$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJHappyFamily
Business
New York
May 23, 2013

Needs improvement

The first day was horrible as our room (3107) was not clean, AC unit was broken, bathtub drain did not work, and mosquitos lived in it. We could not stay in the room the first night and stayed in our friend's room as my 11 month old was getting attacked by mosquitos. After giving us a hard time, the front desk finally changed our room to building 7 and it was better. The restaurants were good and food was delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pools are nice but the beach is filled with seaweed and the water is rough. Overall, the resort needs a facelift and can improve. The y should not give out room 3107 to any guests!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The French restaurant was the best out of all the other restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carina K
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 17, 2013

Overall good stay

I ended up giving this hotel a 3 out of 5 star mainly due to location. The resort itself was great! Food was delicious at the a la carte restaurants and the buffet was pretty good. If you eat there every day 3x a day, it can get a little old, so we made sure we always booked an a la carte restaurant each evening. The resort cleanliness and facilities was really impressive. It's a larger resort and we always saw staff cleaning on the grounds. The negatives were the beach and the mosquitos. The beach had quite a bit of seaweed on it and water was not the crystal blue water that we saw when we traveled to the town of Playa del Carmen. The staff attributed this to the fact that it was "red tide" currently and the ocean was cleansing itself; however, not sure why only a certain section of the ocean would be cleansing itself. Playa del Carmen is only 20 minutes away and the beach there looked great. Due to the fact that the resort is eco-friendly, they have several untouched natural jungle areas on the grounds. In these natural grounds there are cenotes (natural spring water that comes up to surface level) which can cause an unpleasant odor. This is also a breeding ground for mosquitos. I have not had that many mosquito bites since I visited Mississippi a few years back. I counted 16 bites just on one leg. We brought OFF spray with us and I'm not sure if the mosquitos are now immune to that stuff, but I was still eaten alive. Overall though, we had a nice time. The pools made up for the beach. The mosquitos were hard to ignore, but we still managed to have fun and were careful not to walk past cenote areas after dusk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Every Saturday there are a bunch of vendors that set up booths at the resort and sell trinkets. The prices they charge are pretty high. Head to Playa del Carmen, which is a 20 minute shuttle drive, and just shop there for the day. It will save you money in the long run.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wrstanton
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 17, 2013

Would have been 4 stars if...

For the most part, the trip was really enjoyable. I had 3 other couples come with myself and my girlfriend. The first day there, I had 4 different phone calls to my room that ended up being solicitation phone calls from the sales dept. 4 IN A ROW OVER 1.5 HOURS. So, that was annoying. We also hassled several times at the pool for "water sport activities". I understand those guys have a job to do, and I'm accustomed to being approached about time shares and what have you, but this was really excessive. I would have unplugged my phone in the room but I'm there with friends so I didn't since we needed to call each other to communicate from time to time. The restaurants were fairly good, not great, but good. The first night there, the restaurant for the Seafood theme was so hot, no AC, and the manager was frankly uninviting. So that wasn't a great experience. I upgraded and paid $25 for a ribeye at the Steakhouse theme, that turned out to be smaller than the one that was free (all inclusive). That was frustrating of course. I'd say the resort itself is pretty nice, the location is good, but with the place being built on a lagoon/swamp area, the beach is not really the experience you may be looking for. Most of the staff members seemed to be attentive, but there were certainly ones who didn't seem like they cared to be there. Overall, not a bad vacation, but I'd probably stay somewhere else next time. I would call it a 3 star not quite a 4 star despite the fact that the place looks like it could be a 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Make reservations for the "Themed" restaurants 24 hours in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roadsunknown
Business
Denver
Jun 29, 2013

Just as Expected

Our stay was just as expected. Nothing more, nothing less. I think this is the key. For the price, we received great value. If we'd payed more, we'd be a little disappointed in a few things, mainly the food. While the food was decent to good, nothing was "exceptional". Of the a la carte restaurants, the French was the best of the three we tried (French, Seafood, Steakhouse). French: the plates were small, but filling, garnished well, and super friendly server. Seafood: Wife's fish tacos were good but nothing to call home about. My steak was, well, don't order the steak. Seems obvious, but it all comes out of the same kitchen more or less and I was burnt out on seafood. Steakhouse: Decent, plenty of food, but cooked uneven, not top quality meat. Did not expect anything more, but you should know to set your own expectations. Buffet: Closes at 11am so FYI for late sleepers and no food is available again until 12 noon. Otherwise, it was a buffet, good selection, but if you eat it for every meal you'll get bored. My favorite parts? Unlimited guacamole and the customary breakfast "egg bar". Drinks: Don't expect to find your premium top shelf labels, but its not all local generics either. There are a handful of imports, Svedka vodka was my go to. J&B is the best whiskey I think they had. Tequilla, well, its Mexico so its decent but its not Don Julio. The hotel staff were mostly friendly and hardworking. Pool wasn't crazy busy like I've heard stories about. We always found a pair of chairs together in a good location - by the bar. No bar in the pool, but they have a few staff running around taking orders (just don't count on timeliness, order double). Or just go up to the bar yourself. Beach is how all the other reviewers put it. Its there, its nice, its built with sandbags, its not big. We are pool people so we didn't care if it wasn't the prettiest thing down there. Want to find a picturesque beach? Stroll north out of the resort to the Tres Rios Resort until you find the rivers. Sweet spot and clear waters. Mexico beaches are all technically public. Bottom line, we relaxed. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carvel
Business
Danville, Pa.
Aug 12, 2013

This resort is fine for families

Service other than check-in was very good for the most part. The beach is not the best, nor the swimming area in the sea. The beach area is the area where we spend the most time, and this area was disappointing. Water is murky, not real clear. Pool area is nice. Food was surprisingly good for the cost of the resort. Grounds and buildings were well cared for. Area for entertainment was hot and smoky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

This is a large resort with some shuttle service to get you around, but it's often not running frequently enough to take advantage of it when going to the restaurants or pool or beach areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mirela G
Business
Canada
May 29, 2014

Great resort / Poor Customer Service

After almost one hour of waiting in line, for check in, we’ve noticed that we were not given all the cards that we needed and had to go back to reception to wait at least for another 15 minutes to finally get the towel cards and the 2nd key. Customer service seemed not to be ready or interested in providing prompt and efficient services to over 30 tourists arriving at that time. We were disappointed on the people at reception, that supposed to be competent enough and helpful, was like they were doing us a favour, rather than providing a paid service. However the other staffs at this resort was generally very nice & helpful. Great food, excellent location. The a la carte Italian and French was superb. The bar staff was very busy, yet very efficient; Housekeeping was very slow, most days our room was not made up until after 4 PM. Note: All the phone calls are going through customer service and even for the Toll Free they will ask you $3 for connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jillamp
Business
Powell, OH
Jun 17, 2011

Enormous hotel - neat spa, bad food

We only spent 2 nights at the hotel. They upgraded our room to a very large decent suite with 2 full baths, which was very nice of them. The hotel grounds were decent and the place was quite large. I thought the food was Terrible! We ate at the buffets and tried to do dinner, but had to have reservations which we tried to get. My husband was not happy that even on the 2nd morning we tried to get a reservation again w/o any luck, so he complained and we got in at the oriental - the food was awful there. I do recommend the spa water circuit it is quite unique and relaxing and free. We saw the circus there too which was pretty good for a small show. We were at dreams 5 nights prior to this resort and dreams is SO much better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Apriltraveler
Business
Midwest, USA
May 3, 2010

Blue bay esmeralda review

Beautiful location, good service. Occasional foul odor from swamp land. Food was just OK, tons of walking with few shuttles available. If you want sugar-sand beaches and a fun nightlife, stay closer to Playa del carmen. This is a 2.5-3.0 star resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to spend time in Playa- it is a 15-20 dollar cab ride each way from this resort. As with any all-inclusive, the food gets old after awhile. Be ready to deal with families, and kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoonersfrom TN
Business
Nashville, TN
May 21, 2014

Honeymoon

The resort itself was nice, the pool was beautiful, and the restaurants were nice. The food did get a little repetitive with our week stay. The rooms were cleaned daily, but the bedding and linens were DIRTY...hair, lint, dirt. I had to have my sheets changed twice after my room was already clean. Would not go back for that sole reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago il
Feb 5, 2011

good for a budget traveler

The hotel was fine, nice grounds and decent sized rooms in good repair. The rooms were noisy; you could hear everything happening in the hall and rooms next door (I had an adjoining room, dividing door was closed and it was like they were in the room with me).The pools and oceanfront were very nice, a little crowded but great place to spend time with friends. The buffets and restaurants were fine (enjoyed the steak and Italian restaurants). Nightlife was a little slow for a group of singles but Playa Del Carmen is a quick fifteen-dollar cab ride away.My complaints were that my friends were in rooms near the beech and I was in a room at the back of the resort, it was a good ten-minuet walk. The hotel would not do anything to accommodate me. Also the [...] airport shuttle picked me up four and a half hours before my flight- I was in the airport waiting fro three and a half hours before my flight.Our [...] Representative was difficult to get in touch with, he was not in the resort at the times we were told he would be. When we did get to speak to him he was helpful and recommended a good excursion, cave diving and swimming with sea turtles.Overall this is a good place to go if you are traveling with a group of friends, service and hotel was O.K. I would go back if I got a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top