$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
317 reviews
almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two... See full review

  • gabopani
  • Jun 3, 2014
family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best See full review

  • RVR TRAVELERS
  • Apr 24, 2013
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (317)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 317
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spring Break 604
Vancouver, BC
Mar 31, 2013

Great Spring Break Trip

We stayed at this resort during the last week of March. This resort was the best 4-star I have stayed at in Mexico. It was clean, comfortable, and the food was great! The location was also nice because it was a short trip to Cancun and a short trip to Playa del Carmen. I would recommend this resort to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at the MANY a la carte restaurants... the food is delicious!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Oct 27, 2010

Great Experience

Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Math Teacher Smalley
Toledo, Ohio
Oct 4, 2010

AMAZING!!!

The Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda was an absolutley beautiful resort. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and efficient. The food was wonderful and the drinks just kept on coming. All inclusive is definately the way to go. Definatley take the trip to Playa de Carmen and see the CoCo Bongo show (the hotel package is a better deal then paying at the door). The night life in Playa de Carmen is also amazing and just a taxi ride away. I also heard the different sight seeing locations are beautiful but we did not have time to see them all. Again, Playa de Carmen a must see!!!! I would definately recommend Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda to anyone who is looking for a wonderful time in the Riviera Maya!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa de Carmen!!!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Velvet Lounge
Frederick, MD
Jun 3, 2011

Totally Amazing Vacation!

I traveled with 5 other girls we were in need of a much needed vacation away from our husbands and kids! We had a great experience. We booked our transportation from the airport from the hotel through the [...]service. The guys were great. They met us at the airport and took us to the hotel without a hitch. They were very professional and even provided us with bottled water and a rose each!The hotel was amazing! The staff was extremely friendly. We felt 100% safe at all times. Our rooms were perfect. We spent a little extra getting the room with the pool and it was totally worth it! It was like having a private place to chill before joining the rest of the people at the big pools. Beach was nice! Food was great! I really cannot say one bad thing about anything!! I would travel here again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We used free snorkel equipment that was provided buy the hotel with a small refundable deposit. We got to use this right on our own beach. We also had access to free catamarans to sail etc. None of us girls knew how to sail but the staff offered to teach us for $15 per hour which I thought was totally reasonable!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
ekron Ky, USA
Jul 4, 2011

It was a good trip not great.

The Hotel was nice with the pools and spa. The beach not so great. The food was excellent.all in all it was a good place to stay not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nebraska Newlyweds
Nebraska, USA
Nov 17, 2011

WEDDING PARTY OF 26

Nov 6-15th we took 26 guests to BBGE. Overall the trip was fabulous. The hotel was beautiful, the staff (other than the front desk) was great. The pools were clean, the beach was combed daily. The food in the buffets was always fresh & plenty of it. The Steak House & Italian were our favorites. Daily & evening entertainment was fun. The best part of BBGE was the wait staff & bartenders. We were a large party group & tipped them well every time. They sing, dance & kept the party going all day long. Also us newlyweds used the Spa & Salon. Gina did my hair & makeup for the wedding & it was stunning. Just what I wanted. We also got massages the day after the wedding; they are very relaxing & enjoyable. Highly recommend using the spa on cloudy or cool days. The rooms were comfortable, you don't spend much time in them, but they were clean, modern & each offers a safe to lock your valuables in which was very comforting. All in all this was certainly a trip of a lifetime. We will be planning our return trip soon. Thank you Blue Bay Grand for the great memories made. Happy Newlyweds =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Aqua Inn offers adventures for reasonable prices. They are located on the resort next to the main pool. "Smiley" booked an all day excursion for 18 of our wedding party for $89. We got to snorkel, shop on a semi-virgin island, lunch and of coarse drink & dance all day out at sea on a sailboat. Great experience. Recommended if you are staying 5 days or more, because you will want to go off the resort & do something during your stay.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GIRLS FROM CHICAGO
CHICAGO ILLINOIS
Jan 26, 2012

THE STAFF MAKES THE PLACE EVEN BETTER

VACATION:12/26/2011-01/01/2012 Shelia & Ana at the Concierge Desk were delightful and very helpful. Any minor issues we had, they resolved on the spot. Lupe, who worked at the pool for most of the time we were there was TOTALLY AWESOME. Super attentive and sweet. Moises, our breakfast and lunch server was such a sweet guy. He always knew when we were coming and had a seat for us outside. Anyone employee that we saw, always said hello with a smile. This is a good place to go, the grounds are beautiful and the food is good with many choices. Make your reservations for dinner early, though. Early as in when you check in. Do not expect a super huge nightlife here, as you would in Acapulco or even Cancun. It is a little more relaxed, yet still fun. Go into town via the shuttle the Hotel uses, nice people, they explain everything and it is $5.00 each way, you can't beat that. Otherwise the bus takes you for about $3.00. I suggest you speak Spanish, fluently. It makes it easier and faster to get things done. Mostly everyone here speaks some English, however you receive a better response when you speak the language. Most people go on the All-Inclusive Package, yet remember the employees make a living on tips and they are most gracious!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

THE CABBIES AT THE AIRPORT IN CANCUN ARE SCAMMERS!! We knew the ride should have not been more than $45.00 to the Resort. Of course, our hotel confirmed that when we inquired about taking a cab from the Resort back to Cancun Airport when our trip was done. GET YOUR CAB FROM THE HOTEL! Our trip back to the airport was $45.00, plus a tip. To the resort we paid $100.00, plus a tip! WHEN YOU ARRIVE IN CANCUN: Do not get into a cab until 2 people from the cab company confirm your trip fare!!! One guy will tell you one price and once you are settled in the cab, luggage and all another guy comes and tells you that the first guy made a mistake. THEY ARE HUSTLERS!. Stand firm and do not back down!!!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katarzina
New Jersey, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Fabilous getaway

We were a bit skeptical about this hotel, especially after reading the reviews, however, the hotel was amazing!! Do not believe all is written...The food was great, the staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was a memorable one especially Adrian (bldg 7 concierge). The beach was not all that great, but the next hotel over had a beautiful bay with crystal clear water , where we ended up almost everyday. We definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bay at the Three rivers hotels great for snorkeling and relaxing :-)

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roberval
quebec
Mar 9, 2012

very good experience

the site is very clean, food is excellent, the staff is friendly, the only default of the hotel is that the sea is not really beautiful, the rest is all very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is about a 10-15 minute taxi ride from the famous 5th Avenue where you can shop, take a good food and of course partying

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luke W.
Lawrence, KS
May 19, 2012

Very good value!!! Would def go back!!!

The staff was very helpful and the facilities were very clean and well maintained. If you like food and drinks, this place was awesome!!!The French restaurant is almost impossible to make reservations at. Make sure your dinner reservations are early or be prepared to wait. I would recommend just going to the dinner buffet because it's easy, quick, and the food is GREAT. You must check out the swing bar....so cool!!! It is an all inclusive resort, meaning tips are included. So keep it that way. We tipped for drinks, thinking we would get better service. Not the case. I would recommend snorkeling at the beach (must deposit $20 for the snorkeling equipment, which you would get the money back upon returning the equipment). The beach has some pretty cool sea life. In previous comments, people talked about a 15 minute walk from the Sports Bar to the beach. Not the case. It's maybe a 5 minute walk and they have a small shuttle system to help with the SHORT distance. You really don't need to leave the resort sine they provide all the drinks, food, and entertainment. I would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure your dinner reservation is early. If not, you may just want to hit up the dinner buffet.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search