$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
316 reviews
almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two... See full review

  • gabopani
  • Jun 3, 2014
family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best See full review

  • RVR TRAVELERS
  • Apr 24, 2013
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (316)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
316 out of 316
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RVR TRAVELERS
MIAMI, FL
Sep 11, 2012

FAMILY VACACIONES

GREAT RESORT TO BE IN VACATION, VERY RELAXING, GOOD FOOD AND DRINKS ARE SUPER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy Mama of 4
Philadelphia,PA
Aug 14, 2014

get away

We arrived and were greeted by very friendly staff. Jorge at the front desk was amazing. There is no a/c in the lobby and some of the restaurants, but our room was very cool. The spa was amazing and Luisa was so gracious as she showed us around. The resort is very large, so this is not a good spot for the elderly or very young. Requires a lot of walking, and waiting on the trams can take up to 20 minutes. the food is great and, Aurelio at the Mexican restaurant is an amazing waiter. All pools were only4 ft deep, so they were all really hot. Good value but not 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely go to the lagoon, just a short walk up the beach. It's beautiful, and the resorts beach is pitiful.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weegee
Santa Fe
Jan 10, 2014

Average resort, pathetic beach, good food

First, the good: the cooking is above par for this level of resort; the buffets are well above average, the restaurants are pretty good, but with the expected limited menu. The pool is gorgeous, the rooms are clean and the service is good. The bad: the beach sucks. The resort is built on a mangrove swamp, with trucked-in sand that currently is mostly washed away with sandbags shoring up the edge. The "swim area" is roped off, knee-to-thigh deep and floored with irregular loose rock. If you swim outside it the salvavidas will blow their whistles till you come back to be chastised. Although they advertise "free internet" you are limited to a single device per room of slower-than-3g connection, though you can pay extra for "high-speed internet". While we were there, the week of new year's, the reservation-only restaurants were booked so quickly that there was little choice. For a Eurocentric resort it was amazing there is no dance club... Bonus: cute packs of coatis roam around. Fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrsmulls
Michigan
Feb 20, 2014

Could have been better could have been worse

I rate this hotel average. Had many problems with the room ants and water leaking notified the front desk and nothing was ever done to resolve issues. Food was good in buffets we were pleasantly surprised. Servers were extremely friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Explor park was amazing extremely fun day!! Gray value for your money and endless adventures through out the day.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winston22
Texas
Mar 28, 2014

Just OK

Sandy beach was nice but not the nice clear water we were hoping for. Shows were not great. We stopped going after the third night. No nice lobby bar! Although we really enjoyed our suite, my husband cut his foot almost immediately after stepping in our swim up pool on a broken tile. We tried to see the Dr. but she was busy and suggested the staff may have bandages. They were kind but did not have anything that would hold the large cut tightly closed. A kind gentleman on the beach had just the right strong tape for us. We only swam in our swim up pool a few more times after that with our sandals on....:(. The Mosquitos were terrible and the food, although edible, just nothing really great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
cypress, ca
Jul 12, 2011

Good Time

This hotel needs to improve security because i have lost my ipod touch in my room. People need to put your valuable stuff in your safety box. Hard time to reserve restaurant. My build 5 was smelly and have a lot mosquito. Be repair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Regh
Canada
Nov 4, 2011

second time in the resort

the first time 2008 was the best,it was not the same this time.All inclusive before with internet and room service.Now my package was all inclusive!! but it was not, the charge for internet 60 dollar for 2 weeks or 6 dollar per hr,Room service 120 pesos each time you call.Because is low season snack bar is closed,swiming pool closed 7pm and only one restaurant open or you have to make reservation.The bed sheets look very old and pillows too, We really like the resort ,no the service this time.the best building is #5 Palenque

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Puerto Morelos ,Tulum,

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mpaula84
Michigan
Nov 8, 2011

Not a 5* more like a 3*

Lets start by saying and letting people know that this had not been the first time to travel, we have been 4 times to Dominican Republic, and 4 times to Mexico, staying at all-inclusive resorts. This resort is not a 5 star resort by any means; it is more like a 3 star. Check in: we had to wait about 1 hour for our rooms to get done, in the mean time we went to the buffet. There were 5 of us traveling with 2 rooms. Rooms: They were going to put us in building 1 but I asked to be moved to building 5 since I heard it was close to the beach and pool and that means less mosquitos (from other reviews we read). They have moved us but our rooms were not close at all. Our room was 5436 with double beds and somewhat had a view of the ocean/pool which we did not ask for. My parents were in room 5405 which they had a king bed and view of the swamp/garden. Rooms were always cleaned/super cleaned and no complains about the rooms. Restaurants/Buffet: We only ate at the Italian, and it was ok, good food but small quantity. Buffet, there is only one opened even if there are 2 buffets at the resort. They had ok food, we were there for 10days so we got tired of the same food, and not too many to choose from. My son 4 years old had a hard time with food, all he ate was eggs, pasta and soups, very limited for kids. You can still find something to eat if you aren't a picky eater. Pools: Water was always cold and that’s probably because out of 10 days, 7 days we had rain. Always clean and had plenty of chairs, but that’s because there weren't many people at the resort. We traveled Oct.25th through Nov.3rd and that’s when hurricane Rina decided to form. Our vacation was ruined by all the rain but that’s not up to us. Also it would have been nice if the resort has a Jacuzzi, many other resorts have them but this one doesn't. Bars: Only 2 bars for the entire resort, swing bar and sports bar. NOOOO swim up bar, which was very disappointing, what resort does not have a swim up bar, really. Resort: Resort in general was very well kept, clean and don't have anything to complain about the resort itself. Staff: No complain, they are nice hard working people that deserve to get tips even if it is an all-inclusive resort. They don't get paid much and they work very hard so tip them. Ocean: Very, very, very disappointing. Sand bags put everywhere, not because of the hurricane, they have these sand bags year round and it ruins the aspect of the beach. Water very murky and lots of rocks, again not a fault of the hurricane that’s just the way it is. This is where this resort gets only a 3 star instead of 5 because of the beach. All in all it was an ok vacation, we got away from Michigan but we could have had a lot better even for the money that we have paid. I would not recommend this resort, find something better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pboisso
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Nov 13, 2011

OK

OK hotel, but no more. Clean, food alright, although you should try to always eat in the restaurants, which are better than the buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Forget about O-rbitz G-rey L-ine airport shuttle, they pick you up almost 5h before your flight. We ended up waiting almost 4h for our flight at the airport. Take a taxi, it's only a couple of buck more (and lot less if you are more than 1 in your party)

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OceanSun
Michigan, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Beautiful resort, but would not return

THE GOOD -Resort was beautiful. Staff great! Check-In/Check-out was very easy. Had a problem with our first room(smelly), was changed to a new one within minutes. buffet was good. Ala cart restaurants were fabulous. THE BAD- boring resort. If relaxing by the beach is the ONLY thing you like to do on your vacation. Then this is the one for you. We have been to several all inclusives and have never had this problem. No beach activities. No theme nights. The only thing they have for night entertainment is 9:30 live show. After that.. nothing. No live band or night club . They do have a 24hour sports bar. Which would have been so much better with Karoke or something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
borik1956
Cleveland, OH, USA
Dec 4, 2011

ok

Needs That Special Something Not happy with the beach. Wather was not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search