Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
324 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (324)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
324 out of 324
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roadsunknown
Business
Denver
Jun 29, 2013

Just as Expected

Our stay was just as expected. Nothing more, nothing less. I think this is the key. For the price, we received great value. If we'd payed more, we'd be a little disappointed in a few things, mainly the food. While the food was decent to good, nothing was "exceptional". Of the a la carte restaurants, the French was the best of the three we tried (French, Seafood, Steakhouse). French: the plates were small, but filling, garnished well, and super friendly server. Seafood: Wife's fish tacos were good but nothing to call home about. My steak was, well, don't order the steak. Seems obvious, but it all comes out of the same kitchen more or less and I was burnt out on seafood. Steakhouse: Decent, plenty of food, but cooked uneven, not top quality meat. Did not expect anything more, but you should know to set your own expectations. Buffet: Closes at 11am so FYI for late sleepers and no food is available again until 12 noon. Otherwise, it was a buffet, good selection, but if you eat it for every meal you'll get bored. My favorite parts? Unlimited guacamole and the customary breakfast "egg bar". Drinks: Don't expect to find your premium top shelf labels, but its not all local generics either. There are a handful of imports, Svedka vodka was my go to. J&B is the best whiskey I think they had. Tequilla, well, its Mexico so its decent but its not Don Julio. The hotel staff were mostly friendly and hardworking. Pool wasn't crazy busy like I've heard stories about. We always found a pair of chairs together in a good location - by the bar. No bar in the pool, but they have a few staff running around taking orders (just don't count on timeliness, order double). Or just go up to the bar yourself. Beach is how all the other reviewers put it. Its there, its nice, its built with sandbags, its not big. We are pool people so we didn't care if it wasn't the prettiest thing down there. Want to find a picturesque beach? Stroll north out of the resort to the Tres Rios Resort until you find the rivers. Sweet spot and clear waters. Mexico beaches are all technically public. Bottom line, we relaxed. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeekingRelaxation
Business
New Jerey
Jun 28, 2013

In Need of Relaxation

Very pleasant staff that go above and beyond to greet you and make your trip enjoyable. Pool area used more than the beach. Enjoyable games during day to take part in or just watch. Could use more than 1 choice of a draft beer, and cooled cups to make it stay cold. Not a fan of hand rinsed, still soapy plastic glasses to drink out of. No night life, the beach party was not a typical beach party. Overall relaxing and a good time had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to town, Playa del Carmen - must go

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris carmona
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
Jun 25, 2013

Good price for good time

The cost for this vacations was really low and I got a really good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carina K
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 17, 2013

Overall good stay

I ended up giving this hotel a 3 out of 5 star mainly due to location. The resort itself was great! Food was delicious at the a la carte restaurants and the buffet was pretty good. If you eat there every day 3x a day, it can get a little old, so we made sure we always booked an a la carte restaurant each evening. The resort cleanliness and facilities was really impressive. It's a larger resort and we always saw staff cleaning on the grounds. The negatives were the beach and the mosquitos. The beach had quite a bit of seaweed on it and water was not the crystal blue water that we saw when we traveled to the town of Playa del Carmen. The staff attributed this to the fact that it was "red tide" currently and the ocean was cleansing itself; however, not sure why only a certain section of the ocean would be cleansing itself. Playa del Carmen is only 20 minutes away and the beach there looked great. Due to the fact that the resort is eco-friendly, they have several untouched natural jungle areas on the grounds. In these natural grounds there are cenotes (natural spring water that comes up to surface level) which can cause an unpleasant odor. This is also a breeding ground for mosquitos. I have not had that many mosquito bites since I visited Mississippi a few years back. I counted 16 bites just on one leg. We brought OFF spray with us and I'm not sure if the mosquitos are now immune to that stuff, but I was still eaten alive. Overall though, we had a nice time. The pools made up for the beach. The mosquitos were hard to ignore, but we still managed to have fun and were careful not to walk past cenote areas after dusk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Every Saturday there are a bunch of vendors that set up booths at the resort and sell trinkets. The prices they charge are pretty high. Head to Playa del Carmen, which is a 20 minute shuttle drive, and just shop there for the day. It will save you money in the long run.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wrstanton
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 17, 2013

Would have been 4 stars if...

For the most part, the trip was really enjoyable. I had 3 other couples come with myself and my girlfriend. The first day there, I had 4 different phone calls to my room that ended up being solicitation phone calls from the sales dept. 4 IN A ROW OVER 1.5 HOURS. So, that was annoying. We also hassled several times at the pool for "water sport activities". I understand those guys have a job to do, and I'm accustomed to being approached about time shares and what have you, but this was really excessive. I would have unplugged my phone in the room but I'm there with friends so I didn't since we needed to call each other to communicate from time to time. The restaurants were fairly good, not great, but good. The first night there, the restaurant for the Seafood theme was so hot, no AC, and the manager was frankly uninviting. So that wasn't a great experience. I upgraded and paid $25 for a ribeye at the Steakhouse theme, that turned out to be smaller than the one that was free (all inclusive). That was frustrating of course. I'd say the resort itself is pretty nice, the location is good, but with the place being built on a lagoon/swamp area, the beach is not really the experience you may be looking for. Most of the staff members seemed to be attentive, but there were certainly ones who didn't seem like they cared to be there. Overall, not a bad vacation, but I'd probably stay somewhere else next time. I would call it a 3 star not quite a 4 star despite the fact that the place looks like it could be a 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Make reservations for the "Themed" restaurants 24 hours in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shauneresa
Business
Montreal, QC
May 23, 2013

Excellent Vacation

We went as a family for 9 days and had a blast. The resort is beautiful, the staff friendly, the food is AMAZING. The only major downfall of this resort is the beach, It's not great and on some days it's downright awful. A small walk down the beach and that problem is solved. You can walk to the Laguna ( not part of the resort and about a 10minute walk) where the water is amazing. However, if you don't mind, the pool is HUGE and finding lounge chairs was super easy, sun or shade, there was almost always enough chairs for us. Overall we all had a blast! I would definitely recommend this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk 10-15 minutes to the laguna and enjoy the amazing water!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShirlyGirl98
Business
Brooklyn, New York
May 23, 2013

Viva Mexico

Great experience, although I will say the paper thin walls left a lot t to be desired. Security knocked on our door because our neighbor complained that our tv was too loud, although security said they could not hear it from the outside. With that said, the room was clean and was cleaned daily. If you are looking for night life, you will need to venture in to Cancun, 25 mins away via taxi. The resort is child friendly and attentive. A great resort for the money, friendly staff although the timeshare and vacation hawks did get in the way a little. Overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If your looking to buy booze, on the trip to Playa Del Carmen stop by Wal-Mart, yes Wal-Mart...the booze was significantly cheaper there than at the Playa Del Carmen strip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJHappyFamily
Business
New York
May 23, 2013

Needs improvement

The first day was horrible as our room (3107) was not clean, AC unit was broken, bathtub drain did not work, and mosquitos lived in it. We could not stay in the room the first night and stayed in our friend's room as my 11 month old was getting attacked by mosquitos. After giving us a hard time, the front desk finally changed our room to building 7 and it was better. The restaurants were good and food was delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pools are nice but the beach is filled with seaweed and the water is rough. Overall, the resort needs a facelift and can improve. The y should not give out room 3107 to any guests!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The French restaurant was the best out of all the other restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patti and Ted
Business
Michigan
May 19, 2013

Amazing get away

Husband and I totally enjoyed our stay . The swim up suite was completely worth it. The food was great. The whole resort was very well maintained . Met wonderfully friendly staff and other guests . Everything is no problem. Didn't get a bath robe when I requested one they said those are for resort members only . So if you usually wear one you should bring yours from home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Ok playa del Carmen is fun the resort has a shuttle that goes there every couple of hours use it for this destination it's $5 pp each way we paid 20 dollars round trip. Cab is 40. Round trip. Also the gifts at resort store are a good going rate with no bartering and relaxed atmosphere FYI I'd ask for the 10% discount when u spend 50 dollars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shashasha travel
Business
mexico
May 12, 2013

great hotel, but the staff not

great location, the room was clean and full confort, the food was enought good but the staff is not friendly and in a bad mood, but in general the hotel is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top