$264 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RVR TRAVELERS
MIAMI, FL
Sep 11, 2012

FAMILY VACACIONES

GREAT RESORT TO BE IN VACATION, VERY RELAXING, GOOD FOOD AND DRINKS ARE SUPER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny Mexico
Business
Green Bay, WI
Mar 2, 2014

Fantastic getaway vacation

I would recommend Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda as a great value. The resort was clean and the staff was friendly, curtious and helpful. The food was excellent in the buffet and specialty restaurants. The pools were clean and the water was warm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The specialty restaurants have great food

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrsmulls
Business
Michigan
Feb 20, 2014

Could have been better could have been worse

I rate this hotel average. Had many problems with the room ants and water leaking notified the front desk and nothing was ever done to resolve issues. Food was good in buffets we were pleasantly surprised. Servers were extremely friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Explor park was amazing extremely fun day!! Gray value for your money and endless adventures through out the day.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weegee
Business
Santa Fe
Jan 10, 2014

Average resort, pathetic beach, good food

First, the good: the cooking is above par for this level of resort; the buffets are well above average, the restaurants are pretty good, but with the expected limited menu. The pool is gorgeous, the rooms are clean and the service is good. The bad: the beach sucks. The resort is built on a mangrove swamp, with trucked-in sand that currently is mostly washed away with sandbags shoring up the edge. The "swim area" is roped off, knee-to-thigh deep and floored with irregular loose rock. If you swim outside it the salvavidas will blow their whistles till you come back to be chastised. Although they advertise "free internet" you are limited to a single device per room of slower-than-3g connection, though you can pay extra for "high-speed internet". While we were there, the week of new year's, the reservation-only restaurants were booked so quickly that there was little choice. For a Eurocentric resort it was amazing there is no dance club... Bonus: cute packs of coatis roam around. Fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vlad from Michigan
Business
Michigan
Jan 10, 2014

Serious health issue

Everything would be great with this place if they would not consider to use their mosquito repellent chemicals one day without warning their guests. The compound is notorious for having a strong odor, an oily feel — and an ability to melt plastic! The pipe was under our porch (it was the first floor corner room) so it went straight into the room and looked and smell like after fire at the gas station! We were not able to open the door because it was first floor room and the smoke was still coming from under the foundation. We called several times to the guest service but all we got was that they sprayed our room (again!) with other chemicals to eliminate an odor. The weather wasn't great - rainy and cold - so we just spent our last two days (!) in the lobby or in the restaurant and slept with the outside door open (as we were recommended...) My wife cried - because we felt helpless and because the odor was so strong that tears were coming anyways...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French restaurant

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lara B
Business
Atlanta,GA
Oct 24, 2013

good vacation

Very good buildings and very clean rooms.Food is good . Perfect for family vacation .Only not a lot of entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jill K
Business
Lansing, Michigan
Sep 16, 2013

Very Nice Place for Short Stay

Very Safe/Gated, Beautiful and Clean, Great Food, Great Service Overall BUT..... The rooms are very hot and humid making it a little diff to sleep. We adjusted our fan to the highest setting and it was still hot in the room and they would not help us to change it and acted a little annoyed at us for asking. If it is not nice enough to lay by the beach or pool then there is Not much to do at all. There is a nightly stage show in the bar area (some were good/some mediocre) other than that there is 1 ping pong, 1 air hockey, and 1 pool table for a resort w over 900 rooms. We were therefor a week during a somewhat rainy season so it was a really good thing we scheduled 2 excursions. However, if you don't schedule your excursions through Blue Bay (like we didn't) then they will not shuttle you down to the main gate to meet your ride and they will not let your tour bus come inside the gated area to pick you up. It was about a mile or so to walk from the main gate to the front door of the resort so we paid a taxi to take us down there and back each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sergio super dad
Business
Miami, Florida
Sep 4, 2013

Great place to relax and have a great vacation

It is an extraordinary hotel. The staff is very friendly, food is great even at the buffets. The pool is awesome. The only thing not so great is the beach at this hotel. The sea water color is not blue or green as it is in Cancun and playa del Carmen. It is very close to 3 rivers which produce this effect on the water, even though the water of the rivers is crystalline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reserve a day in advance for the fancy restaurants at the hotel. They have great food.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carvel
Business
Danville, Pa.
Aug 12, 2013

This resort is fine for families

Service other than check-in was very good for the most part. The beach is not the best, nor the swimming area in the sea. The beach area is the area where we spend the most time, and this area was disappointing. Water is murky, not real clear. Pool area is nice. Food was surprisingly good for the cost of the resort. Grounds and buildings were well cared for. Area for entertainment was hot and smoky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

This is a large resort with some shuttle service to get you around, but it's often not running frequently enough to take advantage of it when going to the restaurants or pool or beach areas.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MaryfromCleveland
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 17, 2013

Don't Go!

Bugs on the walls. Bugs on the curtains. Bugs in our bed. We are-thankfully-all home safely after a horrible girls week at Blue Bay. The buildings were not air conditioned cool enough to be comfortable (sweat dripping down our faces during dinners). The beach was a bit dirty. When we arrived exhausted after a long trip our room was not ready. Our first room was adjacent to a major construction project, and we asked to move immediately. Our second room was not cleaned so we moved to a third location in another building. When I complained about the disorganized, unpleasant arrival experience, no one showed concern. We were told that the resort reserves a block of rooms for online travel sites in the far back corner of the grounds (far from food, far from the beach, far from the main pool, and extremely easy to get lost!). When we were asked to change rooms for a fourth time on the second day of our trip, the room was filled with bugs. Even though we bought a $25 can of bug spray spraying our bodies along with every inch of the hotel room, we are home in Cleveland with itchy purple welts from the swarms of bugs throughout the resort, in our hotel room, and on our pillows. If you decide to go to Blue Bay, sleep with your mouth closed. I recommend staying out of this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find another hotel, please!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Rihanna
Business
Orlando, Fl
Jul 9, 2013

Six Days in Paradise

We (my husband and I) just returned from our vacation in Riveria Maya and enjoyed our trip. There were a few minor issues such as the mosquitos due to the resort surrounded by a mangrove, the full size double beds, the significant walk between some of the buildings and no top-shelf/brand liquor. Overall it was a very relaxing trip. When we first arrived the hotel staff at the front desk was cordial but baggage staff was not accommodating. After getting settled in we were located in building 4 which was a great location to the main pool with daily activities, the beach, the swing bar and restaurant ( which had a breakfast & lunch buffet during the day and seafood & steak restaurant in the evening). We spent most of our time in the pool due to the friendly staff & activities. The beach was shallow with a lot of seaweed which wasn't the best for swimming or wading. The resort also offered daily nightlife which included a differenr show every night and several bars open until 1am. We also spent one day at the spa which was a great way to relax. The spa contained several different water massage areas and giant beds to relax in afterwards. Overall it was a great resort with some minor inconveniences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Request to stay in building 4 or 5. It's in close location to the main pool, beach, bar and restaurant.

Back to menu Return to top