$368 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
322 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (322)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
322 out of 322
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin,TX
Jun 23, 2010

Great VIP Area

During our stay we hung out on the beach in the private VIP area. We loved Abraham,Joel,Rogar & Edwardo. They made sure to take care of our needs and made our experiance a stress free one. The food was really good, since some items had a kick to them. There was also a lot of veggie options. You do have to go and get your own drinks if you are outside of the VIp area. There was little to no poolside drink service. Whenever there was, then you had to wait a good amount of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

check out the nightlife in Play Del Carmen just a 15 min drive $15 cab ride one way, night life stays open til 5am or later. Als check our Tulum, rent a jeep & explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RickyS
Business
San Juan, PR
Dec 29, 2010

Great deal for price

Great weekend, very good food and excelent all inclusive beverages. Recommend highly this Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don Isis, mexican restaurant in the Resort is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sergey
Business
Portland, Oregon
Sep 23, 2011

ONE YEAR ANNIVERSERY

If you are looking for entertainment, this is the place to go. They have activities from early morning to late at night. The food is delicious and the pool area is very comforable. One negative thing is that they have tile in the halls which magnifies any nose outside of room and makes it difficult to sleep in especially if you're a lite sleeper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Don't miss out on the shows!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kent & Andi
Business
Van Alstyne, TX
Jun 21, 2010

Exceeded Our Expectations!

Everything was better than we expected (having stayed at other all-inclusives in the past). The food, drinks, entertainment, room, view, staff (including concierges), and service were wonderful. The only frustrations occurred with transportation and excursions that were pre-paid and booked online--not through the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wait until you check into the resort to book your excursions; don't do it online. Otherwise, by the time you (and the hotel staff) get the details sorted out, you may miss your excursion like we did.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chipaquga
Business
Minnesota
Apr 7, 2010

A Value at the Price

The best part was that there was no spring breakers, quiet and relaxed. We were upgraded to a swim up suite which made the stay much more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jammin Junior
Business
South Jersey
Dec 15, 2010

A Great Time Was Had

We stayed at BlueBay 12/6 - 12/13 and had a great time. i'd love to give every detail but don't want to spoil it for readers; we highly recommend BlueBay Gran Esmeralda. The resort was beautiful, with a gorgeous beach and humongous main pool area. There was another pool area closer to the lobby area that seemed somewhat quieter, but we stayed closer to the beach. Everyone at BlueBay was friendly and helpful, and spoke enough English to be helpful. They seem to be working constantly to serve you and keep things clean. I think we went before the big holiday rush, and the place seemed only 50% full, so I can't guess what it'd be like at capacity, but we never had to wait for anything. Between the servers and the bars, getting drinks was very easy.My most recent other all-inclusive was Couples Negril, which cost twice as much as BlueBay, but I feel BlueBay was equal to or better than Couples in just about every way. Couples Jamaica had only one beer (Red Stripe); BlueBay has one beer everywhere-- Dos Equis (and a different beer in your room's minibar). Dos Equis is so much better on tap than in bottles. Maybe Couples has more top shelf liquor brands, but not by much--BlueBay had at least 3 or 4 different brands of each kind of liquor, and an even larger selection of premium rums and tequilas. I'm not a wine guy, but my wife found the selection rather limited, without paying extra... yet she was offered champagne enough times that she didn't care. And it didn't matter--we pretty much stuck to the usual tropical drink favorites. Couples had a swim-up bar, BlueBay has a swing-bar on the beach. Some folks complain about watered-down drinks at all-inclusive resorts, and maybe if you're drinking pre-made drinks it can be that way, but I don't think that was an issue here, and because we enjoy stronger drinks anyhow, we'd always get an extra shot of booze to throw into our pina coladas, for instance.Couples had a piano bar (the guy only knew 25 songs!) that stayed open till the last person left. BlueBay has a great all-night area: a sports bar/theater/lounge area, that turned into an all-night disco (or so i was told). I'm usually in bed before shows start, but we caught a Latin Music production that had the whole room jumpin', as well as a great, touristy Mexican music extravaganza. It more than surpassed my expectations. As I watched my Phila. Eagles play their Sunday night game at the sports bar last week, there was a "Cirque de Soleil"-type show on the main stage to my right, and to my left a smokin' band had just finished cranking out Santana tunes, all while i was sipping my favorite brandy.We don't gop on beach vacations for the food (that's what our European vacations are for!) I love buffets, and BlueBay's was great. Especially because it always featured Mexican dishes. (I love all things Mexican/Hispanic!) My wife is not a buffet fan, but also loved these buffets, especially the breakfast and lunch buffets. They were clean and plentiful and changed often enough to keep things interesting. Couples had lox (my favorite food) every morning--BlueBay had it only 3 of the 8 days we were there, but BlueBay has guacamole at just about every buffet (which we love, and it was great stuff), and omelet stations and fresh taco stations. And while all resorts always have burgers and dogs available (for the kids, of course), BlueBay also had deliciously-cooked steaks at every lunch and dinner buffet.My wife prefers to be served her meals, so every night we went to one of the reservation-required restaurants. You can only reserve one at a time, a day in advance, but we found this easy to do because we were up early each day, and you can make reservations at your building's concierge desk (each building has its own concierge). The Asian and French restaurants were not too authentic, and we skipped the Italian, but the seafood restaurant and steakhouse were worth going to. And--needless to say--their sitdown Mexican restaura...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Dec 15, 2010

Blue Bay Grand Esperada

Wonderful week at Blue Bay. The service was excellent. Be sure to make your dinner reservations a day in advance. I would recommend the Mexican, Italian and French restaurants. Did not care for the seafood restaurant. The VIP package is worth the extra money to have access to the private beach. Be sure to visit [...]at the sportsbar and [...]from Mayaland Tours. Will definitely be staying again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, KS
Dec 20, 2010

Great!

It was amazing, if I had to make any complaints, it would be that the hallway was paved in a vintage type rock and when the cleaning cart went down the hallway it was incredibly noisy. Everything else was perfect...food, drinks, service, etc!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Nov 16, 2010

"Get away for 2" but kids are welcomed

Our stay at the resort was great. The rooms were very clean and nice and the VIP private accommodations were above and beyond. I especially enjoyed the private beach for VIPS. You get a private patio and an endless supply of drinks at your request. This area is rather quite, but it is wonderful if you would like to get away and enjoy the sun and while you read your favorite book. As for the food, I was pleasantly surprised that the buffet was good. All of the restaurants provided excellent dinners, but I would skip the Italian Restaurant since the food was lacking in taste. We plan to return to the resort to take in a little more golf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The dinners are very good, but I would skip the Italian restaurant. I really enjoy the Mexican and the French restaurants. This is one of the few time that the food did not give me Motezuma's revenge for a few days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Oct 24, 2010

Great place for couples

The hotel was perfect,plenty of places to eat and ton's of wild life to see. Two big pool's. the beach is not the best but it's ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are interested on any excursion, do not pay for it at the hotel, take a day trip to Playa Del Carmen to find better deals.Half of price........

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top