$233 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
last try at nickname
Couples
ohio
Feb 15, 2013

Nice hotel

The hotel was fine. traveling rep was never on time and I wasted alot of time wating for O- traveling rep. to confirm trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carib Vacationier
Single
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 14, 2013

Nice Resort

Just returned from a great week! Found some of the previous reviews complaints to be valid only in certain parts of the resort. We stayed in building 8 and had no problems. The beach is as described, but the lagoon is wonderful. The market area is very easy to get to via the shuttle, approximately 20 mins away from the resort......All in all, thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took the shuttle to Playa Del Carmen to the public beach and ferry to Cozumel, spent time in the markets and malls. Also took a Tevo from the main gate to Cancun, approx. 30 mins and enjoyed the malls, markets and beaches there. Explore attraction was wonderful.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cooliegirl
Friends
Brampton, Ontario
Feb 14, 2013

Fabulous relaxing time

My friend and I spend eight days at the Blue Bay grand Esmeralda and what a fantastic time we had! The staff were very friendly and helpful and they certainly made our stay most enjoyable. The food was also very good....I gained seven pounds!!! This was one of our most relaxing vacation. A sincere thank you to Alberto, who was always attentive to us at breakfast. Thank you Gina and Genny at Circe One. And to Francisco Miranda for giving me my first taste of Bailey's. Much apologies for not remembering the other staff member's names, who also contributed to making our trip memorable. We really enjoyed our vacation and we want to say 'thank you, Blue Bay". We look forward to seeing you again. Lorraine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You must go to 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen. Good shopping and very safe.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WesCh
Couples
NewJersey
Feb 10, 2013

Not for family

never come back again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Like to travel Mom
Family
Quebec City, Canada
Feb 9, 2013

This is a must!

The hotel was beautiful, clean and comfortable. transportation from buildings to the beach if further - wow! The food was so good, no need to stress booking for a specialized À La Carte restaurant, the buffet offered various types of meals from different countries - it was the best we had in years! The best part was the people: each employee of the resort was not only nice but sincerely dedicated to ensure we had a wonderful experience and we sure did! The only little cloud over a sunny sky was the beach. The portion of the beach right in front of the resort is not the best place to take a swin in the ocean but it is easy to forget when All the rest is so Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julia babe
Family
Riveria Maya
Feb 7, 2013

Great resort!

This was a nice friendly, fun resort. The food was great!! We recommend the steak and seafood restaurants! The margaritas at the Mexican restaurant were not that bad either! The room accommodations were nice, clean, and updated. No chairs available to sit in room, only the bed. Pool area was very nice, relaxing with many chair options! Bathrooms around pool need much work! Only one functioning with the rest out of order with long lines-opted to walk back to room instead!!! Beach front nice enough with lagoon near by. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rimode
Family
Chicago IL
Feb 4, 2013

Very good getaway...

Very clean and quiet hotel but don't relay from hotel stuff wakeup call if you have to leave hotel early in the morning ,you must relay on your self.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthday Parties
Couples
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jan 21, 2013

Value for price ( Travel dates Jan 15 thru Jan 20)

My wife and I paid $1750 total for 5 days with flight from Minneapolis, Minnesota. We booked last minute with another couple, and had a blast. Airport/Travel - Recomend buying the round trip to and from hotel for $67 each. You won't find better deals and this is very easy. Arrival at Resort - Our bags were taken from the shuttle and we were given a ticket while we checked in. Check in went smooth and they let us in early which was nice. They also have carts for transportation around the resort which comes in handy. Room - The room is very typical to most resorts I have stayed at. Refrigerator with beer, soda and water. Safe large enough to hold a large laptop along wih many other items. Bathroom appeared as though it could have used a deep clean in the grout areas but not bad at all. Pools - nice that we were always able to get a beach chair for the four of us together anytime. Pool was a bit chilly but why would they heat a pool in Mexico? It was a little chilly when we travelled which was unusual. Beach - Nothing special here, water was a little dirty looking but it was still nice to be able to sit next to the ocean. You can also walk the beach for miles and see the outsides of other resorts which was fun. Food - Buffets were decent, really the same food each day with a couple changes here and there. Always have the ability to get lots of Mexican food as well as a burger and fries each day if you don't care for international cuisine. We made reservations each night for the private restaurants which is part of your prepaid price. Would highly recommend each morning getting up going to the concierge and making reservations or try a night out on 5 th avenue in downtown Playa. Bars - always willing to make drinks and never to busy. Always use the brand name of the liquor you want or you will end up with cheap rail. Beer was cold and refreshing, my wife enjoyed the ice beers which had a little blended margarita on top. The sports bar at night had shows for entertainment, Michael Jackson show was very entertaining! Excursions - we didn't do any so I can't comment. We did a couple trips into Playa, during the day we did a little shopping but the stores are really all the same junk stores in my opinion. At night we walked until we found a restaurant we liked and sat down. Food was good and service was awesome. Two of us were celebrating Birthdays and each place we stopped gave us a couple shots of tequila for free which was awesome, but we dd also sit down and have a few beers at each spot as well. Overall - I think the value equals the price paid. Don't expect a four or five star resort because this is not it but still nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Always make reservations for dinner at night. This helps changing up your meals during the week from just buffets.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zipline Mama
Family
Montana
Jan 16, 2013

Remote Getaway

Good place to stay with excellent staff. Just a little remote from town but overall it was nice. Area is vast and our room was far from the beach. Shuttles helped to get you around but next time would ask for a place nearer the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Good walking shoes a must! Not all dining ares were easy to get to without the shuttle.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nickej
Family
Wisco
Jan 13, 2013

Price was right, but wasn't special

This was my first time in Mexico, so I have little to compare it to. The resort is very spread out and to get from our room to the beach was a good 7 minute walk. The beach itself is sub-par with limited seating and not very clear water. This lead us to spend most of our time at the main pool just off the beach. The staff here was great! Very friendly and interactive with the guests. The food was sometimes very good, but mostly just average. The night life on the resort was poor. The hotel shows weren't very good. The "Sports Bar" was boring, with no music and no atmosphere. The beach bar was open from 11pm to 1 am and had better music, but also was typically slow. You have to leave the resort to find an active night life. For the price we paid I think this was a good hotel. Nothing special, but for laying around the pool, enjoying the weather, and having some drinks; it did the trick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top