$368 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
325 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RVR TRAVELERS
MIAMI, FL
Sep 11, 2012

FAMILY VACACIONES

GREAT RESORT TO BE IN VACATION, VERY RELAXING, GOOD FOOD AND DRINKS ARE SUPER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mi amor loco
Business
NJ
Jul 20, 2012

Rivera Maya

As my second time in the same place, the service in general was really poor. Two of the shows at night such as Grace and international countries were show not for kids. I did not like it. The Mexico and the Circus was really good. It was really difficult to find a simple spoon for the soup and coffee. I do not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AngLve
Business
NJ
Feb 21, 2013

Worst Vacation I have ever been on!

I have to say this was the worst vacation I have ever been on and after visiting Mexico three times in the last five years we are very disappointed with the service this hotel had to offer. The rooms that my parents and brother booked smelled like raw sewage and stagnant water. So my boyfriend and I decided to upgrade. We paid to upgraded so we could have a front ocean view witch gave us a fresh breeze. The view was beautiful I have to say but the room was horrible. The balcony had only one chair and the handle to close and open the door was missing. I then called and requested another chair they said it would be their within 30min which it took them to the next day to bring. The rooms need much updating. Our phone in our room was broken again I had to call and have someone bring us a working phone. Our room did not have an alarm clock I called 3 different times to get an alarm clock and did not even receive one at all after being promised one. The second day into our stay we dropped a beer bottle by mistake in the room witch eventually ended up ruining our vacation. Security was called and instead of asking what happened they assumed we were trashing the already poor maintained room. Five random strange men one with a camera taking pictures of the room came in while I only had a towel. Where are my rights!!! Oh that’s right we have none while in their country so says the hotel management they can do as they please looking at me while they went into the bathroom looking for I don't know what since it was obvious what happened. The next day we went to make reservations they advised us we needed to go up to the front desk to speak with a manger about possible damages to our room that we need to take care of. I was so upset that on our vacation because a bottle dropped we needed to deal with this. Long story short we needed to pay for damages that we never caused or the hotel manager Alfonso advised us that if we didn’t he would have to call the police. The manager was very rude and unhelpful I asked for an explanation of the damages he advised me he did not need to give me an explanation and that we needed to pay for the damages to the door. I them told him that the bottle never hit the door it hit the floor and I wanted him to come up to our room and explain to us how they came up with the charges. Alfonso said he had pictures proving the damage. I told him I would love to see the before and after picture. As soon as I said that he then got really loud with me telling me again that he does not need to explain anything to me .I felt helpless and taking advantage of. I wish I read all of the reviews before booking this trip. I advised against this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MaryfromCleveland
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 17, 2013

Don't Go!

Bugs on the walls. Bugs on the curtains. Bugs in our bed. We are-thankfully-all home safely after a horrible girls week at Blue Bay. The buildings were not air conditioned cool enough to be comfortable (sweat dripping down our faces during dinners). The beach was a bit dirty. When we arrived exhausted after a long trip our room was not ready. Our first room was adjacent to a major construction project, and we asked to move immediately. Our second room was not cleaned so we moved to a third location in another building. When I complained about the disorganized, unpleasant arrival experience, no one showed concern. We were told that the resort reserves a block of rooms for online travel sites in the far back corner of the grounds (far from food, far from the beach, far from the main pool, and extremely easy to get lost!). When we were asked to change rooms for a fourth time on the second day of our trip, the room was filled with bugs. Even though we bought a $25 can of bug spray spraying our bodies along with every inch of the hotel room, we are home in Cleveland with itchy purple welts from the swarms of bugs throughout the resort, in our hotel room, and on our pillows. If you decide to go to Blue Bay, sleep with your mouth closed. I recommend staying out of this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find another hotel, please!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Batzmaru
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2011

Thieves In Hotel

We were staying at the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Hotel in Cancun for a relative's wedding. One of the guests (staying at Bldg 8) discovered someone entered their hotel room while she was at the event and stole her wedding ring and other jewelry from her purse (they took their time digging through her stuff). Although she was immediately blamed by hotel staff that it was her own fault, because she didn't put her valuables in the hotel safe, she still wanted to advise the hotel security of the thief. The hotel staff was not helpful, but immediately put blame on her regardless that someone was able to enter her room. On my last night at the hotel, at 2 am while I was in the shower, someone entered our room (we were in Bldg 5) and stole my roommate's small bag containing her passport, identification, credit cards and money from our hotel room safe. Beware, make sure you're with someone at all times and double bolt the doors. Someone was able to have access to a master key card and able to enter our room. The thieves were bold enough to enter the room regardless if the guest were in the room or not. They're going into your rooms while you're sound asleep. The front desk told us later that missing bag was discovered by a cleaning woman two floors above us, everything was in there except the money. I'm pretty sure we are not the only one to report things missing from this hotel room other than the wedding guests and us. This hotel is lacking in security and it's your fault if your things are stolen. The security staff and front desk will not help you, because their employees are the thieves. They will give you the run around so that you're frustrated and give up. The hotel staffs are the only ones with the master key card, besides the cleaning person. These thieves are hoping you're asleep while they sneak into your room (while your safe is opened when you're in the room) and steal your valuables. Read other blogs (travelpost,google other website) about this hotel, you will notice others have complained about stolen properties and best part is... their security staff are the thieves. Be very careful of your valuables. I would not recommend this hotel, you could be the next victim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, KS
Jun 24, 2011

Mixed feelings

Let me start by saying that I always take these types of reviews with a grain of salt. My husband and I are pretty simple people - we don't demand high class accommodations or service. With that being said, I'd like to share my opinions. The good: Our first impressions were fantastic! The rooms were very modern. Our bed was great as well as the shower in the bathroom. There were always plenty of seats at the pool and beach, even in the shade, at any time of the day. I've stayed at other resorts and open seats in the shade are not always available unless you go out at 6:00am to save chairs. The food was so-so. We ate the buffet mostly but tried out the Steakhouse and Mexican restaurants. The Steakhouse was our favorite! We upgraded our room to receive free room service and enjoyed that a few times as well. While the menu is limited, it only took 25 minutes to get our food. The bad: I was very disappointed in bar service. I am used to going to all-inclusive resorts and receiving exceptional service when it comes to bars and this was my worst experience yet. No one seemed interested in serving us whatsoever. The pool service was slow as well and it was often easier and quicker to get out of the pool and walk to the bar and get our own drinks. Our final tipping point came at check out. Our building was the furthest away from the lobby so when we checked out with our buiding concierge, they called the bus boy and we waited outside in the heat with our luggage for 15 minutes. When he finally showed up, he only had a luggage cart and there were no seats for us to ride back. We were told we had to walk back because the shuttles don't come to our building. We know this not to be true because when we arrived, they shuttled us to our room with our luggage. So we took our 5-10 minute walk back to the lobby in the 90+ degree heat. We were both drenched in sweat by the time we made it to the lobby. Of course, there was no option to take a shower so we were sent to the airport in sweaty clothes with no chance to clean-up until we got home around 1:00am. I can't explain how frustrated we were. Prior to that last experience, I would've recommended this resort to others. However, that just does not send a good lasting impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Painiac
Business
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2011

Worst Resort Service in Mexico

The facilities here are nice enough, and the food is passable. I would have been happy with this except for the horribly bad service. We were told it was policy we could only have ONE key car per room, so my wife an I could never go out separately the entire week. I even offered to pay for one, but they refused. One day we booked a scuba diving trip with a great shop in Playa del Carmen, but when they arrived at the hotel they were not allowed to enter the gate, despite us verifying who they were. Instead the hotel manager made us TAKE A TAXI FROM THE LOBBY TO THE FRONT GATE to transport our gear - a 45 second ride that cost $5! The hotel claimed liability issues, but the dive shop confirmed that no other resort does this. It was clearly a 'screw you' tax on us for booking ahead of time with someone we know rather than through their aggressive on-site agencies. We generally tip all staff while on vacation - when we asked the front desk for change so we could tip waiters, bellboys, housekeeping, etc... the front desk literally said "No. Do you think we're a bank? We're not a bank." We wanted change in order to give their employees more money, and they refused! One day they gave us white pool towels that looked similar to the room towels. When the housekeepers mistakenly took them, rather than apologize they treated us like criminals and made us waste over 30 minutes to hunt down the maid and confirm that she had them and we were not thieves (this great way to get return customers - accuse a group of 8 doctors and lawyers spending thousands of dollar of stealing a $2 towel and wasting part of their vacation!) And forget the "free" water activities - the two catamarans are broken down and barely safe to sail. I am an experienced sailor, sailed the catamaran one morning, then and wanted to take my brother in law out on one of the boats. They said he had to pass a catamaran sailing proficiency test or of course he could buy some lessons... even though he was just going to be a PASSENGER. Also, I left a new $100 scuba mask at the shop for less than 5 minutes and it promptly disappeared. These are just a few of the examples of terrible service that accumulated to ruin the vacation for the whole family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring everything you could possibly need, and do not count on the hotel for anything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zouky
Business
montreal, canada
Dec 21, 2010

Very nice hotel,

Very nice hotel, clean, but NOISY![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JohnyLaw
Business
Milwaukee Wi.
Apr 20, 2011

NIGHTMARE!!!!!!!

"Buyer Beware" is all I can say. Where do I start? Room check in was 4 hours late, requested a king bed vs 2 twin beds(who spends anniversary in seperate beds?), my wife and I along with about a dozen others got food poisoning, we had 3 scheduled apts. with our [...]rep and he never showed up for the entire trip(looked for him every day!), 95% of staff was not bi-lingual and spoke about as much english as I do spanish(not good), [...]offered a free upgrade for ammenities that the resort did not honor(gift upon arrival-comp. room service-spa credit-etc.-didn't happen), food was average at best, staff lost all my paperwork for the trip(dinner vouchers for cancun and site seeing along with original flight and hotel info)they were unable to help me at all when I tried to get copies, if you don't tip big they ignore you the entire trip, can't forget the screaming kids. The best part of this entire trip was the maid service and the kid that stocked my mini bar(still not worth a couple of grand though!), had trouble checking out, charged me for room service(which was comp'd) and told me good luck getting a cab that this was Mexico and I would not be able to leave without paying! Honestly who the [*] do these people think they are? By far the worst all-inclusive trip we have ever taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Cancel reservations now and spend your good hard earned money elsewhere! First time ever that I feel cheated out of my money on a trip and received nothing in return for it but headaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 11, 2011

Be aware

Hotel not a 5 stars, badly need renovation. I can't describe this hotel as really bad or good I have really mixed feelings about it. Food in both buffets very simple and bland, but if you can't cook, or you don't care what you eat, you might like it. Italian, Mexican, French and Asian restaurants did very nice food presentation. Steak house was disappointment because it was part of day time buffet building, nothing special, you don't feel that you in restaurant when you sit in worn off low wicker chare and your chin resting on table top. Bartender next to Snack café was very rude, didn't even try to hide his disrespect to vacationers. Sport bar will give you nice service for 24 hours and you will fill special. For me swimming in the ocean or sea and long walk on the beach are main reason for the travel to the Mexico, but beach wasn't there, it wasn't recover since hurricane 2 years ago, Caribbean sea was knee deep, but if you like fish touching you, you might like it, it is a lot of fish there and it is not my idea of fun. Huge problem you might have if you will be unlucky to end up there in rain season. Rain caught us once and in 3 minutes we were soaking wet. And this can be huge problem because large distances between lodgings, restaurants and I don't know what possible to do there in the rain other than sit in Sport bar. Another great service that impresses me it is work of concierge. We leaved in building #8; furthest building in resort and every concierge for our building were polite, patient and responsive. Only GREAT 5 STAR attraction there it is Spa. This is place you must visit if you risked to spend your vacation in this resort. In every resort that I visited and it is usually twice a year, I have at least one spa treatment in every resort. So trust me it is best Spa ever. But bottom line, I wouldn't recommend my friends to visit this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Spa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Margaret1984
Business
Miami
Oct 6, 2014

Terrible

I would never stay here again. The air conditioning in my room was broken, the food was disgusting and the beach was washed away. Three people from our group ended up in the hospital because the pool needed to be resurfaced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top