$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 11, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jammin Junior
Business
South Jersey
Dec 15, 2010

A Great Time Was Had

We stayed at BlueBay 12/6 - 12/13 and had a great time. i'd love to give every detail but don't want to spoil it for readers; we highly recommend BlueBay Gran Esmeralda. The resort was beautiful, with a gorgeous beach and humongous main pool area. There was another pool area closer to the lobby area that seemed somewhat quieter, but we stayed closer to the beach. Everyone at BlueBay was friendly and helpful, and spoke enough English to be helpful. They seem to be working constantly to serve you and keep things clean. I think we went before the big holiday rush, and the place seemed only 50% full, so I can't guess what it'd be like at capacity, but we never had to wait for anything. Between the servers and the bars, getting drinks was very easy.My most recent other all-inclusive was Couples Negril, which cost twice as much as BlueBay, but I feel BlueBay was equal to or better than Couples in just about every way. Couples Jamaica had only one beer (Red Stripe); BlueBay has one beer everywhere-- Dos Equis (and a different beer in your room's minibar). Dos Equis is so much better on tap than in bottles. Maybe Couples has more top shelf liquor brands, but not by much--BlueBay had at least 3 or 4 different brands of each kind of liquor, and an even larger selection of premium rums and tequilas. I'm not a wine guy, but my wife found the selection rather limited, without paying extra... yet she was offered champagne enough times that she didn't care. And it didn't matter--we pretty much stuck to the usual tropical drink favorites. Couples had a swim-up bar, BlueBay has a swing-bar on the beach. Some folks complain about watered-down drinks at all-inclusive resorts, and maybe if you're drinking pre-made drinks it can be that way, but I don't think that was an issue here, and because we enjoy stronger drinks anyhow, we'd always get an extra shot of booze to throw into our pina coladas, for instance.Couples had a piano bar (the guy only knew 25 songs!) that stayed open till the last person left. BlueBay has a great all-night area: a sports bar/theater/lounge area, that turned into an all-night disco (or so i was told). I'm usually in bed before shows start, but we caught a Latin Music production that had the whole room jumpin', as well as a great, touristy Mexican music extravaganza. It more than surpassed my expectations. As I watched my Phila. Eagles play their Sunday night game at the sports bar last week, there was a "Cirque de Soleil"-type show on the main stage to my right, and to my left a smokin' band had just finished cranking out Santana tunes, all while i was sipping my favorite brandy.We don't gop on beach vacations for the food (that's what our European vacations are for!) I love buffets, and BlueBay's was great. Especially because it always featured Mexican dishes. (I love all things Mexican/Hispanic!) My wife is not a buffet fan, but also loved these buffets, especially the breakfast and lunch buffets. They were clean and plentiful and changed often enough to keep things interesting. Couples had lox (my favorite food) every morning--BlueBay had it only 3 of the 8 days we were there, but BlueBay has guacamole at just about every buffet (which we love, and it was great stuff), and omelet stations and fresh taco stations. And while all resorts always have burgers and dogs available (for the kids, of course), BlueBay also had deliciously-cooked steaks at every lunch and dinner buffet.My wife prefers to be served her meals, so every night we went to one of the reservation-required restaurants. You can only reserve one at a time, a day in advance, but we found this easy to do because we were up early each day, and you can make reservations at your building's concierge desk (each building has its own concierge). The Asian and French restaurants were not too authentic, and we skipped the Italian, but the seafood restaurant and steakhouse were worth going to. And--needless to say--their sitdown Mexican restaura...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Dec 15, 2010

Blue Bay Grand Esperada

Wonderful week at Blue Bay. The service was excellent. Be sure to make your dinner reservations a day in advance. I would recommend the Mexican, Italian and French restaurants. Did not care for the seafood restaurant. The VIP package is worth the extra money to have access to the private beach. Be sure to visit [...]at the sportsbar and [...]from Mayaland Tours. Will definitely be staying again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, KS
Dec 20, 2010

Great!

It was amazing, if I had to make any complaints, it would be that the hallway was paved in a vintage type rock and when the cleaning cart went down the hallway it was incredibly noisy. Everything else was perfect...food, drinks, service, etc!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Nov 16, 2010

"Get away for 2" but kids are welcomed

Our stay at the resort was great. The rooms were very clean and nice and the VIP private accommodations were above and beyond. I especially enjoyed the private beach for VIPS. You get a private patio and an endless supply of drinks at your request. This area is rather quite, but it is wonderful if you would like to get away and enjoy the sun and while you read your favorite book. As for the food, I was pleasantly surprised that the buffet was good. All of the restaurants provided excellent dinners, but I would skip the Italian Restaurant since the food was lacking in taste. We plan to return to the resort to take in a little more golf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The dinners are very good, but I would skip the Italian restaurant. I really enjoy the Mexican and the French restaurants. This is one of the few time that the food did not give me Motezuma's revenge for a few days.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Oct 24, 2010

Great place for couples

The hotel was perfect,plenty of places to eat and ton's of wild life to see. Two big pool's. the beach is not the best but it's ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are interested on any excursion, do not pay for it at the hotel, take a day trip to Playa Del Carmen to find better deals.Half of price........

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, Ca
Apr 5, 2010

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda

nice hotel, has a kids club (for kids 2 years and older, otherwise bayysitter but you have to pay for) the sea is not that great at the hotel, but okay, the pool is nice only 1 buffet restaurants, others are only with booking (a la carde), but they are not that great you have to know that the hotel is outside of Playa del Carmen, so either you stay in the hotel or you need a taxi or your own car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gregd75
Business
london, england
Nov 17, 2010

Blue Bay hotel review

The check-in guy was a little short as we checked in, but once we got to our rooms, the concierge, restaurant staff and everyone else were really, really friendly. We thought the standard of the food was good and we managed to go to two of the speciality restaurants which were both excellent I think the hotel has done a great job at getting everything right- maybe they could work on the show each night. It wasn't bad but it could be better (the sound wasn't great, for example)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The oriental restaurant was great. Make the effort and book 24 hours in advance. You'll be pleased you did!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gold River, CA
Dec 8, 2010

family vacation

Very pleasant; this is our second time at Blue Bay and it met our expectations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We were a family of 7 and the Cancun shuttle was the best value for transportation to and from the resort from the airport

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dtstack21
Business
Greenville, SC
Sep 22, 2011

Best Vacation I've ever had!

The BBGE was amazing. My wife and I went for our 5th year wedding anniv. and we could not have had a better experience. We stayed in a swim-up suite, and the room was spacious (two bathrooms, flat screen TVs, and king size bed). Our private pool outside the suite was 4 feet deep and a great way to relax. The food was amazing, except for the oriental restaurant which wasn't great. The staff did not stop working and were very helpful. The only downside to this resort is for anyone who goes on vacation purely for the ocean itself. I like to walk by the ocean occasionally but would rather be by the pool and the bar. The ocean at BBGE is only a small area and it is filled with seaweed. This probably was because of the location of the hotel and not because of the quality of the hotel. I didn't really care about this, but if you are a fan of going into the ocean everyday, that would be the only reason not to try the BBGE. We went snorkeling through "Aquatic Expeditions by Emilio". If you want to see Mexico outside of the resort, I would recommend this excursion. We ate at a local restaurant, and Emilio was the most insightful tour guide we have ever had. I would highly recommend this excursion and resort and look forward to returning in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cohutta, Georgia
Nov 19, 2010

Great Time

Enjoyable experience. Plenty to do at resort and in town. Would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

make reservations a day in advance

Back to menu Return to top