$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hazard ky
Jan 26, 2011

not much !!!!

this place is a joke !!! they wouldnt even give us a straw. they also wanted to charge us 12.00 for roomservice. never again.!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, fl
Jan 22, 2011

Incedible

Incredible service, excelent food, good drink selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pittsburgh, pa
Jan 20, 2011

Once in a Lifetime Trip to Riviera Maya

Before I tell you about my hotel, I would like to let you know what I had to deal with at the airport. Not only was it raining when we arrived in the Cancun airport, but we were scammed by a time share representative. We had been forwarned about the time share people, but this individual appeared to be our shuttle contact. He was dressed in the same attire as what the workers in the hotel wore, khaki pants and white shirt, and he appeared to be the individual we needed to talk to about our shuttle to our hotel. Asked to see our vouchers, etc. Truly posed as someone he was not. To make a long story, short he wound up scamming us out of $50 each. When we realized from our real shuttle driver what happened we found the individual again, and threatened to call the police on him, so he did give our money back--something we learned later was a rare event!When arriving at the Blue Bay Grand Esmeraldo and going to my hotel room, I was extremely disappointed to see nothing but trees overlooking my balcony. The only reason I booked this hotel in the first place was because they promised an ocean view deluxe room. That was my main priority--an ocean view from balcony. I had to fight with them and had to stay the first night in the room they gave me, but they said I could have a suite the next day with a view of the ocean. When I went to get the key the next day for the suite, I had to deal with a run around again. I did not get the suite, but I did get a very nice room that had a beautiful view of the pool and a side view of the ocean. Because it was a corner room, it was a beautiful view. But what a hassle. I didn't want to do that on my vacation. I proabably will not return to Mexico on my next trip because I constantly had the feeling I would be scammed by the Mexican people after my experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The all inclusive was absolutely terrific. Food was delicious and so were the drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ghent, MN
Jan 5, 2011

Good Vacation

Nice resort, good food, resort was spread out and kinda hidden had to do a bit of walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

resort was spread out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ivanka
Business
texas
Jan 3, 2011

beach to far away

hotel was nice,good food but the beach is to far away from the garden view building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Great for party

The hotel and the rooms are nice. There's a gigantic pool. The beach however was disappointing compared to the beautiful beaches in this area. The hotel staff is always smiling and the service is great. The food was OK. The major downside was that it got very noisy at night because of drunk people (you're in a all inclusive after all) making a fuss in the hallways for hours, and there was no staff member at night in the buildings to quiet them. We woke up very early almost everyday to go and visit Mayan ruins, so at the end we didn't get much sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

In Playa del Carmen, on the 5 avenue, you'll find a very nice mexican folkart shop, "Caracol". Very good quality and authentic products (textiles, wood objects...) compared to all the other shops on this avenue that sell low quality, supposedly "handmade", souvenirs to tourists.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Painiac
Business
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2011

Worst Resort Service in Mexico

The facilities here are nice enough, and the food is passable. I would have been happy with this except for the horribly bad service. We were told it was policy we could only have ONE key car per room, so my wife an I could never go out separately the entire week. I even offered to pay for one, but they refused. One day we booked a scuba diving trip with a great shop in Playa del Carmen, but when they arrived at the hotel they were not allowed to enter the gate, despite us verifying who they were. Instead the hotel manager made us TAKE A TAXI FROM THE LOBBY TO THE FRONT GATE to transport our gear - a 45 second ride that cost $5! The hotel claimed liability issues, but the dive shop confirmed that no other resort does this. It was clearly a 'screw you' tax on us for booking ahead of time with someone we know rather than through their aggressive on-site agencies. We generally tip all staff while on vacation - when we asked the front desk for change so we could tip waiters, bellboys, housekeeping, etc... the front desk literally said "No. Do you think we're a bank? We're not a bank." We wanted change in order to give their employees more money, and they refused! One day they gave us white pool towels that looked similar to the room towels. When the housekeepers mistakenly took them, rather than apologize they treated us like criminals and made us waste over 30 minutes to hunt down the maid and confirm that she had them and we were not thieves (this great way to get return customers - accuse a group of 8 doctors and lawyers spending thousands of dollar of stealing a $2 towel and wasting part of their vacation!) And forget the "free" water activities - the two catamarans are broken down and barely safe to sail. I am an experienced sailor, sailed the catamaran one morning, then and wanted to take my brother in law out on one of the boats. They said he had to pass a catamaran sailing proficiency test or of course he could buy some lessons... even though he was just going to be a PASSENGER. Also, I left a new $100 scuba mask at the shop for less than 5 minutes and it promptly disappeared. These are just a few of the examples of terrible service that accumulated to ruin the vacation for the whole family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring everything you could possibly need, and do not count on the hotel for anything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RickyS
Business
San Juan, PR
Dec 29, 2010

Great deal for price

Great weekend, very good food and excelent all inclusive beverages. Recommend highly this Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don Isis, mexican restaurant in the Resort is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashley & Zack
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 28, 2010

Great Stay at the Blue Bay Grand- Playa

We had such an amazing trip at the Blue Bay! It was a fantastic resort with lots of activities during the day and at night. The food was absolutetly fabulous, which is something I've never experienced at an all inclusive hotel. Usually you get sick of the food half way through the trip but there was so much variety here that we probably gained 10 pounds! The staff really bends over backwards for you and everyone was very nice. The only thing that kept me from rating this 5 stars is that if you looked to closely at our hotel room, things werent quite as polished as they could have been. The room appeared to be gorgeous but if you looked at the ceiling in the bathroom or the grout lines around the shower, you could tell things were finished as cheap and as fast as possible. That was our one and only negative about this resort and with the awesome deal we got we didnt care in the least. We will 100% return to this hotel on our next trip to Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zouky
Business
montreal, canada
Dec 21, 2010

Very nice hotel,

Very nice hotel, clean, but NOISY![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top