dislikes. I felt that the staff was not so nice, no all but some. The cleaning staff was very good, my room was always clean. The food selection was so so. My main concern was the bathroom tub, the step to get in was very high. I actually slipped and now have a large bruise on my leg. There is nothing to hold on too and tile was very slippery. Some of the staff was not so nice, no one ever knew who or what to do when questions were asked. The beach was not so nice, water was very dirty looking. Overall my experience was fair, it was a nice little getaway for a fair price minus the few complaints I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Too expensive, do not buy at hotel and front desk will give you 'coupons' for promotions or free gift whitch is not true.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
happy as
Australia
May 31, 2012

For Couples and Family only

The place was nice enough and the Staff were very friendly and tried to be helpful, perhaps to helpful. Got a call from the Concierge just on 8.00am to see if everything was OK and arrange to meet. Not required! The meals were varied and of good quality for a buffet. I did not use the Restaurants due dress code required which is fair enough. I needed Internet and printing access. Can only book min 1 hr block on net but no printing facility

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Less than happy
Victoria. Australia
Dec 18, 2011

All inclusive... If your lucky

we have stayed at a few all inclusive hotels throughout Mexico and the bluebay was not up to the standard of the others!!!! The location is not great and the beach is not the best we have seen either. The rooms and the staff were great. The biggest problem was the food !!!! Although it was all inclusive reservations had to be made at the a la carte restaurants. We only had a two night stay, so by the time we had checked in all the restaurants were already fully booked!!! So we tried to book for our next night but that was also fully booked! That left us to have the dinner buffet for two nights and it was one of the worst buffets I have had!! Other than the freshly cooked pasta the food was very poor. Breakfast and lunch buffets were quite good tho !! Over all our stay at the blue bay was not great. When you pay for all inclusive it would be nice actually get it. Maybe the hotel could leave some seat available at te restaurants for people checking in that day. Also we looked at te restaurants and they were not even full. So maybe a stand by or cancellation list would work !! Next time I'm in Mexico I don't think I would stay here. We were on our honeymoon and it was not a memorable experience. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RD YD
usa
Jul 6, 2014

All around good value .

If you want a ocean view I would sugest building number 5 . Food was fair . A must see walk left from the beach about a 5 minute walk is a awsome lagoon fresh water inlet take a camera its the best beach pictures you will find .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations as early as possible .

Back to menu Return to top

Change search