$368 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
324 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (324)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
324 out of 324
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
happy to have gone, glad to be home!
Business
Mpls. MN
Mar 3, 2010

Mixed Review

[...]. There wasn't any kind of welcome drink or smile. We were talked into the "90 min." sales pitch by our building Concierge for becoming "Club Members" it took 6 hours of telling them NO only to be called fools for not signing. A wasted second day.The third day, the building ran out of water for 30 min. and electricity for 10min. The last day the electrical key had us locked out for 30 min. The restaurant food was good, not great. The Mexican restaurant was the best more than you can eat portions and flavorful; the "sexy Coffee" was entertaining and yummy! The Seafood and Steak restaurants were good but nothing outstanding there. The Italian, were very small portions even for a small appetite. The place was clean, very clean. The beach was narrow, and is sand bagged until the beach restoration is finished. Security was handled well when individuals didn't know when to stop drinking. There is a 1/4+ walking distance from the Lobby and buildings 7&8, and 3 of the 5 specialty restaurants to the beach, large pool area and the other 2 specialty restaurants. There are electrical carts to transport you run during the evening hours but keep alert so you don't get hit! Except for the check-in clerk, the others were friendly enough.Heads up, they don't change your coffee cups, they're washed in the room. We had the same cracked cup all week. And twice we received water bottles in the mini bar that had been opened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The snorkeling in the Cnotes was an amazing adventure. There were families with young children 4 & 5 and they enjoyed the time too. It's beautiful, adventurist if you want but not the typical tourist trap. There aren't souvenir shops, it's informative about the land and the people without preachy and lecturing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Mar 30, 2010

True Review

Would not stay again as you could stay down the beach at a better resort for the same price. Be careful of the time share people as they act like your concierge but are really just there to sell and once you tell them no good luck getting any help.We booked through [...] and check-in was a fight to get the Ocean View we had paid for up-front--kept pushing the upgrade swim up suite. We like to travel light and saw on [...] that they provided bath robs (simple request right) the answer we got was not with your package--What package was that? I paid for all inclusive with an upgrade to ocean view.We speak Spanish and learned from the workers that they prefer to work at other resorts because the tips are better so the resort has high turnover.On the plus side the Buffet was not bad and the Mexican and French restaurants were really good.We have been to Riviera Maya numerous times and love the area but would not recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jillamp
Business
Powell, OH
Jun 17, 2011

Enormous hotel - neat spa, bad food

We only spent 2 nights at the hotel. They upgraded our room to a very large decent suite with 2 full baths, which was very nice of them. The hotel grounds were decent and the place was quite large. I thought the food was Terrible! We ate at the buffets and tried to do dinner, but had to have reservations which we tried to get. My husband was not happy that even on the 2nd morning we tried to get a reservation again w/o any luck, so he complained and we got in at the oriental - the food was awful there. I do recommend the spa water circuit it is quite unique and relaxing and free. We saw the circus there too which was pretty good for a small show. We were at dreams 5 nights prior to this resort and dreams is SO much better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Apriltraveler
Business
Midwest, USA
May 3, 2010

Blue bay esmeralda review

Beautiful location, good service. Occasional foul odor from swamp land. Food was just OK, tons of walking with few shuttles available. If you want sugar-sand beaches and a fun nightlife, stay closer to Playa del carmen. This is a 2.5-3.0 star resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to spend time in Playa- it is a 15-20 dollar cab ride each way from this resort. As with any all-inclusive, the food gets old after awhile. Be ready to deal with families, and kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoonersfrom TN
Business
Nashville, TN
May 21, 2014

Honeymoon

The resort itself was nice, the pool was beautiful, and the restaurants were nice. The food did get a little repetitive with our week stay. The rooms were cleaned daily, but the bedding and linens were DIRTY...hair, lint, dirt. I had to have my sheets changed twice after my room was already clean. Would not go back for that sole reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago il
Feb 5, 2011

good for a budget traveler

The hotel was fine, nice grounds and decent sized rooms in good repair. The rooms were noisy; you could hear everything happening in the hall and rooms next door (I had an adjoining room, dividing door was closed and it was like they were in the room with me).The pools and oceanfront were very nice, a little crowded but great place to spend time with friends. The buffets and restaurants were fine (enjoyed the steak and Italian restaurants). Nightlife was a little slow for a group of singles but Playa Del Carmen is a quick fifteen-dollar cab ride away.My complaints were that my friends were in rooms near the beech and I was in a room at the back of the resort, it was a good ten-minuet walk. The hotel would not do anything to accommodate me. Also the [...] airport shuttle picked me up four and a half hours before my flight- I was in the airport waiting fro three and a half hours before my flight.Our [...] Representative was difficult to get in touch with, he was not in the resort at the times we were told he would be. When we did get to speak to him he was helpful and recommended a good excursion, cave diving and swimming with sea turtles.Overall this is a good place to go if you are traveling with a group of friends, service and hotel was O.K. I would go back if I got a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 6, 2010

Nice Hotel

The hotel was nice and kept up. The staff was friendly and helpful. The dining options were buffets for breakfast and lunch and also for dinner, if you did not make dinner reservations, which my husband and I would have rather ate at restaurants. Only one the pools was open while we were there, but it didn't make that much of a difference since we were there in the off season. The beach is beautiful. The nightly entertainment was fun each night. When I compare this hotel to the Sandals resort (All-Inclusive) that my husband and I went to for our honeymoon, this hotel did not come close to the amenities we received there. I would say this hotel was a pretty good value, but I probably would not recommend this hotel because it did not stand out from just an oridinary hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel provides a show each night, which all were very well done and entertaining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh NC
Dec 17, 2010

Blue Bay was gray

The food was very good, and there was access to the specialty restaurants. If you stayed near the beach, the closest pool was loud. In the morning, starting at 8:00AM the maids would have their carts out on the tile floors, and it sounded like they were bowling right outside of your room. Do not expect to sleep in. The water in the ocean was cloudy and had a lot of sea grass

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations the day before at the specialty restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
F&B
Business
Canada
Apr 4, 2010

Nice for the price

Food was really pretty good. The sand at the beach was white and soft but the beach/water was just OK. Seaweed and rocks made the water look "dirty" instead of the clear blue you will find at other beaches in this area. Grounds where very pretty and lush but the water used for irrigation smelled like it came from the ponds on the property. Not a good smell. Bring the strongest insect spray you can buy and use at all times. The bugs are REALLY hungry and YOU are the meal. YIKES!! The staff works hard to keep everything clean and the service was good. Remember that the tips are not included so bring some small bills and tip when served drinks and dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Nov 11, 2010

Good Value

Beautiful beach. Wait staff was extraordinary - fast, helpful, friendly and courteous. The rooms were comfy and cleaned daily. Entertainment was so-so as was most of the food. I did not like to wake-up at 7a.m. to make sure we had dinner reservations for the next day (don't wait until 9 a.m., it's too late). Even though the restaurants were not full they would not take reservations for new arrivals and we could not get into them. For 2 of our 4 nights we had to eat at the buffet restaurant, which was nice and the staff wonderful, until we learned the system. We took a day trip into Playa del Carmen that was very close and fun. $15 cab ride. This hotel does not have a "swim up bar".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top