$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P&N
Business
Celra, Spain
Oct 10, 2010

Great week!

We had a wonderful week at the Blue Bay. The staff is extraordinarily friendly. The mangrove that reaches the beach makes the first few meters of water a little less clear, but once you take that catamaran out and jump off the side, you are in the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. The all-inclusive is truly ALL-inclusive, food, drinks, sailboats and kayaks on the beach... of course there are extras you can pay for, like scuba diving and jetskis, as well as trips out of the hotel. The food was good, and really good in the specialty restaurants for dinner, but make sure to make your reservation as soon as you check in, we almost missed the first night because we thought we could do it later. In any case, great place to take a vacation, we would definitely do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the Rio Secreto tour. It's a walk through an underground river with a guide. They provide wetsuits and watershoes, and it was a very cool experience... btw, the water wasn't as cold as I thought it would be.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Towson, MD
Sep 27, 2010

Awesome Experience

A friend of ours referred us to Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda. After the referral, I read the reviews and was convinced my husband and I needed to check it out for our 1st anniversary and I'm so glad that we did. The resort was gorgeous. The location was beautiful and the staff was great. The staff were very accomodating and made our stay extremely pleasant. It was such a relaxing vacation and we will definitely consider going back to Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda or one of the other Blue Bay locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nepatriot
Business
Dexter, ME
May 24, 2010

Vacation Getaway

The hotel was very nice. Where it is so big, and there were many complexes, they had shuttles to bring you to and from wherever you needed to go. However, they were not always available. When it rained, it was hard to find any shuttle to take you to and fro. Also, where entertainment is concerned, it would have been nice to have either a band or DJ play music so people can dance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You either have to walk a distance or take a shuttle, depending on where you stayed. Bring an umbrella, which the hotel provides, because it can rain in a minutes notice.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 16, 2011

Great resort!

Only complaint is food! Everything else was Great!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 28, 2010

Beware of Blue Bay draconian policy

We had a great time. The food was average. Beware of draconian tour policy that doesn't allow external carriers to pick up in the hotel lobby. Hotel tours cost twice as much! We had a huge argument with the hotel because they cause as to miss our tour, we had to argue with the hotel and the tour company to re-schedule for next day and get a ride to the entrance (about 1 Km).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis,MN
Mar 14, 2011

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

Excellent food! Very clean rooms. Staff very friendly. We mostly hung out at the beach/pool area. Made reservations for a different restaurant on site each day. It's pretty easy to make arrangements to go to other places. We went snorkeling and parasailing and it was great! The only thing I would have wanted different is a little more quiet pool area. There was kind of an ongoing event of 'party/dance' music through out every day. Maybe less pumped beats and more of a Bob Marley music trend may make it easier to relax :) Other than that it was a great first trip to Mexico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura Belle
Business
Marysville Ohio
Mar 7, 2011

Wonderful trip

We had a great time! Not a five star but a wonderful trip for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilyn Best Friend
Business
New York, NY
May 28, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

We were swiming, relaxing on a beach. The service is very good. More entertaiment would make our stay more enjoyable. If they would have casino it would be perfect. I cannot compare to my previous trips because something was better something worse. But all my friends like that resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 22, 2010

Blue Ribon for Blue Bay Esmeralda

Beautiful resort, very modern and chic! The staff is very very friendly. The food is great and abundant!Easy access to drinks/alcohol. We had a great experience with the hotel. The only complaint we have is the beaches are not as pretty considering it's Playa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, Ca
Oct 19, 2010

This place was great.

The rooms were very clean, and everyone was extremely helpful. The service was great. The food was average, they had a big selection, but not the best taste. The entertainment staff by the pool was lots of fun. We had a wonderful time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is away from the city and any other attractions. Great for getting away from it all, but if you want to go in the small city or to any attraction you need to take shuttles and they do not run too often. We rented a car and had no problems getting around.

Back to menu Return to top