$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Apriltraveler
Couples
Midwest, USA
May 3, 2010

Blue bay esmeralda review

Beautiful location, good service. Occasional foul odor from swamp land. Food was just OK, tons of walking with few shuttles available. If you want sugar-sand beaches and a fun nightlife, stay closer to Playa del carmen. This is a 2.5-3.0 star resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to spend time in Playa- it is a 15-20 dollar cab ride each way from this resort. As with any all-inclusive, the food gets old after awhile. Be ready to deal with families, and kids.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoonersfrom TN
Couples
Nashville, TN
May 21, 2014

Honeymoon

The resort itself was nice, the pool was beautiful, and the restaurants were nice. The food did get a little repetitive with our week stay. The rooms were cleaned daily, but the bedding and linens were DIRTY...hair, lint, dirt. I had to have my sheets changed twice after my room was already clean. Would not go back for that sole reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
chicago il
Feb 5, 2011

good for a budget traveler

The hotel was fine, nice grounds and decent sized rooms in good repair. The rooms were noisy; you could hear everything happening in the hall and rooms next door (I had an adjoining room, dividing door was closed and it was like they were in the room with me).The pools and oceanfront were very nice, a little crowded but great place to spend time with friends. The buffets and restaurants were fine (enjoyed the steak and Italian restaurants). Nightlife was a little slow for a group of singles but Playa Del Carmen is a quick fifteen-dollar cab ride away.My complaints were that my friends were in rooms near the beech and I was in a room at the back of the resort, it was a good ten-minuet walk. The hotel would not do anything to accommodate me. Also the [...] airport shuttle picked me up four and a half hours before my flight- I was in the airport waiting fro three and a half hours before my flight.Our [...] Representative was difficult to get in touch with, he was not in the resort at the times we were told he would be. When we did get to speak to him he was helpful and recommended a good excursion, cave diving and swimming with sea turtles.Overall this is a good place to go if you are traveling with a group of friends, service and hotel was O.K. I would go back if I got a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Francisco, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Great for party

The hotel and the rooms are nice. There's a gigantic pool. The beach however was disappointing compared to the beautiful beaches in this area. The hotel staff is always smiling and the service is great. The food was OK. The major downside was that it got very noisy at night because of drunk people (you're in a all inclusive after all) making a fuss in the hallways for hours, and there was no staff member at night in the buildings to quiet them. We woke up very early almost everyday to go and visit Mayan ruins, so at the end we didn't get much sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

In Playa del Carmen, on the 5 avenue, you'll find a very nice mexican folkart shop, "Caracol". Very good quality and authentic products (textiles, wood objects...) compared to all the other shops on this avenue that sell low quality, supposedly "handmade", souvenirs to tourists.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
happy to have gone, glad to be home!
Couples
Mpls. MN
Mar 3, 2010

Mixed Review

[...]. There wasn't any kind of welcome drink or smile. We were talked into the "90 min." sales pitch by our building Concierge for becoming "Club Members" it took 6 hours of telling them NO only to be called fools for not signing. A wasted second day.The third day, the building ran out of water for 30 min. and electricity for 10min. The last day the electrical key had us locked out for 30 min. The restaurant food was good, not great. The Mexican restaurant was the best more than you can eat portions and flavorful; the "sexy Coffee" was entertaining and yummy! The Seafood and Steak restaurants were good but nothing outstanding there. The Italian, were very small portions even for a small appetite. The place was clean, very clean. The beach was narrow, and is sand bagged until the beach restoration is finished. Security was handled well when individuals didn't know when to stop drinking. There is a 1/4+ walking distance from the Lobby and buildings 7&8, and 3 of the 5 specialty restaurants to the beach, large pool area and the other 2 specialty restaurants. There are electrical carts to transport you run during the evening hours but keep alert so you don't get hit! Except for the check-in clerk, the others were friendly enough.Heads up, they don't change your coffee cups, they're washed in the room. We had the same cracked cup all week. And twice we received water bottles in the mini bar that had been opened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The snorkeling in the Cnotes was an amazing adventure. There were families with young children 4 & 5 and they enjoyed the time too. It's beautiful, adventurist if you want but not the typical tourist trap. There aren't souvenir shops, it's informative about the land and the people without preachy and lecturing.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego
Mar 30, 2010

True Review

Would not stay again as you could stay down the beach at a better resort for the same price. Be careful of the time share people as they act like your concierge but are really just there to sell and once you tell them no good luck getting any help.We booked through [...] and check-in was a fight to get the Ocean View we had paid for up-front--kept pushing the upgrade swim up suite. We like to travel light and saw on [...] that they provided bath robs (simple request right) the answer we got was not with your package--What package was that? I paid for all inclusive with an upgrade to ocean view.We speak Spanish and learned from the workers that they prefer to work at other resorts because the tips are better so the resort has high turnover.On the plus side the Buffet was not bad and the Mexican and French restaurants were really good.We have been to Riviera Maya numerous times and love the area but would not recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St. Louis, MO
Nov 6, 2010

Nice Hotel

The hotel was nice and kept up. The staff was friendly and helpful. The dining options were buffets for breakfast and lunch and also for dinner, if you did not make dinner reservations, which my husband and I would have rather ate at restaurants. Only one the pools was open while we were there, but it didn't make that much of a difference since we were there in the off season. The beach is beautiful. The nightly entertainment was fun each night. When I compare this hotel to the Sandals resort (All-Inclusive) that my husband and I went to for our honeymoon, this hotel did not come close to the amenities we received there. I would say this hotel was a pretty good value, but I probably would not recommend this hotel because it did not stand out from just an oridinary hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel provides a show each night, which all were very well done and entertaining.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Raleigh NC
Dec 17, 2010

Blue Bay was gray

The food was very good, and there was access to the specialty restaurants. If you stayed near the beach, the closest pool was loud. In the morning, starting at 8:00AM the maids would have their carts out on the tile floors, and it sounded like they were bowling right outside of your room. Do not expect to sleep in. The water in the ocean was cloudy and had a lot of sea grass

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations the day before at the specialty restaurants

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
F&B
Couples
Canada
Apr 4, 2010

Nice for the price

Food was really pretty good. The sand at the beach was white and soft but the beach/water was just OK. Seaweed and rocks made the water look "dirty" instead of the clear blue you will find at other beaches in this area. Grounds where very pretty and lush but the water used for irrigation smelled like it came from the ponds on the property. Not a good smell. Bring the strongest insect spray you can buy and use at all times. The bugs are REALLY hungry and YOU are the meal. YIKES!! The staff works hard to keep everything clean and the service was good. Remember that the tips are not included so bring some small bills and tip when served drinks and dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Detroit, Michigan
Nov 11, 2010

Good Value

Beautiful beach. Wait staff was extraordinary - fast, helpful, friendly and courteous. The rooms were comfy and cleaned daily. Entertainment was so-so as was most of the food. I did not like to wake-up at 7a.m. to make sure we had dinner reservations for the next day (don't wait until 9 a.m., it's too late). Even though the restaurants were not full they would not take reservations for new arrivals and we could not get into them. For 2 of our 4 nights we had to eat at the buffet restaurant, which was nice and the staff wonderful, until we learned the system. We took a day trip into Playa del Carmen that was very close and fun. $15 cab ride. This hotel does not have a "swim up bar".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top