$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
311 reviews
almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two... See full review

  • gabopani
  • Jun 3, 2014
family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best See full review

  • RVR TRAVELERS
  • Apr 24, 2013
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (311)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
311 out of 311
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan first time resort vis
Hattiesburg, MS
Nov 14, 2012

First time all inclusive experience

I really dont know where to begin. The staff at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda were wonderful! Very family friendly. Lots of families with kids, but not over run with children. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay a 5 Star experience. The room was beautiful, the food was plentiful and seemingly endless. The pools were clean and huge, and overall, I couldn't imagine a better experience. All our waiters and concierge spoke good - excellent English, which helped me alot, and I even picked up some common Spanish expressions. The beaches were beautiful, but were not as clean as I expected, not trash but small natural twigs and such from all the palm trees. Would not recommend staying on the first floor, as the wildlife will make themselves at home (as it is their home!) The rooms are very close to tropical vegetation. Our last night, I called the front desk and said "Is it possible to have some help with our luggage in the morning, at 2AM for our crazy early departure?" and their reply was "Sir, Everything is possible!" Muy bueno!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The taxi service is highly monitored to ensure the tourist are well taken care of. There are a lot of pushy street vendors in Playa del Carmen where we went for shopping. Not intrusive or mean, just a little bothersome for my liking.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Jan 5, 2010

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

The hotel accomodations were terrible. They don't clean your room until 4 5 pm. They don't allow you more than 1 towel for the beach. And most of all the food is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Menomonie, WI
Mar 26, 2010

Great Price, Mediocre Resort

The resort is nothing special. Beware that the location is in Playa Del Carmen and not in Cancun like the website says it is. The food is ok, the pool is nice, but the beach is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fredstein frank's brother
NY
Jul 7, 2014

happy to now be home

The concept is nice of all inclusive but it did not cut it. On checkin I was told to return the next day to get my second room key for apparently there was a shortage. The shortage was noted at all restaurants where the staff was lovely but stretched to the limit so waiting for water took forever. The shortage was also noted with insufficient room towels. The worst was in my family of 4, 3 had severe diarrhea as well as many friends who traveled with us. Take immodium with you if you visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ONeill
Wash DC
Nov 26, 2012

Great Value

Arrival: Had to wait 20 minutes until our luggage was delivered to the room. We did not want to wait so we walked. We were not offered a ride, etc. Room: Good, expect for the bathroom-Shower had mold, cracked tile. Mirror- was worn from all the moisture. Pool: Probably the best part apart from the sports bar Beach: Looks bad with the sand bags. Walked along the beach it was all the same at other hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Viturally everyone from the time you arrive to the airport has their hand out and wants a tip. "Amigo, Amiga"..they gently lead you to where they want. Don't fall for it keep your money only a few deserve a tip

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WesCh
NewJersey
Feb 10, 2013

Not for family

never come back again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MMFF
Ohio
Aug 7, 2014

Not good

Room was poor and front desk not helpful. Pool and beach crowded. Walk is 5-10 min to beach from non VIP buildings. Food is good but most areas not air conditioned. Staff in restaurants very nice. Evening shows not great and space is very hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

French restaurant is great

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jarry.S
Michigan
May 1, 2014

There should be a lot improved

Rooms on the first floor had ants and spiders. The employees were very polite and handworker , except the front desk that was the worst unit. Receptionists had no more right to solve problems that tourists have. For everything they need to ask someone else in a room adjacent to the reception. They only give absurd answers like their job was to lie customer. The food was very good, and all the restaurants were clean. I think the rooms need update. Only restaurants are for 4 stars. The rest of the service is for 2 star. The location is good but just for people that need to use poll. This is not for people that going to use ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vlad from Michigan
Michigan
Jan 10, 2014

Serious health issue

Everything would be great with this place if they would not consider to use their mosquito repellent chemicals one day without warning their guests. The compound is notorious for having a strong odor, an oily feel — and an ability to melt plastic! The pipe was under our porch (it was the first floor corner room) so it went straight into the room and looked and smell like after fire at the gas station! We were not able to open the door because it was first floor room and the smoke was still coming from under the foundation. We called several times to the guest service but all we got was that they sprayed our room (again!) with other chemicals to eliminate an odor. The weather wasn't great - rainy and cold - so we just spent our last two days (!) in the lobby or in the restaurant and slept with the outside door open (as we were recommended...) My wife cried - because we felt helpless and because the odor was so strong that tears were coming anyways...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

French restaurant

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
volleyball
Montana, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Bluebay 2012

We had a decent experience here although it would have been helpful to know long pants are required for most resteraunts except the buffets. Rooms were good but the ocean view was from a long ways away and we had all booked king beds and ended up with double beds in each room. The staff is very nice, the food is average buffet and the beach was horrible with everything covered in seaweed for most of the day until it was cleaned up usually around 4pm when the sun was going down. The water was warm but very rocky and again alot of seaweed. If your looking for a great experience this is not the spot to go. All restaraunts require reservations and the earliest we could get in was 9:30pm every night we tried to book

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Polep
Mexico City
Jun 25, 2014

Terrible service

From day one, the service was terriible. The restaurants were full, cups at the bar were dirty. Not one member of the staff tried to help in providing more informstion about services included. You can hear everything from your room, which made it very difficult to rest and sleep. The cleaning lady would knock on your door every morning and make a lot of noise with the cart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del carmen offers better meals and services neraby

Back to menu Return to top

Change search