$233 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Illinois
Jun 7, 2011

bluebay

This is the second time I have been to this resort and definitely got what I paid for. I would go back a third time. The service is great, everyone is really kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Wisconsin
May 21, 2011

Wonderful Resort

The resort was very nice. Food was very good at the buffet everyday different. The alcart resturants very good. Oh ya drinks ok, didn't always understand what you want. Rooms clean. It a nice place to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserving for dinner was done right at your room complex, which is nice .

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Mpls, MN
Apr 3, 2010

Nice place to stay

Good food. Never had to wait for lounge chair at pool or beach. Do not go hear if you like to swim in ocean, it does not have a good beach. Do not let the pics of rooms fool you. Not everyone get the "extras" link internet, robs, room service (which cost $10 per time!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riviera Maya fans
Couples
Denver, Colorado
Apr 25, 2010

Better than Expected

This is a very large resort. I suggest getting an ocean-view or ocean-front room because you are closer to the pool and ocean. We have stayed at many resorts in this area, and Blue Bay had the best food so far. Lots of choices for restaurants, and not difficult to get in. The staff was very friendly. The two favorite things that we appreciated was the pool area, where they did not blare loud music all day long, and the pool restaurant where we ate breakfast and lunch. It had a great buffet, and the best part was you didn't have to get dressed to eat there, pool attire was acceptable. There is a block to walk from the beach to the other ala carte restaurants, but it was enjoyable after a big dinner. We highly recommend Blue Bay. The only negative, that is not their fault, the beach is nice for walking, but the ocean is full of sea weed at the moment and not very appealing, but the huge pool area makes up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Denver, CO
Jun 13, 2011

Pros and Cons

The Hotel was very nice, the hotel staff was very nice and helpful.They had good shows and good food. There is all kind of attractions not to far away. The beach was not exactly what we expected. we had to drive to Playa del Carmen where the beach was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The shows and the food in Xcaret are awesome. The coba trip was a lot of fun as well. I would definatelly recomend going to Isla Cozumel and renting a car or motocycle and go around the island.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Iowa
Jun 13, 2011

Great getaway

Great grounds, pools and rooms. Entertaiment was very average. Food was good but not great. Italian was the best. Would like more air conditioning in the public spaces such as the sports bar. Probably like to crusie better but would do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Pools and pool service were great.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobby Brady
Family
Chicago IL
Jun 14, 2011

Blue Bay - A good spot to vacation

We really enjoyed this all inclusive resort. We had 7 family members and were celebrating my sister's 50th b-day. It truly is all inclusive. You do not spend a penny once you are there except to tip. Be warned...it gets HOT! Few placed are air conditioned. Your rooms and some of the restaurants have air. Wear light clothing. You will need pants to go to dinner. I could recommend doing the Italian and the French restaurant. The night time shows are hit or miss. Some were outstanding, but others were like you were watching a junior high musical production. The staff is so friendly and the food is great for an all inclusive. We normally take cruises and this was very similiar to a cruise on land. You can go snorkeling and para sailing for a charge. They also have half and full day trips you can take for a charge. If you like to shop, the town is a $5 hotel shuttle away. I would totally go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are restaurants all over. However, you need to make dinner reservation. You can't make them until the day before. Get to the reservation station between 7 and 8 am or you may not get the place or time you want. The French and Italian places were outstnding. The Oriental and the Stake House are outdoors and because it get really hot - you may want to avoid those.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
DULUTH MN
Apr 23, 2010

You wont be dissapointed

Everything was very nice,if you want to be critical,wireless internet would have been great, you had to go to the lobby for that which is a ways away. And the food was 3.5 on a 5 point scale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveyJ
Friends
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Feb 27, 2011

Top notch!

The cab ride from Cancun airport was $90.00 (and we tipped an additional $20)but we learned that it really should have been $35.00. The cab driver was really nice so we weren't too upset. The resort staff greeted us with a drink at the entrance and the lobby is beautiful. Front desk agent ([...]) was pleasant. We paid extra for an ocean view room when we booked and were upgraded to a suite at checkin (maybe because we tipped heavily to the cab driver and the Bellman). Our room was truly jaw dropping beautiful - like nothing I've ever experienced in Mexico before. We were given a massive (approx 700 sq. ft) suite with a king bed and two full bathrooms, with a private jacuzzi on the balcony and a stunning view of the ocean and the pool. I would suggest paying the extra for the ocean view if you can. Our Bellman ([...]) was charming and took the time to explain everything to us and made us feel like VIPs. [...] was our concierge and she went the extra mile to make sure we were well taken care of and got into the restaurants we wanted. [...] in the main buffet restaurant also made a great impression on us. Every staff member we came in contact with was spot on and really knew how to make us feel welcome. I think BlueBay must take very good care of their people. We sampled the a la carte French, Mexican and Oriental restaurants and the food in all 3 was perfectly prepared and delicious (if not always exactly authentic). We may be a little spoiled in the culinary way because we live in a world class city and dine out pretty much all the time. My companion is a vegetarian and each restaurant had an option for her. [...] was our server at the Oriental restaurant. He was impressed by our chopstick skills and very professional. By the way the Oriental restaurant is poolside and the romantic feel is perfect for couples. The only times available for reservations were always 6pm or 9pm (even when I got up really early and was the first to book). So we just took either 6 or 9 and then ate lunch accordingly. They were never full when we checked. The night we had a 9pm res we showed up at 7 and they let us in anyway. The buffet options are catered for us northern people with hamburgers, pizza, omeletes, everything you are used to as well as some Mexican food that I enjoyed. We did find that the food was not always piping hot at the buffet but it was always good. The "snack bar" which is far away from everything else and poolside and only open 9am -5pm, because it turns into the Oriental restauarant at night, had the hottest and freshest food we found. We didn't mind the 10 minute walk to get there (there are trams to drive you if you prefer not to walk). This is not a party resort, most guests were older than us (median age 40-50 yrs old). There is a 24 hour bar and it does get raucous after midnight but we did a lot of day trips to various ruins and waterparks and were in bed early for most nights. [...] at the tour desk helped us out booking day trips. I think you can do your trips slightly cheaper if you book them through a website, but [...] made it so easy and listened to our preferences and made sure we got the precisely right tour for us. In the end I don't think I would have been able to find the truly perfect day trips he found for us. I don't know the name of the tour company we went to Chichen Itza with but our guide [...]was the best, he really knows how to make you laugh and feel appreciated and has so much interesting information to pass on. The shows every night were well planned and the Michael Jackson show was over the top. [...] (and all "crew" staff) promoted the shows by singing and dancing around the pool everyday. The pool is really nice and the atmosphere around the pool is relaxed and completely unpretentious. The beach had nice sand (that somehow never gets hot in the sun). It is sandbagged to avoid erosion but it still feels natural. There is an employee there all day everyday raking the beach so it is seaweed fr...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: In Hotel

The resort has a few shops and they carried some stuff that we bought while out on daytrips at the exact same (sometimes even less) price than we found in town or at various attractions.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ft Worth, Texas
Jul 28, 2010

Good & Not so Good

Overall, this is a nice place. We had problems getting our room cleaned one day. They finally showed up with clean towels at 7:30 pm after a call to the desk. We had words with the spa staff. My husband walked out after 5 minutes because there was NO A/C in the room as per his request and the gentleman doing the massage decided that my husband wanted aramoma theropy instead of a massage? The hotel did have a van that goes to Playa for about $4 a person. This was a bargin compared with a cab at $15 ! The food and staff were very nice overall. They will hit you right after you check in about the "VACATION CLUB" We just wanted to get to our room ! The gentleman finally took the hint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the hotel's shuttle !

Back to menu Return to top