$368 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
325 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time mexico vacationer
Business
new jersey
Apr 12, 2010

Blue Bay

The trip was great! Most impressive were the employees of the hotel, so many of them and all so nice and helpful. There was a concierge outside of each building and in the lobby ready to assist with anything we needed. The pool and beach are beautiful, beach is not as nice as the water in playa del carmen or cozumel but you are able to swim. The pool was huge which was nice, you didnt feel like you were on top of people. Good location, close to cancun airport as well as playa del carmen. Hotel and playa del carmen seemed very safe. Hotel always made sure to take down out room number when we left the resort, and there was an employee at the gate out front that would question our cab driver on the way in. Overall weather was beautiful and warm, hotel grounds were spacious and well maintained and the staff was extraordinary. Would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the ferry from playa del carmen to cozumel... we rented a scooter and were able to drive around the entire island and see amazing beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis
Jun 13, 2010

Mexico Trip

We went in early June, which is apparently is a slow time in Mexico. We were a group of 14 people, 7 couples. It was great, we did not have to fight with people to get chairs on the beach or by the pool or to get dinner reservations. The grounds were great, very well manicured. The room was nice, but needed some work. There were some holes in the ceiling with some water damage, the shower needed updating and our safe broke constantly. However, the bed was comfortable and the A/C kept it nice and cold during the hot weather. The food was great at night, wish there was more to choose from than buffets for breakfast and lunch. I would recommend this place, mainly because it is good for the price. If I wanted a really fancy place, I would look elsewhere, but it was perfect for a group of 14 people looking to have fun in Mexico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Went to Dolphin Discovery to swim with the dolphins. Would recommend this place highly, it was a very nice facility. Also, if someone comes to watch you they can easily take pictures of you here and you wont have to pay $20 per picture or $50 for the DVD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arelo
Business
Westchester County, New York
Nov 21, 2009

Nice hotel

The facilities and amenities are great. Hotel is very clean and corteous staff. The beach had no crystal clear waters and the food was not that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pittsburgh, pa
Jan 20, 2011

Once in a Lifetime Trip to Riviera Maya

Before I tell you about my hotel, I would like to let you know what I had to deal with at the airport. Not only was it raining when we arrived in the Cancun airport, but we were scammed by a time share representative. We had been forwarned about the time share people, but this individual appeared to be our shuttle contact. He was dressed in the same attire as what the workers in the hotel wore, khaki pants and white shirt, and he appeared to be the individual we needed to talk to about our shuttle to our hotel. Asked to see our vouchers, etc. Truly posed as someone he was not. To make a long story, short he wound up scamming us out of $50 each. When we realized from our real shuttle driver what happened we found the individual again, and threatened to call the police on him, so he did give our money back--something we learned later was a rare event!When arriving at the Blue Bay Grand Esmeraldo and going to my hotel room, I was extremely disappointed to see nothing but trees overlooking my balcony. The only reason I booked this hotel in the first place was because they promised an ocean view deluxe room. That was my main priority--an ocean view from balcony. I had to fight with them and had to stay the first night in the room they gave me, but they said I could have a suite the next day with a view of the ocean. When I went to get the key the next day for the suite, I had to deal with a run around again. I did not get the suite, but I did get a very nice room that had a beautiful view of the pool and a side view of the ocean. Because it was a corner room, it was a beautiful view. But what a hassle. I didn't want to do that on my vacation. I proabably will not return to Mexico on my next trip because I constantly had the feeling I would be scammed by the Mexican people after my experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The all inclusive was absolutely terrific. Food was delicious and so were the drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, fl
Jan 22, 2011

Incedible

Incredible service, excelent food, good drink selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Mar 15, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel was selected for wedding destination. Overall we did enjoy the time spend in the hotel with family & friends even though we had to change our room because the hotel having problem keeping the wedding guest together and hotel booked two wedding with 2 hours of each other for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You do not need to rent a car unless you plan to do a lot of sightseeing in Mexico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 10, 2010

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

While we were at the Blue Bay Grand we were able to relax and enjoy the weather, which was the purpose of our trip. The only thing that I wish would have been better was the ocean water that is in front of the hotel. Apparently it has turned brown from a storm over a year ago and has not cleared up. I would have like to go to the beach more than the pool. The hotel had great service. Everyone was very friendly at the hotel and always there to help you in any way. The food was very good for and all-inclusive resort. There are 5 restaurants that are reservation only at night and all had good food. During the day there are breakfast and lunch buffets and those have a good variety. The grounds are very beautifully kept. The crews are working constantly to keep everything looking very nice. We were very pleased with the choice to stay here and would go back again if we were going to that location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There is one bar open 24/7 called the Sports Bar. This is where EVERYONE goes to hang out at night. It wasn't until our second to last night on vaca that we discovered this tiny bar off the beach but still on the hotel grounds that seemed to be hidden from the public. Very beautiful at night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Apr 14, 2010

Good couples getaway

We went there with another couple and we had great time. The restaurants have good food but you have to make reservation a day in advance and it is still does not guarantee your spot. Nice stuff, very friendly. Nice pool and beach but not if you want to swim a lot. It is worth going to Playa del Carmen's beach, it is beautiful. The only thing that really bothered me was the cleanliness of my room, not that great , even though we were leaving a good tip every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French restaurant is the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dabag
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 7, 2010

Darn close to paradise

I felt the hotel was as I expected. Being a family friendly resort the pool was loud with children crying and screaming. While I can handle the playful sounds of children, the crying around lunch was a bit annoying. We upgraded our room to an ocean view balcony and for that we are grateful, it made a great difference. We were exceptionally close to the beach and the pool. During our stay we were wrangled into the "membership" presentation and while it lasted longer than the 90 minutes quoted, we did receive gifts for our time. We upgraded to the VIP beach service and it made a world of good. The beach was private and quite and while there wasn't a pool to cool off in, there was a personal bartender and it was close to the bathroom. The staff was very helpful when we needed assistance and they were always sure to make sure we understood everything. I feel as though Americans complain a lot when we travel internationally and I think the staff was very sure to make sure we were satisfied. While everything was not perfect, it was a wonderful time with my husband and we are planning to return to a Blue Bay hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at the themed dining areas every night. While it is annoying to have to make a reservation every day, it is worse when you have to choose from the same meal selections every meal. The dinners were very very good and the service was exceptional within the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
[...] Hotel Excellent
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 24, 2011

Resort Outstanding! [...]

Everything was wonderful at the hotel! They were readily accessable, accomodating and friendly. Would definitely visit this hotel again and recommend to anyone. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the food at the hotel was beyond compare...excellent! - No need to go out and spend extra money on decesnt food when available at the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top