$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
329 out of 329
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan first time resort vis
Hattiesburg, MS
Nov 14, 2012

First time all inclusive experience

I really dont know where to begin. The staff at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda were wonderful! Very family friendly. Lots of families with kids, but not over run with children. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay a 5 Star experience. The room was beautiful, the food was plentiful and seemingly endless. The pools were clean and huge, and overall, I couldn't imagine a better experience. All our waiters and concierge spoke good - excellent English, which helped me alot, and I even picked up some common Spanish expressions. The beaches were beautiful, but were not as clean as I expected, not trash but small natural twigs and such from all the palm trees. Would not recommend staying on the first floor, as the wildlife will make themselves at home (as it is their home!) The rooms are very close to tropical vegetation. Our last night, I called the front desk and said "Is it possible to have some help with our luggage in the morning, at 2AM for our crazy early departure?" and their reply was "Sir, Everything is possible!" Muy bueno!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The taxi service is highly monitored to ensure the tourist are well taken care of. There are a lot of pushy street vendors in Playa del Carmen where we went for shopping. Not intrusive or mean, just a little bothersome for my liking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Great for party

The hotel and the rooms are nice. There's a gigantic pool. The beach however was disappointing compared to the beautiful beaches in this area. The hotel staff is always smiling and the service is great. The food was OK. The major downside was that it got very noisy at night because of drunk people (you're in a all inclusive after all) making a fuss in the hallways for hours, and there was no staff member at night in the buildings to quiet them. We woke up very early almost everyday to go and visit Mayan ruins, so at the end we didn't get much sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

In Playa del Carmen, on the 5 avenue, you'll find a very nice mexican folkart shop, "Caracol". Very good quality and authentic products (textiles, wood objects...) compared to all the other shops on this avenue that sell low quality, supposedly "handmade", souvenirs to tourists.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
happy to have gone, glad to be home!
Business
Mpls. MN
Mar 3, 2010

Mixed Review

[...]. There wasn't any kind of welcome drink or smile. We were talked into the "90 min." sales pitch by our building Concierge for becoming "Club Members" it took 6 hours of telling them NO only to be called fools for not signing. A wasted second day.The third day, the building ran out of water for 30 min. and electricity for 10min. The last day the electrical key had us locked out for 30 min. The restaurant food was good, not great. The Mexican restaurant was the best more than you can eat portions and flavorful; the "sexy Coffee" was entertaining and yummy! The Seafood and Steak restaurants were good but nothing outstanding there. The Italian, were very small portions even for a small appetite. The place was clean, very clean. The beach was narrow, and is sand bagged until the beach restoration is finished. Security was handled well when individuals didn't know when to stop drinking. There is a 1/4+ walking distance from the Lobby and buildings 7&8, and 3 of the 5 specialty restaurants to the beach, large pool area and the other 2 specialty restaurants. There are electrical carts to transport you run during the evening hours but keep alert so you don't get hit! Except for the check-in clerk, the others were friendly enough.Heads up, they don't change your coffee cups, they're washed in the room. We had the same cracked cup all week. And twice we received water bottles in the mini bar that had been opened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The snorkeling in the Cnotes was an amazing adventure. There were families with young children 4 & 5 and they enjoyed the time too. It's beautiful, adventurist if you want but not the typical tourist trap. There aren't souvenir shops, it's informative about the land and the people without preachy and lecturing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Mar 30, 2010

True Review

Would not stay again as you could stay down the beach at a better resort for the same price. Be careful of the time share people as they act like your concierge but are really just there to sell and once you tell them no good luck getting any help.We booked through [...] and check-in was a fight to get the Ocean View we had paid for up-front--kept pushing the upgrade swim up suite. We like to travel light and saw on [...] that they provided bath robs (simple request right) the answer we got was not with your package--What package was that? I paid for all inclusive with an upgrade to ocean view.We speak Spanish and learned from the workers that they prefer to work at other resorts because the tips are better so the resort has high turnover.On the plus side the Buffet was not bad and the Mexican and French restaurants were really good.We have been to Riviera Maya numerous times and love the area but would not recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 6, 2010

Nice Hotel

The hotel was nice and kept up. The staff was friendly and helpful. The dining options were buffets for breakfast and lunch and also for dinner, if you did not make dinner reservations, which my husband and I would have rather ate at restaurants. Only one the pools was open while we were there, but it didn't make that much of a difference since we were there in the off season. The beach is beautiful. The nightly entertainment was fun each night. When I compare this hotel to the Sandals resort (All-Inclusive) that my husband and I went to for our honeymoon, this hotel did not come close to the amenities we received there. I would say this hotel was a pretty good value, but I probably would not recommend this hotel because it did not stand out from just an oridinary hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel provides a show each night, which all were very well done and entertaining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh NC
Dec 17, 2010

Blue Bay was gray

The food was very good, and there was access to the specialty restaurants. If you stayed near the beach, the closest pool was loud. In the morning, starting at 8:00AM the maids would have their carts out on the tile floors, and it sounded like they were bowling right outside of your room. Do not expect to sleep in. The water in the ocean was cloudy and had a lot of sea grass

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations the day before at the specialty restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
F&B
Business
Canada
Apr 4, 2010

Nice for the price

Food was really pretty good. The sand at the beach was white and soft but the beach/water was just OK. Seaweed and rocks made the water look "dirty" instead of the clear blue you will find at other beaches in this area. Grounds where very pretty and lush but the water used for irrigation smelled like it came from the ponds on the property. Not a good smell. Bring the strongest insect spray you can buy and use at all times. The bugs are REALLY hungry and YOU are the meal. YIKES!! The staff works hard to keep everything clean and the service was good. Remember that the tips are not included so bring some small bills and tip when served drinks and dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Nov 11, 2010

Good Value

Beautiful beach. Wait staff was extraordinary - fast, helpful, friendly and courteous. The rooms were comfy and cleaned daily. Entertainment was so-so as was most of the food. I did not like to wake-up at 7a.m. to make sure we had dinner reservations for the next day (don't wait until 9 a.m., it's too late). Even though the restaurants were not full they would not take reservations for new arrivals and we could not get into them. For 2 of our 4 nights we had to eat at the buffet restaurant, which was nice and the staff wonderful, until we learned the system. We took a day trip into Playa del Carmen that was very close and fun. $15 cab ride. This hotel does not have a "swim up bar".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Long weekender looking to relax.
Business
New Hampshire
Nov 3, 2010

Would I go back???

The resort was very clean but could use some TLC. I was happy with the food, drinks, service and room. What I didn't like was the constant pressure to sit down with them for 90 mins to hear their speil about joining their club. The pressure never seemed to stop. While i was there to visit Cozumel for other reasons, it was nice to be close to the ferry for a cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Just say NO to the sales pressure! Save your time for you, that's why you are there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BC, Canada
Dec 2, 2010

Not typical Mexican Friendliness

Having been to Riviera Maya many times (this was our 10th), we have lots to compare with. The resort is in a good location and is clean and the grounds are beautiful. It is the people that disappointed us. That is usually the one thing that keeps us returning to Mexico-the people. Here though, they were not accommodating and were unfriendly. The food was okay. Nothing to write home about although the breakfast buffet was good. The a la carte restaurants were for the most part, not worth the hassle of standing in line each morning to reserve (with the exception of the Italian which was very good).We were disappointed at the ambience of each restaurant; they just reused the buffet restaurants and there was no atmosphere. When we arrived it was about 10pm and all the buffets were closed and nothing else opens until 11pm. We had to beg to be let into the Mexican restaurant even though there were only 4 people inside. The rooms are beautiful and are kept spotless. We even had a towel animal and flowers left each day. We found the rooms to be extremely noisy and sleeping was always interrupted. the halls are concrete and the maid service was out pulling their carts early (6am) each morning. The shows at night we only went to a couple of times and not once did we stay. They were just not the quality that we have seen before at other hotels. The shuttle service for $4 is a good deal(although most hotels along the Mayan have one) to Playa Del Carmen. The ferry ride over to Cozumel is an adventure in itself. Once there, I recommend renting scooters ($25 single, $35 double) and tour the island. It was a blast and the ocean views are phenomenal. Snorkelling at Xel Ha cannot be beat for a controlled environment or Sian Kann if you are looking for an all around adventure. You drive your own Jeep to Tulum and then to the jungle and then take a boat where we saw turtles and dolphins swimming in the wild. Snorkelling off the reef there was great, too. All in all, for the value, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda was alright. The pool is beautiful (although no swim-up bar) and the beach was good for walking along. Would we stay here again-no. There are too many other hotels that actually make you feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

For a la carte restaurants you need to make reservations first thing in the morning or you will likely not get a reservation at the restaurant of your choice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riviera Maya, Mexico
May 12, 2010

Ok

We mostly hung out by the swing bar (which had actual swings) and by the pool, the pool was nice, would of liked to have had a lazy river somewhere on the resort, the beach was kinda icky, too mushy when you walked in the water, the room was cleaned at all different times during the day and the carts the rolled around the hotel were so noisy, they woke me up every morning...all in all I guess you get what you pay for, since we didn't pay much for the trip...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top