$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
321 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (321)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weegee
Business
Santa Fe
Jan 10, 2014

Average resort, pathetic beach, good food

First, the good: the cooking is above par for this level of resort; the buffets are well above average, the restaurants are pretty good, but with the expected limited menu. The pool is gorgeous, the rooms are clean and the service is good. The bad: the beach sucks. The resort is built on a mangrove swamp, with trucked-in sand that currently is mostly washed away with sandbags shoring up the edge. The "swim area" is roped off, knee-to-thigh deep and floored with irregular loose rock. If you swim outside it the salvavidas will blow their whistles till you come back to be chastised. Although they advertise "free internet" you are limited to a single device per room of slower-than-3g connection, though you can pay extra for "high-speed internet". While we were there, the week of new year's, the reservation-only restaurants were booked so quickly that there was little choice. For a Eurocentric resort it was amazing there is no dance club... Bonus: cute packs of coatis roam around. Fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vlad from Michigan
Business
Michigan
Jan 10, 2014

Serious health issue

Everything would be great with this place if they would not consider to use their mosquito repellent chemicals one day without warning their guests. The compound is notorious for having a strong odor, an oily feel — and an ability to melt plastic! The pipe was under our porch (it was the first floor corner room) so it went straight into the room and looked and smell like after fire at the gas station! We were not able to open the door because it was first floor room and the smoke was still coming from under the foundation. We called several times to the guest service but all we got was that they sprayed our room (again!) with other chemicals to eliminate an odor. The weather wasn't great - rainy and cold - so we just spent our last two days (!) in the lobby or in the restaurant and slept with the outside door open (as we were recommended...) My wife cried - because we felt helpless and because the odor was so strong that tears were coming anyways...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lara B
Business
Atlanta,GA
Oct 24, 2013

good vacation

Very good buildings and very clean rooms.Food is good . Perfect for family vacation .Only not a lot of entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jill K
Business
Lansing, Michigan
Sep 16, 2013

Very Nice Place for Short Stay

Very Safe/Gated, Beautiful and Clean, Great Food, Great Service Overall BUT..... The rooms are very hot and humid making it a little diff to sleep. We adjusted our fan to the highest setting and it was still hot in the room and they would not help us to change it and acted a little annoyed at us for asking. If it is not nice enough to lay by the beach or pool then there is Not much to do at all. There is a nightly stage show in the bar area (some were good/some mediocre) other than that there is 1 ping pong, 1 air hockey, and 1 pool table for a resort w over 900 rooms. We were therefor a week during a somewhat rainy season so it was a really good thing we scheduled 2 excursions. However, if you don't schedule your excursions through Blue Bay (like we didn't) then they will not shuttle you down to the main gate to meet your ride and they will not let your tour bus come inside the gated area to pick you up. It was about a mile or so to walk from the main gate to the front door of the resort so we paid a taxi to take us down there and back each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sergio super dad
Business
Miami, Florida
Sep 4, 2013

Great place to relax and have a great vacation

It is an extraordinary hotel. The staff is very friendly, food is great even at the buffets. The pool is awesome. The only thing not so great is the beach at this hotel. The sea water color is not blue or green as it is in Cancun and playa del Carmen. It is very close to 3 rivers which produce this effect on the water, even though the water of the rivers is crystalline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reserve a day in advance for the fancy restaurants at the hotel. They have great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carvel
Business
Danville, Pa.
Aug 12, 2013

This resort is fine for families

Service other than check-in was very good for the most part. The beach is not the best, nor the swimming area in the sea. The beach area is the area where we spend the most time, and this area was disappointing. Water is murky, not real clear. Pool area is nice. Food was surprisingly good for the cost of the resort. Grounds and buildings were well cared for. Area for entertainment was hot and smoky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

This is a large resort with some shuttle service to get you around, but it's often not running frequently enough to take advantage of it when going to the restaurants or pool or beach areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MaryfromCleveland
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 17, 2013

Don't Go!

Bugs on the walls. Bugs on the curtains. Bugs in our bed. We are-thankfully-all home safely after a horrible girls week at Blue Bay. The buildings were not air conditioned cool enough to be comfortable (sweat dripping down our faces during dinners). The beach was a bit dirty. When we arrived exhausted after a long trip our room was not ready. Our first room was adjacent to a major construction project, and we asked to move immediately. Our second room was not cleaned so we moved to a third location in another building. When I complained about the disorganized, unpleasant arrival experience, no one showed concern. We were told that the resort reserves a block of rooms for online travel sites in the far back corner of the grounds (far from food, far from the beach, far from the main pool, and extremely easy to get lost!). When we were asked to change rooms for a fourth time on the second day of our trip, the room was filled with bugs. Even though we bought a $25 can of bug spray spraying our bodies along with every inch of the hotel room, we are home in Cleveland with itchy purple welts from the swarms of bugs throughout the resort, in our hotel room, and on our pillows. If you decide to go to Blue Bay, sleep with your mouth closed. I recommend staying out of this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find another hotel, please!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Rihanna
Business
Orlando, Fl
Jul 9, 2013

Six Days in Paradise

We (my husband and I) just returned from our vacation in Riveria Maya and enjoyed our trip. There were a few minor issues such as the mosquitos due to the resort surrounded by a mangrove, the full size double beds, the significant walk between some of the buildings and no top-shelf/brand liquor. Overall it was a very relaxing trip. When we first arrived the hotel staff at the front desk was cordial but baggage staff was not accommodating. After getting settled in we were located in building 4 which was a great location to the main pool with daily activities, the beach, the swing bar and restaurant ( which had a breakfast & lunch buffet during the day and seafood & steak restaurant in the evening). We spent most of our time in the pool due to the friendly staff & activities. The beach was shallow with a lot of seaweed which wasn't the best for swimming or wading. The resort also offered daily nightlife which included a differenr show every night and several bars open until 1am. We also spent one day at the spa which was a great way to relax. The spa contained several different water massage areas and giant beds to relax in afterwards. Overall it was a great resort with some minor inconveniences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Request to stay in building 4 or 5. It's in close location to the main pool, beach, bar and restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roadsunknown
Business
Denver
Jun 29, 2013

Just as Expected

Our stay was just as expected. Nothing more, nothing less. I think this is the key. For the price, we received great value. If we'd payed more, we'd be a little disappointed in a few things, mainly the food. While the food was decent to good, nothing was "exceptional". Of the a la carte restaurants, the French was the best of the three we tried (French, Seafood, Steakhouse). French: the plates were small, but filling, garnished well, and super friendly server. Seafood: Wife's fish tacos were good but nothing to call home about. My steak was, well, don't order the steak. Seems obvious, but it all comes out of the same kitchen more or less and I was burnt out on seafood. Steakhouse: Decent, plenty of food, but cooked uneven, not top quality meat. Did not expect anything more, but you should know to set your own expectations. Buffet: Closes at 11am so FYI for late sleepers and no food is available again until 12 noon. Otherwise, it was a buffet, good selection, but if you eat it for every meal you'll get bored. My favorite parts? Unlimited guacamole and the customary breakfast "egg bar". Drinks: Don't expect to find your premium top shelf labels, but its not all local generics either. There are a handful of imports, Svedka vodka was my go to. J&B is the best whiskey I think they had. Tequilla, well, its Mexico so its decent but its not Don Julio. The hotel staff were mostly friendly and hardworking. Pool wasn't crazy busy like I've heard stories about. We always found a pair of chairs together in a good location - by the bar. No bar in the pool, but they have a few staff running around taking orders (just don't count on timeliness, order double). Or just go up to the bar yourself. Beach is how all the other reviewers put it. Its there, its nice, its built with sandbags, its not big. We are pool people so we didn't care if it wasn't the prettiest thing down there. Want to find a picturesque beach? Stroll north out of the resort to the Tres Rios Resort until you find the rivers. Sweet spot and clear waters. Mexico beaches are all technically public. Bottom line, we relaxed. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeekingRelaxation
Business
New Jerey
Jun 28, 2013

In Need of Relaxation

Very pleasant staff that go above and beyond to greet you and make your trip enjoyable. Pool area used more than the beach. Enjoyable games during day to take part in or just watch. Could use more than 1 choice of a draft beer, and cooled cups to make it stay cold. Not a fan of hand rinsed, still soapy plastic glasses to drink out of. No night life, the beach party was not a typical beach party. Overall relaxing and a good time had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to town, Playa del Carmen - must go

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top