$233 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mirela G
Business
Canada
May 29, 2014

Great resort / Poor Customer Service

After almost one hour of waiting in line, for check in, we’ve noticed that we were not given all the cards that we needed and had to go back to reception to wait at least for another 15 minutes to finally get the towel cards and the 2nd key. Customer service seemed not to be ready or interested in providing prompt and efficient services to over 30 tourists arriving at that time. We were disappointed on the people at reception, that supposed to be competent enough and helpful, was like they were doing us a favour, rather than providing a paid service. However the other staffs at this resort was generally very nice & helpful. Great food, excellent location. The a la carte Italian and French was superb. The bar staff was very busy, yet very efficient; Housekeeping was very slow, most days our room was not made up until after 4 PM. Note: All the phone calls are going through customer service and even for the Toll Free they will ask you $3 for connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoonersfrom TN
Business
Nashville, TN
May 21, 2014

Honeymoon

The resort itself was nice, the pool was beautiful, and the restaurants were nice. The food did get a little repetitive with our week stay. The rooms were cleaned daily, but the bedding and linens were DIRTY...hair, lint, dirt. I had to have my sheets changed twice after my room was already clean. Would not go back for that sole reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lejla
Business
Chicago
May 20, 2014

Family vacation

Beautiful place, I will recommend this hotel specially with kids

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jarry.S
Business
Michigan
May 1, 2014

There should be a lot improved

Rooms on the first floor had ants and spiders. The employees were very polite and handworker , except the front desk that was the worst unit. Receptionists had no more right to solve problems that tourists have. For everything they need to ask someone else in a room adjacent to the reception. They only give absurd answers like their job was to lie customer. The food was very good, and all the restaurants were clean. I think the rooms need update. Only restaurants are for 4 stars. The rest of the service is for 2 star. The location is good but just for people that need to use poll. This is not for people that going to use ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
8 kids is enough
Business
Lakeview, Oregon
Apr 28, 2014

Great Getaway

The resort was nice, and clean. The reef off the beach was big and shallow, great for snorkeling. The food was good and there was a great selection at the buffets. Night life was fun at the sport bar and swing bar at the beach. The pools were very nice and clean with fun activities. The location wasn't bad for outside activities, with many options available. Explor was a short, 1 hour trip. Playa De Carmen was a Quick taxi ride from the resort. The drinks were a little weak, but tastey. If I were to do it again, I would take pesos for the taxi rides. Exchange rate was 13 per dollar, But taxi's are 10 per dollar? All-in-all, a great resort. I would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Explor is a must do if you like adventure. Zip lines, utvs, tunnel swimming. A great day trip! We went to the Mayan ruils at Cobo. Kind of a long shuttle ride, but beautiful and Quite interesting. Take the bike taxi's out to the temple, or you won't have time to see it all (2 people per taxi for $14.) Well worth it! Be sure to tip your driver. Some of the nicest people I have met.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheHolden's
Business
Fleetwood, NC
Apr 25, 2014

Great Resort but....

Great resort, but some of the staff are not too friendly. The front desk was busy when we arrived and one gentleman was very rude to myself and my wife. Very long wait to get to the room, but the room was wonderful. The assistant manager was not very helpful but the resort itself is amazing. Food is good depending on the restaurant you choose, we enjoyed the French and the Italian. Overall great place, everyone has their bad days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must see Cozumel. When you take the ferry across, rent scooters and see the entire island. Make sure you go to Coconuts on the leeward side of the island. Great adventure, visit the fertility Mayan ruin.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winston22
Business
Texas
Mar 28, 2014

Just OK

Sandy beach was nice but not the nice clear water we were hoping for. Shows were not great. We stopped going after the third night. No nice lobby bar! Although we really enjoyed our suite, my husband cut his foot almost immediately after stepping in our swim up pool on a broken tile. We tried to see the Dr. but she was busy and suggested the staff may have bandages. They were kind but did not have anything that would hold the large cut tightly closed. A kind gentleman on the beach had just the right strong tape for us. We only swam in our swim up pool a few more times after that with our sandals on....:(. The Mosquitos were terrible and the food, although edible, just nothing really great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travis Anderson
Business
St Paul, Minnesota
Mar 26, 2014

We love vacation

Nothing bad to say; great pool, tons of food options, top shelf liqueur, what more could we have asked for? The beach was nice too, we walked south each day we'll over a mile along the shoreline - lived that. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Toronto dad
Business
Toronto, Canada
Mar 18, 2014

Great value for the price

Nice hotel with good pools and good food. The staff were very friendly and we didn't care that the activities were minimal. The beach is just fine with white sand but the water is not the crystal blue of other resorts. Been to many resorts and for the money, this one ranks high. Our teenagers met many people and love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the time to drive into Playa del Carmen. Its worthy of at least one visit - especially in the evening.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erin and George
Business
Manchester, NH
Mar 6, 2014

fantastic getaway!

Only complain is that there should be an adults only pool and the drinks were very weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top