$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Diamond Bar
Jul 12, 2011

Great Food, Horrible Service

We stayed at the resort for 10 days. In addition to the buffet, there are six restaurants that are a part of the all-inclusive (Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian, French, Oriental, and Mexican). Although the food at the buffet was ok, the food and service at the other restaurants were exceptional. Unfortunately, the problem in eating at the restaurants was the fact that you have to make reservations a day in advance and the number of people they serve are very limited. Food service and the food were the only good things about this resort.As for Hotel and Guest Services, we got locked out of our room on three separate occasions (faulty doorlock). Each time we waited an average of one hour for maintainance/security. They offered no compenstion for the time we wasted and only offered to change our room after I demanded it. [...].The rooms were very plain and only fairly clean. The mini bar was an absolute joke and the extras (internet and spa packages) are ridicules. I spoke to many other guest during my stay and they all complained about the level of service. As I said before, NEVER AGAIN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Plan ahead.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Menomonie, WI
Mar 26, 2010

Great Price, Mediocre Resort

The resort is nothing special. Beware that the location is in Playa Del Carmen and not in Cancun like the website says it is. The food is ok, the pool is nice, but the beach is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr. Pink
Business
Ft. lauderdale FL
Nov 3, 2009

Be prepared to be disapointed!

The room was filthy and smelled. Room 2 clean but smelled musty. Spoke to manager, very unhelpful said that there was nothing he could do [...] Upsold us on room with Ocean view. Room had little to no view of ocean, had a great view of mangrove. They say they have 5 resturants. Its only 2 per night. And you can't get a reservation. After we were about to leave the manager made reservations for us. Resturants were good but hardly full. Food was good but servers acted like we were bothering them. Great service in buffet. Poor in Dining room. Entertainment was low budget. If you like spanish TV...it was alot like that. The pool and grounds are beautiful just like pictures. Bartenders very friendly. Over all I give it 2 stars out of 5. Or rate it a 6 out of 10 over all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

book ahead of arival.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Polep
Business
Mexico City
Jun 25, 2014

Terrible service

From day one, the service was terriible. The restaurants were full, cups at the bar were dirty. Not one member of the staff tried to help in providing more informstion about services included. You can hear everything from your room, which made it very difficult to rest and sleep. The cleaning lady would knock on your door every morning and make a lot of noise with the cart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del carmen offers better meals and services neraby

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fredstein frank's brother
Business
NY
Jul 7, 2014

happy to now be home

The concept is nice of all inclusive but it did not cut it. On checkin I was told to return the next day to get my second room key for apparently there was a shortage. The shortage was noted at all restaurants where the staff was lovely but stretched to the limit so waiting for water took forever. The shortage was also noted with insufficient room towels. The worst was in my family of 4, 3 had severe diarrhea as well as many friends who traveled with us. Take immodium with you if you visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MMFF
Business
Ohio
Aug 7, 2014

Not good

Room was poor and front desk not helpful. Pool and beach crowded. Walk is 5-10 min to beach from non VIP buildings. Food is good but most areas not air conditioned. Staff in restaurants very nice. Evening shows not great and space is very hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

French restaurant is great

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ale10
Business
NJ
Aug 26, 2014

a couple get away

I just went for 4 nights, the room was fine was clean room service no problem, but the drinks were horrible taste like gasoline the most cheap kind of bottles that you can imagine, food quality was OK but can improve a lot the pool is 4 feet deep and the shore is OK. There Is No Fun At all.....Specially A Night time. I don't recommend this hotel for anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco bongo

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weegee
Business
Santa Fe
Jan 10, 2014

Average resort, pathetic beach, good food

First, the good: the cooking is above par for this level of resort; the buffets are well above average, the restaurants are pretty good, but with the expected limited menu. The pool is gorgeous, the rooms are clean and the service is good. The bad: the beach sucks. The resort is built on a mangrove swamp, with trucked-in sand that currently is mostly washed away with sandbags shoring up the edge. The "swim area" is roped off, knee-to-thigh deep and floored with irregular loose rock. If you swim outside it the salvavidas will blow their whistles till you come back to be chastised. Although they advertise "free internet" you are limited to a single device per room of slower-than-3g connection, though you can pay extra for "high-speed internet". While we were there, the week of new year's, the reservation-only restaurants were booked so quickly that there was little choice. For a Eurocentric resort it was amazing there is no dance club... Bonus: cute packs of coatis roam around. Fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrsmulls
Business
Michigan
Feb 20, 2014

Could have been better could have been worse

I rate this hotel average. Had many problems with the room ants and water leaking notified the front desk and nothing was ever done to resolve issues. Food was good in buffets we were pleasantly surprised. Servers were extremely friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Explor park was amazing extremely fun day!! Gray value for your money and endless adventures through out the day.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winston22
Business
Texas
Mar 28, 2014

Just OK

Sandy beach was nice but not the nice clear water we were hoping for. Shows were not great. We stopped going after the third night. No nice lobby bar! Although we really enjoyed our suite, my husband cut his foot almost immediately after stepping in our swim up pool on a broken tile. We tried to see the Dr. but she was busy and suggested the staff may have bandages. They were kind but did not have anything that would hold the large cut tightly closed. A kind gentleman on the beach had just the right strong tape for us. We only swam in our swim up pool a few more times after that with our sandals on....:(. The Mosquitos were terrible and the food, although edible, just nothing really great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top