$368 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
322 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (322)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
322 out of 322
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan first time resort vis
Hattiesburg, MS
Nov 14, 2012

First time all inclusive experience

I really dont know where to begin. The staff at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda were wonderful! Very family friendly. Lots of families with kids, but not over run with children. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay a 5 Star experience. The room was beautiful, the food was plentiful and seemingly endless. The pools were clean and huge, and overall, I couldn't imagine a better experience. All our waiters and concierge spoke good - excellent English, which helped me alot, and I even picked up some common Spanish expressions. The beaches were beautiful, but were not as clean as I expected, not trash but small natural twigs and such from all the palm trees. Would not recommend staying on the first floor, as the wildlife will make themselves at home (as it is their home!) The rooms are very close to tropical vegetation. Our last night, I called the front desk and said "Is it possible to have some help with our luggage in the morning, at 2AM for our crazy early departure?" and their reply was "Sir, Everything is possible!" Muy bueno!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The taxi service is highly monitored to ensure the tourist are well taken care of. There are a lot of pushy street vendors in Playa del Carmen where we went for shopping. Not intrusive or mean, just a little bothersome for my liking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 8, 2014

Could have been better...

Front-desk associate was rude when I checked in, however all the other staff were friendly. Hotel "shuttle" needs to improve on their availability as it does not run conveniently and some walks are quite far. A la carte dinner service was slow and food took very long to arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelin72
Business
Riverside, California
Jul 7, 2014

It was ok

We went for our first family trip with our two girls. Who are 5 years old and 2 years old. They had a great time at the kids pool. The staff at the Kids Club were amazing. The girls had plenty to do and enjoyed the time there. The mean pool was great and very clean. The food was good and nice views. Room cleanliness was perfect! Agustin clean our room all week and did fantastic job. He was great and very friendly. The only bad thing was two bar tenders were not very friendly and made my drink with a bad attitude. The lobby dos not have air conditioning and sports bar does not have a big screen t.v. Over all it was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Playa del Carmen for our shopping and had a great time. We found great deals on souvenirs. We took a taxi from the resort for $20 one way and $20 back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Youell
Business
London
Jul 11, 2014

Great facilities, staff not great

I stayed at this hotel years ago when it had not long opened and so was really excited about going back with my partner. Unfortunately it didn't match up to expectations this time round, it got off to a bad start when we arrived and was checked in by Emmanual who was extremely rude. The rooms were as I remembered, clean and to a good standard, and the pool areas were nice, although the pool itself could of done with a bit of a clean lots of bits and pieces floating in the water, the food options are great and the buffet restaurant has a good selection. The hotel has somewhat tired since the last time I went and I think this lets it down, I didn't expect it to be as pristine as it was when it first opened but I also didn't expect it to look as worn out as it did in places. Unfortunately the gym/spa and sports bar had burnt down the weekend before we arrived which affected our stay as well. Finally we unfortunately got checked out by Emmanual who was rude again, obviously took a disliking to us from the moment we arrived for whatever reason. I think majority of the staff could do with some customer service training, we had a bad experience with guest services as well when we reported our AC unit leaking all over the floor, it took 5 phonecalls to guest services, being hung up on twice and in the end an extremely angry visit to concierge to speak to the manager before it was resolved and the water cleaned up. I think this lets the hotel down somewhat. I have to say that Luiza around the pool area was amazing though and we did have some pleasant staff during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Must spend a night out in Playa Del Carmen, lots going on and a great atmosphere, would recommend Blue Parrot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stuko
Business
mesa, az
Aug 13, 2014

good fun

Okay but after the shower drain and bathroom drain wouldn't drain for two days, you think they would have fixed it or moved us to another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy your booze off the resort. All drinks are watered down

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kikicola
Business
Vancouver
Sep 14, 2014

Meh

The grounds were gorgeous and full of fun animals. The staff were always working hard. The downside is the level of quality in the "renovated" rooms. Things were often patched up and not replaced. Also, the "sports bar" where all the shows happened was the ugliest building ever. The environment there was not great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sarah Sistercationer
Business
Maryland
Sep 22, 2014

Sistercation

The stay at BBGE was enjoyable and relaxing. Our first room that we were taken to was filthy and had not been finished being cleaned. Right away the staff found us a new room which was an upgrade and beautiful! We were close to the pools and beach. The towel figures left on our bed every day was a great touch. It would have been nice if both of our bathrooms had tissues, hand soap, etc. If a daily activities sheet had been left in our room everyday we may have been able to see more of what was going on around the resort. Overall a great place to stay!! We will be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Garyed
Business
Ohio, USA
Sep 16, 2014

OK resort but not 4 star !

Rooms are small , the resort is very large and spread out. lots of walking ! pools are big and very nice but the beach is worthless ! it cost a lot for ride to resort from the airport ! I will never use for transportation ! Its a 30 minute ride and cost $232, This was thru and I will never use their service again either !! They wont let me use names so this is the best I can do !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shadowspires
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 3, 2010

A solidly enjoyable vacation

We went during the week of New Years Day. The weather was perfect. We only spent one day off resort to take a fishing trip. Things we loved. The Mexican Restaurant was the most fun. We had a great waiter and the food was authenticate, tasty and largely portioned. The Italian Restaurant had a great antipasto/appetizer bar, but everything else was pretty lackluster. The Seafood Restaurant has a great filet on the surf and turf option, but cooked the lobster down to rubber. The Steak Restaurant left a lot to be desired. We didn't try the French or Oriental, but it didn't seem too appealing menu wise... The lunch and breakfast buffets were better than average. The Spa is an amazing facility and is a must for those that want to experience some luxury. The Sports Bar was loud and boring in general, but the Swing Bar was always entertaining. The New Year Eve party was downright spectacular and helped make up for a lot of the average pieces... albeit the NYE meal was the worst. Great favors, drinks, music, fireworks, party size, etc... Absolutely loved the showers in our room... glass walls, overhead large head, very spacious, second shower "wand". Staff was always nice and spoke decent English while eager to help you with your Spanish. Would go again if we find the opportunity fits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Spa is amazing with it's own pools, showers, sauna, lounges, beds, jacuzzi's, heated pools, etc, etc... If you buy a massage you get full day use of the facility. Best secret of the place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quebec,Canada
Jan 5, 2010

Had fun!

What we liked: -pool -service -food,very easy to make reservations -bed -grounds -reception:very helpful and accomodating What we didn't like so much but it didn't ruin our vacation: -beach area is not the greatest -lots of children so it can get pretty noisy -thin walls so you can hear people talking in the other rooms.The hallways are also very noisy! -they make it annoying to get a taxi -5 dollars for 1 hour internet use I would not give this hotel 5 stars-more than a 4 but not a 5!I am not sure I would recommend this hotel because I know there are great 5 star resorts in the area with beautiful beaches!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great a la carte restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
40th anniversary
Business
Elgin Iowa
Feb 17, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

We had a very enjoyable trip. Good friends. Very friendly people for staff, wanting to assist you whenever needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top