$233 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pamela 2094
Couples
Indialantic, FL, USA
Nov 18, 2012

It was Great as usual!

My husband and I have gone to Blue Bay twice and always at the same time . We have enjoyed it immensely from the staff to our room and of course the food. The moment we enter the lobby we our welcomed by concierge, Yadina, from the VIP check-in. We had arranged to secure the same suite as last year. Which was no problem with the head of the concierges, Jose Luis. Who is not only very professional but friendly and could not do enough for us. Wagner, who is the pool-bar service waiter knew exactly what we drank and always made sure we had a full glass while we were at the pool or beach. Karla, our waitress for breakfast and lunch always greeted us with a smile. I can not say enough for the staff. Please remember even though everything is included, the staff does appreciate tips which is well deserved. Our suite was an ocean view on the third floor of the Coba building. With a separate living room and bedroom plus two bathrooms it was very convenient for us. It was cleaned every day before 10:A.M. per our request . Every night after dinner we would come back to our room to find a snack at the bar and a bottle of wine , champagne or premium liquor. By the end of our stay we had accumulated 10 full bottles as neither of us drink liquor. We have been to secrets and Capri,which is right next door to Blue Bay resort and a few other resorts but none compare to Blue Bay Esmeralda. We will be returning next year for the third time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Catamaran to isla of the Mujeres Staff on the boat were great!!!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy Dandy
Family
Stamford ct
Aug 31, 2014

good experience

We had a very good time. The food was excellent. The cleaning staff was really good as the room was always clean and well-maintained. There were many fun activities which always kept us busy. The shows were ok. The only things that could have been improved were the maintenance of the beach and the bar services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Laguna is a great attraction which is only a five minute walk up the beach. It is worth going up to take pictures and exploring the area.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy Dandy
Family
Stamford ct
Aug 31, 2014

good experience

We had a great time and experience. The dining as well as the room cleaning service were good. The beach and bars could be improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The laguna is something worth seeing and is only a 5 minute walk down the beach.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miles of beach
Single
Atlanta, GA
Aug 23, 2014

Good stay

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel! We stayed in a garden room which was really close to the beach and the pool. The hotel was just the right size and offered plenty to do inside the hotel. While I enjoyed the hotel, I would say watch out for the mosquitoes and def bring bug spray as I often got bitten in my room, even with the air conditioning and ceiling fan on. Food options at the hotel were wonderful and staff were polite and helpful. Spa was really nice! They have different shows each evening which make for good entertainment. They also have a tour and rental car company in the lobby which can help facilitate additional activities if needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are doing an all inclusive package, call in advance to schedule dinner at one of their 5 different restaurants (Mexican, Italian, French, Oriental, and Seafood). This way when you get there the first night, you can have food reservations already set up. The reservations for these places fill up a day in advance. If you don't get a reservation, it is ok as well, you can eat at their general buffet but if you want to eat there, call in advance.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy Mama of 4
Couples
Philadelphia,PA
Aug 14, 2014

get away

We arrived and were greeted by very friendly staff. Jorge at the front desk was amazing. There is no a/c in the lobby and some of the restaurants, but our room was very cool. The spa was amazing and Luisa was so gracious as she showed us around. The resort is very large, so this is not a good spot for the elderly or very young. Requires a lot of walking, and waiting on the trams can take up to 20 minutes. the food is great and, Aurelio at the Mexican restaurant is an amazing waiter. All pools were only4 ft deep, so they were all really hot. Good value but not 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely go to the lagoon, just a short walk up the beach. It's beautiful, and the resorts beach is pitiful.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stuko
Friends
mesa, az
Aug 13, 2014

good fun

Okay but after the shower drain and bathroom drain wouldn't drain for two days, you think they would have fixed it or moved us to another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy your booze off the resort. All drinks are watered down

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MMFF
Family
Ohio
Aug 7, 2014

Not good

Room was poor and front desk not helpful. Pool and beach crowded. Walk is 5-10 min to beach from non VIP buildings. Food is good but most areas not air conditioned. Staff in restaurants very nice. Evening shows not great and space is very hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

French restaurant is great

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taylor Young Traveler
Couples
Atlanta, Georgia
Aug 5, 2014

Beautiful Place But...

Our experience overall was very pleasant. The staff was AMAZING!!! Hands down some of the nicest, most attentive staff I've experienced. The grounds were beautiful and were manicured well. The food was good and so were the pools. There were two drawbacks, though. I came with my boyfriend and the Blue Bay definitely caters more to families. There were no activities on the grounds that catered to people our age ( we're both in our 20s). At times, we were a little bored. But if you just want to get away and relax, this place is PERFECT. The other drawback was the beach. It was murky and there was a TON of sea things (seaweed, sea urchins , rocks, etc) along the shore. Definitely not the picturesque beach I was hoping for. But the pools were nice and plentiful so it wasn't that bad. We stayed in the Emerald Suite with the private pool right off the room and that was amazing. It came with a beautiful breakfast spread delivered by room service, free mini bar and bottles of alcohol (restocked daily), and spa discounts. It was a beautiful room. I'd say it was a great value! PS: DO BRING BUG SPRAY!!!! YOU WILL NEED IT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Youell
Couples
London
Jul 11, 2014

Great facilities, staff not great

I stayed at this hotel years ago when it had not long opened and so was really excited about going back with my partner. Unfortunately it didn't match up to expectations this time round, it got off to a bad start when we arrived and was checked in by Emmanual who was extremely rude. The rooms were as I remembered, clean and to a good standard, and the pool areas were nice, although the pool itself could of done with a bit of a clean lots of bits and pieces floating in the water, the food options are great and the buffet restaurant has a good selection. The hotel has somewhat tired since the last time I went and I think this lets it down, I didn't expect it to be as pristine as it was when it first opened but I also didn't expect it to look as worn out as it did in places. Unfortunately the gym/spa and sports bar had burnt down the weekend before we arrived which affected our stay as well. Finally we unfortunately got checked out by Emmanual who was rude again, obviously took a disliking to us from the moment we arrived for whatever reason. I think majority of the staff could do with some customer service training, we had a bad experience with guest services as well when we reported our AC unit leaking all over the floor, it took 5 phonecalls to guest services, being hung up on twice and in the end an extremely angry visit to concierge to speak to the manager before it was resolved and the water cleaned up. I think this lets the hotel down somewhat. I have to say that Luiza around the pool area was amazing though and we did have some pleasant staff during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Must spend a night out in Playa Del Carmen, lots going on and a great atmosphere, would recommend Blue Parrot.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xoxolauriexoxox
Couples
Wisconsin
Jul 9, 2014

Nice resort

Resort was nice and clean. Had good experience other then the fire but they cleaned it up quick. Great food lots of sun and close to 5th ave only cost $5.00 for transfer to 5th ave(not walking distance much farther then that) beach is taken care of the best they can but not the best water in that area so if you are looking for amazing beach with blue water this is not the right resort for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the beach and when looking at the water walk to the left about 8 mins to crystal clear water and lots of fish in a lagoon.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 8, 2014

Could have been better...

Front-desk associate was rude when I checked in, however all the other staff were friendly. Hotel "shuttle" needs to improve on their availability as it does not run conveniently and some walks are quite far. A la carte dinner service was slow and food took very long to arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top