$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
borik1956
Couples
Cleveland, OH, USA
Dec 4, 2011

ok

Needs That Special Something Not happy with the beach. Wather was not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MalcolmM
Couples
Florida, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Our stay at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

The room was ordinary. We were promised two double beds and bath robes. We had a king bed and no robes. The king bed was not an issue but what we were told we would get we did not. The food selection was good but the food was generally cold. The staff are excellent and very hepful and attentive.. Our room was full of misquitoes and after 5 days we complained and were given another room in another building. There were a few mosquitoes there as well but nothing like our first room. The second room was much better, nicer bathroom, TV and the AC worked much better. I booked and paid for a return trip to Cancun airport with your on site representative. Well the bus/van did not arrive. After much haggling we eventually got a bus (which was the line we were booked to go on) to take us to Cancun. He was there to pick up other guests and our name was not on his list. He called his office and after at least 20 minutes on the phone he agreed to take us. When I checked out at around 3 pm I was told that I owed a late charge. I understand that check out time is noon but I did not know that I was personally supposed to check out. My wife & I were ready to leave at 10 am. I was told by the front desk that I should have read the brochure or someone should have told me about the check out procedures. Well I was not told and I did not go to the resort to read the fine print; I went there on vacation. I refused to pay and if I get charged through you I am going to dispute the charge and get my bank to have it reversed. Overall it was a somewhat dissapointing vacation. Next time I'll pay more and go to a dufferent all inclusive, perhaps again in Playa Del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Shopping in Cozumel was a delight. Good deals to be had.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dhg1
Couples
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

blue bay riviera maya

Overall great vacation for the money! Good points are the friendly and hard-working staff, the food, the nice pools, and location of hotel. Bad points: Stayed in Tulum building it was very noisy and loud, the bathroom was very run-down, sink did not work well, and it is to be remodeled. Also, the concierges spend everyday trying to sell you something. They are relentless in trying to get you to get back to Blue Bay and buy into their VIP option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The French restaurant has the best food.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chorch
Family
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Nice 3 star all inclusive hotel

I went to this hotel 4 years ago around January, it was way better that It is now. It need serious maintenance investment. I stayed during the 2012 Easter week for 9 days. We got a room that was smelly (looks like it had a pipe leak somewhere) and both beds were literally broken. The staff did their best to compensate that bad experience and upgraded our room to one with beach view. The new room was perfect. Food is overall good for a 3 star all inclusive. Buffet restaurant at nights sometimes is great sometimes sucks bad. Lunch is OK, what else than burgers, fruits, and some other stuff would you expect ? Since it was my second stay they invited us with a lobster dinner. Nice stuff. Overall, good hotel but nothing else. Staff struggles to keep up with the service quality due the lack of infrastructure and they look tired since they work long days. That is a shame, because somewhat affects you when you're staying there to have great time and people around you are not well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car and visit all the attractions by yourself. It is WAY better and cheaper and gives you a lot of freedom. Dont worry about loosing some lunches at the hotel. You will be able to visit lots of places and beaches and really enjoy your vacation.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW), 1 Detroit Metro Airport, Detroit, MI 48242, USA
Apr 26, 2012

you get what you pay for

all in all would go back for the right price. 6 days 5 nites with flight from detroit (rt) 625.00. not including baggage and private transfer. i would not pay a penny more. food was good but breakfast and lunch are the same everyday.restaurants are good. drinks are good, you just have to ask for more alcohol if you want more. they had bacardi clear and dark rum, smirnoff, sky and absolute vodkas. superior beer in the room, and they said it was dousequies on tap. there is a smell. but it is very intermitent. but when its there its strong. shows where sub par. pool is salt water, the beach during our stay was very good, clean, and clear. shade around the pool is minimal. get down there early to save a spot. sports bar is a not. 4 tvs and 2 show an advertisement for the hotel. other 2 are soccer only. we were in building 2. close to large pool, mosquitos were bad! when maids would clean the room they would have tghe door open, so when we returned from pool had to go mosquito hunting(killed 12 one day) 20.00$ usd cab ride one way to playa del carmen. we went for sun and relaxation and cost. we got all 3. the resort is more of a 3.5 star not 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

restaurants from top to bottom.....french, very fancy, italian good food, slow service 2 hour dinner for 2. mexican, lota food. steakhouse is where the buffet is at poolside. steak was hit and miss out of 4 people.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MattJ
Friends
Chicago IL
Jun 25, 2012

Blue Bay Esmeralda

The hotel is fine, good condition buildings, amenities etc. The only really bad thing about this resort is the beach. The beach compared to other resorts is terrible! Trust me this is coming from a guy that doesn't care much about the beach, I spend most of my time in the water. But in this case, the beach was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing fresh/salt water lagoon short work north of the resort! A must See!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nuncio
Family
Mexico City
Sep 7, 2012

Great value for your money

The hotel is built in the middle of natural manglars, beautiful place, good food and service. Rooms are average but nice. Nice dinner options but need reservations 1 day in advance. The beach is not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserve early to get better time options.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Decan
Couples
Michigan
Nov 12, 2012

Blue Bay review

Upon our arrival I noticed how manicured the grounds were. Perfect. The hotel was picture perfect upon arrival. When we arrived in our room there was mold in the bathroom and ants all over the counter. I called and they changed our room within the hours to a much nicer room with a better location for us. The staff couldnt be nicer or more concerned with our satisfaction. My biggest complaint is that the supervisors pushing the purchace plans were rude. We went for vacation, not to be bombarded with sales we wernt interested in. This was our first vacation in 24 years so it was special to us. We almost wouldnt come back just because of the pushing of the resort sales. If people are interested, they will ask. The food was just OK. Nothing special and not much variety. One night we didnt even eat dinner because there wasnt anything on the buffet that we liked. And, cant get reservations most of the time at the other resturants. But over all, not bad. Hats off to the staff. We did notice however that one resturant was closed at night and it was supposed to be open, and, that the resort had two building closed along with the snack bar and pool in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont waste your time or money going into town for shopping. Not much savings and its all the same thing. T-shirt shops. Very run down also.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Good Time Charlies
Friends
San Antonio
Dec 20, 2012

Good for the money

Weather was great!! Hotel was ok but the beach was not great! Had to walk down a bit to find clear water :( Getting a reservation at the a la carte was not easy and the restaurants were not full?? The Asian restaurant was not very good but we had a blast at the Italian restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Coco Bongo

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nickej
Family
Wisco
Jan 13, 2013

Price was right, but wasn't special

This was my first time in Mexico, so I have little to compare it to. The resort is very spread out and to get from our room to the beach was a good 7 minute walk. The beach itself is sub-par with limited seating and not very clear water. This lead us to spend most of our time at the main pool just off the beach. The staff here was great! Very friendly and interactive with the guests. The food was sometimes very good, but mostly just average. The night life on the resort was poor. The hotel shows weren't very good. The "Sports Bar" was boring, with no music and no atmosphere. The beach bar was open from 11pm to 1 am and had better music, but also was typically slow. You have to leave the resort to find an active night life. For the price we paid I think this was a good hotel. Nothing special, but for laying around the pool, enjoying the weather, and having some drinks; it did the trick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top