$313 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 3, 2015 Check-out: Feb 6, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
327 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
327 out of 327
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mpaula84
Business
Michigan
Nov 8, 2011

Not a 5* more like a 3*

Lets start by saying and letting people know that this had not been the first time to travel, we have been 4 times to Dominican Republic, and 4 times to Mexico, staying at all-inclusive resorts. This resort is not a 5 star resort by any means; it is more like a 3 star. Check in: we had to wait about 1 hour for our rooms to get done, in the mean time we went to the buffet. There were 5 of us traveling with 2 rooms. Rooms: They were going to put us in building 1 but I asked to be moved to building 5 since I heard it was close to the beach and pool and that means less mosquitos (from other reviews we read). They have moved us but our rooms were not close at all. Our room was 5436 with double beds and somewhat had a view of the ocean/pool which we did not ask for. My parents were in room 5405 which they had a king bed and view of the swamp/garden. Rooms were always cleaned/super cleaned and no complains about the rooms. Restaurants/Buffet: We only ate at the Italian, and it was ok, good food but small quantity. Buffet, there is only one opened even if there are 2 buffets at the resort. They had ok food, we were there for 10days so we got tired of the same food, and not too many to choose from. My son 4 years old had a hard time with food, all he ate was eggs, pasta and soups, very limited for kids. You can still find something to eat if you aren't a picky eater. Pools: Water was always cold and that’s probably because out of 10 days, 7 days we had rain. Always clean and had plenty of chairs, but that’s because there weren't many people at the resort. We traveled Oct.25th through Nov.3rd and that’s when hurricane Rina decided to form. Our vacation was ruined by all the rain but that’s not up to us. Also it would have been nice if the resort has a Jacuzzi, many other resorts have them but this one doesn't. Bars: Only 2 bars for the entire resort, swing bar and sports bar. NOOOO swim up bar, which was very disappointing, what resort does not have a swim up bar, really. Resort: Resort in general was very well kept, clean and don't have anything to complain about the resort itself. Staff: No complain, they are nice hard working people that deserve to get tips even if it is an all-inclusive resort. They don't get paid much and they work very hard so tip them. Ocean: Very, very, very disappointing. Sand bags put everywhere, not because of the hurricane, they have these sand bags year round and it ruins the aspect of the beach. Water very murky and lots of rocks, again not a fault of the hurricane that’s just the way it is. This is where this resort gets only a 3 star instead of 5 because of the beach. All in all it was an ok vacation, we got away from Michigan but we could have had a lot better even for the money that we have paid. I would not recommend this resort, find something better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pboisso
Business
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Nov 13, 2011

OK

OK hotel, but no more. Clean, food alright, although you should try to always eat in the restaurants, which are better than the buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Forget about O-rbitz G-rey L-ine airport shuttle, they pick you up almost 5h before your flight. We ended up waiting almost 4h for our flight at the airport. Take a taxi, it's only a couple of buck more (and lot less if you are more than 1 in your party)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OceanSun
Business
Michigan, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Beautiful resort, but would not return

THE GOOD -Resort was beautiful. Staff great! Check-In/Check-out was very easy. Had a problem with our first room(smelly), was changed to a new one within minutes. buffet was good. Ala cart restaurants were fabulous. THE BAD- boring resort. If relaxing by the beach is the ONLY thing you like to do on your vacation. Then this is the one for you. We have been to several all inclusives and have never had this problem. No beach activities. No theme nights. The only thing they have for night entertainment is 9:30 live show. After that.. nothing. No live band or night club . They do have a 24hour sports bar. Which would have been so much better with Karoke or something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
borik1956
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Dec 4, 2011

ok

Needs That Special Something Not happy with the beach. Wather was not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MalcolmM
Business
Florida, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Our stay at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

The room was ordinary. We were promised two double beds and bath robes. We had a king bed and no robes. The king bed was not an issue but what we were told we would get we did not. The food selection was good but the food was generally cold. The staff are excellent and very hepful and attentive.. Our room was full of misquitoes and after 5 days we complained and were given another room in another building. There were a few mosquitoes there as well but nothing like our first room. The second room was much better, nicer bathroom, TV and the AC worked much better. I booked and paid for a return trip to Cancun airport with your on site representative. Well the bus/van did not arrive. After much haggling we eventually got a bus (which was the line we were booked to go on) to take us to Cancun. He was there to pick up other guests and our name was not on his list. He called his office and after at least 20 minutes on the phone he agreed to take us. When I checked out at around 3 pm I was told that I owed a late charge. I understand that check out time is noon but I did not know that I was personally supposed to check out. My wife & I were ready to leave at 10 am. I was told by the front desk that I should have read the brochure or someone should have told me about the check out procedures. Well I was not told and I did not go to the resort to read the fine print; I went there on vacation. I refused to pay and if I get charged through you I am going to dispute the charge and get my bank to have it reversed. Overall it was a somewhat dissapointing vacation. Next time I'll pay more and go to a dufferent all inclusive, perhaps again in Playa Del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Shopping in Cozumel was a delight. Good deals to be had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dhg1
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

blue bay riviera maya

Overall great vacation for the money! Good points are the friendly and hard-working staff, the food, the nice pools, and location of hotel. Bad points: Stayed in Tulum building it was very noisy and loud, the bathroom was very run-down, sink did not work well, and it is to be remodeled. Also, the concierges spend everyday trying to sell you something. They are relentless in trying to get you to get back to Blue Bay and buy into their VIP option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The French restaurant has the best food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chorch
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Nice 3 star all inclusive hotel

I went to this hotel 4 years ago around January, it was way better that It is now. It need serious maintenance investment. I stayed during the 2012 Easter week for 9 days. We got a room that was smelly (looks like it had a pipe leak somewhere) and both beds were literally broken. The staff did their best to compensate that bad experience and upgraded our room to one with beach view. The new room was perfect. Food is overall good for a 3 star all inclusive. Buffet restaurant at nights sometimes is great sometimes sucks bad. Lunch is OK, what else than burgers, fruits, and some other stuff would you expect ? Since it was my second stay they invited us with a lobster dinner. Nice stuff. Overall, good hotel but nothing else. Staff struggles to keep up with the service quality due the lack of infrastructure and they look tired since they work long days. That is a shame, because somewhat affects you when you're staying there to have great time and people around you are not well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car and visit all the attractions by yourself. It is WAY better and cheaper and gives you a lot of freedom. Dont worry about loosing some lunches at the hotel. You will be able to visit lots of places and beaches and really enjoy your vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW), 1 Detroit Metro Airport, Detroit, MI 48242, USA
Apr 26, 2012

you get what you pay for

all in all would go back for the right price. 6 days 5 nites with flight from detroit (rt) 625.00. not including baggage and private transfer. i would not pay a penny more. food was good but breakfast and lunch are the same everyday.restaurants are good. drinks are good, you just have to ask for more alcohol if you want more. they had bacardi clear and dark rum, smirnoff, sky and absolute vodkas. superior beer in the room, and they said it was dousequies on tap. there is a smell. but it is very intermitent. but when its there its strong. shows where sub par. pool is salt water, the beach during our stay was very good, clean, and clear. shade around the pool is minimal. get down there early to save a spot. sports bar is a not. 4 tvs and 2 show an advertisement for the hotel. other 2 are soccer only. we were in building 2. close to large pool, mosquitos were bad! when maids would clean the room they would have tghe door open, so when we returned from pool had to go mosquito hunting(killed 12 one day) 20.00$ usd cab ride one way to playa del carmen. we went for sun and relaxation and cost. we got all 3. the resort is more of a 3.5 star not 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

restaurants from top to bottom.....french, very fancy, italian good food, slow service 2 hour dinner for 2. mexican, lota food. steakhouse is where the buffet is at poolside. steak was hit and miss out of 4 people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MattJ
Business
Chicago IL
Jun 25, 2012

Blue Bay Esmeralda

The hotel is fine, good condition buildings, amenities etc. The only really bad thing about this resort is the beach. The beach compared to other resorts is terrible! Trust me this is coming from a guy that doesn't care much about the beach, I spend most of my time in the water. But in this case, the beach was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing fresh/salt water lagoon short work north of the resort! A must See!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nuncio
Business
Mexico City
Sep 7, 2012

Great value for your money

The hotel is built in the middle of natural manglars, beautiful place, good food and service. Rooms are average but nice. Nice dinner options but need reservations 1 day in advance. The beach is not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserve early to get better time options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top