$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
367 out of 367
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juan M.
Business
north las vegas
Mar 10, 2015

Amazing

Great experience! Great staff and the food was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathleen P.
Business
Bourbonnais
Mar 3, 2015

Just an okay resort

Resort was very scenic and rooms were clean, however the food, drink and service was just ok! Our air conditioner didn't work all that great but we were able to get cooled down from the ceiling fan. When we called for roomservice 3 different times for different things it took forever for them to respond. Once it wasn't until the next day. The restaurant's you had to make reservations at had bad service and food wasn't all that good. Buffet food was much better. Don't think we would return to this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anna P.
Business
Scarborough
Jan 24, 2015

Just Ok girls trip

The resort is huge so expect a lot of walking. Switched rooms about 3 times due to a/c not working and such but would stay again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Erica O.
Business
Columbus
Jan 5, 2015

Terrible hotel

The service was terrible, the food was not good and the entertainment is a joke. The only thing that was good was the pool. Everything is very far, they don't have enough waitresses, they do a lot of noise with carts that they push to clean the rooms, you never can take a nap. Before going to the hotel I read the bad reviews and though that it could not be so bad, but it is. Just don't go. The beach is terrible and I never had the courage to leave my kid on the kids club. Worst experience in hotel in my whole life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Felicha S.
Business
Brockton
Dec 23, 2014

Awesome Birthday Getaway for Boyfriend

I was kind of skeptical coming to this hotel after reading the crazy reviews but overall it was a great experience. The only downside was the lobby that had no AC because it was an open floor plan. Drinks were made very well as well as having ample shuttle service to and from building to building. I hope this review really helps me and my boyfriend enjoyed. Check out COCO Bongo if you can this really topped off our trip to Mexico other than that we spent most days drinking and hanging by the pools and restaurants. NOT too much entertainment in the hotel except for the dinner shows and in one of the bars that's really hot but enjoyable. In the morning wake up early to catch breakfast while its HOT!! That's when its the best. I went in AUG 14' and I was hesitant because that's when it's said to rain tremendously and none of that occurred even tho the forecast had rain the whole week we were there. Either we dodged a big bullet or we missed the really early showers that later dried by 9/ 10 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JP And friends
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Relaxing, foodful, sunny vacation!

Booked this hotel for seven nights because of its size, restaurant choices, location, and price. The hotel is very large and there is a trolley that goes around every ten minutes if you don't want to walk. The size allows you to lay at the quiet pool or the pool on the beach that is much larger with many activities happening all day. The food was excellent and always available. They even open a snack bar from 11-1am for people who get hungry after hitting the 24hr bar. The restaurants are steak, seafood, Italian, French, and Mexican and we tried all of them except steak. We had five star service at all of them and the food was delightfilul. The staff at this resort are very friendly and are always working very hard. The rooms were nicely kept but could use some repairs (minor things like a cracked tile or a stain on a cabinet) but overall they are very clean and always tended to. If you want a relaxing trip where you can eat, drink, and enjoy the sunshine this is a great place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked ten minutes north along the beach from this hotel to find crystal clear water and mangroves to snorkel and swim in. Worth the short walk!!!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JP And friends
Business
N/A
Dec 22, 2014

Relaxing, foodful, sunny vacation!

Booked this hotel for seven nights because of its size, restaurant choices, location, and price. The hotel is very large and there is a trolley that goes around every ten minutes if you don't want to walk. The size allows you to lay at the quiet pool or the pool on the beach that is much larger with many activities happening all day. The food was excellent and always available. They even open a snack bar from 11-1am for people who get hungry after hitting the 24hr bar. The restaurants are steak, seafood, Italian, French, and Mexican and we tried all of them except steak. We had five star service at all of them and the food was delightfilul. The staff at this resort are very friendly and are always working very hard. The rooms were nicely kept but could use some repairs (minor things like a cracked tile or a stain on a cabinet) but overall they are very clean and always tended to. If you want a relaxing trip where you can eat, drink, and enjoy the sunshine this is a great place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked ten minutes north along the beach from this hotel to find crystal clear water and mangroves to snorkel and swim in. Worth the short walk!!!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family Vacation Lovers
Business
New York, New York
Nov 18, 2014

Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not exactly 100% what I expected, but was great for my family with little kids. Service impeccable. Would go again with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hitension
Business
Deerfield Beach, fl
Nov 16, 2014

Great Food!! Beach a litte beat short!!

Great Hotel, Food the best!! Staff really good!! Great amenities!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs Fancy Pants
Business
New York
Oct 21, 2014

Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were treated very well and the staff goes above and beyond to accommodate your needs. I recommend the swim out room which gives you some privacy if you're about having a little bit of seclusion from the public pool. The steak house and Mexican restaurant were our favorites. Room service is ok not too much to chose from but decent. There were only 2 issues I had with the hotel and that was the wild life and beach. While trying to eat lunch outside, birds may drop in and steal food or raccoons may sniff around for food if you're on the lower level. The beach is not what I'm use to its very small and not very pleasing to the eye. Sand bags were around making it a bit of an eye sore. Other than those two things the stay was perfect. They also have on site shuttle service that can get you around the hotel which is pretty huge. The Spa is amazing and very modern looking. Ultimately it's a great hotel with excellent service and I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Spa!

Back to menu Return to top