$233 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr. Pink
Couples
Ft. lauderdale FL
Nov 3, 2009

Be prepared to be disapointed!

The room was filthy and smelled. Room 2 clean but smelled musty. Spoke to manager, very unhelpful said that there was nothing he could do [...] Upsold us on room with Ocean view. Room had little to no view of ocean, had a great view of mangrove. They say they have 5 resturants. Its only 2 per night. And you can't get a reservation. After we were about to leave the manager made reservations for us. Resturants were good but hardly full. Food was good but servers acted like we were bothering them. Great service in buffet. Poor in Dining room. Entertainment was low budget. If you like spanish TV...it was alot like that. The pool and grounds are beautiful just like pictures. Bartenders very friendly. Over all I give it 2 stars out of 5. Or rate it a 6 out of 10 over all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

book ahead of arival.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Polep
Couples
Mexico City
Jun 25, 2014

Terrible service

From day one, the service was terriible. The restaurants were full, cups at the bar were dirty. Not one member of the staff tried to help in providing more informstion about services included. You can hear everything from your room, which made it very difficult to rest and sleep. The cleaning lady would knock on your door every morning and make a lot of noise with the cart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del carmen offers better meals and services neraby

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fredstein frank's brother
Family
NY
Jul 7, 2014

happy to now be home

The concept is nice of all inclusive but it did not cut it. On checkin I was told to return the next day to get my second room key for apparently there was a shortage. The shortage was noted at all restaurants where the staff was lovely but stretched to the limit so waiting for water took forever. The shortage was also noted with insufficient room towels. The worst was in my family of 4, 3 had severe diarrhea as well as many friends who traveled with us. Take immodium with you if you visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MMFF
Family
Ohio
Aug 7, 2014

Not good

Room was poor and front desk not helpful. Pool and beach crowded. Walk is 5-10 min to beach from non VIP buildings. Food is good but most areas not air conditioned. Staff in restaurants very nice. Evening shows not great and space is very hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

French restaurant is great

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weegee
Couples
Santa Fe
Jan 10, 2014

Average resort, pathetic beach, good food

First, the good: the cooking is above par for this level of resort; the buffets are well above average, the restaurants are pretty good, but with the expected limited menu. The pool is gorgeous, the rooms are clean and the service is good. The bad: the beach sucks. The resort is built on a mangrove swamp, with trucked-in sand that currently is mostly washed away with sandbags shoring up the edge. The "swim area" is roped off, knee-to-thigh deep and floored with irregular loose rock. If you swim outside it the salvavidas will blow their whistles till you come back to be chastised. Although they advertise "free internet" you are limited to a single device per room of slower-than-3g connection, though you can pay extra for "high-speed internet". While we were there, the week of new year's, the reservation-only restaurants were booked so quickly that there was little choice. For a Eurocentric resort it was amazing there is no dance club... Bonus: cute packs of coatis roam around. Fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrsmulls
Couples
Michigan
Feb 20, 2014

Could have been better could have been worse

I rate this hotel average. Had many problems with the room ants and water leaking notified the front desk and nothing was ever done to resolve issues. Food was good in buffets we were pleasantly surprised. Servers were extremely friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Explor park was amazing extremely fun day!! Gray value for your money and endless adventures through out the day.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winston22
Couples
Texas
Mar 28, 2014

Just OK

Sandy beach was nice but not the nice clear water we were hoping for. Shows were not great. We stopped going after the third night. No nice lobby bar! Although we really enjoyed our suite, my husband cut his foot almost immediately after stepping in our swim up pool on a broken tile. We tried to see the Dr. but she was busy and suggested the staff may have bandages. They were kind but did not have anything that would hold the large cut tightly closed. A kind gentleman on the beach had just the right strong tape for us. We only swam in our swim up pool a few more times after that with our sandals on....:(. The Mosquitos were terrible and the food, although edible, just nothing really great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Regh
Couples
Canada
Nov 4, 2011

second time in the resort

the first time 2008 was the best,it was not the same this time.All inclusive before with internet and room service.Now my package was all inclusive!! but it was not, the charge for internet 60 dollar for 2 weeks or 6 dollar per hr,Room service 120 pesos each time you call.Because is low season snack bar is closed,swiming pool closed 7pm and only one restaurant open or you have to make reservation.The bed sheets look very old and pillows too, We really like the resort ,no the service this time.the best building is #5 Palenque

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Puerto Morelos ,Tulum,

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mpaula84
Family
Michigan
Nov 8, 2011

Not a 5* more like a 3*

Lets start by saying and letting people know that this had not been the first time to travel, we have been 4 times to Dominican Republic, and 4 times to Mexico, staying at all-inclusive resorts. This resort is not a 5 star resort by any means; it is more like a 3 star. Check in: we had to wait about 1 hour for our rooms to get done, in the mean time we went to the buffet. There were 5 of us traveling with 2 rooms. Rooms: They were going to put us in building 1 but I asked to be moved to building 5 since I heard it was close to the beach and pool and that means less mosquitos (from other reviews we read). They have moved us but our rooms were not close at all. Our room was 5436 with double beds and somewhat had a view of the ocean/pool which we did not ask for. My parents were in room 5405 which they had a king bed and view of the swamp/garden. Rooms were always cleaned/super cleaned and no complains about the rooms. Restaurants/Buffet: We only ate at the Italian, and it was ok, good food but small quantity. Buffet, there is only one opened even if there are 2 buffets at the resort. They had ok food, we were there for 10days so we got tired of the same food, and not too many to choose from. My son 4 years old had a hard time with food, all he ate was eggs, pasta and soups, very limited for kids. You can still find something to eat if you aren't a picky eater. Pools: Water was always cold and that’s probably because out of 10 days, 7 days we had rain. Always clean and had plenty of chairs, but that’s because there weren't many people at the resort. We traveled Oct.25th through Nov.3rd and that’s when hurricane Rina decided to form. Our vacation was ruined by all the rain but that’s not up to us. Also it would have been nice if the resort has a Jacuzzi, many other resorts have them but this one doesn't. Bars: Only 2 bars for the entire resort, swing bar and sports bar. NOOOO swim up bar, which was very disappointing, what resort does not have a swim up bar, really. Resort: Resort in general was very well kept, clean and don't have anything to complain about the resort itself. Staff: No complain, they are nice hard working people that deserve to get tips even if it is an all-inclusive resort. They don't get paid much and they work very hard so tip them. Ocean: Very, very, very disappointing. Sand bags put everywhere, not because of the hurricane, they have these sand bags year round and it ruins the aspect of the beach. Water very murky and lots of rocks, again not a fault of the hurricane that’s just the way it is. This is where this resort gets only a 3 star instead of 5 because of the beach. All in all it was an ok vacation, we got away from Michigan but we could have had a lot better even for the money that we have paid. I would not recommend this resort, find something better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pboisso
Single
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Nov 13, 2011

OK

OK hotel, but no more. Clean, food alright, although you should try to always eat in the restaurants, which are better than the buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Forget about O-rbitz G-rey L-ine airport shuttle, they pick you up almost 5h before your flight. We ended up waiting almost 4h for our flight at the airport. Take a taxi, it's only a couple of buck more (and lot less if you are more than 1 in your party)

Back to menu Return to top