$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jill K
Business
Lansing, Michigan
Sep 16, 2013

Very Nice Place for Short Stay

Very Safe/Gated, Beautiful and Clean, Great Food, Great Service Overall BUT..... The rooms are very hot and humid making it a little diff to sleep. We adjusted our fan to the highest setting and it was still hot in the room and they would not help us to change it and acted a little annoyed at us for asking. If it is not nice enough to lay by the beach or pool then there is Not much to do at all. There is a nightly stage show in the bar area (some were good/some mediocre) other than that there is 1 ping pong, 1 air hockey, and 1 pool table for a resort w over 900 rooms. We were therefor a week during a somewhat rainy season so it was a really good thing we scheduled 2 excursions. However, if you don't schedule your excursions through Blue Bay (like we didn't) then they will not shuttle you down to the main gate to meet your ride and they will not let your tour bus come inside the gated area to pick you up. It was about a mile or so to walk from the main gate to the front door of the resort so we paid a taxi to take us down there and back each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sergio super dad
Business
Miami, Florida
Sep 4, 2013

Great place to relax and have a great vacation

It is an extraordinary hotel. The staff is very friendly, food is great even at the buffets. The pool is awesome. The only thing not so great is the beach at this hotel. The sea water color is not blue or green as it is in Cancun and playa del Carmen. It is very close to 3 rivers which produce this effect on the water, even though the water of the rivers is crystalline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reserve a day in advance for the fancy restaurants at the hotel. They have great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carvel
Business
Danville, Pa.
Aug 12, 2013

This resort is fine for families

Service other than check-in was very good for the most part. The beach is not the best, nor the swimming area in the sea. The beach area is the area where we spend the most time, and this area was disappointing. Water is murky, not real clear. Pool area is nice. Food was surprisingly good for the cost of the resort. Grounds and buildings were well cared for. Area for entertainment was hot and smoky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

This is a large resort with some shuttle service to get you around, but it's often not running frequently enough to take advantage of it when going to the restaurants or pool or beach areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MaryfromCleveland
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 17, 2013

Don't Go!

Bugs on the walls. Bugs on the curtains. Bugs in our bed. We are-thankfully-all home safely after a horrible girls week at Blue Bay. The buildings were not air conditioned cool enough to be comfortable (sweat dripping down our faces during dinners). The beach was a bit dirty. When we arrived exhausted after a long trip our room was not ready. Our first room was adjacent to a major construction project, and we asked to move immediately. Our second room was not cleaned so we moved to a third location in another building. When I complained about the disorganized, unpleasant arrival experience, no one showed concern. We were told that the resort reserves a block of rooms for online travel sites in the far back corner of the grounds (far from food, far from the beach, far from the main pool, and extremely easy to get lost!). When we were asked to change rooms for a fourth time on the second day of our trip, the room was filled with bugs. Even though we bought a $25 can of bug spray spraying our bodies along with every inch of the hotel room, we are home in Cleveland with itchy purple welts from the swarms of bugs throughout the resort, in our hotel room, and on our pillows. If you decide to go to Blue Bay, sleep with your mouth closed. I recommend staying out of this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find another hotel, please!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Rihanna
Business
Orlando, Fl
Jul 9, 2013

Six Days in Paradise

We (my husband and I) just returned from our vacation in Riveria Maya and enjoyed our trip. There were a few minor issues such as the mosquitos due to the resort surrounded by a mangrove, the full size double beds, the significant walk between some of the buildings and no top-shelf/brand liquor. Overall it was a very relaxing trip. When we first arrived the hotel staff at the front desk was cordial but baggage staff was not accommodating. After getting settled in we were located in building 4 which was a great location to the main pool with daily activities, the beach, the swing bar and restaurant ( which had a breakfast & lunch buffet during the day and seafood & steak restaurant in the evening). We spent most of our time in the pool due to the friendly staff & activities. The beach was shallow with a lot of seaweed which wasn't the best for swimming or wading. The resort also offered daily nightlife which included a differenr show every night and several bars open until 1am. We also spent one day at the spa which was a great way to relax. The spa contained several different water massage areas and giant beds to relax in afterwards. Overall it was a great resort with some minor inconveniences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Request to stay in building 4 or 5. It's in close location to the main pool, beach, bar and restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roadsunknown
Business
Denver
Jun 29, 2013

Just as Expected

Our stay was just as expected. Nothing more, nothing less. I think this is the key. For the price, we received great value. If we'd payed more, we'd be a little disappointed in a few things, mainly the food. While the food was decent to good, nothing was "exceptional". Of the a la carte restaurants, the French was the best of the three we tried (French, Seafood, Steakhouse). French: the plates were small, but filling, garnished well, and super friendly server. Seafood: Wife's fish tacos were good but nothing to call home about. My steak was, well, don't order the steak. Seems obvious, but it all comes out of the same kitchen more or less and I was burnt out on seafood. Steakhouse: Decent, plenty of food, but cooked uneven, not top quality meat. Did not expect anything more, but you should know to set your own expectations. Buffet: Closes at 11am so FYI for late sleepers and no food is available again until 12 noon. Otherwise, it was a buffet, good selection, but if you eat it for every meal you'll get bored. My favorite parts? Unlimited guacamole and the customary breakfast "egg bar". Drinks: Don't expect to find your premium top shelf labels, but its not all local generics either. There are a handful of imports, Svedka vodka was my go to. J&B is the best whiskey I think they had. Tequilla, well, its Mexico so its decent but its not Don Julio. The hotel staff were mostly friendly and hardworking. Pool wasn't crazy busy like I've heard stories about. We always found a pair of chairs together in a good location - by the bar. No bar in the pool, but they have a few staff running around taking orders (just don't count on timeliness, order double). Or just go up to the bar yourself. Beach is how all the other reviewers put it. Its there, its nice, its built with sandbags, its not big. We are pool people so we didn't care if it wasn't the prettiest thing down there. Want to find a picturesque beach? Stroll north out of the resort to the Tres Rios Resort until you find the rivers. Sweet spot and clear waters. Mexico beaches are all technically public. Bottom line, we relaxed. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeekingRelaxation
Business
New Jerey
Jun 28, 2013

In Need of Relaxation

Very pleasant staff that go above and beyond to greet you and make your trip enjoyable. Pool area used more than the beach. Enjoyable games during day to take part in or just watch. Could use more than 1 choice of a draft beer, and cooled cups to make it stay cold. Not a fan of hand rinsed, still soapy plastic glasses to drink out of. No night life, the beach party was not a typical beach party. Overall relaxing and a good time had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to town, Playa del Carmen - must go

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris carmona
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
Jun 25, 2013

Good price for good time

The cost for this vacations was really low and I got a really good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carina K
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 17, 2013

Overall good stay

I ended up giving this hotel a 3 out of 5 star mainly due to location. The resort itself was great! Food was delicious at the a la carte restaurants and the buffet was pretty good. If you eat there every day 3x a day, it can get a little old, so we made sure we always booked an a la carte restaurant each evening. The resort cleanliness and facilities was really impressive. It's a larger resort and we always saw staff cleaning on the grounds. The negatives were the beach and the mosquitos. The beach had quite a bit of seaweed on it and water was not the crystal blue water that we saw when we traveled to the town of Playa del Carmen. The staff attributed this to the fact that it was "red tide" currently and the ocean was cleansing itself; however, not sure why only a certain section of the ocean would be cleansing itself. Playa del Carmen is only 20 minutes away and the beach there looked great. Due to the fact that the resort is eco-friendly, they have several untouched natural jungle areas on the grounds. In these natural grounds there are cenotes (natural spring water that comes up to surface level) which can cause an unpleasant odor. This is also a breeding ground for mosquitos. I have not had that many mosquito bites since I visited Mississippi a few years back. I counted 16 bites just on one leg. We brought OFF spray with us and I'm not sure if the mosquitos are now immune to that stuff, but I was still eaten alive. Overall though, we had a nice time. The pools made up for the beach. The mosquitos were hard to ignore, but we still managed to have fun and were careful not to walk past cenote areas after dusk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Every Saturday there are a bunch of vendors that set up booths at the resort and sell trinkets. The prices they charge are pretty high. Head to Playa del Carmen, which is a 20 minute shuttle drive, and just shop there for the day. It will save you money in the long run.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wrstanton
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 17, 2013

Would have been 4 stars if...

For the most part, the trip was really enjoyable. I had 3 other couples come with myself and my girlfriend. The first day there, I had 4 different phone calls to my room that ended up being solicitation phone calls from the sales dept. 4 IN A ROW OVER 1.5 HOURS. So, that was annoying. We also hassled several times at the pool for "water sport activities". I understand those guys have a job to do, and I'm accustomed to being approached about time shares and what have you, but this was really excessive. I would have unplugged my phone in the room but I'm there with friends so I didn't since we needed to call each other to communicate from time to time. The restaurants were fairly good, not great, but good. The first night there, the restaurant for the Seafood theme was so hot, no AC, and the manager was frankly uninviting. So that wasn't a great experience. I upgraded and paid $25 for a ribeye at the Steakhouse theme, that turned out to be smaller than the one that was free (all inclusive). That was frustrating of course. I'd say the resort itself is pretty nice, the location is good, but with the place being built on a lagoon/swamp area, the beach is not really the experience you may be looking for. Most of the staff members seemed to be attentive, but there were certainly ones who didn't seem like they cared to be there. Overall, not a bad vacation, but I'd probably stay somewhere else next time. I would call it a 3 star not quite a 4 star despite the fact that the place looks like it could be a 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Make reservations for the "Themed" restaurants 24 hours in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top