$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
367 out of 367
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nuncio
Business
Mexico City
Sep 7, 2012

Great value for your money

The hotel is built in the middle of natural manglars, beautiful place, good food and service. Rooms are average but nice. Nice dinner options but need reservations 1 day in advance. The beach is not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserve early to get better time options.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Decan
Business
Michigan
Nov 12, 2012

Blue Bay review

Upon our arrival I noticed how manicured the grounds were. Perfect. The hotel was picture perfect upon arrival. When we arrived in our room there was mold in the bathroom and ants all over the counter. I called and they changed our room within the hours to a much nicer room with a better location for us. The staff couldnt be nicer or more concerned with our satisfaction. My biggest complaint is that the supervisors pushing the purchace plans were rude. We went for vacation, not to be bombarded with sales we wernt interested in. This was our first vacation in 24 years so it was special to us. We almost wouldnt come back just because of the pushing of the resort sales. If people are interested, they will ask. The food was just OK. Nothing special and not much variety. One night we didnt even eat dinner because there wasnt anything on the buffet that we liked. And, cant get reservations most of the time at the other resturants. But over all, not bad. Hats off to the staff. We did notice however that one resturant was closed at night and it was supposed to be open, and, that the resort had two building closed along with the snack bar and pool in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont waste your time or money going into town for shopping. Not much savings and its all the same thing. T-shirt shops. Very run down also.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Good Time Charlies
Business
San Antonio
Dec 20, 2012

Good for the money

Weather was great!! Hotel was ok but the beach was not great! Had to walk down a bit to find clear water :( Getting a reservation at the a la carte was not easy and the restaurants were not full?? The Asian restaurant was not very good but we had a blast at the Italian restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Coco Bongo

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nickej
Business
Wisco
Jan 13, 2013

Price was right, but wasn't special

This was my first time in Mexico, so I have little to compare it to. The resort is very spread out and to get from our room to the beach was a good 7 minute walk. The beach itself is sub-par with limited seating and not very clear water. This lead us to spend most of our time at the main pool just off the beach. The staff here was great! Very friendly and interactive with the guests. The food was sometimes very good, but mostly just average. The night life on the resort was poor. The hotel shows weren't very good. The "Sports Bar" was boring, with no music and no atmosphere. The beach bar was open from 11pm to 1 am and had better music, but also was typically slow. You have to leave the resort to find an active night life. For the price we paid I think this was a good hotel. Nothing special, but for laying around the pool, enjoying the weather, and having some drinks; it did the trick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthday Parties
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jan 21, 2013

Value for price ( Travel dates Jan 15 thru Jan 20)

My wife and I paid $1750 total for 5 days with flight from Minneapolis, Minnesota. We booked last minute with another couple, and had a blast. Airport/Travel - Recomend buying the round trip to and from hotel for $67 each. You won't find better deals and this is very easy. Arrival at Resort - Our bags were taken from the shuttle and we were given a ticket while we checked in. Check in went smooth and they let us in early which was nice. They also have carts for transportation around the resort which comes in handy. Room - The room is very typical to most resorts I have stayed at. Refrigerator with beer, soda and water. Safe large enough to hold a large laptop along wih many other items. Bathroom appeared as though it could have used a deep clean in the grout areas but not bad at all. Pools - nice that we were always able to get a beach chair for the four of us together anytime. Pool was a bit chilly but why would they heat a pool in Mexico? It was a little chilly when we travelled which was unusual. Beach - Nothing special here, water was a little dirty looking but it was still nice to be able to sit next to the ocean. You can also walk the beach for miles and see the outsides of other resorts which was fun. Food - Buffets were decent, really the same food each day with a couple changes here and there. Always have the ability to get lots of Mexican food as well as a burger and fries each day if you don't care for international cuisine. We made reservations each night for the private restaurants which is part of your prepaid price. Would highly recommend each morning getting up going to the concierge and making reservations or try a night out on 5 th avenue in downtown Playa. Bars - always willing to make drinks and never to busy. Always use the brand name of the liquor you want or you will end up with cheap rail. Beer was cold and refreshing, my wife enjoyed the ice beers which had a little blended margarita on top. The sports bar at night had shows for entertainment, Michael Jackson show was very entertaining! Excursions - we didn't do any so I can't comment. We did a couple trips into Playa, during the day we did a little shopping but the stores are really all the same junk stores in my opinion. At night we walked until we found a restaurant we liked and sat down. Food was good and service was awesome. Two of us were celebrating Birthdays and each place we stopped gave us a couple shots of tequila for free which was awesome, but we dd also sit down and have a few beers at each spot as well. Overall - I think the value equals the price paid. Don't expect a four or five star resort because this is not it but still nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Always make reservations for dinner at night. This helps changing up your meals during the week from just buffets.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
whiteboygoestomexico
Business
New England
Mar 4, 2013

Good and Bad

Some rooms/building are updated with LCDs and new bathrooms, while others need a lot of TLC. Building 1's walls seem paper thin and noise is definitely an issue. Rooms overall need to be refurbished or repaired (in keeping with the luxury hotel feel), but the bed is comfortable. Food is hit or miss, but cleanliness seems to be taken fairly seriously. No family members got sick on our trip, nor did I hear any horror stories from others. The Staff is AMAZING (with the exception of the front desk), and will truly make you feel welcome. If you tire of the hotel's many amenities, day trips to Cozumel, Tulum, or Isla Mujures are cheap and well worth your time. The grounds are spectacular and well-maintained -- just wish the same was true of the hotel rooms. I'm still convinced this is better than 75% of the options in Riviera Maya, especially re: value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The French Restaurant is by far the best.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JSmoz
Business
Edmonton, Alberta
Mar 11, 2013

Good not Great

Great staff, excellent food ( in the buffet) the a la cartes left a lot to be desired. Our biggest complaint was the lack of entertainment after dinner, with no disco and a beach party that had a DJ who didnt want to be there and it showed. There was no place but the stinky sweaty sports bar that was understaffed due to the large numbers of guests that were forced to gather here for lack of anywhere to go. Other than that it was excellent. Easy to find chairs by the pool or beach on the busiest of days. Staff seemed to really care (with the exception of the DJ) Buffets were always good and never much of a wait. Sometimes a little difficult to get a drink but only when it was really busy. Great trip overall, can't say I would return to this hotel. Location for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you are looking to stay up late, have a few drinks, dance or hang out..... keep looking. This hotel is perfect for people who want to head back to their room after dinner.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kimberly from Willis
Business
Riviera Maya Mexico
Mar 25, 2013

Burnt to a crisp

The room was comfy, except for the mosquitos. The food was good. The opening show was cheesy, but food was good. Be prepared to sit with people who don't speak English. The resort was too spread out, requiring a lot of walking. The shuttles were always going the opposite way we were. Would recommend it for the price we paid. We got a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The snorkeling excursion by catamaran was fun, but not exactly as described.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shashasha travel
Business
mexico
May 12, 2013

great hotel, but the staff not

great location, the room was clean and full confort, the food was enought good but the staff is not friendly and in a bad mood, but in general the hotel is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shashasha travel
Business
mexico
May 12, 2013

great location

great hotel whit a good location, nice rooms and very clean but the staff is not friendly, even the hotel was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top