Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
443 reviews
almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two... See full review

  • gabopani
  • Jun 3, 2014
family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best See full review

  • RVR TRAVELERS
  • Apr 24, 2013
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
443 out of 443
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
ohio
Feb 14, 2010

just what I expected

The food at some of the restaurants need great improvement and so does the hotels method of booking reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

The hotel shopping was really great. They had better prices than Playa del Carmen. We took advantage of their shuttle service to Playa del Carmen.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cariboo girl
Williams Lake, British Coumbia
Feb 19, 2011

Amazing!!!

As we arrived at the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda it was as though we were entering a land of dreams. The resort areas was beautifully landscaped. The lobby was inviting with staff all around ready to serve. We were greeted with a cool drink and our luggage was taken from us and loaded onto a shuttle bus to be taken to our room. We were quickly ushered off to our room. We booked a deluxe ocean view room with a king size bed but entered a room with no ocean view and 2 single beds. I phoned the lobby right away and they were very sorry and did all they could to fix the problem. 2 days later they gave us the most beautiful ocean view room with a king size bed. The service was amazing there was always someone there to help and serve you. All the restaurants had amazing food and service. The Mexican people are so friendly. The pool area was nice although we wanted to be at the beach. There was always live entertainment, dancing, games, food, drinks and fun times to be had in this area. The swing bar was the best! The beach was not the greatest as Cozumel blocks the waves from coming in. The beaches were clean with beautiful white sand but if your looking for waves stay clear of the strip behind Cozumel. As we lounged on the beach we were continually served Pina Coladas and any other drink you wanted. We felt like Kings and Queens. Can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We booked a package deal to Xel-Ha and Tulum. We had a wonderful time snorkling, walking, and shopping. Tulum is absolutely breathtaking. Although our time there was too short 2 1/2 hours we felt very rushed. I could have spent the day there on the beach playing in the big waves and shopping in the area. Don't be afraid to make your own schedule there are always cabs everywhere waiting to take you where you need to be.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gene Valgene
Houston, TX
Aug 17, 2010

Best bang for your buck!

Pros: - super friendly and accommodating staff - meticulous housekeeping - nice pool - great for families Cons: - beach isn't the prettiest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French restaurant (La Atelier) is the best. Be sure to make reservations a day in advance!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rdb864
Sioux Falls, SD
Feb 20, 2011

Great Getaway

Hotel and resort was good, food and drinks were good, staff was good. We did the private shuttle from the airport and it was great. No wait at all. This a big resort that is spread out. We spent 5 days there and didnt leave the resort once. Plenty of things to do there.If you are looking for a small resort don't pick this one. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Things from the resort where very expensive, for example sun screen was 20.00 usd. Bring plenty so you dont have to buy from there.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DVMandMD
East Brunswick, NJ
May 30, 2010

Amazing week getaway!

We loved our hotel. The beach was gorgeous! WE were out in the ocean everyday and there were plenty of places to choose from by the pool or ocean. Great food selection, never had any problem getting a dinner reservation. The staff were AMAZING! So friendly and helpful! It was a week of frozen drinks, food, and beach and it was the perfect relaxing getaway my boyfriend and I needed!! Mexican and Steakhouse were our favorite restaurants with Oriential being our least favorite, but like I said, we were always happy. We had made to order omelets every morning for breakfast and it was perfect! Our room was very clean and always restocked. We were in building 3 which is down by the beach but it is only a 5 minute walk mAXIMUM up to the restaruants, sports bars, and lobby if you are relatively healthy and mobile. There were always carts running people back and forth too so if walking is difficult for you, I dont see why transportation around the complex would be a problem. WONDERFUL STAY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katiem
Langley, BC, Canada
Dec 31, 2011

Perfect for any occasion

This was the best vacation I ever had and my 5th time in mexico.Everything was better than I have ever experienced. The staff go over and above to help with anything and everything. The mini bar is fully restocked every day if u want any extra bottled water or anything they give it to u no questions asked. I went with my husband and 2 friends and ended up buying a vip membership. If u want an all inclusive hassle free trip that is very reasonably priced I would +++++ reccomend this hotel. The weddings r beautiful too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try all the ala carte restaraunts soo delicious!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lorie D
Miami, FL
Oct 31, 2010

Wonderful !!!

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda was really fantastic. I usually dont write any comments only when its really great or when its really bad. In this case it was Fantastic ! It was my first time in Mexico with my Mom and it couldn't be better. The staff were extremely nice and extremely helpful. The hotel has everything you would expect from a 5 star resort. The food was great, the rooms were a great size pool area was beutiful and they are fairly eco friend has they have tried to preverse some of the mangroves around the area so you might see so native wildlife. The only down side was that the beaches aren't that nice as they are around a mangrove area even if you see the staff constanly cleaning the beach. For breath taking beach go to Tulum! As for advise, try to get reservation for their restaurant just to give you a another experience than the buffet which also great but a nice sit down dinner is better. Cant wait for my next vacation in which I will be returning to BBGE :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

As for advise, I would recommend to rent a car since it a bit far from the airport and its great to visit Playa del Carmen, Cenotes and other Mayan ruins around the area.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cariboo girl
Williams Lake, British Coumbia
Feb 19, 2011

Amazing!!!

As we arrived at the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda it was as though we were entering a land of dreams. The resort areas was beautifully landscaped. The lobby was inviting with staff all around ready to serve. We were greeted with a cool drink and our luggage was taken from us and loaded onto a shuttle bus to be taken to our room. We were quickly ushered off to our room. We booked a deluxe ocean view room with a king size bed but entered a room with no ocean view and 2 single beds. I phoned the lobby right away and they were very sorry and did all they could to fix the problem. 2 days later they gave us the most beautiful ocean view room with a king size bed. The service was amazing there was always someone there to help and serve you. All the restaurants had amazing food and service. The Mexican people are so friendly. The pool area was nice although we wanted to be at the beach. There was always live entertainment, dancing, games, food, drinks and fun times to be had in this area. The swing bar was the best! The beach was not the greatest as Cozumel blocks the waves from coming in. The beaches were clean with beautiful white sand but if your looking for waves stay clear of the strip behind Cozumel. As we lounged on the beach we were continually served Pina Coladas and any other drink you wanted. We felt like Kings and Queens. Can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We booked a package deal to Xel-Ha and Tulum. We had a wonderful time snorkling, walking, and shopping. Tulum is absolutely breathtaking. Although our time there was too short 2 1/2 hours we felt very rushed. I could have spent the day there on the beach playing in the big waves and shopping in the area. Don't be afraid to make your own schedule there are always cabs everywhere waiting to take you where you need to be.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Mexico People
Milwaukee, WI
Nov 30, 2010

Another Great Vacation

This was our second trip to the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda. Like the last trip, the food was great,(gained 6 lbs) The staff was happy and helpfull. The cocktails were cold, the room was clean, and the nightly shows were entertaining. The only thing I didn't like was that we had to go home. We are already talking about another trip to the Esmeralda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you try the seafood resturant, and order the surf and turf. The Lobster is tastie and the steak will melt in your mouth. The steak is also great at the Steak House, and the Italian resturant. If you are there long enough, try all the different resturants.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RVR TRAVELERS
MIAMI, FL
Sep 11, 2012

FAMILY VACACIONES

GREAT RESORT TO BE IN VACATION, VERY RELAXING, GOOD FOOD AND DRINKS ARE SUPER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top