$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis,MN
Mar 14, 2011

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

Excellent food! Very clean rooms. Staff very friendly. We mostly hung out at the beach/pool area. Made reservations for a different restaurant on site each day. It's pretty easy to make arrangements to go to other places. We went snorkeling and parasailing and it was great! The only thing I would have wanted different is a little more quiet pool area. There was kind of an ongoing event of 'party/dance' music through out every day. Maybe less pumped beats and more of a Bob Marley music trend may make it easier to relax :) Other than that it was a great first trip to Mexico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura Belle
Business
Marysville Ohio
Mar 7, 2011

Wonderful trip

We had a great time! Not a five star but a wonderful trip for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilyn Best Friend
Business
New York, NY
May 28, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

We were swiming, relaxing on a beach. The service is very good. More entertaiment would make our stay more enjoyable. If they would have casino it would be perfect. I cannot compare to my previous trips because something was better something worse. But all my friends like that resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 22, 2010

Blue Ribon for Blue Bay Esmeralda

Beautiful resort, very modern and chic! The staff is very very friendly. The food is great and abundant!Easy access to drinks/alcohol. We had a great experience with the hotel. The only complaint we have is the beaches are not as pretty considering it's Playa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, Ca
Oct 19, 2010

This place was great.

The rooms were very clean, and everyone was extremely helpful. The service was great. The food was average, they had a big selection, but not the best taste. The entertainment staff by the pool was lots of fun. We had a wonderful time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is away from the city and any other attractions. Great for getting away from it all, but if you want to go in the small city or to any attraction you need to take shuttles and they do not run too often. We rented a car and had no problems getting around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Feb 19, 2010

Great Deal

We did a lot of RELAXING...around the beach and both pools. The resort was a little spead out- if you don't mind walking a little it was nice. We have never done an all inclusive- i would recommend this resort but if i returned to that area i might try another one. The food service staff was friendly but i didn't think the room service employees were (they also cleaned our room late in the afternoon around 4pm so if you wanted to take a nap or get ready for dinner you had to wait if you wanted your room cleaned). The pool didn't have swim up bar but the staff was good about bringing drinks up to the pool if you were hanging along the side of it. The beach was always a busy place if you didn't get a chair by 9am- it was hard to find a group of them together (most people would get there early and put a towel down and walk away, you could lay for two hours and not see someone lay/sit in a chair with a towel on it!!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superman & Kat Lady
Business
Markesan, WI
Mar 21, 2010

Something for everyone!

The BBGE is a very well run resort. The pride in having a well run, and maintained resort is obvious around every corner. The BBGE is how ever a resort I would not recommend to someone who has difficulties walk any distance. As for the rest of us, with all of the eating, drinking, and laying around, the walking is a good thing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ala Carte Restaurants are a must do at the BBGE, as the food is wonderful. You will need to make your reservations early for the following evening if you want to get seating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 2, 2010

Great

Very high class service. Overall great. Only bad part was the unclean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tara d.
Business
wilmington DE
Apr 20, 2010

not a spot for fun times

this hotel was beautiful and the staff fantastic, but there was so many children and absolutely no nightlife! we were a mixed group of singles between 30-40 and it felt like we were on vacation with our grandparents. true, there was a show each evening, but it was finished by 10p.m.and the 24 hour "sports bar" had nothing happening.this is a great resort for families with children but not recommended for under 40's looking for fun in tne sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

take a taxi to playa del carmen. its well worth the $20. it is a fantastic little town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norton, Kansas
Jul 22, 2011

Great hotel! Excellent service.

Our hotel was wonderful, we stayed in bldg. 4 which was close to the seafood/steak restaurant, beach and lower pool. One room in our block was kind of smelly, we asked our concierge for a change and next room was perfect. Food was excellent, we did seafood, steak and mexican. Tried to do French but it was booked for the day we wanted. We also went to CocoBongo which was so much fun. Had read other reviews about tipping, made our stay so great. Would travel there again, would stay at BBGE also. People that are giving BBGE a poor review must have been expecting to stay at the TajMaHal! Second trip to mexico, stayed at another 5Star the first time, this was very comparable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Coco Bongo was a great time, very safe in downtown Cancun. Bring your own sunscreen and wear it, dont fall for any of the "great deal/free deals" that Grey Line offers, they are terrible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top