$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 11, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
329 out of 329
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shadowspires
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 3, 2010

A solidly enjoyable vacation

We went during the week of New Years Day. The weather was perfect. We only spent one day off resort to take a fishing trip. Things we loved. The Mexican Restaurant was the most fun. We had a great waiter and the food was authenticate, tasty and largely portioned. The Italian Restaurant had a great antipasto/appetizer bar, but everything else was pretty lackluster. The Seafood Restaurant has a great filet on the surf and turf option, but cooked the lobster down to rubber. The Steak Restaurant left a lot to be desired. We didn't try the French or Oriental, but it didn't seem too appealing menu wise... The lunch and breakfast buffets were better than average. The Spa is an amazing facility and is a must for those that want to experience some luxury. The Sports Bar was loud and boring in general, but the Swing Bar was always entertaining. The New Year Eve party was downright spectacular and helped make up for a lot of the average pieces... albeit the NYE meal was the worst. Great favors, drinks, music, fireworks, party size, etc... Absolutely loved the showers in our room... glass walls, overhead large head, very spacious, second shower "wand". Staff was always nice and spoke decent English while eager to help you with your Spanish. Would go again if we find the opportunity fits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Spa is amazing with it's own pools, showers, sauna, lounges, beds, jacuzzi's, heated pools, etc, etc... If you buy a massage you get full day use of the facility. Best secret of the place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quebec,Canada
Jan 5, 2010

Had fun!

What we liked: -pool -service -food,very easy to make reservations -bed -grounds -reception:very helpful and accomodating What we didn't like so much but it didn't ruin our vacation: -beach area is not the greatest -lots of children so it can get pretty noisy -thin walls so you can hear people talking in the other rooms.The hallways are also very noisy! -they make it annoying to get a taxi -5 dollars for 1 hour internet use I would not give this hotel 5 stars-more than a 4 but not a 5!I am not sure I would recommend this hotel because I know there are great 5 star resorts in the area with beautiful beaches!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great a la carte restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
40th anniversary
Business
Elgin Iowa
Feb 17, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

We had a very enjoyable trip. Good friends. Very friendly people for staff, wanting to assist you whenever needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandpa Bill
Business
Iowa, USA
Feb 17, 2010

Time flies when you're having fun.

Our seven days at the Grand Esmerelda flew by. We had a great time. Our room was comfy and clean, the food was excellent and the service people were very pleasant and helpful. Although I would have liked a better selection of alcohol in the bars, it is probably just as well there wasn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kayk
Business
marion, IL
May 25, 2010

great price great hotel

this was a great hotel with friendly helpful staff. the room was always clean, with water and beer refilled everyday. the rooms and hallways were very loud at night,if you're a light sleeper. the food was very good even at the buffets. the fitness area had a lot of equiptment to choose from. the pool area was really nice and you could always find a chair. don't come here for the beach and ocean swimming. lots of seaweed and sand bags, but the pool makes up for that. the waiters around pool area were great, a small tip goes a long way and drinks keep coming. don't get talked into the time share meeting, it's a complete waste of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado, USA
Jun 22, 2010

95% wonderful!

Overall a great experience. Room was always clean, though they didn't follow their own "green" policy with the towels and sheets. Service was excellent. They used reclaimed water for their gardens, and it often had a strong odor during watering times. Beware the ants in the grasses and the "it's not a time share" sales calls and sales pitches. The beach was superb, the food was good to average, same with the drinks. Entertainment was decent, a little pushy from the entertainers sometimes. Great location. Not too far/not too close to/from anything really :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexican Cutie
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Aug 25, 2010

Great Resort

Great Rooms, very modern. The pool is large and accommodates large groups. Poolside service is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the restaurants is very good, for an all-inclusive resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beach Park, IL
Sep 13, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

we had a good relaxing time!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holland, MI
Nov 20, 2010

Great Vacation

We read a lot of negative reviews before we left so were unsure of what to expect. From the moment we arrived it was nothing but great. We were able to check in early, the room was nice and clean, the gounds and pool areas were very clean too. I loved that there was no need to save seats by the pool also you could exchange your towel as many times as you wanted through out the day. The ala carte restaurants had great steaks and chicken. The buffets were plenty. There is no reason anyone should go hungry at Blue Bay. This hotel was awesome. Dont listen to the negative reviews!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel does a shuttle a couple times a day to Playa Del Carmen. It costs 8.00 round trip. The town is awesome, totally safe and good shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leonardtown, MD
Feb 15, 2011

12 Days at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

The resort is beautiful our room was very clean and well stocked and the food was probably the best we have had on any of our trips. The problems we had was the fact that the resort is too big. It was a 3/4 mile walk from our building 8, to the beach. The resort claims that a shuddle runs to the beach every ten minutes but we waited as long as 20 minutes and no shuddle showed up. The beach is very nice but don't try to swim in the water, it is full of coral and rocks to the point that it's very hard to get into water up to your waist and the water is very murky. The six of us spent most of our time in town or on side trips, there was very little to do at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top