$313 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 8, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
327 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
327 out of 327
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dabag
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 7, 2010

Darn close to paradise

I felt the hotel was as I expected. Being a family friendly resort the pool was loud with children crying and screaming. While I can handle the playful sounds of children, the crying around lunch was a bit annoying. We upgraded our room to an ocean view balcony and for that we are grateful, it made a great difference. We were exceptionally close to the beach and the pool. During our stay we were wrangled into the "membership" presentation and while it lasted longer than the 90 minutes quoted, we did receive gifts for our time. We upgraded to the VIP beach service and it made a world of good. The beach was private and quite and while there wasn't a pool to cool off in, there was a personal bartender and it was close to the bathroom. The staff was very helpful when we needed assistance and they were always sure to make sure we understood everything. I feel as though Americans complain a lot when we travel internationally and I think the staff was very sure to make sure we were satisfied. While everything was not perfect, it was a wonderful time with my husband and we are planning to return to a Blue Bay hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at the themed dining areas every night. While it is annoying to have to make a reservation every day, it is worse when you have to choose from the same meal selections every meal. The dinners were very very good and the service was exceptional within the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
[...] Hotel Excellent
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 24, 2011

Resort Outstanding! [...]

Everything was wonderful at the hotel! They were readily accessable, accomodating and friendly. Would definitely visit this hotel again and recommend to anyone. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the food at the hotel was beyond compare...excellent! - No need to go out and spend extra money on decesnt food when available at the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frazee, minnesota
Apr 10, 2011

Very good accomadations, food was good,

We stayed at hotel mostly Did a few excursions that were OK Beach was a liitle of disappointment due to clarity compared to just North or South of this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Utilize the dining meals in the hotel even though you have to sign up a day ahead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Mar 29, 2011

Clean and well-staffed

Didn't have to wear an all-inclusive bracelet all week, which was nice. The hotel, the room, pool, beach and beach washrooms were immaculately clean. Great nightlife with bars on the beach open til 1 a.m. and a 24-hour sports bar. Michael Jackson show in the theatre was uncanny. Good food and great staff. Not the best resort for singles though as it's mostly couples and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

You can check out from your building's concierge instead of the hotel lobby front desk to save time and lineups (if you don't have any extra room charges).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flagstaff Az
Dec 9, 2010

Blue bay Grand Esmeralda

wonderful staff, comfortable rooms, amazing food...you have to walk a bit but it helps to walk off all that good food. very eco friendly...go visit Chichen itza

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

learn about the mayan culture

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Nov 16, 2010

Great Deal!

This is an average Riviera Maya Hotel with an extraordinary staff and a great beach. We just wanted a relaxing, do nothing vacation, and we got it. The food was fine, not gourmet, but fine for a week. They put on a show every night that we found a tad boring, but I have the same reaction to Vegas shows...I enjoy the first half hour, and then I'm looking at my watch. The value at this hotel can't be beat, especially if you go for one of the value priced rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

[...] and [...] in the main buffet are awesome servers and will make your week special. Willy at the beach bar will do the same.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the extreme couple
Business
philadelphia pa
Nov 25, 2010

bluebay grand esmeralda - riviera maya!!

my girlfriend and i recently stayed at the bluebay grand esmeralda in riviera maya for our 2 year anniversary, and we had an amazing time.. while we were there we swam with dolphins at a place called delphinus and took a tour called extreme tulum and both experiences were unforgettable.. the food offered at the all inclusive resort was great with 4 al la carte restaurants and 3 all you can eat buffets.. the all you can eat places did not differ in their nightly menus but were located all across the resort to make it easy for entry from people staying in any of the buildings.. the drinks were so-so with there only being 1 type of beer available in the resort.. the service there was awesome but im sure my occasional tip of 2 or 3 dollars didn't hurt that any.. my only complaint would be the water pressure in the shower, which is understandable because it was a rainfall shower head and they are known to have low flow rates.. other than that, our stay was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Playa
Business
Washington DC
Jan 11, 2010

Great stay!

This is an above average hotel with a great location. Playa is a great vacation destination, always warm and with friendly people. The food was average and the buffet dinners not bad. The only thing they need to work on is the reservation system for the a la carte restaurants. We spent four nights there and were never able to get a reservation before 9pm. But, this meant we had to venture into Playa for dinner...which actually worked out well. The beach is not the greatest but the pool area makes up for it. During the day there is an annoying little man that shouts into a microphone and plays music, presumably to get people excited and to play games. But, it was always annoying when all you wanted to do was to chill out and read by the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephanie Rose
Business
Boston, MA
May 12, 2011

Nice getaway!!

I was a little hesitant about this hotel since I read a couple of bad reviews saying that the beach was disappointing and the food was not great. However, I did not let these bad reviews get in the way of a good time. The beach was nice in parts, and it had seaweed in other parts which is expected in any body of water really. We had walked to the resorts on the right and the left, and the beach was the best at Blue Bay compared to the other two resorts. The pool was really nice. There was a small pool and a large pool. The small pool was close to our room, and the large pool was by the beach. We went to the large pool the majority of the time because that is where most of the action occurred. However, you have to get to the pool early in order to get a shady spot or a spot in the pool. A lot of people reserved the seats by putting a flip flop or book on the chair which was a good idea in order to ensure getting a chair. The pool closed at 7 which was disappointing because I would have liked to have gone night swimming. It would be a good idea to wake up and go right to the reservation table to make a reservation for the restaurants. There are very limited reservations. Sometimes we got to the table to make reservations at 8 in the morning, and they only had a reservation at the place we wanted at 9:45 which was a little late for us. There was not a HUGE selection at the restaurants, but they were very cool to try. They had 6 restaurants- Seafood, Steak, Oriental, French, Mexican, and Italian. They also had a buffet opened all day. The food was good and there was plenty of stuff for everyone. There were shows at night which were cute, and they had people entertaining you at the pool all day. They had water aerobics and volleyball games. It was good to get you to try different things. [...] The resort was HUGE which was good and bad. It was bad because there was tons of walking. It was good because there was always somewhere to go. The gym was not up to my standards. I went once in the morning. A lot of the machines were broken and in the morning, the sun was directly on you when you were running/biking/etc so it was extremely hot. All in all it was a very enjoyable and relaxing stay!! The resort was very accommodating. The rooms were really nice, and looked exactly how they looked in the pictures unlike other hotel stays where the rooms looked nice in pictures but were awful! I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to my friends/family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get up and make restaurant reservations asap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
canada
Jan 10, 2010

Great stay always at Blue Bay

great hotel for couples and families. beautiful grounds. good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top