$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mark from buffalo
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 3, 2013

Solid 4*

Just got back yesterday. Liked this resort a lot. Food is excellent and of high quality. Room very comfortable and quiet. Only problem is the beach, water is black and too many rocks for comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

lagoon to the left or north of resort, bring snorkeling gear.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jcbibi
Business
Ontario
Apr 1, 2013

very nice vacation

Good hotel, staff were attentive and prompt in response. Beach has not been the greatest however it was OK. Very good place for a family vacation. Easy access for restaurants booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spring Break 604
Business
Vancouver, BC
Mar 31, 2013

Great Spring Break Trip

We stayed at this resort during the last week of March. This resort was the best 4-star I have stayed at in Mexico. It was clean, comfortable, and the food was great! The location was also nice because it was a short trip to Cancun and a short trip to Playa del Carmen. I would recommend this resort to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at the MANY a la carte restaurants... the food is delicious!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kimberly from Willis
Business
Riviera Maya Mexico
Mar 25, 2013

Burnt to a crisp

The room was comfy, except for the mosquitos. The food was good. The opening show was cheesy, but food was good. Be prepared to sit with people who don't speak English. The resort was too spread out, requiring a lot of walking. The shuttles were always going the opposite way we were. Would recommend it for the price we paid. We got a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The snorkeling excursion by catamaran was fun, but not exactly as described.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JSmoz
Business
Edmonton, Alberta
Mar 11, 2013

Good not Great

Great staff, excellent food ( in the buffet) the a la cartes left a lot to be desired. Our biggest complaint was the lack of entertainment after dinner, with no disco and a beach party that had a DJ who didnt want to be there and it showed. There was no place but the stinky sweaty sports bar that was understaffed due to the large numbers of guests that were forced to gather here for lack of anywhere to go. Other than that it was excellent. Easy to find chairs by the pool or beach on the busiest of days. Staff seemed to really care (with the exception of the DJ) Buffets were always good and never much of a wait. Sometimes a little difficult to get a drink but only when it was really busy. Great trip overall, can't say I would return to this hotel. Location for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you are looking to stay up late, have a few drinks, dance or hang out..... keep looking. This hotel is perfect for people who want to head back to their room after dinner.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
whiteboygoestomexico
Business
New England
Mar 4, 2013

Good and Bad

Some rooms/building are updated with LCDs and new bathrooms, while others need a lot of TLC. Building 1's walls seem paper thin and noise is definitely an issue. Rooms overall need to be refurbished or repaired (in keeping with the luxury hotel feel), but the bed is comfortable. Food is hit or miss, but cleanliness seems to be taken fairly seriously. No family members got sick on our trip, nor did I hear any horror stories from others. The Staff is AMAZING (with the exception of the front desk), and will truly make you feel welcome. If you tire of the hotel's many amenities, day trips to Cozumel, Tulum, or Isla Mujures are cheap and well worth your time. The grounds are spectacular and well-maintained -- just wish the same was true of the hotel rooms. I'm still convinced this is better than 75% of the options in Riviera Maya, especially re: value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The French Restaurant is by far the best.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roberta Happy Wife
Business
Hermantown, MN
Mar 4, 2013

Wonderful week spent with my spouse.

We loved the whole experience. Restaurants were excellent and the staff was wonderful. We would go back again in a heartbeat. What a great way to relax with your spouse for a week!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dburn
Business
St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Mar 2, 2013

dburn

Overall the resort was great, pool was great, staff was great, beach was great (better than many others on the same beach), food was good, drinks were a little weak. The only problems we really experienced were the lock on our door malfunctioned daily so we had to have the concierge reprogram it daily,( it was replaced on the fourth day of our trip and had to be reprogramed the next day) and we paid extra for the upgrade to a superior deluxe room which we never did receive. I would not recommend the dinner show. Over all it was a nice resort that we would like to use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tsilman
Business
Phiiladelphia
Feb 26, 2013

Very nice time with friends

Nice hotel, buffet is OK, a la carte restorants are best. Servise a bit sluppy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make reservations ahead

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
8th trip to the Riviera
Business
Moncton New Brunswick
Feb 17, 2013

great service great price

We truly enjoyed our visit to Bluebay. The resort is gorgeous. The staff go out of their way to be helpful. The food is good and plentiful. This is a strong 4 star resort at a 3 star price. I have visited 8 different resorts in the Riviera and the staff friendliness exceeds all the others.. The swim-up room was heaven.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top