$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
330 out of 330
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Erica O.
Business
Columbus
Jan 5, 2015

Terrible hotel

The service was terrible, the food was not good and the entertainment is a joke. The only thing that was good was the pool. Everything is very far, they don't have enough waitresses, they do a lot of noise with carts that they push to clean the rooms, you never can take a nap. Before going to the hotel I read the bad reviews and though that it could not be so bad, but it is. Just don't go. The beach is terrible and I never had the courage to leave my kid on the kids club. Worst experience in hotel in my whole life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vlad from Michigan
Business
Michigan
Jan 10, 2014

Serious health issue

Everything would be great with this place if they would not consider to use their mosquito repellent chemicals one day without warning their guests. The compound is notorious for having a strong odor, an oily feel — and an ability to melt plastic! The pipe was under our porch (it was the first floor corner room) so it went straight into the room and looked and smell like after fire at the gas station! We were not able to open the door because it was first floor room and the smoke was still coming from under the foundation. We called several times to the guest service but all we got was that they sprayed our room (again!) with other chemicals to eliminate an odor. The weather wasn't great - rainy and cold - so we just spent our last two days (!) in the lobby or in the restaurant and slept with the outside door open (as we were recommended...) My wife cried - because we felt helpless and because the odor was so strong that tears were coming anyways...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jarry.S
Business
Michigan
May 1, 2014

There should be a lot improved

Rooms on the first floor had ants and spiders. The employees were very polite and handworker , except the front desk that was the worst unit. Receptionists had no more right to solve problems that tourists have. For everything they need to ask someone else in a room adjacent to the reception. They only give absurd answers like their job was to lie customer. The food was very good, and all the restaurants were clean. I think the rooms need update. Only restaurants are for 4 stars. The rest of the service is for 2 star. The location is good but just for people that need to use poll. This is not for people that going to use ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
volleyball
Business
Montana, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Bluebay 2012

We had a decent experience here although it would have been helpful to know long pants are required for most resteraunts except the buffets. Rooms were good but the ocean view was from a long ways away and we had all booked king beds and ended up with double beds in each room. The staff is very nice, the food is average buffet and the beach was horrible with everything covered in seaweed for most of the day until it was cleaned up usually around 4pm when the sun was going down. The water was warm but very rocky and again alot of seaweed. If your looking for a great experience this is not the spot to go. All restaraunts require reservations and the earliest we could get in was 9:30pm every night we tried to book

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CassieOne
Business
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Mar 30, 2012

Would not recommend

This resort was very disappointing. The beach was very small, the ocean was filled with kelp and you could not swim in the ocean. The hotel rooms were run down and the place in general was poorly taken care of. We changed hotels and refused to stay even a night at this resort. There are so many beautiful hotels in this area but this is not one of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ONeill
Business
Wash DC
Nov 26, 2012

Great Value

Arrival: Had to wait 20 minutes until our luggage was delivered to the room. We did not want to wait so we walked. We were not offered a ride, etc. Room: Good, expect for the bathroom-Shower had mold, cracked tile. Mirror- was worn from all the moisture. Pool: Probably the best part apart from the sports bar Beach: Looks bad with the sand bags. Walked along the beach it was all the same at other hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Viturally everyone from the time you arrive to the airport has their hand out and wants a tip. "Amigo, Amiga"..they gently lead you to where they want. Don't fall for it keep your money only a few deserve a tip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WesCh
Business
NewJersey
Feb 10, 2013

Not for family

never come back again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jan 5, 2010

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

The hotel accomodations were terrible. They don't clean your room until 4 5 pm. They don't allow you more than 1 towel for the beach. And most of all the food is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hazard ky
Jan 26, 2011

not much !!!!

this place is a joke !!! they wouldnt even give us a straw. they also wanted to charge us 12.00 for roomservice. never again.!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Diamond Bar
Jul 12, 2011

Great Food, Horrible Service

We stayed at the resort for 10 days. In addition to the buffet, there are six restaurants that are a part of the all-inclusive (Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian, French, Oriental, and Mexican). Although the food at the buffet was ok, the food and service at the other restaurants were exceptional. Unfortunately, the problem in eating at the restaurants was the fact that you have to make reservations a day in advance and the number of people they serve are very limited. Food service and the food were the only good things about this resort.As for Hotel and Guest Services, we got locked out of our room on three separate occasions (faulty doorlock). Each time we waited an average of one hour for maintainance/security. They offered no compenstion for the time we wasted and only offered to change our room after I demanded it. [...].The rooms were very plain and only fairly clean. The mini bar was an absolute joke and the extras (internet and spa packages) are ridicules. I spoke to many other guest during my stay and they all complained about the level of service. As I said before, NEVER AGAIN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Plan ahead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top