$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
443 reviews
almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two... See full review

  • gabopani
  • Jun 3, 2014
family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best See full review

  • RVR TRAVELERS
  • Apr 24, 2013
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
443 out of 443
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chipaquga
Minnesota
Apr 7, 2010

A Value at the Price

The best part was that there was no spring breakers, quiet and relaxed. We were upgraded to a swim up suite which made the stay much more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roberval
quebec
Mar 9, 2012

very good experience

the site is very clean, food is excellent, the staff is friendly, the only default of the hotel is that the sea is not really beautiful, the rest is all very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is about a 10-15 minute taxi ride from the famous 5th Avenue where you can shop, take a good food and of course partying

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mpls, MN
Apr 3, 2010

Nice place to stay

Good food. Never had to wait for lounge chair at pool or beach. Do not go hear if you like to swim in ocean, it does not have a good beach. Do not let the pics of rooms fool you. Not everyone get the "extras" link internet, robs, room service (which cost $10 per time!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CandyBze Mom
Belmopan, Belize
Oct 16, 2012

Relaxing Family Vacation Getaway

It was very relaxing and a wonderful experience ! The food was great and a beautiful view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Saves time and money.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
May 21, 2011

Wonderful Resort

The resort was very nice. Food was very good at the buffet everyday different. The alcart resturants very good. Oh ya drinks ok, didn't always understand what you want. Rooms clean. It a nice place to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserving for dinner was done right at your room complex, which is nice .

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jammin Junior
South Jersey
Dec 15, 2010

A Great Time Was Had

We stayed at BlueBay 12/6 - 12/13 and had a great time. i'd love to give every detail but don't want to spoil it for readers; we highly recommend BlueBay Gran Esmeralda. The resort was beautiful, with a gorgeous beach and humongous main pool area. There was another pool area closer to the lobby area that seemed somewhat quieter, but we stayed closer to the beach. Everyone at BlueBay was friendly and helpful, and spoke enough English to be helpful. They seem to be working constantly to serve you and keep things clean. I think we went before the big holiday rush, and the place seemed only 50% full, so I can't guess what it'd be like at capacity, but we never had to wait for anything. Between the servers and the bars, getting drinks was very easy.My most recent other all-inclusive was Couples Negril, which cost twice as much as BlueBay, but I feel BlueBay was equal to or better than Couples in just about every way. Couples Jamaica had only one beer (Red Stripe); BlueBay has one beer everywhere-- Dos Equis (and a different beer in your room's minibar). Dos Equis is so much better on tap than in bottles. Maybe Couples has more top shelf liquor brands, but not by much--BlueBay had at least 3 or 4 different brands of each kind of liquor, and an even larger selection of premium rums and tequilas. I'm not a wine guy, but my wife found the selection rather limited, without paying extra... yet she was offered champagne enough times that she didn't care. And it didn't matter--we pretty much stuck to the usual tropical drink favorites. Couples had a swim-up bar, BlueBay has a swing-bar on the beach. Some folks complain about watered-down drinks at all-inclusive resorts, and maybe if you're drinking pre-made drinks it can be that way, but I don't think that was an issue here, and because we enjoy stronger drinks anyhow, we'd always get an extra shot of booze to throw into our pina coladas, for instance.Couples had a piano bar (the guy only knew 25 songs!) that stayed open till the last person left. BlueBay has a great all-night area: a sports bar/theater/lounge area, that turned into an all-night disco (or so i was told). I'm usually in bed before shows start, but we caught a Latin Music production that had the whole room jumpin', as well as a great, touristy Mexican music extravaganza. It more than surpassed my expectations. As I watched my Phila. Eagles play their Sunday night game at the sports bar last week, there was a "Cirque de Soleil"-type show on the main stage to my right, and to my left a smokin' band had just finished cranking out Santana tunes, all while i was sipping my favorite brandy.We don't gop on beach vacations for the food (that's what our European vacations are for!) I love buffets, and BlueBay's was great. Especially because it always featured Mexican dishes. (I love all things Mexican/Hispanic!) My wife is not a buffet fan, but also loved these buffets, especially the breakfast and lunch buffets. They were clean and plentiful and changed often enough to keep things interesting. Couples had lox (my favorite food) every morning--BlueBay had it only 3 of the 8 days we were there, but BlueBay has guacamole at just about every buffet (which we love, and it was great stuff), and omelet stations and fresh taco stations. And while all resorts always have burgers and dogs available (for the kids, of course), BlueBay also had deliciously-cooked steaks at every lunch and dinner buffet.My wife prefers to be served her meals, so every night we went to one of the reservation-required restaurants. You can only reserve one at a time, a day in advance, but we found this easy to do because we were up early each day, and you can make reservations at your building's concierge desk (each building has its own concierge). The Asian and French restaurants were not too authentic, and we skipped the Italian, but the seafood restaurant and steakhouse were worth going to. And--needless to say--their sitdown Mexican restaura...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Flagstaff Az
Dec 9, 2010

Blue bay Grand Esmeralda

wonderful staff, comfortable rooms, amazing food...you have to walk a bit but it helps to walk off all that good food. very eco friendly...go visit Chichen itza

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

learn about the mayan culture

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandpa Bill
Iowa, USA
Feb 17, 2010

Time flies when you're having fun.

Our seven days at the Grand Esmerelda flew by. We had a great time. Our room was comfy and clean, the food was excellent and the service people were very pleasant and helpful. Although I would have liked a better selection of alcohol in the bars, it is probably just as well there wasn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sergey
Portland, Oregon
Sep 23, 2011

ONE YEAR ANNIVERSERY

If you are looking for entertainment, this is the place to go. They have activities from early morning to late at night. The food is delicious and the pool area is very comforable. One negative thing is that they have tile in the halls which magnifies any nose outside of room and makes it difficult to sleep in especially if you're a lite sleeper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Don't miss out on the shows!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rhode Island
Nov 16, 2010

Great Deal!

This is an average Riviera Maya Hotel with an extraordinary staff and a great beach. We just wanted a relaxing, do nothing vacation, and we got it. The food was fine, not gourmet, but fine for a week. They put on a show every night that we found a tad boring, but I have the same reaction to Vegas shows...I enjoy the first half hour, and then I'm looking at my watch. The value at this hotel can't be beat, especially if you go for one of the value priced rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

[...] and [...] in the main buffet are awesome servers and will make your week special. Willy at the beach bar will do the same.

Back to menu Return to top