$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
443 reviews
almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two... See full review

  • gabopani
  • Jun 3, 2014
family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best See full review

  • RVR TRAVELERS
  • Apr 24, 2013
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
443 out of 443
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ghent, MN
Jan 5, 2011

Good Vacation

Nice resort, good food, resort was spread out and kinda hidden had to do a bit of walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

resort was spread out

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ghent, MN
Jan 5, 2011

Good Vacation

Nice resort, good food, resort was spread out and kinda hidden had to do a bit of walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

resort was spread out

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ivanka
texas
Jan 3, 2011

beach to far away

hotel was nice,good food but the beach is to far away from the garden view building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ivanka
texas
Jan 3, 2011

beach to far away

hotel was nice,good food but the beach is to far away from the garden view building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Painiac
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2011

Worst Resort Service in Mexico

The facilities here are nice enough, and the food is passable. I would have been happy with this except for the horribly bad service. We were told it was policy we could only have ONE key car per room, so my wife an I could never go out separately the entire week. I even offered to pay for one, but they refused. One day we booked a scuba diving trip with a great shop in Playa del Carmen, but when they arrived at the hotel they were not allowed to enter the gate, despite us verifying who they were. Instead the hotel manager made us TAKE A TAXI FROM THE LOBBY TO THE FRONT GATE to transport our gear - a 45 second ride that cost $5! The hotel claimed liability issues, but the dive shop confirmed that no other resort does this. It was clearly a 'screw you' tax on us for booking ahead of time with someone we know rather than through their aggressive on-site agencies. We generally tip all staff while on vacation - when we asked the front desk for change so we could tip waiters, bellboys, housekeeping, etc... the front desk literally said "No. Do you think we're a bank? We're not a bank." We wanted change in order to give their employees more money, and they refused! One day they gave us white pool towels that looked similar to the room towels. When the housekeepers mistakenly took them, rather than apologize they treated us like criminals and made us waste over 30 minutes to hunt down the maid and confirm that she had them and we were not thieves (this great way to get return customers - accuse a group of 8 doctors and lawyers spending thousands of dollar of stealing a $2 towel and wasting part of their vacation!) And forget the "free" water activities - the two catamarans are broken down and barely safe to sail. I am an experienced sailor, sailed the catamaran one morning, then and wanted to take my brother in law out on one of the boats. They said he had to pass a catamaran sailing proficiency test or of course he could buy some lessons... even though he was just going to be a PASSENGER. Also, I left a new $100 scuba mask at the shop for less than 5 minutes and it promptly disappeared. These are just a few of the examples of terrible service that accumulated to ruin the vacation for the whole family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring everything you could possibly need, and do not count on the hotel for anything.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Great for party

The hotel and the rooms are nice. There's a gigantic pool. The beach however was disappointing compared to the beautiful beaches in this area. The hotel staff is always smiling and the service is great. The food was OK. The major downside was that it got very noisy at night because of drunk people (you're in a all inclusive after all) making a fuss in the hallways for hours, and there was no staff member at night in the buildings to quiet them. We woke up very early almost everyday to go and visit Mayan ruins, so at the end we didn't get much sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

In Playa del Carmen, on the 5 avenue, you'll find a very nice mexican folkart shop, "Caracol". Very good quality and authentic products (textiles, wood objects...) compared to all the other shops on this avenue that sell low quality, supposedly "handmade", souvenirs to tourists.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Great for party

The hotel and the rooms are nice. There's a gigantic pool. The beach however was disappointing compared to the beautiful beaches in this area. The hotel staff is always smiling and the service is great. The food was OK. The major downside was that it got very noisy at night because of drunk people (you're in a all inclusive after all) making a fuss in the hallways for hours, and there was no staff member at night in the buildings to quiet them. We woke up very early almost everyday to go and visit Mayan ruins, so at the end we didn't get much sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

In Playa del Carmen, on the 5 avenue, you'll find a very nice mexican folkart shop, "Caracol". Very good quality and authentic products (textiles, wood objects...) compared to all the other shops on this avenue that sell low quality, supposedly "handmade", souvenirs to tourists.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Painiac
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2011

Worst Resort Service in Mexico

The facilities here are nice enough, and the food is passable. I would have been happy with this except for the horribly bad service. We were told it was policy we could only have ONE key car per room, so my wife an I could never go out separately the entire week. I even offered to pay for one, but they refused. One day we booked a scuba diving trip with a great shop in Playa del Carmen, but when they arrived at the hotel they were not allowed to enter the gate, despite us verifying who they were. Instead the hotel manager made us TAKE A TAXI FROM THE LOBBY TO THE FRONT GATE to transport our gear - a 45 second ride that cost $5! The hotel claimed liability issues, but the dive shop confirmed that no other resort does this. It was clearly a 'screw you' tax on us for booking ahead of time with someone we know rather than through their aggressive on-site agencies. We generally tip all staff while on vacation - when we asked the front desk for change so we could tip waiters, bellboys, housekeeping, etc... the front desk literally said "No. Do you think we're a bank? We're not a bank." We wanted change in order to give their employees more money, and they refused! One day they gave us white pool towels that looked similar to the room towels. When the housekeepers mistakenly took them, rather than apologize they treated us like criminals and made us waste over 30 minutes to hunt down the maid and confirm that she had them and we were not thieves (this great way to get return customers - accuse a group of 8 doctors and lawyers spending thousands of dollar of stealing a $2 towel and wasting part of their vacation!) And forget the "free" water activities - the two catamarans are broken down and barely safe to sail. I am an experienced sailor, sailed the catamaran one morning, then and wanted to take my brother in law out on one of the boats. They said he had to pass a catamaran sailing proficiency test or of course he could buy some lessons... even though he was just going to be a PASSENGER. Also, I left a new $100 scuba mask at the shop for less than 5 minutes and it promptly disappeared. These are just a few of the examples of terrible service that accumulated to ruin the vacation for the whole family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring everything you could possibly need, and do not count on the hotel for anything.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RickyS
San Juan, PR
Dec 29, 2010

Great deal for price

Great weekend, very good food and excelent all inclusive beverages. Recommend highly this Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don Isis, mexican restaurant in the Resort is great

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RickyS
San Juan, PR
Dec 29, 2010

Great deal for price

Great weekend, very good food and excelent all inclusive beverages. Recommend highly this Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don Isis, mexican restaurant in the Resort is great

Back to menu Return to top