$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
367 out of 367
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
arlinemike
Sanford, Maine
Dec 19, 2012

Very Surprised

After reading all the reviews I was a little nervous since we have been to several resorts in Mexico and never had a bad experience, we just wanted to try yet another new place. The weather in December was beautiful as was the resort. We ended up ugrading to an oceanfront room since there was one available, well worth it. Enjoyed every moment out on the balcony in the am and pm. The resort is smaller than ones that we have been to in the past but that was great. We never even bothered with the specialty restaurants since we found the buffet to be great. Very intimate seating and great service. The beach sand is beautiful. The water is a little cloudy this time of year probably because of the rougher water but don't let it keep you out of it, when you walk in you can see that it is just a little cloudy but it is smooth sand below. My husband and I loved and it would definitly return. The staff was GREAT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 21, 2010

Great room and grounds,, Lousy Beach,

I went here single (not a good place for singles). The property and the room were excellent. IMO, the food was mediocre and not as good as the 3 star Wyndham Maya's I went to 3 times in the area (also the Wyndham had a much better beach). The beach was awful and basically unswimmable. The staff was competent but not nearly as friendly as the Wyndham, and there was a 30 dollar charge for a lost towel card, which was outrageous Great deal for what I paid though. This is not a good place to go if you are single (mostly all families and couples. Getting to Playa del Carmen was a pain and far. Very relaxing though, Might consider going back, but not much more than the 722 I played for trip and everything. Seems that the place has a bit of an identity crisis about being a top place and a mediocre place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like a quiet intimate place with a nice beach, great food, close to Playa and a friendly staff go elsewhere. If you are a family or a couple on a tight budget it is a good deal.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dfw
Jul 30, 2011

Free Internet not

Free Internet and free parking was my search option which Return Blue Bay. I did not expect to park at my room but did expect free Internet Anywhere not just at the lobby and main dinning room The property beach was not restored since Wilma hit But a few resort down offer good beach The walk to the beach maybe far and long depending on your Room location Mosquitos is an issue since the property is surrounded by swamp mangrove Lemur and Frog could be seen and heard and the occational racoon The wait staff was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not request beach view upgrade since you may not be able to see the room offer

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coastaltraveler
Business
Maine
Apr 20, 2011

O.K for the money

All the reviews are pretty much right on the money.Food was pretty good, drinks were weak, timeshare guy at building 4 was rude and a pest..We would go again but the price would have to be LOW.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you plan to go on a excursion you can forget getting a dinner reservation if your excursion leaves early

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 17, 2010

Good Vacation

We liked the hotel. The food was good, the pool was beautiful and we had an awesome ocean view room. Unfortunately, it rained the majority of the time we were there so we were not able to enjoy everything as much as we could have. One major disappointment was the quality of the alcohol served throughout the hotel. It was barely drinkable. The only drink we liked was the Coco Loco and the beer was alright. Because of the rain we tried to do a lot of indoor things, like drink and watch the shows. The entertainment staff is very good. They put on a different show every night at 9:30pm. If you have kids, they do fun things for the kids on stage at around 8:30pm. The concierge staff throughout the hotel is not the friendliest. I would suggest researching activities you want to do online before hand and not use them for anything. Also, I heard from another couple at the resort that once you meet with them they practically force you to go to a time share presentation. Luckily, we were able to avoid this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We visited the Mayan ruins at Tulum and had a wonderful time. Luckily, it didn't rain while we were there! The ruins are amazing and the beach there is stunning. We chose Tulum over Chichen-Itza due to time constraints. Tulum is about an hour away from this hotel while Chichen-Itza is about 3 hours away. The Chichen-Itza ruins however, are larger than the Tulum ruins. A taxi driver outside of the resort gave us a better deal than the hotel was giving us and he even waited for us while we toured the ruins. I would suggest researching using shuttles or "collectivos" which is their public transportation system. It's way cheaper.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OLE OLE
Business
New York New York
Aug 23, 2010

OLE OLE

Relaxed by pool, ate, drink, and enjoyed the corny but entertaining shows The hotel shuttles could have been more frequent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico, D.F.
Sep 17, 2009

Nice, but could be better....

Nice, but could be better....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aramos714
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 1, 2010

Ok for the price

Great time with the animation team... great food A la CARTE restaurants. The Transportation company GREY LINE took 45 minuts to pick up from the airport. Tehy supposed to refund us..but I wil not used that company any more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Avid Traveler from Dallas
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 13, 2011

Good not Great Hotel

The resort is average compared to other all-inclusive resorts I have been to. The food is good, but a warning for a la carte restaurants, it takes about 2 hours or more for your food to come out. The beach in front of the hotel was absolutely horrible. Would recommend you go downtown playa to the beach there. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The spa was my favorite out of all the amenities of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is pretty far away from the resort. Have to take a shuttle/taxi everywhere.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
usa
Apr 24, 2010

The good

Beach is not good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moe nY
Business
New york
Jun 25, 2014

Decent for a quick getaway

I felt this resort was decent although I have some dislikes. I felt that the staff was not so nice, no all but some. The cleaning staff was very good, my room was always clean. The food selection was so so. My main concern was the bathroom tub, the step to get in was very high. I actually slipped and now have a large bruise on my leg. There is nothing to hold on too and tile was very slippery. Some of the staff was not so nice, no one ever knew who or what to do when questions were asked. The beach was not so nice, water was very dirty looking. Overall my experience was fair, it was a nice little getaway for a fair price minus the few complaints I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Too expensive, do not buy at hotel and front desk will give you 'coupons' for promotions or free gift whitch is not true.

Back to menu Return to top