$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
311 reviews
almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two... See full review

  • gabopani
  • Jun 3, 2014
family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best See full review

  • RVR TRAVELERS
  • Apr 24, 2013
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (311)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
311 out of 311
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura Belle
Marysville Ohio
Mar 7, 2011

Wonderful trip

We had a great time! Not a five star but a wonderful trip for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanieV
Fall River, Ma.
May 23, 2012

Not to shabby..

My husband and I traveled with friends here from 5-11 thru 5-18. I was very leary from some past reviews that I had read. I will give you my honest opinions. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a drink. We somehow got VIP check in which isnt a big deal. What is a big deal is DO NOT let a consierge rope you into a presentation for 90 mins. We got a free couples massage out of it, but the hassle to get out of there isn't worth it. They try to get you to buy vacation time with them. We lost about 2 hours of our lives! JUST SAY NO!! We got there early and our room was not ready so they put us into another one. It was in building 1, corner room. Pleasantly surprised! Quiet, private and clean. I always pull back the sheet and no bed bugs. Bathroom was a little dated but was sufficient. The Lemers came out at dusk and we always had plenty in our back view. Food: Buffets were good, something for everyone. They did have a lot of the same stuff every day but they did change/add a few new things. Roasted chicken is awesome. I stuck with that for lunch. Breakfast was good too. We only ate dinner there once. It can get boring, but its edible. Fruit is fresh and desserts are good. Reservations for restaurants are a must. The portions are small so we usually went to the buffet for dessert and coffee later. The Oriental rest. is so-so, but the Steak house is awesome. Ate there twice. Never got to the Mexican Rest. Grounds are kept nice, they are out there constantly. Pools are shallow, but nice to cool off. The beach definately sucks and was a downer for us as beach people. Very seaweedy and narrow. That is probably the only thing that would keep us from returning. We had no other issues. Everyone was nice, nothing stolen, room cleaned every day. We did tip everyone. Spend the 20 bucks for a cab and go into Playa (5th avenue) lots of shops and awesome places to eat. Its worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th avenue in playa del carmen

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shauneresa
Montreal, QC
May 23, 2013

Excellent Vacation

We went as a family for 9 days and had a blast. The resort is beautiful, the staff friendly, the food is AMAZING. The only major downfall of this resort is the beach, It's not great and on some days it's downright awful. A small walk down the beach and that problem is solved. You can walk to the Laguna ( not part of the resort and about a 10minute walk) where the water is amazing. However, if you don't mind, the pool is HUGE and finding lounge chairs was super easy, sun or shade, there was almost always enough chairs for us. Overall we all had a blast! I would definitely recommend this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk 10-15 minutes to the laguna and enjoy the amazing water!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biron
London, Ontario
Apr 29, 2012

Anniversary Getaway

Great service,great food, and on our trip other great guests. Both pool areas had lots to do etc etc. Would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del carmen, Great strip area to shop and barter for items and a short walk to the beach.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilyn Best Friend
New York, NY
May 28, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

We were swiming, relaxing on a beach. The service is very good. More entertaiment would make our stay more enjoyable. If they would have casino it would be perfect. I cannot compare to my previous trips because something was better something worse. But all my friends like that resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Memphis
Jun 13, 2010

Mexico Trip

We went in early June, which is apparently is a slow time in Mexico. We were a group of 14 people, 7 couples. It was great, we did not have to fight with people to get chairs on the beach or by the pool or to get dinner reservations. The grounds were great, very well manicured. The room was nice, but needed some work. There were some holes in the ceiling with some water damage, the shower needed updating and our safe broke constantly. However, the bed was comfortable and the A/C kept it nice and cold during the hot weather. The food was great at night, wish there was more to choose from than buffets for breakfast and lunch. I would recommend this place, mainly because it is good for the price. If I wanted a really fancy place, I would look elsewhere, but it was perfect for a group of 14 people looking to have fun in Mexico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Went to Dolphin Discovery to swim with the dolphins. Would recommend this place highly, it was a very nice facility. Also, if someone comes to watch you they can easily take pictures of you here and you wont have to pay $20 per picture or $50 for the DVD.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
muma
mexico
Jun 14, 2010

incredible!!!!

i had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mx AI traveler
Toledo, Ohio
Dec 17, 2012

Review: Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

Hotel, staff, and food were all good and typical of Mexico all inclusive resorts of this rating. Reservations were required for restaurants other than the buffet. Reservations were hard to get and restaurants usually had 5 - 10 tables filled when we went to them. There seems to be a need for improvements to staffing and booking to make this area better. Food and service at restaurants however was excellent. Just the booking availability is my complaint. Not a big issue but an area for improvement. Kids club was fantastic. Our 4 yr old daughter loved it. Beach and pool are pretty nice at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADHEMIR
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Best all inclusive

If you are going to eat, drink and have fun this is the place!!! and everything is included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

XCARET PARK

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tara d.
wilmington DE
Apr 20, 2010

not a spot for fun times

this hotel was beautiful and the staff fantastic, but there was so many children and absolutely no nightlife! we were a mixed group of singles between 30-40 and it felt like we were on vacation with our grandparents. true, there was a show each evening, but it was finished by 10p.m.and the 24 hour "sports bar" had nothing happening.this is a great resort for families with children but not recommended for under 40's looking for fun in tne sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

take a taxi to playa del carmen. its well worth the $20. it is a fantastic little town!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search